Man flogs orphan to death over Christmas rice | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 4 January 2014

Man flogs orphan to death over Christmas rice

Stories like this just break your heart. According to a report by Vanguard, a 37 year old man beat his 20 year old cousin to death over a bowl of rice. The report below...

The Ogun State Police Command said, yesterday, that it had arrested a man,  Kayode Olubunmi,37, for allegedly killing his cousin,Haruna  Adeoye,20, over a bowl of Christmas rice.
The Police Public Relations Officer in the state, Muyiwa Adejobi disclosed this in a statement sent to newsmen in Abeokuta.
Adejobi explained that the tragic incident occurred on the Christmas day  at  Ajegunle, Ita-Oluwo, Ogijo in Sagamu local government area of Ogun State at 10:30pm.

According to the Police, the suspect killed,  Adeoye,  an orphan for eating a bowl of rice given to them by a friend on Christmas day.

“ When the suspect, who went on a visit to his  friends’ place, came back  drunk, he flogged the deceased to death with a stick for eating the rice he instructed him to keep  for their dinner.

“Haruna was an orphan  who had been staying with  the  suspect   for years  and Olubunmi could not state why he killed him.

“He has confessed to the crime,  he is with us at SCID Eleweran and will soon appear  in court “, the Police said.

Culled from Vanguard

130 comments:

1. Bad news all the time that man need to be put away for a very long time

2. Dats wat alcohol does to ppl!!!

2. Because of a plate of rice Nawaoooooo

1. Linda some people are truly, you need to get out your cocoon to see for yourself. At times, I wonder are these people acting or being real.

2. Not because of rice but because of alcohol.

3. Cruel word!miss titi.

4. Ehaaayyy,,,,such a sad news.... Guess it wasn't intentional.

5. Poverty d only explanation to this

6. Na poverty we go call dis habi na wickedness RIP

7. Linda post my comment wetin i đø u

8. POVERTY!!!!!!!

#That happy sister!

9. God help us..speechless.

10. Its d devil at work! To those that drink to stupor,repent cuz U̶̲̥̅̊ might be used by d devil..Lord have mercy on d soul of d poor boy!

11. I can't understand how one can be poor, heartless and stupid at the same time? Its beyond me.

~~Success Has No Limitation~~

12. OHM God This world nawa oo. bowl of rice God Have Mercy on us all

13. Hmmm Linda Please I wan see my own comment oooooh tau!!!!!!!

14. Heart breaking. ....Poverty in Nigeria is unbearable

15. Lord ve mercy on us. The same "RICE" some people ate and disposed... It's well. Rip.

16. God help us all , such a sad story .Rip

17. Wat kind of storied ar we hearin dis yr... God pls help us

18. I saw dis in vanguard n ma hrt wept 4d poor boi.May his soul RIP

19. damn !!!!e was20yrs old !!he cud av defended himslf at least !!

1. My thought exactly!!!

2. Oga park well jor.
      Do you know what the murderer looks like?
      You think say na everybody 'ko irin si apa' like you?

20. JƱڪτ̲̅ a bowl of rice? Is it worth it? Is he @peace now? Hope he is happy...took a life cos of a bowl of rice..rice that will get spoilt..rice is replaceable life isn't....on xmas day rice is everywher, he JƱڪτ̲̅ have 2 ask d neighbor again dey would hve given him...God. Pls protect ur children from evil People

21. Over RICE???? God come! ☹☹ I pray the Law is allowed to take its course.

22. Because of d increase of lawlessness,the love of d greater number will cool off.*Prophecies fufilling*

23. What poverty can do. Wish food was easy to get. It wouldn't have happened.

24. Who knows if d boy had smt to dat day

25. Sounds funny,but this is a serious issue.
    Wonder what his cellmates will do to the wicked uncle if he's asked what brought him to d cell.

