Suspected fraudster arrested over $1million scam | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday, 12 November 2014

Suspected fraudster arrested over $1million scam

Find the EFCC Press statement below
A suspected fraudster, Adekunle Balogun a.k.a Malan Salihu, has been arrested by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, over fraudulent dealings involving the sum of $1million USD.
The 44-year- old Ordinary Diploma certificate holder in Textile and Polymer Technology was picked up by operatives of the Commission in Lagos for allegedly duping one Precious Chukwuma Emelue of N100million by deceiving him into believing that, he would assist him in retrieving a sum of $1million from a Pakistani bank:
Kan-Cern Limited, which payment was allegedly stopped by the International Monetary Fund, IMF.
Emelue claimed that, in 2012, he met one Mr. Perry Kandoharty (a Diplomat with the Pakistani High Commission) in Lagos.

In the course of their discussions, Emelue told Kandoharty that he was widely experienced in deep sea fishing. And after much deliberation, they both agreed to work together on a business.

Emelue would provide land for a fish processing factory in Nigeria and space for the development of fish ponds. Emelue claimed that Kandoharty sent him a mail informing him of a deposit of $1,000,000.00 into Kan -Cern Limited. It was this fund, allegedly stopped by IMF, which Balogun made him believe he could pull out for him.

In the course of his dealings with Emelue, Balogun allegedly obtained money in different instalments from him "to obtain certificates from authorities" handling drug, anti-terrorism and money laundering issues.

The suspect is also alleged to have impersonated the Executive Chairman of the EFCC, Ibrahim Lamorde and used his name to extort his victm. But Balogun denies that he impersonated the EFCC Chair.

"I didn't call myself Lamorde. What I told him was that Lamorde was a Lion and I'm the only tiger that can approach him", he said.
Several items were recovered from him during a search of his house. They include documents bearing the names of the State Security Service, SSS; Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN; and Insurance companies among others.

Balogun would be charged to court as soon as investigation is concluded.

25 comments:

He's even smilling.
I doubt if Chukwuma is truely an Igbo man,coz its supposed to be the other way round.
An Igbo man falling mugu,mbanu!

see money ...God please I need money

See his big eyes. They won't look for good opportunities! The rest of you would soon be caught so don't think you can escape o. psalm 34:16. BishopDammy#

Damn, so if them no catch this dude nw he for dey denge-denge dey pose for area.. Hard luck bro.....

Okeoma said...

Nna mehn.
Where is the money currently?
Olu Maintain: $1m, first thin na Hummer.

That's much money mehn #bright bravo#

Judgement day for u Mr 419er.

People get mind oooo. It is said any which way na way. Anything you work for in a dishonest way never last.

Amicable said...

Chei 419 biz

People get mind oooo. It is said any which way na way. Anything you work for in a dishonest way never last.

good for him...

#GodbkessNigeria

Hmm

Too bad for him, everyone is trying to survive. Things ain't easy at all, but fraudulent act is a No No No for me. He should face the punishment #onelovefromSnow#

Say no to crime

just another one of them

This story get as e be. The Emelue guy sef is not straight.

He is a real robber.

Omo Iya Beji said...

Oghene! Peo and fast money

Good Job, EFCC !

Engr. Maknun said...

The Pakistani and Balogun defrauded Emelue. You can not rely on an e-mail notification for such a huge transaction.

The person that paid 100m is obviously a fool...Let a fool be a fool...damn! What's wrong with EFCC!

Mr_decency said...

#Freethisguyjoor.

If he's found guilty then let him serve

...#May God Help Us from Enemies Within.

The person that paid that large sum of money should also be investigated where hin get that kind money from we all no clean 100% for this country after-all he no use gun for am.