N9billion contract scam: Court acquits Dimeji Bankole | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 14 February 2014

N9billion contract scam: Court acquits Dimeji Bankole

Former Speaker of the House of Reps, Dimeji Bankole, accused by the EFCC of masterminding a N9bn contract fraud was acquitted by a Federal High Court in Abuja today Friday Feb. 14th. Wow!

Punch reports
An Abuja Federal High Court on Friday discharged and acquitted Dimeji Bankole, after finding that the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission was not able to prove a 16-count criminal charge, bordering on a N9billion contract scam, filed against him.
Justice Evoh Chukwu, in a ruling on a no-case-submission filed by Bankole after the prosecution had called its witnesses against him in the trial, held that there was no evidence linking the former Speaker to the alleged offenses.
The EFCC had accused Bankole of masterminding a contract fraud, involving the purchase of two Range Rover bullet-proof vehicles; two Range Rover vehicles (without bullet proof); three Mercedes Benz S-600 cars; 400 units of DSTV systems; 400 television sets; 800 units of desktop computers; 100 units of Sharp Digital Copier, and 400 units of HP LaserJet 2600N.

The addresses presented by the companies, which executed the contracts for the procurement of the items turned out to be false, as well as other information provided in their profiles.

The anti-graft agency alleged that most of the purchases were contrary to Sections 17 to 56 of the Public Procurement Act No.14 of 2007, and punishable under Section 58(5) of the same Act.
With a private lawyer, Mr. Festus Keyamo, prosecuting the case, Bankole was arraigned over the 16-count charge, to which he pleaded not guilty.

However, the trial proceeded with the prosecution calling six witnesses, including officials of the National Assembly, to testify in the case.

After the prosecution had called its last witness, Bankole, through his lawyer, Mr. O. Akoni, SAN, filed an application for a no-case-submission, asking the court to acquit and discharge him on the grounds that the EFCC had not established a prima facie case against him.

Ruling on the no-case-submission on Friday, Justice Chukwu stressed that, in order to prove the case against the former Speaker, the EFCC must prove that the “accused person (Bankole) colluded with the supplier or contractor to supply at inflated prices.”

He held that the anti-graft agency was unable to prove such.

The judge further noted that witnesses brought by the prosecution all admitted that Bankole was not the chief accounting officer of the House.

Justice Chukwu added that all the witnesses also admitted that the contract for the purchase of the controversial items followed due process.
He said, “All the witnesses told the court that the procedure for the award of the contract followed due process. None of them showed that the accused person entered into a collusive agreement with the contractors or their agents.
“The accused person does not own any of the companies.”

The  judge held that the prosecution did not provide any evidence to prove that Bankole benefited from the contract.

82 comments:

Kayode olaitan said...

Please all you blog owners, u guys owe us a duty to investigate your news, before misleading the public, …

I would have expected that by now, u blogs would have chased Ojb around to mention the names of the people that gave bounced cheques, u all allowed the matter to die a natural death, … We should investigate so that the so called celebrity will start behaving well, and living by example

What is the difference between a 419 and a celeb that gave bounced cheque to hype his personal reputation, that is fraud as well, deliberate misleading or manipulating a person or a system for your gain

Up till now, COZA pastor abiodun has not still responded to the allegation and you all blog owner sat down, anyway, you all will get serious competition very soon

We are waiting for the robust response

Politics sheet #bright bravo#

Not new to me, God should just wipe away all these people

same old story.....if i may ask,y d all laughing so wildly?.... guess d've gotten dia share of d spoils.

Najo_sleek™

B4 nko.. Nigeria for u!!

Obara jesus, after reading this news, I suddenly feel cheated and lied to. God I am so angry, how can they free this thief.

Hmmmnnn.. Nigeria!!!

Somebody is accused of being gay, the person is whipped thoroughly and given 14 years in kiri kiri, somebody steals billions (not millions,biliions) and they set the person free. nigeria is over.