1. Bona!!!! Where ve u been? Missed u so much....muah!

2. Blame it on d alcohol

3. Welcome bck to d city Bona, learnt u traveled to d village n there was no ntwrk there.

4. The 100k still keeps him busy, abi is it the other way round. Happy new year B.

26. Na wa o Watin poverty they course for this country Abi Na evil spirit we go call am?

27. Must it always be ogun state?

28. Over a bowl of rice fa?! D guy sef, a 37 year old guy go beat 20yr old boy 2 death...him no fit run? Wicked world smh

29. Hmmmmmmm poverty but d cousin is big enough to escape when his brother was beating, or did he tired him up?(Meemee).

30. Na wa oooO bcos of rice,d@ guy hz anoda reason 4 killn d boi joor is nt bcos of rice...

31. Na wa oooo, dis pple shld nt delay my flight abeg....sad story
    EsterDean

32. Na wa o....Serz poverty 9 dey dis our obodo Bauhaunaija o.

33. Na wa o....Serz poverty 9 dey dis our obodo Bauhaunaija o.

34. omehn wot is hapning in our society God plsss help us sm of us re fed up wif life, THAT AKWA IBOM BOY

35. 20yr old? Biko wht wz d boy doin while he wz being beaten? Ah na wa o

36. Sad story..... Na only God fit separate ndi ofe mmanu and food.

37. Poverty is a curse,wat. Kind of stupid anger was dat?am sure by now his eyes are cleared from d free drinks he took,RIP 2 the boy,let rot in jail.

38. And @ that particular time, I was dancing in a club with babes around me. (º̩̩́_º̩̩̀). Life is a bitch, it f**ks us all. Now this 20yrs old dude again? What a pathetic story. He'll say he was acting under the influence of alcohol. Let's sentence him to death by hanging so that he won't drink alcohol again someday and come back home to shoot his wife for picking two meats out of the pot. ☹☹☹

39. Just wish the little girl will appear to me so that I can say sorry to her for being failed by a society that was suppose to protect her or, at best, pray God to take my life so that her life will be spared. I don't know her, but the the circumstances of her death drew tears to my eyes. Rest in Peace Haruna.

1. Nawa o, which country youfrom come? Haruna na girl for there? Abi ur eyes sabi convert 'him' wen Linda write to 'her'

40. Choi na waho.

41. Like seriously, what is going on in tis country?

42. A life for a bowl of rice! Na so

43. Seriously...this just inhumane., feel so bad right now. I pray for God's protection upon all the numerous orphans out there.

44. So sad, just because of rice. LINDA WHERE IS BONARIO?

45. just cos of rice too bad .. www.fredrickaroro.com

46. So sad, just because of rice. LINDA WHERE IS BONARIO?

47. O God hav mercy becos of rice. Satan is at work ooOoooOo

Pela

48. #sadFaace# rily touchin, may d deceased soul rest in d bossom of d almighty !!!

49. foolish man. later u go dy blame devil

50. Hmmm, see what excessive alcohol caused.

51. May God Almighty help us.

52. D man is a devil in human skin

53. My heart is broken

54. Aww see what poverty can cause in this our country naija

55. So sad n in some home the 'christmas rice' was wasting, may God help us. Sewzann

56. Hw much fr Rice,wan go mak u tak pesin life.I hate al diz kind of newz

57. Na dem first poor! He's a psychopath dt jst unfolded!!! Anger is d root of al Evil!!!

58. na wa ooo... is it that poverty and wickedness

59. Madam Linda ikeji post my comments

60. Let me correct sumtin dis nut poverty issue here it's a height of stupidity nd Witchcrafty attitude so pple should stop saying poverty..wat is rice dat make sum1 to kill he own cousin he should be punishment nd rotten in jail 4 life imprison Bastard oloshi ur eye don cum down nah...Steadyman Say So...

61. OMG! Rice that I couldn't even eat on Christmas day is what somebody died FO̶̷̩̥̊͡Я? This has nothing 2do with poverty,some people are naturally wicked,that's Ђ☺ÏŽ Α̲̅ lady beat up her husband's late brother's daughter Α̲̅πϑ removed her teeth bcos she did №†̥ cook... God save defenceless children from evil men Α̲̅πϑ women!!

