Photo: Ex-governor Peter Obi in India to visit Prof. Dora Akunyili | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 27 May 2014

Photo: Ex-governor Peter Obi in India to visit Prof. Dora Akunyili

Find a statement posted on Professor Dora Akunyili's Facebook page below
Immediate past Governor of Anambra State, Mr. Peter Obi, is presently in India on a visit to see former Minister of Information and Communications, Prof. Dora Akunyili, who is receiving treatment in the country. Mr. Obi left for India yesterday in company of his media aide, Mr. Valentine Obienyem. The two men confirmed in a message from India that Prof. Akunyili is responding to treatment and that her situation is nothing near the scary picture being painted by rumour mongers.
Prof. Dora Akunyili’s husband, Dr. Chike Akunyili, confirmed to me on phone this morning that Messrs Obi and Obienyem are with them in the hospital. “We are very happy to see them. We are even happier that they have volunteered to spend the entire day with us before returning home to Nigeria,” Dr. Akunyili said. He also expressed appreciation to Nigerians, saying: “We can never thank Nigerians enough; their prayers are working.”

The attached photo shows Ex-Governor Obi discussing with the doctors treating Dora, while her husband watches. Below is an e-mail sent from India this morning by Obienyem:
“Brother Isaac, I am sending this mail from the hospital where our beloved Prof. Dora Akunyili is being treated. At the moment, her husband, Dr. Chike Akunyili, Mr. Peter Obi and the team of Doctors treating her are rubbing minds.

“While Doctors at the Indian hospital are explaining what they are doing and how tremendously she has improved; Dr. Chike Akunyili thanked them for their commitment to duty. He also expressed gratitude to Nigerians for the outpouring of love showered on his wife. Mr. Obi emphasised the need for Indians to come and set up facilities in Nigeria and for Nigerian Doctors to also show commitment to expanding the health facilities in Nigeria through strategic investment. Though the Doctors said they come to the country now and then, they agreed on the need to consider what Obi said seriously. They promised to keep communications open.

“Obi thanked God for the tremendous improvement of Prof. Akunyili and said the reality he saw was the direct opposite of the grim picture some people painted about her condition. He prayed to God to grant her total healing.

“In Nigeria, it is common for Nigerians to express secret and sometimes open excitement whenever any highly placed Nigerian suffer. They see it as delayed punishment for the iniquities they foisted on the nation. Prof. Dora Akunyili is different. Since the news of her sickness was broken, the entire nation has been crying and praying for her to be healed. Even on social networks, you see people’s writings dripping with tears for a woman who showed the nation what service in the truest sense of the word means.

“Nigerians as a people suffer from forgetfulness that is inexplicable. We forget people’s deeds so easily. Again, Dora is different. The pervasiveness of her good work ensured that it is etched permanently in the psyches of our people. Who in Nigeria today has forgotten the trauma – attacks upon attacks – that Dora was faced with simply for doing what was best for Nigeria and humanity?
“I understand that since being in the hospital, Nigerians in India have turned the hospital into a Mecca of sort. Daily they visit to pray for her recovery. I understand that the Nigerian Ambassador to India came calling yesterday.

“Meanwhile, Mr. Obi and the team of Doctors are discussing many subjects. Having finished with health, the secret of the development of the health institution and the part the Government is playing, he is busy asking them the secret of the development of Karnataka, the State in India, where Bangalore city/town is located. He wants to know the secret behind the development in infrastructure, education, social services, among others as to compare note with what are witnessed in Nigeria.”
Isaac Umunna
Media Adviser to Prof. Dora Akunyili
Lagos, May 27, 2014

67 comments:

1. That's so nice of Mr peter obi, wishing Mrs akunyili quick recovery, Jehovah is her strength

2. Very thoughtful of him......I know dat others will now start visiting her as if they opened gate 4 dem.

3. Good for him, He is seriously chopping Ego Ndi Anambra

1. This girl I wonder why u are so stupid, and I don't know why Linda kept on posting ur stupid comments.

4. I pray she get better soon #bright bravo#

5. GOD who healed my father will heal her. I trust GOD

1. I tap in ur testimony, God pls heal my Father IJN....AMEN
      Jennipukka

6. may GOD heal her speedily in JESUS name.amen.

7. For this woman,I can gladly go into surgery on her behalf considering the sacrifice and work she has done to guarantee the future of Nigerians.No money or visitation can be enough to thank her.Nice gesture from Peter Obi.And healing to the greatest Nigerian legend alive.

