Freeze CoolFM corners eLDee's position on BON/IBAN artists ban | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 9 December 2013

Freeze CoolFM corners eLDee's position on BON/IBAN artists ban

I'm sure you have all heard that several Nigerian artists have been banned by the Broadcasting Organization of Nigeria (BON) and the Independent Broadcasters Association of Nigeria (IBAN) because of on-going dispute with the Copyright Society of Nigeria (COSON).

Last week rapper eLDee said regardless of the ban, their music will still reach its audience, and that the ban will only affect the radio stations. Cool FM OAP Freeze this afternoon politely disagreed with eLDee's position. He believes that the already established artists will also be affected by the ban

Do you think established acts will be affected by the ban? Please share your thoughts. Another tweet after the cut...

135 comments:

1. I disagree with Freeze and agree with eLDee

1. Shines teeth! Freeze u r right!

2. Pls they should sort things out and get their wahala fixed cuz itz getting boring listening to ma radio. I don't understand the kinda songz they play there this days

2. I agree wt freeze! Eldee shd do his research vry wel

1. Bonita eze ogu sharaaaAaaaaap!!!!!!!!!!!!! Who made u judge?

2. Lol since linda start to share 100k dis girl wan use unnnecessary comment kill person shut up its nt a most to comment mtshewww

3. Trust me I quite agree with Freeze in asmuch as we get the songs free,it comes to our knowledge via the radio stations. just heard the new collabo between Wizkid and Wale while driving home now on 96.9 cool FM Abuja.

4. Never!!...D MuSIC and songs will continue 2 flow!!

5. Funny. They should resolve their differences joor.

6. Never...D SONGZ will continue 2 flow!!

7. Infact am shut of words,......

8. They will to some extent bcos,there won't b much circulation of the music unlike previously hitherto the ban

9. I agree wit freeze for example look at wande coal ft burna boy-amorawa wen linda posted it I refused to listen to it cos I tot it was probably anoda naija crap dey sing wit rubbish lyrics only for me to turn on my radio n dey were playing the song I like d song only for d presenter to say dat was wande coal n burna boy amorawa,nobody likes to waste their MB to listen to a song online n find out it was rubbish so dis tin wuld affect d musician d most

10. I so Agree wit FREEZE of cool fm.

11. Well I don't tink it will affect d radio stations it will only affect d artists involved

12. gini were mezie

13. Freeze is definitely right,,the radio always has a way of raising new generation of musicians and make their hit popular.

14. I love Eldeels talking voice... Dude is cute... Please the shuld stop this their ban rubbish.. Yesterday the playd d'banj song sha.. Lord God almighty my star shall shine... I shall b one in the ten.. 0137589785.. Gtbank.. Email: rabutsa@gmail.com

15. it will affect 'em in a way....some pple's only means of info n entertainment is d radio...

16. Ok...I think I agree with freeze on this one...this ban thing is annoying..they better come up with a solution ooo

17. Chitastruth@wordpress.com9 December 2013 at 18:11

I wanted to comment, when I saw the comment from Eldee earlier on. I somehow do not totally agree with the statement Eldee. I have come to realize, that airplay most especially radio has a way of publicising the artiste, inspite of the quality of content of the music. I stand to be corrected, but most times although some songs are not of good quality, the number of airplay it gets greatly influences the traction in terms of sales of CD. On the other hand, the banned musicians will be left with the a larger portion of publicity from outright sales of content through callertunes digital medium, and sale of CDs. This would have been ok in a more developed economy, but not with the situation in Nigeria.

18. Mehn so on point bro......,@Freeze CoolFm....totally agree with ur sense of reasoning.....!!!!

19. i agree cuz the act will surely affect the musicians but not much sha

20. freeze z surprisingly polite...am i dreaming....

21. Well.personally I listen 2 d radio because of music.

22. okayaoo. They should keep banning sha.

23. It wil affect both old nd new artist shikinah!

24. Linda why is it that i can only comment when you've not posted any comment but once other comments is posted i can't, am using Samsung galaxy grand, pls do something about it.thanks

25. It wil affect both old nd new artist even radio stations, if u dnt play naija muzik in ur station no one wil listen 2 it shikinah!

26. Hey miSs linda am an ardent reader of your blog although I don't comment as long as I have read the comments of bonario and prince but pls I really need the money to pay for my mother's house rent I am a graduate with no job but willing to do a job I even posted on the timeline of gov fashola and gov ajimobi with no response buh pls help me wiv d money if u can am not askin for myself but for my mum.plssssss

27. Pple dey listen to RADIO nowadays?

28. Linda,its me again 08128044342,u didnt post my comments abt d 100k ooo.u'll ruin me if i dnt get evn if its 20k

29. First to comment... Can I win 10k now?

30. Eldee pls take a back seat with your soured music
    Linda post my comment or else lol

31. They should please resolve the issue.am missing good music on radio because of this ban.I disagree with el-dee also.

32. Dis frenz roo dey show him self abeg....Na only him be OAP ni?

33. Oh well... I believe both parties r gon suffer it.. eldee jus doesn't want to believe its happening.. sum1 pls wake him up from his slumber.

