Maiduguri hit by car bomb | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 14 January 2014

Maiduguri hit by car bomb

A car bomb has exploded in Maiduguri, and there are fears of many casualties, the BBC reports. The incident occurred today around 1pm outside the state television offices.
Blood-spattered people were seen fleeing and vehicles crashed into each other, while soldiers fired automatic weapons. A suicide bomber is suspected of being behind the blast, reportedly near a market.
The military confirmed to the BBC that an explosion had occurred, but did not give a figure for casualties. An eyewitness said he had seen what appeared to be dead bodies on the ground. A second car is reported to have been set on fire by the blast

112 comments:

1. WHEN WILL ALL THIS BLOODSHEED END!!! MAY GOD HELP US

2. God help Nigeria

3. Wow this 2014 who is responsible

4. New Year of atrocities have began. Boko Haram need to target the right people not the innocent. Revolution or Die.

5. Oga o! Peace nd love is what we need in this country

6. How come BBC is the one reporting it? so boko haram has started again this year. Maybe thats their reaction to the anti gay bill

1. Bro e be like say d bill too dey affect u sef! Pele

2. Father Lord take control

7. FACELESS THUGS ACTING UNDER FRUSTRATION. JUST FOR POWER... GOD FORGIVE THEM FOR THEY KNOW NOT WHAT THEY DO....

8. Oh Lord pls help us let there b no casualties. Amen.

9. that is the problem with Nigeria not the gay community.

10. Our great country...

11. Oh No! Not again. Protect your children o lord, that they may flee from the north cos it is said that heaven helps those who help themselves. May they realise that living in maiduguri is not a do or die affair.I pray for the souls of the faithful departed. Amen!

12. We need serious prayer dis year

13. Kaii!!! Æ“♡D punish whosoever that ιƨ behind this. *cagey*

14. OMG not again naaaaaaaaaaa

15. You see all these APC dat are deceiving their fellow men to kill n destroys peoples lives n property all in d name to frustrute GEJ. GOD is watching y'all.....

16. Hmmmm nawa oooo!!!!!dis country sha....may God help us.....

17. THIS IS JUST D BEGINNING,THERE'S NO WAY THOSE EVIL DOERS ARE EVER LETTING GEJ AV A 2ND TENURE AND DEY'LL GO ANY LENGHT TO ENSURE DAT...ITS JST D INNOCENT LIVES DAT ARE BEING SACRIFICED DAILY DAT MAKES ME SOB PROFUSELY. GOD KNOWS BEST.

18. O wen will dis niqhtmare end?

19. Na wa oh!!!! Even on a day set aside for dem to celebrate their prophet they still want to kill eachother.now innocent people ve died today just like dat.God will surely expose this people nd rain judgment on them.

20. Una go give reggedman nd tosyn burknor chance to talk now..God is in control.

21. Oh God nt again.In spite of d heavy presence of d millitary,dis cowards stil perpetrate their evil.Hmm abt tym d dead men rose 2fight 4d livin!

22. We all make mistakes sometimes.. Mine was that I subscribed Airtel. This network na WACK... #Regreting.

23. Can't wait to hear the last of this evil

24. Boko Haram again.
    Sucide bomber Naija going d way of afghanistan
    Rest to d dead

25. May God help this nation.

26. Oh jeez! Not again!!!!! And mr presido is more concerned bout anti gay bill.....mtcheeeeeew

27. .......who were the soldiers firing at????....

28. See serious issue here and they are passing unneccessary laws around..!!
    Ella!!..

29. Is beta every1 in dt state relocates o.haba.

30. North is the cancer of Nigeria! They have to go away!!!

31. When will dis nuisance have sense..!?huh?

32. God hav mercy this year 2014 bomb blast again. God distroy those that ar distroying ur children.

33. May God save us all, & grant d deceased eternal rest. Wot a bad way 2 start new year. -Allen

34. May their souls rest in peace.

35. Oh God! Not again. ... sighs#

36. Its a shame to d federal govt, on d celebration of muhammed birth day, mr president shoud go & read Obasanjo letter again & forget about who wrote d letter. Only God will save this country from anachy.