8. Nice one from peter Obi God keep making him bigger and more quick recovery and total healing of God upon the Akuyilli's IJN AMEN

9. Akunyili is a fighter and she will come through this with a story.

10. May God perfect her healing in no distance time, amen! My amiable ex-governor tanx for d visit & may God also bless, kip & preserve & perfect all dat concerns u & ur family. Amen.

11. Look at this man that did nothing for Anambra in his 8years as a pretension Governor wanting India to teach him infrastructural development. Hussling for Abuja attention. Please stop living your life in the media. Go get real life. Go back to your business of trading please.

1. U are a fool to have written that. That man happened to be one of the best governors so fa, during his tenure. He was able to do a lot for the state despite the pittance the state gets from abuja, relatively speaking. One of the very few governors that did not leave his state with burdensome debt, rather, he left about 70b in savings and investments. I doubt you have ever set foot in anambra. Stupid!

12. Daz good of him? Nig to india? Pple of ananbra from day one I like dem? Dem get diz brotherly love

13. Thank God for the good news.we live u dora.get well soon

14. Quick recovery!

15. father LORD pls grant her a speedy recovery n JESUS nme amen.and no such shall befall every1 of us prayn for her n JESUS nme amen.

16. Eyeh oßagoo...govt.obi e hapu obodo anambra ga india,onye ga achi anyi??? Odikwa dan ge rous oo

17. Dear Prof. Dora Akunyili,

you are not alone at this trying time of your life; you are in our prayers since we saw a picture of you looking frail.

I hope you recover sooner than you think. Swing back to life and wear your cheerful look again. I send you fast healing wishes.

18. I keep praying for your full recovery Ma. We love u and can't bear it if anything happens to u. God is ur strength. Bless you. Bella

19. Is it the same Mrs Akunyili that a relative of hers' confirmed to me that she's dead, this was a week ago.
    Ok naa......*lips sealed.

*My R1.50c comment *

1. A man's enemies r members of his household! Who is dat relative of the family dat told u she was dead? Besides, I don't see any reason y d family wld hide her death if it happened! Or are u daring 2 say Peter Obi was paid 2 lie 2 d public? wld she resurrect secretly if dey hid it? U enemy of progress@ Angie Cape, get a life and stop spreading rumours! Prof Dora Akunyili is healed IJN

2. A man's enemies r members of his household! Who is dat relative of the family dat told u she was dead? Besides, I don't see any reason y d family wld hide her death if it happened! Or are u daring 2 say Peter Obi was paid 2 lie 2 d public? wld she resurrect secretly if dey hid it? U enemy of progress@ Angie Cape, get a life and stop spreading rumours! Prof Dora Akunyili is healed IJN

20. Gov. Peter Obi has shown good example in paying a visit to Dora Akunyili in India. She really needs the Prayer & support of every Nigeria.

>VIA TECNO B3

21. This is exactly what we need... "One Love" BASILIANO I rep igbo

22. Why won't they say what is wrong with her? Well God should heal her in Jesus name

23. How thoughtful of him....that is a man with a good heart...

24. SO? Linda, why is this news? the better news should be reporting on the plights of many Nigerians that are dealing with the same health challenges as her, and cant get any treatment due to the gross corrupt practices of the likes of Dora, Peter and cohorts.
    SHAMELESS MORANS! GOING TO OTHER COUNTRIES TO GET TREATMENT COS THEY FAIL AT THEIR DUTIES! AND THEY WONDER WHY OTHER RACES LOOK DOWN ON THE BLACK RACE!

25. quick recovery we pray thee.

26. Thank God for recovering. I pray for total healing in Jesus name.. Amen

27. Thank God for her. I laughed wen he said 'picture painted by rumour mongers'. Linda, I hope u know u re among? Lol

28. I thank God she is getting better
    #Ceejay

29. May God heal her!amen

30. I bless God for her recovery

31. God will not forsake her in her time of trouble. The life of numerous Nigerians that she saved from untimely death in the hand of fake drug peddles will speak on her behalf. As the Lord liveth she will not die but live to glorify God's name. As it is written in Isaiah 53vs4-5 by His stripe she WAS healed. Even if she has committed any offense to warrant this suffering, the mercy of the Lord will speak on her behalf IJN. Amen

32. May God protect and save her life for us,she's such a nice woman....wish her fast recovery in jesus name Amen!
    Diva chilee

33. I await to see that ur lovely and warm smile again maam.
    I wait to see my dogged Dora that shock the annals of history
    I pray for the woman,who came,saw and conqured.
    Speedy recovery my amazon.

