IGP orders investigation into alleged 'torture of couple' in Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 11 December 2014

IGP orders investigation into alleged 'torture of couple' in Lagos

The Inspector General of police has ordered investigations into the alleged torture of photographer, Ejeh Smith, and his wife, Grace. The couple claimed they were battered by a policeman along the Lekki Roundabout on Wednesday Dec. 3rd. (read here). Find the police press release below..
The attention of the Police High Command has been drawn to a viral media story alleging Police incivility to a couple in Ikoyi, Lagos. The Inspector-General of Police, IGP Suleiman Abba has ordered a full scale investigation into the matter in line with his avowed commitment to protect and uphold the Human Rights of all Nigerians and residents therein.
The Officer involved has been identified and is already undergoing administrative trial. All other officers whose conduct did not speak well on the incident are also being sanctioned, preparatory to further necessary action.

The IGP further reiterated the determination of the Force to abide by the contents of the newly launched NPF Human Rights Practice Manual, stressing that no abuse of human rights will be tolerated in the Force.
Ag. CP EMMANUEL C. S. OJUKWU, psc
FORCE PUBLIC RELATIONS OFFICER
FORCE HEADQUARTERS

190 comments:

1. Police brutality can neva end....na wah

2. Pls they shld investigate

joanaustin30@yahoo.com

3. oh christ! look at their eyes (gillsvivian@gmail.com)

4. Thank God he took interest in d case self.

5. PRAISE THE LORD NOW AM HAPPY AN THE SHOULD BE MORE SERIOUS TO ARREST THE MONSTER.

6. PRAISE THE LORD NOW AM HAPPY AN THE SHOULD BE MORE SERIOUS TO ARREST THE MONSTER.

7. days gud amaefulechukwuka@gmail.com

8. Na so... Investigation my b*lls

9. Indeed! Justice is all we need!

10. wow good news,I hope the stupid policeman is punished #chizzy says so.. chisomhelen19@gmail.com

11. Do same for femi bello's case

12. Chai the police knack dem akpako no be small o. Wish them quick recovery jare #onelovefromSnow#

13. na wa o. dapoalaran2013@yahoo.com

14. See how they were brutally injured.. This is so inhuman.. Better investigation needs to be done. John 14:27. BishopDammy#

15. I pray they sack all the police officers involved in this case that are responsible for this.

Shaniquapatty@gmail.com

16. Janeosuetha@gmail.com11 December 2014 at 16:21

Very Good

17. let justice prevail please...this is gruesome(gillsvivian@gmail.com)

18. Yea. Something needs to be done about it

19. Nigeria police force what is happening na

20. I thought they don't care. Nice move anyway. »»QUEENMAYA»»REPORTING~LIVE»

21. Na wa o, dapoalaran2013@yahoo.com

22. The officer needs to be severely dealt with

23. They better do. Harassment from out Naija police is just too much. If found guilty, that police should be severely dealt with!

24. Na wa o. dapoalaran2013@yahoo.com

25. No one should go unpunished/ scot free

26. good! the officer should be brought to book...

27. This is not acceptable...inhuman to humanity..

28. Na wa o. dapoalaran2013@yahoo.com

29. Severs the police right for beating up people because of flimzy excuse

30. Good job mr IG

mzhrf20@yahoo.com

31. Hope they practice what they have just preached

32. I go even like make dem beat am as he take beat dis guy nd his wife and sack him too so that for his next life he go knw how to respect human right whether u dey for force or not nd to also deter other foolish policemen from following in his footsteps #chizzy says so.... chisomhelen19@gmail.com

33. Dey should deal wit dat police o. irenebraimoh@gmail.com

34. That's good..I really hope they dig out the real truth and treat those bastards animal called police the same way as well..

35. i hope this is not just a mere y'all. justice must not only be done but must be seen to be done!

36. Make dem investigate ooo biko

37. This is soo bad haba
    Onunwamerit@yahoo.com

38. >>>>> I'm happy to "hear" this, no matter what must have transpired, the torture is very wrong<<<< corcake@yahoo.com

39. Those policemen shud be arrested. If they see armed robbers,dey will start dodging their responsibility.

40. Na waooo,God help us in these country

41. >>>>> I'm happy to "hear" this, no matter what must have transpired, the torture is very wrong<<<< corcake@yahoo.com

42. the police should also make sure to update us - the public on the progress of the case. this must not be treated like the other cases. this action of both the DPO and the officer has shown clearly that police is not our friends.

