Osun 2007 bomb explosion: Court sentences prime suspect to death by hanging | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 12 December 2014

Osun 2007 bomb explosion: Court sentences prime suspect to death by hanging

The prime suspect of the bomb explosion that rocked the premises of Osun State Secretariat, Abeere on June 14th 2007, Mr Richard Abayomi Adesanmi, has been sentenced to death by hanging by an Osun state high court that sat yesterday December 11th.

Justice Adeyinka Aderibigbe who presided over the case, convicted Adesanmi on all the six-count charge, including murder and conspiracy to effecting unlawful purpose...

During its investigation, the police found that the vehicle that blew up belonged to Mr Adesanmi and some materials used in the making of Improvised Explosive Device (IED) was found in the trunk of his car.

On the day of the blast, Mr Adesanmi and four others had stationed his Peugeot 504 saloon car with registration number AL 850 NND, near the Ministry of Water Resources and Rural Development and in the course of coupling the bomb explosive, the bomb went off, killing one Taye who was in the car with them.

Two others in the vehicle fled the scene during the commotion that ensued. Mr Adesanmi who lost an eye during the explosion, was arrested near the scene of the explosion.

While handing down his judgement Justice Aderibigbe said;
“the prosecution had proven their case beyond reasonable doubt. Richard Abayomi Adesanmi is, hereby, sentenced to death for murder by hanging till he gives up the ghost.” 
On other five-count charge, the court sentenced the convict to 35 years imprisonment without an option of fine and the sentence would run concurrently.

Source: Tribune

178 comments:

1. Good if his guilty

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

2. Nice. Others will learn from this. Naija is all we have.

3. What were they even planning to do with the bomb in the first place. They got what they bargained for.

4. That's good for him, I don't know why court not judge Kabiru Sokoto died by hang

2. Amen!!

Accept no one's definition of your life; define yourself.

3. Linda..i still dy wait o...i must win today

4. Ehen ehen. After all this while...justice. november,an007@yahoo.com

5. Na so good judgement @ armstrong365kglp2@yahoo.com

6. Ok nice one.Bobbyfefavorirabo@gmail.com

7. Ok nice one.Bobbyfefavorirabo@gmail.com

8. serves him right!

9. Rip....

esozion@yahoo.com

10. He deserves what he get. Repent in hell.

11. Y strangling for make sense pass :/

12. Justice looks to have been served

13. Hmmm..are we sure his not one innocent dude thats is just taken advantage of

14. Gud for him,let say no terrorism.

15. May God forgive him

joanaustin30@yahoo.com

16. Since june 2007 and ur just passing judgement now? 2014! Nawa Oooo.

17. This is wat should have happened to the guy they released

18. Na so good judgement no peace 4 d wicked @ armstrong365kglp2@yahoo.com

19. all this death by hanging cases. where don't see the end. What abt Rev King. Am sure he is still living large in Ikoyi prison or Alagbon wherever he is. I prefer life imprisonment to this death sentences. chikena

20. >>>>> ...while they let BH suspects walk away free <<<<<< corcake@yahoo.com

21. good for him
    ricnino4real@yahoo.com

22. SINCE 2007....>>>pedrojex@gmail.com

23. Serves him right
    Nxttttttt!!!

24. all this death by hanging cases. where don't see the end. What abt Rev King. Am sure he is still living large in Ikoyi prison or Alagbon wherever he is. I prefer life imprisonment to this death sentences. chikena

25. That's really cool,we need more of such sentences to serve as deterrents

26. Serves him right
    Nxtttttt!!!!

27. Serves him right
    Nxtttttt!!!!

28. wow..........so naija law harsh like dis?

29. Good, wish Abuja would follow this benchmark.

30. Huuummm, not too bad (eleyele1@yahoo.com)

31. Serves him right... May God continue to rid us of ppl like this.

32. Wonderful news. I hope to hear more like this concerning perpetrators of such evil acts!

33. It will be justifiable if same can be done for this BH members, he who kills by gun die by it.

34. Good 4 him that is how it suppose be

35. Bad pple...frankotec23@gmail.com

36. Prime suspect affect investigation or assumed prime suspect? I hope he is not innocent. »»QUEENMAYA»»REPORTING LIVE»»

37. Awwww eeeeya

vaneciavanecia55@gmail.com

38. Ooooooooops RIP peace hommy! Why can't dey be doing same to all be BH guys they have been catching

39. 7years ago,, does that mean that BH go take 7years? anyway nice judgement but i wish the judge wld have said death by planting multiple IEDs on him

40. since 2007 na nw dem pass judgement and for d man d explosion take him eye wetin him gain after 7 yrs in jail u get death sentence oga go well