37. Omg,may God hlp us

38. Just only when I was thinking og going back

39. Hmmmmm God save us
    #WorldfamousVictor

40. Jonathan is busy with the irrelevant issue lol. Boko haram is back and better. O ga o

41. Oh Lord this is terrible...

42. Hmmn! Lord have mercy on Nigeria.

43. Contribute the little u can to end terrosim in nigeria..

44. This is just too bad.which way Nigeria?

45. May God save us all

46. God help Nigeria

47. Jesus Christ!!!!!!!!!this new year again???????????? ********ahhhhhh, so sad

48. May God help us.

49. God help us And deliver us. May dis new year touch d hearts of dis senseless murderers from d pit of hell to desist from their dastardly acts.

50. These beast don start again? May help us

51. Random thought; if its possible Linda to get a person on ground up North to send you images of things like this when they happen it will take your blog to another level.

52. God pls help ds nation..so sad

53. What a way to celebrate the prophet's birthday!

54. May God hlp us in dis country o

55. This isn't a war and yet we say we have a govt! When ppl die its not enuf to say ''sorry''

56. Wht a sad news. To thnk dt I was in d state few days ago

57. Dear God we need your intervention. Our country men and women are dying due to this madness of Boko haram sect killings. Our leaders are busy stealing from us.

58. Boko haram please leave borno alone !!!

59. not again this year.God please save us and keep us this year

60. Againnnnnnnn!!!

61. Dem don start again there.....Boko tinz :(

62. Tot these bombings had ended.....smh.... #GodSaveOurSouls

63. Why the bombing? Didnt they hear about the gay ban? Isnt that supposed to solve Nigeria's problems?

64. Tot these bombings were ova tho #GodSaveOurSouls

65. Boko haram r useless set of pple. Y shud dey kip destroying pple's lives n property instead of going 2 Govt. House n Aso Rock? Fools!

66. We av got severeal big problems in 9ja but the bigger problems are these suicide bombers,let's put head 2geda and look for a solution

67. elrufai boys have started again!

68. God pass them all me Believe

69. See us through oh lord!!!!!!

70. somtyms i wonda wat manner of MAN z Jesus,so kind,merciful nd forgiving.God knows best anyway.

71. so bbc has first reported the news before our local media?
    *wonders*

72. Is dat a state or country!!I hv never heard dat name maiduguri bfor!!or is it a maid in uguri kingdom#

73. Is dat a state or country!!I hv never heard dat name maiduguri bfor!!or is it a maid in uguri kingdom#

74. So so sad, boko haram has nothing to do wt APC or hatred for GEJ as people often speculate. They are just blood thirsty terrorist period.

75. Boko haram is an offshoot of years of bad or lack of governance, if our monies hv bn put to gud use by previous & present govmt, we wouldn't be facing this today. They refuse to gv good & free education 2d people, no job for the youths, no infasructure, they can't even fortify our borders. Yet they send their children to school abroad, build private school that poor cannot attend, steal billions wt impunity, aid & abait corruption, d list is endless. I am not in any way justifying d senseless killings by boko haram, its our leaders that makes Nigeria a fatile field for them to carry out their evil act.

76. This nonsense will continue until something urgent is done. Since they are making gud governance & restructuring of d country impossible, revolution is inevitatble.

77. Boko haram is one of the many ways Nigerians are being wasted. As long as there acute poverty in d midst of plenty, if corruption is not curbed, if there is no justics & fairness, am afraid this insecurity we are facing now may linger longer than we expect.

78. To think I'll be going back to school there....*sigh*...

79. God help Nigeria! Enough of all this bloodshed!

80. This new year,God pls help our country and bring all d perpetrators to book

81. Are this sect really muslims? Bombing even on their own festive celebration day..killing their fellow muslims..then what the hell are they fighting for??..Na God go purnish all of them

82. ma own candid opinion: dash maidugiri out to these people,we can do wt 35 states in Nigeria Abi!

83. God pls visit these blood thirsty individuals so that they knw you are who you are.

84. Lolz...this is no longer news in 9ja nah.....2015 I dey laugh some people oo

85. God pls come n intervene in our dear country.

86. Almighty God help our dear beloved nation Nigeria and its inhabitants from d hands of evil doers/seekers.

87. Abeg approve my comment ooo,if bt I will nt mk comment in blog,u hv never approve my Comment....mk u no allow mi to vest send BH to u

88. Dis muslim mke una de try ohhh wen u pipo bomb all d human beign created by God in maiduguri den una begin kill goats nd fowls!! Fowl brainssssss..

89. Islam... when will your reign of terror end in this world, and especially in my dear country!?