Sad photos: No parent should ever have to go through this | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 5 December 2014

Sad photos: No parent should ever have to go through this

Gregory Hughes pictured very emotional as he carried his son's coffin into his funeral on December 3rd. Phil Hughes died on November 27th two days after he was struck in the back of the neck by a ball during a cricket game in Sydney, Australia. He died just three days to his 26th birthday.

The funeral was attended by over 1,000 people including many national and sporting dignitaries as well as the Prime Minister of Australia, Tony Abbott. It was also broadcast live on Australian TV.

His mum
Late Phillip Hughes

353 comments:

1. Awww! Very unfortunate. *sad ~ceze

2. So sad... May God console them.

3. Omo this guy is handsome sha.... Rest in peace dear. *Sad*

4. Eh yaaa, painful.... Btw Linda go sleep na, you've been working all day, rest small *hugs*

5. Tragedy.Rip Phillips

-------#AUNTYLINDAgoddaughter#

6. May his soul rest in peace.

7. Wot a painful death, no parent should experience such. May he RIP.

8. So sad, I hope the parents wont commit suicide. Cause Australian people are so deep passionate and value loves ones more than Diamond . RIP Phillip, may your soul rest in peace

9. chaiiii....God help us

10. RIP my dear (chynnatu@gmail.com)

11. Rip Philip! will not use our hand to bury our kids oh .. and will live very long to take care of our great grand children .. Amen.

12. collins2vudu@yahoo.com

13. What an emotional father, RIP Philip Hughes. So sad.

14. So painful. But Linda u no dey sleep. Na wah for u

15. So sad. R.I.P Phil.

16. Too bad. May God console them

17. oh my God, i feel is pain. may his soul Rest in peace. amen.

www.udokajane.blogspot.com

18. May God gv dem d fortitude to bear ds grt loss..Death is rily a sad tin

19. May his soul rest in perfect peace

20. RIP Phil, God knows best.
    Never right for the parents to mourn their child/ren.

Blessed day to us all..!

*My R1.50c comment*

21. Such a sad moment. May his soul rest in peace

22. So sad. May his soul rest in peace

23. It's really heart wrecking.RIP to Philip. God console his dad!

24. Sad event
    RIP Phillip Hughes

25. So so emotional wit tears runing down..continue to RIP PHILLIP.

26. RIP to the departed soul. May God give the father the fortitude to bear the lost

27. Eternal rest grant unto him oh lord !!

#ka mkpuru obi ya zuo ike n'ndokwa....help me say amen **tears rolling .**

28. Very touching. May his soul rest in peace.

29. Maybe He's Their Only Son!!! So Painful....! #Peace

30. So sad..chai..God rest his soul

31. Such a sad story. May God give him inner fortitude to bear the loss.

Nonso Okoh via SAMSUNG GALAXY S4

32. It's so sad. May his soul rest in peace.

33. It's so sad. May his soul rest in peace.

34. Such a sad story. May God give him and his family inner fortitude to bear the loss.

Nonso Okoh via SAMSUNG GALAXY S4

35. Tbflow$... R.I.P Philip Hughes.

36. Eyaa! Eyaa! Eyaa!
    PHILLIP HUGHES rest in peace

..............PRAY4NIGERIA..............

37. it's Rily painful... RIP Philip

38. May Phillip Hughes soul rest in perfect peace, such a fluke accident!! The death of a child, is not the wish of any parent!!! May God grant his family the fortitude to be his loss-Amen!!! Whizman

39. May his soul rest in perfect peace

40. Such a fine young man. Rest in peace.

41. Wat else cud be as sad as carrying his son 2 hz funeral. Rip phil hughes

42. So sad. Rest in peace Phillip

43. It's quite a pity.

LIB ADDICT...

44. Lord please comfort them,its really a hard thing to bear

45. so touching....o Lord console them and let them get over this whole thing.