Corruption is nigeria's last name.name: NiGERIA CORRUPTION.

This man personally confessed that money went missing and he had no idea,

Dear persecutor, where did you get your useless law degree from. How could you lose a case like this, and set a criminal free. Nigerian lawyers are jokers.

I never expected them to find any evidence.Its politics,only the smart knows that there are no permanent enemies

The next thing,is to carry all your family to america, and enjoy your stolen money. Another thief that is not even intelligent,has stolen from nigerians. SMH

This is the same thing that will happen to Stella oduah, who wants to bet, that bitch is going to walk free.

Gud for him.
Missed his ever smiling face at the hallowed chamber

And dat was d end of d case,

Only in Nigeria, i remember Orji Uzor Kalu was discharged and acquited on over thirty (30) counts in Nigeria but he was found guilty of all seven (7) counts he was charged with in a foreign land, UK.
The truth died long time ago in Nigeria and Nigeria judiciary system is the major killer.
Here we are again with this Ogun state don discharged and acquited over sixteen (16) counts. Waiting even come out of Otedola and his aboki, Farook case which was even filmed and seen by everyone? They are both walking free and participating actively in the sharing of national cakes today.
I pitty poor masses of this country sha. May God help us and deliver us 4m them all.

That's why more leaders will continue to steal from Nigerians, because they steal and walk away smiling

Tush said...

Well.. it was expected! All hail Naija!

Ahhhh I weep for this country. A man can be jailed for 14 years for being suspected of homosexuality but a man that is charged with SIXTEEN COUNTS of fraud worth N9BILLION is acquitted because it "can't be proved". Nigeria, look at yourselves. You are like the child that got up to give a speech completely in the nude while his mates laughed at him.

Mystic Falls said...

In the end everybody went home happy am sure if we saw pictures of the Judge he will be beamed with smiles 2. Bankole is innocent agreed,so where did the 9bn go 2??

No evidence. case close. nigeria too much.ego na ekwu.1st to comment

Just what he needs to fulfill his dream of governing Ogun state one day.i don't what he stole or how much he siphoned but I still have fond memories of his lovely command of d English language.wish Jonathan could speak like that.hmmmm
......gee d piranha

IBK said...

Before people crucify the judiciary, know that cases are won or lost on facts, evidences and on their *relevancy* not morality. If d man was actually guilty but the Efcc was unable to establish same in the court of law...the Judge's hand is tied! No option dan to dismiss the charges.it sounds bias and unfair but that's the legal world for us in action

kxl said...

They need to free him, cus he will be contesting the nxt governorship election in Ogun state....PDP format, we aren't buying all this corruption...KXL

sunday otuns said...

Our judicial system is unreliable.Any justice that is delayed is questionable.

Wetin I wan talk way I never talk before? wen a poor man steals a foul he gets 15yrs jail term. Nigeria judiciary is the most corrupt in this whole universe.goods meant for the highest bidder.

Na 2day? Na their way be dt na
Eesah

All those items for 9billion???... My country is sick...

PDP,God wl judge u pple all,liars

Oluwa o.. where this our country is heading to. Please God save us from all this scammer!

sunday otuns said...

They only know how to harrass the youths with laptops and label yahoo boys.Was dimeji tried in court?

So people steal 9billion naira up nothing happens 2 dem den wen u re LGTB dey will arrest u..oh nigeria my country,wen will thou rise up against corruption and injustice..my eyes are heavy and I'm weary...

sunday otuns said...

They only know how to harrass the youths with laptops and label them yahoo boys.Was dimeji tried in court?

JJ said...

I guess he should be nominated for sainthood. Shame on Nigerian government.

JJ said...

I guess he should be nominated for sainthood. Shame on Nigerian government.

Warri girl said...

2015 Political thing. God save Nigeria

Swaggs isimemen said...