43. its about bloody time he does that if na to tear gas our lawmaker him go sabi do am this i.g is just something else m.d abubakar was way better
    in is watch the police behaved well.
    if Gej does not instruct him he does nothign. its like gej has told him to investigate.
    at this point we can not underestimate the power of the media most especially online blogs kudos

44. too bad....bellionobnv@gmail.com

45. Good development. Harkhinbor@gmail.com

46. Very good God bless dat IGP..rosepowell0@gmail.com

47. these police men should be checked...they re abusing their power

mostbeautifullibreader

48. I hope investigation wont be soved under the carpet after some days/weeks or months....

49. A step in the right direction

50. All this English does not matter, credible action is what does. Speak all this English and sweep the case under the rug! NPF, scrab

51. I pray something good come out.bum2hot@gmail.com. FREDA

52. Ok gud bobbyfefavorirabo@gmail.com

53. yes good, this Nigeria police are useless people,

54. Another investigation that will bring out no result..God help us

55. Gud....I jes hope dis won't b d last of wat we hear bout d ish (toviebo@yahoo.com)

56. Police can like to fuck up sha

57. Story na today! God judge the silly DPO who is a female!she is a disgrace to womanhood

58. Good

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

59. I hope justice is not swept under the carpet on this. novemberman007@yahoo.com

60. IGp or not, I hate the police. Engr Emy

61. Good (eleyele1@yahoo.com)

62. justice must be done
    motun011@gmail.com

63. Na wa ooooooo jingle bells stephensy2002@yahoo.com hand no dey

64. Nice one and I hope this discipline continues in the NPF

65. Our Nigerian police behave like animals,no difference between them and touts

66. I'm really happy to hear/see this news. Kudos IGP

67. don't no what dis country is turning into

68. Eiyaaah. Dey nid am Obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

69. If its true those people should be dealt with

Cooyutevanny@gmail.com

70. This is too bad.

taiwo.bolaji81@gmail.com

71. Good for them,they call themselves police men whereas they are animals

72. Anonymous Personified11 December 2014 at 16:54

Thanks Linda for the update. I pray justice prevails this time around. Oh God let them get justice and see with these closed eyes.
    Inhumanity to man!

73. De should bring justice to dis case. Am waiting!

74. It is time for all Nigerians to stand firm to fight this disease the NPF are exhibiting.... Killing and assaulting innocent Nigerians that they should be protecting.
    Linda, we all need to do something fast.

75. May God bless you Sir. People should be treated with respect, no matter how aggrieved we are, while carrying out official assignment.

76. SaIute! The poIice officer (S) shId b dIscipIined adequateIy. PpIe who re meant to protect us re now nightmares to Us. F*cking shame mehn

77. Ppl are wicked sha!

Otasanyaadeyemi@gmail.com

78. Ah!!!!thnk God...jes hope dey don't sweep d mata under d carpet....ope.fads@gmail.com

79. Hope they won't sweep this case under the carpet

80. Ah!!!!thnk God...jes hope dey don't sweep d mata under d carpet....ope.fads@gmail.com

81. Ah!!!!thnk God...jes hope dey don't sweep d mata under d carpet....ope.fads@gmail.com

82. Ah!!!!thnk God...jes hope dey don't sweep d mata under d carpet....ope.fads@gmail.com

83. Ah!!!!thnk God...jes hope dey don't sweep d mata under d carpet....ope.fads@gmail.com

84. Ah!!!!thnk God...jes hope dey don't sweep d mata under d carpet....ope.fads@gmail.com

85. They should do the right thing and stop talking... the police commit more crime than saving lives

86. Let's hope the investigations would yield proper results cos the amount of police brutality being recorded in recent times has been handled in a wishy washy manner!

87. Beta dey can't beat up smbdy like dat. Lepluvme@gmail.com.

88. Since that time..nawaoh for Naija police oh

89. We don't want investigation I nid justice dis assault is becoming too much because dey managed to get police work wit SSCE.Claire

90. Stupid Nigerian police.

91. Stupid set of police. Hmconcept2000@gmail.com

92. Stupid set of police. Hmconcept2000@gmail.com

93. investigation is synonymous with Nigeria
    official lib VP

94. investigation is synonymous with Nigeria
    official lib VP

95. Story for the gods. Am sure that will be the end of the case

96. this is sad bt God 4give mi..
    hahahahaha y did d police target d same right eye of d couple?gues cos they never ever do wat is right.... Lizzyadams7@yahoo
    co
    uk

