Ondo State House of Assembly Elects First Female Speaker | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 27 May 2014

Ondo State House of Assembly Elects First Female Speaker

Members of the Ondo State House of Assembly this morning May 27th elected Ms Jumoke Akindele  representing Okitipupa constituency II as the new speaker of the State Assembly. Pulling 13 votes, Ms Akindele who is a trained lawyer emerged speaker after the election. She was Chairman, House Committee on Education in the house before her recent election.

The former speaker, Mr Samuel Adeshina Ajayi lost his battle to cancer in Feb 25th 2014 making the seat vacant for new leadership.

39 comments:

1. Its good to see woman taking up political positions, congratulobia to her

1. Mr daft congratulobia, Ur grammar is terrible, yet u always rush 2 be the first 2 comment on every write-up on dis blog! *sigh* get a life dear

2. Mr daft congratulobia, Ur grammar is terrible, yet u always rush 2 be the first 2 comment on every write-up on dis blog! *sigh* get a life dear

2. A woman's place is in the kitchen not in politics.

1. @ Anon 12:57 You are an Educated illiterate and just a hater! I pity your wife that's if you are man enough to have one. Oniranu!

2. Kitchen is ur mother, sister's and unfortunate wife's place. Ignnorant goat!

3. Don't go there and joining them in stealing, biko make a difference

4. Congrats to her,I wish her a successful tenure devoid of Ettehgate and Oduahgate.

5. Congrats to her. This is good jare. Abeg no go loot money too o. No spoil ur fine name dear. God bless u.

6. Well congrat to her...

7. Congratulations to her, it's the 21st century there should be more women in power.

8. Dats nice women should be giving chance to do it

9. Yay! That's my aunty. You deserve it.

10. Yaaaayyyyy let's go there daughters of eve.Occupy we shall.Congrats maam.Lead n Loot with the heart of a woman ,not like Patricia Eteh

11. Congrats o madam-see as u thin like me now o, check her out in 3 months time....

12. Aunty Jummy is just the best for the position,shes hardworking and very efficient.im so so happy.

13. Congratulation Miss Jumoke' newly appointed Speaker Ondo state house of Assembly, woman should hold key positions in power.

>TECNO B3

14. Ondo state d most gender sensitive state in nija where u still have d first woman state NLC Chairperson

15. Congrats n pls don't forget the reason y u were elected to that position.

16. Eyeh oßagoo....dis woman mara mma ooo

17. She isn't the first female speaker. The first female speaker was in Ogun state. Hon. Titi Oseni

18. Congratulatios!Good is women in leadership positions.Madam pls legislate well withfear or favour to stand the test of time.don't b intimidated by Men,God help u.Amen!

19. Rip to the dead and best of luck to the newly elected speaker

20. Congrats 2. Her isnot easy1st female. Speaker fight. Women course o.also lay good foundation madam.

21. Waooh congrats to her!

22. Congrats Ms gud 2c a female representing,d Lord ll bless u wt wisdom & wen u run short of it ask d Lord 4 directioN..*fashionista LeOnOrA*

23. Linda is dis news.. congrats to her

24. Madam go n chop Money jare.

25. Hmm... A female speaker? Dats very gud. Congrats to her on d record

26. Congrats to her, let's hope she won't disappoint us lyk her female counterpart did at d FED level so all oda girls dat av political ambition will av sum1 to look up to
    ~Davido's gf

27. Vomgrate ulhotop

28. anon 12:57, your mama's place is in the kitchen. who knows what she's going through in the hands of your yeye father for you to have this orientation.

29. As a dunce, we do not expect u not 2 b confused!!!