The nigeria judiciary are corrupt 2, u People we never go free, God will arest u all 4 put his children into poverty

The case against Bankole was always watery and emotional. The facts were rubbish and I remember telling some friends back then, that no court in the world would convict him based on the evidence.

my friends I followed this case thru and thru,its not enough to read n comment on linda ikeji. nations aren't built that way.

Oyemen. said...

*Poorman wey thief Maggie dem go put him name for Crime Fighter*,Nigerian Judiciary which way*Sadfaced*.
GOD Help Us all.

Dimeji Bankole has been on trial for the past 2years and 9 months. He has appeared in court a cumulative 117times in two courts Federal high court Abuja and State High Court Apo. He was present everyday his case was mentioned. Keyao the EFCC lawyer called for adjournment 22 times in the federal high court. It took the judge to call him unserious before he closed his case. He tried all he could to rig marole the dates but this judge who was the 2nd on this case was firm. The charges against bankole were rushly trumped up not thought tru before rushing to court. This is what the system does to good people. Walk half a mile in my shoes. Good for you Bankole. Congrats

Chidimma said...

God is watching all these PDP people on 10D screen. Ndiara

AnnMarie said...

that's naija for you

pwitie B said...

This man with his bigmouth ad plenty teeths have succeded in covering his dirty deeds

I think EFCC went to court preparing to fail, at least when asked they would say 'we prosecuted him, but the court set him free.' Because I don't get why they could get one material witness that would tire him to the crime. Even an idiot knows that it is highly impossible to prove a case on suppositions. Too bad! And now he will plead double jeopardy.

The rate at which billions miss in this country, one would think na 100k. May God forgive our politrikcians. So angry right now.

Zuriel.

Only in Nigeria thieves and state looters could go scout free. Like our famous home movies, you can almost certainly and accurately predict the outcome of a case of the these thieves

Chizzy said...

Niaja Na Chop I Chop The Nigga Been Wan Chop Alone But Since Him Cooperate Them Gats Free Am... Niaja I Hail Oooo...

Nigerian gist said...

we are getting there, u cant compare decades ago with the influence media and press of today. Transparency is the key

read interesting gist and entertainment

So he is a free saint abi?

That's it na,corruption we are talking abt.

Going to??!

Enough already with the God help us! He has given us the mettle to take our destiny into our hands but of course na to siddon look.

Igor said...

No case of corrupt enrichment or embezzlement was prooved against him.The fact that Keyamo led the prosecution made me believe in the legitmacy of the judgement.

Igor said...

The prosecutor was the same person that led the prosecution team that landed Bode George in prison.

Igor said...

No case of corrupt enrichment or embezzlement was prooved against him.The fact that Keyamo led the prosecution made me believe in the legitmacy of the judgement.

Igor said...

The prosecutor was the same person that led the prosecution team that landed Bode George in prison.

Leez said...

Hian! No be Naija we dey?????? Anything can happen jare! See them even laughing "Bank Ole"

Wen an intellectual like Prof wole soyinka labelled dis country "A POST-MORTEM NATION" I thot he was exagerating,Nigeria started out on a gud note, but we are heading nowhere ryt now......more lik a plane heading 2 bermuda triangle.....haba! Naija wot a nation,were d mad is made guilty and appal d free,a country were young minds are burned,brutalised and lynched only on a mere tip off of being Gay, a country were minor crimes gets most stringent and harshest of d judgements,I sit back and ask myself:NIGERIA WOT HOPE.

9billion naira I know could send millions of nigerian youth to sch, and yet one rich man made away with it! The rich getting richer @ the expense of the poor! Youth where are thee? We wake up every day waiting for miss karma to strike, but to our ultimate surprise we see that karma has join them to opress us the more! Oh oh oh we cried, and still crying. Our future @ jeopardy! Its well we keep saying! Suffering and smiling!