97. This Nigerian stupid policemen! See how they beat up a couple

98. That's vry good

99. Police brutality on the rise. Its okay.

100. this is the best thing he did since he assume oofice o

101. This animals called police need †o be thought a lesson am just tired of their faces

102. Thank God. I pray and hope they get justice.
    maryabiola2000@yahoo.com

103. Waiting for its end result.

104. That officer should be ready to face the full wrath of the law cos to me it is attempted murder.

105. Thank God. The so called beasts should be madly dealt with. Thanks to d IG if he acts as he have said o.

106. they will definitely sweep it under the carpet

107. They need to be investigated abeg. This ill treatment is getting too much

108. Worries, Abba no be Human being again jare ever since he don join politics. Funmiajaka@yahoo.com

109. It's about time we see more of this kind of reaction...

110. Justice must prevail
    Elotash@gmail.com

111. Hope justice prevail. kuyeolusegunjames_koj@yahoo.com

112. They better do, hope this case won't jst die down, d police nd his D.P.O must be punished

113. Is it nt nigerian police abeg make we hear word, b4 u knw it now d case will die down. I jst feel so sorry for those couple. E pele ke gba fun olorun

114. This is inhuman. What is this? The should be sentenced for life. Xxxxxx Ndubuaku

115. Thank God for social media, they better sort this out.

All this police and army people like to feel like gods

116. Nawa for all dis our Nigeria police they are very stupid

117. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Am so damn scared of police than army self i swear....

118. May those offenders be put in jail for a long time it's inhumane.gentlevivian58@gmail

119. two egg-roll for the couple.. naija police wicked sha!

120. Good one, now they are talking....

121. Good one, now they are talking....

122. Good one, now they are talking....

123. And they ll say police is ur friend... Dey should jst say we r ur enemies ..

124. When will this police brutality come to an end?
    God have mercy!

125. 1st. chinweokonkwo88@yahoo.com

126. And that is called the power of social media. Thank stars for LIB and other media houses.

BRYTE TABLET FROM KONGA.COM

127. And that is called the power of social media. Thank stars for LIB and other media houses.

BRYTE TABLET FROM KONGA.COM

128. We are watching this case very closely,we must see the end result

129. Good...tubbytracy@yahoo.com

130. So, this is true? A friend told me about this yesterday that a couple was battered by a police office. This is act of wickedness. God pls grant them quick recovery.

131. that is the power of social media. Good development. benotekcomputers@gmail.com

132. NIGERIA POLICE THEY WILL NAVER CHANGE>.>>>>>...pedrojex@gmail.com

133. BE SMART AND BECOME RICH IN LESS THAN 3DAYS....It all depends on how fast you can be to get the new PROGRAMMED blank ATM card that is capable of hacking into any ATM machine,anywhere in the world. I got to know about this BLANK ATM CARD when I was searching for job online about a month ago..It has really changed my life for good and now I can say I'm rich and I can never be poor again. The least money I get in a day with it is about $50,000.(fifty thousand USD) Every now and then I keeping pumping money into my account. Though is illegal,there is no risk of being caught ,because it has been programmed in such a way that it is not traceable,it also has a technique that makes it impossible for the CCTVs to detect you..For details on how to get yours today, email the hackers on : (atmmachinehacker102@gmail.com). Tell your loved once too, and start to live large. That's the simple testimony of how my life changed for good...Love you all ...the email address again is ;atmmachinehacker102@gmail.com
    call me for more info 08138155648

134. BE SMART AND BECOME RICH IN LESS THAN 3DAYS....It all depends on how fast you can be to get the new PROGRAMMED blank ATM card that is capable of hacking into any ATM machine,anywhere in the world. I got to know about this BLANK ATM CARD when I was searching for job online about a month ago..It has really changed my life for good and now I can say I'm rich and I can never be poor again. The least money I get in a day with it is about $50,000.(fifty thousand USD) Every now and then I keeping pumping money into my account. Though is illegal,there is no risk of being caught ,because it has been programmed in such a way that it is not traceable,it also has a technique that makes it impossible for the CCTVs to detect you..For details on how to get yours today, email the hackers on : (atmmachinehacker102@gmail.com). Tell your loved once too, and start to live large. That's the simple testimony of how my life changed for good...Love you all ...the email address again is ;atmmachinehacker102@gmail.com
    call me for more info 08138155648