34. I support eldee......radio stations listners will decline

*habeesolha

35. You have not posted eLDee's response to these tweets and to me, that suggests bias Linda. You know better.

36. Freeze is S̶̲̥̅Æ ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ damn ryt.... Musicial b it d big name in d industry ll b affected more compare 2 d radio n TV station

37. Nd dats it I'm wt eldee.. hu listens tu d radio cos of music? Wen I can download for free?

38. Freeze is right.I see BON and IBAN emerging stronger in this battle of supremacy.

39. Both parties r gon be affected.... maybe eldee jus doesnt wanna believe its happening.... he shuldnt worry his lil head, at least he doesnt av any song we wanna listen to.

40. They both get 2 suffer*

41. na dem sabi, linda's 100k on my mind seriously

42. Well saıd freeze!..well,establıshed or not,twıl affect them all.
    #shıkenan!

43. Seriously I think musician need radio more. But let them work out their differences.

44. wahala ti won niyen jare........100k ni koko dis tym arnd......lolllls.

45. truth be told i think PMAN should look into this matter cos i dont know why bon will come up with this idea when naija music is getting to the level we all wants it to

46. linda pls i need that money more than anything else

47. See freeze Head like freezer ,,,,,abeg take a seat....the ban is born out of pure malice....*dodges bullet*

48. I think I quite agree wiv elDee's view,cuz with the way techology is,radio listeners will continuing to decrease,I really can't remember the last time i heard a new joint on the radio,so maybe Freeze rilly need to check again!

49. Let them come 2 a compromise quick

50. it definitely will affect the artists more, basically because all new releases which are not aired, do have low purchase in downloads by music fanatics.

51. Left for me freeze just said it all...because people barley buy musical disc...so most of the mp3 are heard first via radio before one looks forward to videos...the ban is going to affect both.....PMI

52. Nonsnce, what's the essence of the ban? They should settle their differences Biko and let us be.

53. Its sure gonna affect both parties. I don't like this freeze one bit! His too damn proud!!

54. Na waoooo,according to eldee d musik wil sti play let's not mind Dem jor

55. I support BON/IBAN, why will radio station pay to play musicians song, what are they singing....even jayZ, kanye west, one direction,miley cyrus, justin bieber, hummm lady gaga.. radio station don't pay to play their song... So why will naija own be different

56. I agree wit freeze. Linda u fit dey help dem broadcast d music o. For a fee ofcourse

57. A classic case of I can speak but cannot write English...smh

58. A classic case of I can speak but cannot write English....

59. Niger sha, celebrities sha, God help us

60. Let them get wise and stop this lindicious brouhaha.@DJ Chizzy

61. I agree with Freeze. Both will suffer regardless

62. Wah eva mehnn... Show of superiority! I still can't believe d ban is 4 real tho'... They'd beta resolved it b4 e reach d level of Asuu strike!
    #doctorbobby

63. Wah eva mehnn... Show of superiority! I still can't believe d ban is 4 real tho'... They'd beta resolved it b4 e reach d level of Asuu strike!
    #doctorbobby

64. Music makes me happy. they should stop banning all dis music pls linda tell them for me. remember the money way u won give me 717.

65. Am experting to see 1,000 comments here! Anyway na person way chop belle full dey fight abi?

66. We have head u Mr freezer and Mr eldee #walksaway#

67. Its just an opportunity for we d upcoming one
    I hope it continue!!!!
    :(

68. Well, d radio house plays a significant role in promoting music, so I am vry sure it will surly affect dem! Yes must of us listen to Fm's to hear d latest music b4 we download outside blog promo. Like u knw its rare to see some one walking in to a video shop to buy a Nigeria artist's album

69. Can't rili tell but I don't rili see how it wod affect dem

70. Yea, I think with Eldee, but I don't listen to radio anmore or downloading any music, I just type any music I want to and listen to it online. but this entertainment news can be a little messy shaa

71. Eldee's popularity isn't that much so definitely he will be affected by the ban. I can't remember the last time I listened to Eldee's song.

72. My own be say make e favor my music career o... As I go soon blow

73. Whom God bless........

74. They work hand in hand and I think a lot of disservice is being done to the artiste because they don't get paid loyalties for their songs. But honestly, I think the artiste will suffer more because radios spreads the songs to audiences beyond the artiste's scope. Whatever it is I think the artiste and BON need to settle their differences because practically all good music has been banned.

75. 6OO7O68124 keystone bank oya linda biko I nid it badly like badly o nd I don depend on am no gimme HBP o abeg.............where u for see d moni no go dry ijn nd almighty God go replenish ur wallet

1. Nna/nna dey ur lane, I hv bin praying 4 dat cash in every post! 100k is mine IJN! As 4 radio, it's only during times of extreme boredom dat I tune in to listen to music, I usually tune in 4 special programmes, lyk lean on me today. Once again d money is mine!

