WAEC Introduces 39 new subjects in the Syllabus | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 3 February 2014

WAEC Introduces 39 new subjects in the Syllabus

Plumbing and Fitting, Photography, Salesmanship, Upholstery, Painting and Interior decoration are amongst 39 subjects recently added to the examination syllabus of The West African Examination Council, WAEC by the examination body.

Of the 39 subjects, four of them, Computer Studies, Insurance, Store Management & Office Practice would serve as electives while the remaining 35 are for Trade-related courses.

Revealing this, the Council’s Acting Head, Test Development Division, Mrs. Olayinka Ajibade said the recent introductions were in line with the Nigerian Education Research & Development Council’s new secondary school curriculum.

Ajibade said the new syllabus would take effect from this year's May/June WASSCE Examinations and students would be required to take four core subjects which would include English Language, General Mathematics, Civic Education and Trade/ Entrepreneurial Studies.

103 comments:

1. Creating the subjects aint the problem!
    What teacher are gonna teach 'em nationwide?

1. Meaning dt biology and economics r nt compulsory anymore.uhnnnnnnn

2. That's great, Nigeria has finally recognised that there are other ways to becoming successful than the traditional subjects they are used to. Kudos WAEC!!!

3. Wow! Its a welcomed development
    We taking a cue from countries like China

1. Comot here. Your I too know is getting too much. Mentioning China like you've been to the airport before.

2. Who go teach them?

4. I actually like the idea.

5. Ha! Waec sha want people to fail dis year again..i tire for una ooo
    OMG! video of Two mad people were crazily “making- out in public
    Watch Video Here

Arab girl with the biggest back shakes N grind
    Watch Video Here

Girls Caught Kissing Each Other Openly & Passionately In The Club
    Watch Video Here

Drunk girl and guy caught doing it in the bathroom
    Watch Video Here

6. Yes Ooº°˚ ˚°ºoo , Waec has upgraded. Sec skol kids now study marketing, fishery nd odas. Nice development I must §a̲̅γ.

7. That's a good one

8. On top wetin now..wahala dey ooo

9. Way to go, Goodlucks governance.

10. Thank God I have passed this stage a longgggg time ago

11. Hmm,interesting! But who's gonna teach d students all these? Are there capable teachers?

12. Federal Schools av been studying d above core subjects.

13. Will it solve d problem of education system in dis country?.....well.....good development shaa

14. Nice one from WAEC

15. Wow beautiful. Good Luck

16. Would have done #photography if it were in my time.. Nice addition

17. Beautiful! Now they are waking up!!! Good 4 them.

18. See packaging,I lyk th idea..If all this self employed courses were introduced since..Nigerians wouldn't hav been relying solemnly on govt 4 jobs.Thumbs up WAEC

19. Where are the Teachers?

20. Well they must have a good reason for that

21. Its a good one for WAEC...

I Rep IT JAKES YOU ( A Book Of Inspiration By Linda Ikeji)
    >>Comment Moderation Disabled<<

22. A welcome development.

23. 9ce... @ Least we're not studying beyonce.lol

@Bobo_Edo

1. Hahahaha, lwtmb!
      Make we study Genevieve na, how you see am?

24. Hmmm... Good for dem

25. nice one, sign of beta tins 2 come

26. A Very good development. This. Will encourage people to be self employed. Not everybody Will work for the government.

27. Replies
    1. Ur dad wasted his sperm producing a foolish child lik u.

2. Watch n Na, you mean say his dad for be gay?

28. Nice.hope it empowers the youth to be more productive

29. LOL ..... Amazing. #VectorManiac

30. Fantastic Idea!

31. Habatically! WAEC!!! The students are failing every year with d normal subjects....nd y'all are planning 2 add 2 deir burdens! I fink it wil be more appropriate d waec body sort out d prob dan all dese!! Anyway lets kip our fingers cross and watch out for deir results dis year

32. W̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥. Nvr write and pass the others they are adding another.

33. i no dey school again so good luck

34. Beautiful,its a welcome development,I commend dis decision.........pretty T

35. Shebi na NAIJA we dey anyfin is possible at least it is beta than studying Beyoncé in USA hahaha

36. I love this one, just like EED was introduced to higher institutions. it pays to be self employed and just incase u no see work, ur handwork go bring money.

37. I love this one, just like EED was introduced to higher institutions. it pays to be self employed and just incase u no see work, ur handwork go bring money.

38. Photography mε̲̣̣̣̥ likey...dis courses re. Gud sha cos it make sudent develop skills and dis create self employment and job and open up d "art world"

39. If this will take effect from this year, then, what will happen to those who have already registered for the examination? Though, it's a nice idea.

40. Welcome idea, very nice.

41. Thank God i don finish waec....

42. Wonderful development indeed...I hope cramming would leave the Nigerian educational system with these new reforms...I hope one day waec would be a better examing body than cambridge international examonation body.I'm sure that BY GOD'S GRACE there is Hope for a better Nigeria!!!

43. West african educational board wants to really kill somebody..... As in person will read for 39 subjects..... Say him or her na computer.. Thats just unfair....

1. There are more than 9 subjects but you probably sat for just 9,still the same here,they won't have 2 sit 4 all oga.

44. Cool mehn.....I do hope there won't be mass failure as well ooooh?

45. West african educational board wants to really kill somebody..... As in person will read for 39 subjects..... Say him or her na computer.. Thats just unfair....