GBAM! Ignorant people.
If he covered his tracks well nko
Is it d duty of d court to enter his bedroom n investigate him?
The. Court will only rule based on what's before them.Once deres element of doubt,its over

Very true.

Hmmm, this is serious oo

The only thing that baffles me in this scenerio is not the judgement but the Bank Ole and EFCC operatives they life together

Okay so Bankole is found not guilty...but the 9bn still got missing anyways? So who stole the money? Naija, A country where criminals work freely while the innocent ones are convicted#very sad situation

PRETTY GIRL

I laf n pity Nigerians, I dnt av anytin against Dimeji Bankole, bt if money is missin, cn someone say whr it went? All cases of corruption just die a natural death in Nigeria, n I'm nt surprised cos corruption here in Nigeria is lyk a fairy tale wch always ends "Happily ever after"
Only God will save us n our judiciary

Just shut up Kayode. If u want to get those information then go to the source n stop blaming bloggers. Oloshi jati jati

The reason politicians get away with stuffs like this can be traced 2 d fact dat we do not have laws dat are stringent enough,the. Judiciary is trying, but if. U take a case 2 court and can't prove it,d accused will be set free

Chop I Chop Political Party.

Funny folks. U guys r learners wen it comes to d Nigeria Judiciary. They r as corrupt as hell and yes I'm a lawyer. Is it not d same Naija judiciary dat set Ibori free and in UK he used his own mouth to plead guilty to all d charges. My point is that dis man wont hv gone free if he were tried in a decent society. In fact no Nigerian public oficial will be innocent if tried in a decent society. They all know d Nigerian judiciary is a joke and they manipulate it to their advantange. The biggest mistake Ibori made was that he left d shores of Nigeria. Dats his
undoing. And I'm sure he must be regretting dat mistake now. Nigeria dat Alamesigha ran to from UK and he's working feee now. He hs been pardoned and he even hs d shameless boldnes to be vying 4 d Senate. By 2015 he will be addressed as distinguished senator. Loool. Nigeria is indeed a jungle and dis guys know it.

last baby said...

Politics is for dead conscience people

I remembered just like yesterday when Bankole was arrested in his abuja residence, it waz done in a commando style. The first attempt was resisted and it waz on a friday with the intention of detaining him till monday. It took the intervention of the presidency for effc to invite him to their office the following monday, indeed he honoured the invitation. Efcc were jubilating that a big fish has been caught, the media was abuzz with the news... but those in the know, knew that it was all razzmatazz, the usual nigeria politics to silence the young man to further his political ambitiou then. From the charges against him, it was evident that the man will come out clean but it waz only a matter of time. He has no link to any of the companies mentioned and the items purchased were not in his personal name nor benefitted directly on usage. Now, the power that be wants to use him politically for pdp south west election and it becomes expedient to release him.
In like manner, Bode George was set free for same purpose. In the same trend, Stella Oduah case will follow same suit.
Lesson to learn: wen you want to steal big in nigeria, you must belong to the rite political party. If u disagree, ask Femi Fani Kayode who has been battling with efcc over allegation of just N220m money laundering or u ask Ladoja

BOMS said...

@Kayode Olaitan, how does OJB matter and COZA matter connect with the topic of discussion? You just want to stir the pot! bloggers have no business seriously investigating this and that. if u want to start ur blog and spend time investigating people and stories, please do so.. ain't nobody got time for that! just suit urself and see who will have time to compete with ur foolery of a blog!

#Bye Felicia

If its nt bankole, then who stole d meat from d cooking pot, u mean me yes u it cudnt be then who? Nigeria my country I'm stil 4 an answer #Smh#

Prosecutors shinning teeth with accused criminal.. SMDH.. Later them go begin shine eyes for street boys.

CAPT JD

Prosecutors shinning teeth with accused criminal.. SMDH.. Later them go begin shine eyes for street boys.

CAPT JD

CAPT JD

CAPT JD

CAPT JD

CAPT JD

CAPT JD