76. Nawa o oga di oku

#didi

77. yeah i agree wif freeze http://taskwealth.com/?id=26861

78. Dah 1 concern dem.. Ah na ko m bullshit *in baby oku's voice* ... D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ ar still balling wit their cash na

79. I don miss D don music ooo. Were en dey hide since

80. Its gonna affect both parties...

81. It will definitely affects the radio station the more bcos, most lover of music do download from online, and cds, not until a particular oap decided to play it, you wanna hear and dance to the song when you feel like not when played on radio, but the artist in other hand also need the radio to promote the brand.

1. Why you dey play mind games with "s" ?

82. Oo The Nigerian

83. Aunty linda u wunt post mai coment oooooooo I agree with eldee we wud still hear the songs weda dem band am or nt!!!!! Winks

84. Rado stations wldnt suffer a bit. We gonna end up liking what we hear regularly nd forget abt what we don't. Ask ksa what brought abt is success story. Similar situation.

85. EL D DON DEE, check am well na. Most of the songs I have heard have always been on radio or TV. I been think say u go UNILAG but I no sure again. Abi u left after Diploma 2? Lol

86. let be frank,d radio statns n dia programmes wll be so boring witout naija muzik especially dose artist dat are banned

87. its true actually. I listen to radio cos of d oaps' infact i pretty much dont like it wen dey go on breaks.esp Do2dtun and taymi those guys lite up my day. Esp wen taymi tells stories of her son kumi.

88. All in All,some1 will get affected! Shikenan!!

89. I don't listen to naija songs so both shuld knock each oda out. "Just passing"

90. Yes I agree with Freeze not all radio listeners listen to radio cos of music but dis songs is knwn to listeners thru radio station also I agree with Eldee too music sells d ads

91. i agree wit freeze,the musicians will definitely b affected nd @eldee people stil listen to d radio...wella

92. @LINDA ke ihie mmere gi ?why don't u post my comments ?its not fair oo.hian abi na becos I say freeze head dey like freezer?oya sorry o

93. Loool how com I'm seeing less anonymous una don dey put name now ...see wat 100k can do,well linda u never post my comment but I will comment anyway...freeze is kinda right

94. I agree with Freeze on the fact that both will feel the effect but the radio will suffer more...
    There are numerous means of getting songs now asides from the radio. There are other means of publicity asides the radio.

95. Afta usin INESCO, Anonymous n oda names..I don com 2 show maself...u sing, I play *dem2 go hear am*

96. Ask any musician in the world how they feel the 1st time they hear their song on the radio. Why do artistes world over do radio promos when they release a new track? If nigerian artistes do not know the power of radio then they arw jokers

97. Abeg I dnt even understand wat radio stations plays diz day amymore...Linda since dat 100k fin I hardly see anonymous pipo jus de add names anyhow#laughing# is waa sha!!!

98. I agree with freeze cos radio has its. Way of passing d msg across to listeners

99. They both will suffer, The established Artistes and the Radio stations

100. Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm dz z a cwious mata+ NBC IBAN et. All re jez 2 problematic n am so sure dey will stl calmdown wif der stupidity... I'm totally in support of wat eldee said

101. its so funny..all this artist dat come begging u to play there song on radio now wanto collect money from us..its a nice idea..but na 9ja we dey..e go hard

102. Now is the time for new talented act to blow...artist under COSON...can listen to there song alone at home..lol @lindaikeji

103. Freeze ur right.we get 2 knw abt d music tru radio station b4 I we even think abt downloading it

104. CHUKWUOCHA JOSHUA10 December 2013 at 11:31

i totally agree with cool, without enough airplay how will ppl that can't afford the phones that browse know that a song just dropped?

105. Eldee is right, traditional media is a dieing industry if not for music, the demographics listening to radio would be VERY LOW. Personally i am a radio head ONLY BECAUSE OF MUSIC, 10% for some of the programmes like front page news on classic fm, discourse on classic fm, rick dees on cool fm i love N6 as well. but remove the music and it would be one barren land with scanty trees.

106. I will agree with Freeze to disagree with Eldee, because over 20,000 radio listeners listens to some artistes music, not because they wanted to but because the Radio station played it, and the more the radio station plays it, the more it registers in the mind of the listeners. And from the they go online to download it on their phones or Computers or devies. Eldee is wrong and very wrong

www.Ultimatenetworkcrawler.blogspot.com

107. I think both the artistes and the radio stations will suffer it bcos we all know that the knowledge is very important but so is the music

108. True talk Eldee.. The social media has made it easy for Artiste and Upcoming Artiste to get connected... Can't even remember when last i tuned up the radio on my phone.

109. True talk Eldee.. The social media has made it easy for Artiste and Upcoming Artiste to get connected... Can't even remember when last i tuned up the radio on my phone.

110. With the crap songs most of them sing this day that are not radio worthy, is that what they require royalty for? They need to fix up n get thier lazy priority right. Radio had played n still playing a huge vital role in thier career n they should be grateful for that as far as Radio is concern in Nigeria. It will be a better medium n chance for the upcoming ones to rise n shine too, I mean the good ones among them. This I think will refine the quality of what they dish out and make them to produce meaningful music. The rest can go n claim thier royalty from Elegushi clubs for all we care...Yeye!!!