62. End time, RIP Haruna

63. what a wicked world.

64. This is a fugly shit, because of a bowel of rice that he wasted a soul, that's unfair. R I P to the dead.

65. God of creator...just becos of rice..

66. Some waste ds same rice evryday, May hs Soul RIP.

67. Dis is wicked! But I think d evil ones used him spiritually; maybe they entered him, else how could he suddenly want 2 kill som1 who has been living wth him 4 years over a bowl of rice? I think if he realy was dat aggressive, he would have done dis or something close 2 dis all diz years they have been living 2ged! Dis is sad!

@jessyangels4love

68. The dangers of too much alcohol consumption. And when you add poverty to it, it's a total disaster. May the soul of the dead rest in peace.

69. this goes alot to say whereas some people are wasting food others see this food as something to kill for, so when nxtyou fink of throwing away food cos u are tired or eating fink of some one who will nt be tired of eating such a food #stopwastingfood# souls are perishing

70. Chai....on top rice?? dis is srz poverty

71. Wickedness plus poverty equals madness.

72. Rip. What alcohol can cause. What is a plate of rice?

73. He broke my @, how much is rice compared to life?

74. The dangers of too much alcohol consumption. And when you add poverty to it, it's a total disaster. May the soul of the dead rest in peace.

75. Ogun state again?
    The man went too far wid his bad temper forstered by his drunkiness..oma she ooh.
    *Red liNe

76. There is more to it I don't blive its d rice dt made him killed his cousin.........bt if its d rice hmmmmmm........smh

77. Yuruba people na waoooh

78. For are long linda

79. May d soul of dat poor boi rest in peace

80. Life lost over a bowl of rice..that man must suffer

81. Dis is pure wickedness,@ d victim smh,even as a gurl I can defend myself 4rm some shit let alone a guy.RIP dude

82. Yoruba people with food, nawooo! Its really sad seeing the extent poverty has gone in ruining our country while our so call leaders are busy looting.

83. @Eugenia which devil, allow devil to stay at hell please. Na devil buy beer for the man?

84. May his soul rest in peace

85. The wrong side of alcoholism.

86. Just ​A̶̲̅ bowl ☀f rice. Pathetic! Poverty must die in 2014

87. Gush,d boy would ve ran out of d house.I don't think he is drunk,4 him 2 ve d energy 2 beat a 20yrs old guy 2 death.May his soul rest in peace.

88. Gush,d boy would ve ran out of d house.I don't think he is drunk,4 him 2 ve d energy 2 beat a 20yrs old guy 2 death.May his soul rest in peace.

89. Linda why is your blog always hanging. Is making me not interested any longer. Even with my 4G band. Please do something about it.

90. Poverty at its highest peak, how can a child die because he ate food,this is a very tragic story. RIP Haruna I pray ure with the angels in heaven where food is neva a problem. SMH @ his cousin

91. And this my dear brothers and sisters is what poverty is all about......but was d victim sick or something?...

92. No be wickedness Naa...Na Shayo cus am...Olosho boy make police beat am wee wee....Olofo.

93. So! So!! Pathetic. Hmmm may his soul rest in d bossom of Abraham.
    God give me d priviledge to help d needy. IJN amen

Bleble

94. A bowl of rice? Life is lost... Wht an act...

95. Speechless.RIP dude

96. Am speechless.RIP dude

97. a hungry man is an angry man. This is the meaning of people living on below a dollar a day. Very sad!

98. It cn be cos of d beating. I kn hw much beating I suffered in d hands of my cus, d scars both emotional and physical r still visible 8yrs later. I think smtn is wrong smwr.

99. The man was drunk and this 20yr old was probably 'over-cultured' that he stayed to get punished,abi he for run now..20yr old?..it is well! Haa,but how?

100. See d result of POVERTY at peak