46. May God give them the fortitude to bear the loss.

47. Too bad to hear this kind of news on the early hour of Friday morning,may his soul rest in peace,Amen.

48. Yes...very disheartening, what a pity.

49. Enternal rest grant him oh lord. Nenyebaby26@gmail.com

50. It's really painful,sorry man n RIP 2 ur son.

51. It hurts 4 a parent 2 bury their child...RIP

52. RIP Philip.may our Lord comforts mr Greg and his family

53. Hmmm! Life, it is well

54. ouch! that's d love of a Dad for a successful son.
    RIP dude

55. Early morning tears. Rip and may grace to bear be with the family

56. oh my God this is so painful! and he's so cute.

57. Worse things happen in 9ja,sorry i d pains.

58. Ehya,may GOD give them d fortitude 2 bear dis great loss,AMEN! Jay-B

59. Chai RIP. Such a fine n talented guy. His Dad is such a strong man.

60. RIP
    graceanyakalu@yahoo.com

61. Chai! I can imagine....may his soul rest in peace.

62. Ojai says" knew when he was hit and when he died. Its so sad. May his soul rest I peace and may his parents bear this irreparable loss in good faith. Amen

63. So sad!!! I shed tears seeing dis. May he RIP..

64. May his soul rest perfectly in peace

65. >>>>> This is too sad, should be the other way round, time will heal them; may his soul continue to rest .<<<<<

66. My condolences to his family #Heart felt.

67. Sooooo sad God console d family...

68. Awwwwwwww... This is so heart wrenching. Rip Philip

69. Soo sad. May his soul rest in peace

70. May his soul rest in peace such is life

71. Chai linda so touching , may he rest in peace . CHI.

72. So heartbreaking....rest in peace phillip & may God console ur family

73. Eyyaa.....may his soul rest in peace

74. Chai..wat a pity

75. May his soul RIP...but why should parents be allowed to attend their children's burial?he even has d courage to carry his son's coffin?He shouldn't have gone in d first place.

76. Eyahhhhhh May his soul rest in peace. In Yoruba culture, Parent are not allowed to be present during their child's burial talk more of carrying the casket. I think it is to save the parent from this type of torture.So painful and I pray that none of us Will bury our own child in Jesus name

One and only Ada David Omobabalanu says so

77. requiescat in pace

78. What a tragic Loss.. Still a rude shock!

79. RIP Phil *sobs* its a pity.

80. may his soul rest in peace.

81. Such pain that man is going through right now....... May phil find peace wherever he is...... (•͡.̮ •͡ )

82. so sad.....May his soul rest in peace...Amen....

83. *sobbing* RIP hughes ....... its not a good thing for a parents to bury their children.....

84. May his soul rest in peace amen...

85. R.i.p bro.may ur soul rest in perfect peace,AMEN

86. Sad indeed... May his young and gentle soul rest in perfect peace.

87. Ehyaaaaaaaaa so sad may God console the entire family........

88. lsabel christopher5 December 2014 at 06:50

Quite a great loss, prayers goes to the Hughes family. Rest in peace

89. May His Soul Rest In Peace, amen.

90. I had a tear roll down my eyes lookin at his dads pics
    RIP philip

91. So very sad, y should his dad partake in carrying his coffin....... RIP dear. esebeauty21@yahoo.com

92. And the dad was asked to partake in carrying his coffin? This is so sad.
    Looking at the mans face I feel his pains and feel like crying too. Rest in peace Man

93. It was quite an emotional day, here in Australia. He was well loved in his community. May God console the family.

94. heartbreaking..
    .....songbird.....

95. I wish there could be a resurrection. So sad i felt for the family

96. Eww e no good at all
    RIP Lord av mercy
    bittertruth85@yahoo.com

97. Good am libers, aunty Linda do u sleep at all, look at the time u posted dis story

98. This is not the prayer of any parent...oh such a handsome young man..may his soul rest in the Bossom of the Lord.......*.feeling sorry for his dad shaa

#abbytohxoft

99. Rest in peace dear one, its so unfortunate

100. R I P Phillip we would miss you

101. Really painfull.May his soul rest in peace .Amen

102. Nadine via nadin4real@gmail.com5 December 2014 at 06:57

So so sad¤ so full of his life¤

103. God forbid this.......

104. Linda... Be Smart! Tough to agree Abi? Though intelligent Buh yu need the street Sense to see things in this blog.. Notice some anonym try mentioning some people's name to make them look like a better fan than others.. All set Up by same person using two phones (Google name & Anonymous) commenting on one story. Don't let anybody finger yur brain.. Nobody deserve to be giving express cash reward cos soon it will back fire on You.. Treat all yur fans as EQUAL!!!!!