41. But y does it took eternity for justice to serve??? It's a shame right!

42. So Nigeria still sentence offender 2 death by hanging?

43. Rip sadist

Onye877@hotmail.com

44. This is how a man wasted himself.

45. He deserves d punishment though buh heeeeey, who are we to condemn ppl to death? Such ryt belongs to God alone

46. Eeeeya, he even lost one of his eyes double wahala.

47. Supposed judgement..befitting one

48. Story 4 d gods..rosepowell0@gmail.com

49. Sentence nd hanging? Will he serve sentence before dey kill him or dey will kill him before he serve sentence? Lol

50. He will serve the concurrent sentence in a prison in hell according to osun defenders. LOL. Good riddance

NicK

51. Thats serves him right if he is actually the bomber. benotekcomputers@gmail.com

52. ebidamillo@gmail.com

53. Hmmmmmmmm,dnt trust dem jo

54. life imprisonment would have been better

55. by d law, we live. ik5_3@hotmail.com

56. I believe deres no sin in that case...dose people don't have God mind....olakunle...

57. I hope he has given his life to christ,cos Hell fire is real o,may God have mercy on him

58. Don't understand our judiciary system one bit,an act dt occurred in 2007 and yet they are just passing out a sentence 7yrs later...Nwayz d judgment was a fair one,serves d idiot right;wishing some judges would emmulate him tho and issue death sentence 2all dem defaulters

59. Others states should learn from this
    amyjessy87@yahoo.com

60. I hope he has given his life to christ,cos Hell fire is real o,may God have mercy on him

61. Smh....its evn hrd to say he deserves it..
    Cos well,he killed pple

62. he did d crime...he's only dancing 2 d music!... d wickedness of man though....
    philippaokonkwo@gmail.com

63. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Thats nice....

64. Hope he is not innocent o.. all these Nigerians.. they can pin it on the wrong person

65. Oh
    Since 2007, i hope the judge did the right thing

66. Nigeria ... The lord is our strength.

67. Its a terrible thing.......death by hanging??? "goose bumps"

68. Really...pedrotoki80@yahoo.com

69. Serves him right.

70. In as much as wat he did is so bad n inhuman, I rily dnt support dis judgment of hanging or wat v yu coz dat on it own is murder...I mean dey r other way of passing judgment dat wud rily serve as a punishment #jessayn (toviebo@yahoo.com)

71. All these bombing you pple are doing,their is God oooo (gillsvivian@gmail.com)

72. bold judgement!

lekyan2002@yahoo.com

73. OMG so sad.gentlevivian58@gmail.com

74. The prime suspect of Nyaya Bombings was released last month even after the massacre of the thousands.
    What an Irony

75. too bad ... evil end of evildoers Rayzur@live.com

76. too bad ... evil end of evildoers Rayzur@live.com

77. raul (okekeuzochukwuj@yahoo.com)12 December 2014 at 12:03

should even be burned to death after he gives up the ghost

78. He intends to kill ppl b4 so he shld face it

79. What a great judgement, may be this one will teach the rest some senses....

80. After proven guilty, is he still a suspect or a culprit?

81. Could be a set up nikkyqueen2013@gmail.com

82. BE SMART AND BECOME RICH IN LESS THAN 3DAYS....It all depends on how fast you can be to get the new PROGRAMMED blank ATM card that is capable of hacking into any ATM machine,anywhere in the world. I got to know about this BLANK ATM CARD when I was searching for job online about a month ago..It has really changed my life for good and now I can say I'm rich and I can never be poor again. The least money I get in a day with it is about $50,000.(fifty thousand USD) Every now and then I keeping pumping money into my account. Though is illegal,there is no risk of being caught ,because it has been programmed in such a way that it is not traceable,it also has a technique that makes it impossible for the CCTVs to detect you..For details on how to get yours today, email the hackers on : (atmmachinehacker102@gmail.com). Tell your loved once too, and start to live large. That's the simple testimony of how my life changed for good...Love you all ...the email address again is ;atmmachinehacker102@gmail.com
    call me for more info 08138155648

83. ITS GOOD SO THAT OTHERS WILL LEARN FROM IT.

nkiru4love@yahoo.com

84. i must win today abeg linda. gist.naija@yahoo.com

85. So awesome. Obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

86. Good for him Dats if he's guilty o

87. PLEASE HAS IT BEEN COM FIRM THAT HE IS THE CULPRIT I DON"T TRUST NIGERIA JUDICIAL SYSTEM

88. God have mercy on him,but serzly what abt Rev.King? Not heard about him inna while.
    Olorival9142@gmail.com

89. hmm
    motun011@gmail.com

90. Name wah o.dayo2285@gmail.com

91. Chain,emmanuelbanger@yahoo.com

92. thelmababy27@gmail.com

93. thelmababy27@gmail.com

94. thelmababy27@gmail.com

95. Is he dead yet? Or what is d hangman waiting 4?!

96. The one who master-minded bombing in d North was realeased.Who amalgamated Nigeria should also die by hanging.