46. West african educational board wants to really kill somebody..... As in person will read for 39 subjects..... Say him or her na computer.. Thats just unfair....

47. Na wa oo... Instead of them to do something else dem dey add more subjects... Lolz!!! I wonder which brain will read dem wen Nigeria gals can't even read nd write well.

48. They should really take this stuff into consideration, because person nobi computer.....

49. That's good, atleast if one can be good in any of the courses listed. That will reduce unemployment. Catch them young. K

50. SMH...dey would have added "hunting and tree climbing" or "peeping and hunting"

51. I commend this...academic 'fresh-air'! I just hope these new subjects will be properly taught...so, these secondary school grads can easily choose their prospective Uni. paths.

52. Wowww good move.. I hope they would have experienced teachers for those... it would really help young entrepreneurs... zami

53. Thank God I have my WAEC oooo

But Introducing These New Subjects is kinda cool to me because secondary will re-shuffle their subjects now.

The World is growing into technology age now so i believe is cool for every young teenager to learn to know how to use the computer.

54. Good one. A reform to a failed educational system. Intoduction of this new subjects to the syllabus creates a path for the students future. In other words by intoducing real subjects that can lead to Enterpreneurship(sic) as well as making a student more confident of a job recruitment after school, because these are developing job areas. Great.

55. I don't know if this is funny or not, buh it made me laugh. Anyway they have tried, since they know there's no job out there for graduates, dem come help us put in Handiwork for there. LMAO. Hmmm this is quite sad buh good.

56. Nice. This is a gud one. We need more of these changes.

57. Eh! This people don dey get sense oh!

58. Ow wil waec include all dis subjects overnight and expect d students to write it in their forthcomin examination,wen they had little or no knwledge of dis subjects cos they've nt been taught,they shud better reconsider oooo,mayb frm next year

59. That's a good idea

60. Seriously ? Waec ? The ones that was there pple fail talk more of adding more ? Lolz.. Well thank heavens am done with secondary sch... Lol.. No its funny

61. Lolz.. Seriously weac pple fail normal subject.. Now u adding more ! That's like mass failure for bois and girls that don't read thank heavens am no more in secondary sch . And yeah! I made my resuly str8t up A's.. Well on 2nd thought its cool .. Really cool. Big ups

62. I think it is a wonderful plan.Making them skilled at things other than general knowledge.Wish it was introduced in my time.Would have really enjoyed photography.Kudos WAEC

63. Did they say May/June? Is that when they are starting? Besides the students have all registered before they release this. How are they going to sit for them in waec when there is no teachers to teach them? Are they so much in a hurry that it can not wait for next year?

64. Too much theory no practical.....#Gobe#

65. A welcome development.

66. Tailoring /fashion designing would have been nice too. Nice idea!

67. Will they hire experts to teach these courses? The truth is that nobody in the present school system is qualified to teach these courses; photography, upholstery making,etc. Let's watch and see if the required skill will be brought on board.

68. Meaning dat d subject ill be tot in secondary school,so as 2 prepare 4 weac

69. I only congratulate the young teachers before it will serve as an opportunity for job.

70. D is Stupidest idea of d year,u only creat stuff lyk dis wen its functionin d system functions properly,must we copy,students r been affected n yet d govt who takes dere own kids abroad want 2 make d future generation suffer,hw does dis help,even wen technical schs r nt well taught,I feel really bad

71. D idea is a great 1...kudos WAEC ~ chidinma

72. the teacher thing is still an issue I suspect, but its a positive if anything

73. the teacher thing is still an issue I suspect, but its a positive if anything

74. Am disturbed at all this mess in the Education sector. At the end of the day,:emphasy will be on paper qualification. Has the school been equipped for all the triad acquisition subject? By the way, is it the same teacher that wiil teach the subject with that poor salary? Time will Tell

75. dahz a gud idea...buh d treat is including d 39subjects wont stop exam malpractice @ all...it will increase it sef....letz focus on eradicating exam malpractice 1st#datz ma opinion#

Few say so*via B.A.G*

76. It really funny,though its a nice idea.

77. Bona even if Dem take clue frm usa,u go stil fail ur waec DZ year....oloshi***lmao**stil DivY

78. lol...students neva wryt nd pass dia normal elective nd compulsory subjects finish dy r adding more...na dm knw (•_•)

79. Di√a₢ΰiƨ̣̣̣̇̇̇̇ε4 February 2014 at 22:13

Salesmanship? Hiaa ooo! Why wasting d money when Anambra State is available! #ndiara Smh students nvr pass d elective subjects finish!

80. them want introduce new subject which teacher sabi am wey go teach am
    d ones wey dey b4 pple dey fail dem still dey introduce anoda 39 i pity stds wey go write am. Biggest mistake of 2014

81. As far as am concerned, this change is as good as useless, I wonder the teacher to teach photography,plumbing,woodwork,fishery ETC. The teachers in the second sch has not been trained for this new policy and the govt has not even made any attempt to employ experts to come and train there teacher or employ new staff to handle these subjects...so it as good as useless. No infrastructure to deal with this. How many sec. schs have a photolab,or a fishpond... The federal gov. Better wake up to the demands of this policy unless it will die like others.