105. Really painfull.May his soul rest in peace .Amen

106. May his soul rest in peace,Amen

107. I can really feel his pains, see the handsome dude kai. It is well! I pray God gives the family the strength to bear his loss. May his soul rest in the bosom of the Lord Amen #onelovefromSnow#

108. So sad. RIP Phil. I cn feel d tears in d father nd mother

109. I think its very painful to do such. Bury a child. Though seen as a taboo in most African cultures/countries, i think it actually helps in the healing and mourning process. Rip PH.

110. Rip, may God give his parents d hrt to bear this pain Amen

111. May his gentle soul rest in perfect peace. and may God give his parents fortitude to bear the loss. AMEN.

112. hw life cn b somtymz...a parent goin for thier child's funeral...which is meant to b vice-versa

113. so sad! may his soul rest in peace...

114. Linda there is one story we are waiting to hear, the nephew of West Idahosa, senatorial aspirant that was shot to death on wednesday the 3rd by unknown gunmen in benin city, nd he ws the only son of his mother, pls snoop around and get us the full gist abeg

115. This is so touching. Very painful. See the pain of loss on the father and mother's faces. May his soul rest in perfect peace, Amen.

116. linda ikeji's boo5 December 2014 at 07:13

very very traumatic.that was a great tragedy.so emotional.may his soul rip

117. It a pity we will not witness this in our lives

118. RIP to da dead

119. Rip Philip. so so sad may God console the parent.

120. Very touching... Oghene forbid!

121. I don't know him so sad, his too young to die I feel so much for the parent may God console them and may his soul Rip crying already.

122. May our eyes not see such IJN. *tears*

123. Awwww,so touchin,may his soul rest in peace

124. This is just painful to watch.. RIP sir phil, stay strong friends n family!

125. Rest in the bossom of the lord philip ....I dunno u but I feel for ur family

126. Sigh may God comfort them ..its painful

127. Truly no parent should go through this ...RIP

128. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    I feel like crying ryt nw... May his soul RIP..

129. Sad face

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

130. Such a cute guy. May his soul RIP.

131. MAY his soul rest in peace....soo sad

132. May I and my family never experience this in our life time in jesus mighty name I pray (Amen).

133. Rip so sad.....ologunifemidolapo@yahoo.com

134. Eeya may his soul res in peace amen

135. Eeya may his soul res in peace amen

136. Sad indeed, watched abit and truly it hurts. RIP Phil

137. this is so sad. this life is too short. rip phil hughes

138. Eeyah may his soul rest in peace

139. My God! Oyinbo pple sha...A father carrying his own's coffin!! May we not see evil.....He is soo young....May God grant his family the fortitude to bear the Loss....Amen

140. really i jx can't describe d feeling, loosing a child at a very young age isn't wat any parent shud HV to go thru... *reminds me of when I lost my grlfrnd.. may d departed rest with d lord..

141. Its a pity. May his soul RIP

142. So so touching and painful God please give the Family the heart to bear it and may the soul of Phillip Rest In Peace Amen.

143. Awww...I feel pity for the old man, may his soul RIP

144. Rip. Take heart, it is well.

145. Eeyaah. Death is inevitable. Every soul shall taste a death. When the time of death reaches, neither a minute nor a second will be either increased or decreased. mjabdulk@gmail.com

146. Aww....so sorry. RIP, good son!

Not in a good mood to ask for any chance to shine,

147. So Sad, May God comfort his family

148. Sad!!! But why is the father carrying d coffin naw

149. This is so so sad and untimely, may his soul rest in peace.

150. This is great loss. May his soul RIP

151. Its a very sad experience.RIP bro and take heart Philip Snr God knows it all