34. I wish her quick recovery, we do not want to loose her

35. Get well soon mummy. TO GOD BE THE GLORY!!

36. Wishn her quick recovery. . Dats was my governor. D last paragraph is nt necessary nah seems lyk politics

37. Sweet Lord,d way u answered moses @d red sea pls,I ask u heal Dora aka #myrolemodel speedily IJN *fashionista LeOnOrA*

38. Gov Obi is a hypocrite. He was Gov of a nigerian state, how much did he invest in health and hospital. Why didnt he develop hospitals in Anambra state so people can go there for treatment instead of going abroad.

39. PETER OBI! ITS A GOOD THING YOU PAYING DORA A VISIT!
    BUT THIS MAN IS MAKING AN ENEMY OUT OF ME AND MY LOCAL GOVERNMENT!
    HE SHOULD COME AND GIVE US OUR MANDATE FOR GOD SAKE! THIS MAN AIN'T ALL THAT GOOD AS HE APPEARS TO BE.
    CAN U IMAGINE HE CONDUCTED A LOCAL ELECTION IN 21LG AND 20 WAS WON BY APGA HIS PARTY, THE REMAINING 1 LG WON BY MY PARTY LP HE CANCELLED IT. AND SINCE THEN, THEY HAVE BEEN DENYING US NNEWI NORTH LG OF OUR MANDATE.
    I HOW MUCH I SPENT CAMPAIGNING FOR THAT ELECTION AND AFTER ALL THAT HIS DENYING ME N MY FELLOW WINNERS OF OUR MANDATE.
    YET HE WALKS AROUND LIKE HE IS A SAINT

WHO EVER KNOWS THIS MAN SHOULD TELL HIM TO COME AND DECLARE THE POOR LADY THAT WON HER CHAIRMANSHIP ELECTION N THE COUNCILLORS WINNERS AND GIVE EM THEIR MANDATE. BEFORE THE ROT OF GOD DESCENDS ON HIM #MTCHEEW

1. Rot of God? Did you mean "wrath of God"?
      LS

40. Tank God she is responding to treatment.. I pray for her quick recovery. "He tanked them for their commitment to duty" u see! Its only in Naija u'll see a nurse telling a pregnant woman in labour to shut up cos she is not her husband o and our leaders are very well aware.. God will judge all of them.

41. She did not try 4 her ibo brother,she made many billionares poor,distroying goods wort of millions,peoples sweet.. I neva liked her.. Whishing her speed recovery..

1. She cannot identify with dubious ppl all in d name of being IBO! Those ppl were only concerned abt making money @ d expense of d por masses' lives, by importing/seLling fake drugs! Her actions were a symbol of true patriotism! If dey really wanna get rich, dey shd invest in clean authentic businesses, shikena!

42. I wish you,Dear Amazon a speedy recovery.You are a precious Icon and Nigeria needs credible people like you to turn things around. Get well soon. E ma kpw fun wa.. Nno Nne Oma!

43. Ehya... Dats very nice of him. And I wish her quik recovry

44. Nice of Him. We continue to pray for her recovery.

45. Dora,God of Abraham , Isaac and Jacod, is able , abundantly able to heal and deliver those that trust in Him. Surely. He will heal you. You will live and testify His goodness upon yor life. By His stripes you are healed.

46. "Many are the afflictions of the righteous but the Lord delivers him from them all."
    So shall it be for Dora Akunyili IJN.

47. I have been to the hospital to see her and she is in a terrible state lets all pray for her

48. I love you prof Dora,your healed and you inspired me to becoming a pharmacist today,God bless you Ma

49. God Almighty will do what only him can do in your life. The service you have rendered to humanity will stand in the gap for you and God will show you mercy. Quick Recovery. #simplePay#

50. God Almighty will do what only him can do in your life. The service you have rendered to humanity will stand in the gap for you and God will show you mercy. Quick Recovery. #simplePay#

51. Wishing u speedy recovery Maam...............

52. Thank God 4 answered prayers, we re still prayn and trusting God 4 u ma, all u haters and fake drug dealers, keep hating Bt d good Lord ll sure heal her and bring her back 2 us in good health IJMN. AmEn

53. tank u peter obi.maami,pls cum back home ooo.we wish u a speedy recovery.amen.u r a source of inspiration 2 my generation n i will continue 2 hold u 2 high esteem.

54. I knew he would go nd invite his partner in crime

55. Nice of him get well soon madam dora