Ex-Super Eagles star, Sodje, implicated in UK match-fixing scandal | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 9 December 2013

Ex-Super Eagles star, Sodje, implicated in UK match-fixing scandal

34year old ex-Super Eagles star, Sam Sodje is currently been investigated in a match-fixing scandal in the UK. Sam, who is the younger brother of footballer Efe sodje, was allegedly caught on tape telling an undercover reporter with The Sun UK magazine that he was paid £70,000 to be sent off the field during a championship match on February 23rd 2013. Footage from the football match showed Sam Sodje hitting the crotch of Oldham Athletic's player Jose Baxter, repeatedly for no reason which ultimately earned him a red card. Sam admitted to the undercover reporter that his actions were all preplanned for him to be sent off the pitch. He also said it was easy to get other footballers to do same for a fee. Sam practically ended his football career by collecting £12,000 from the undercover reporter, on tape, for other match fixings.

The British Tabloid has reported its investigation to the National Crime Agency, and NCA said an active investigation is now underway.

129 comments:

1. The truth will surely come out.

1. The truth is out, I guess that's not his first time May God delivers us all

2. Read dis story on laila's blog yesterday. Sum ppl's mouth r juz basket. Can't hold anyfin.

2. Serious Gobe.

1. This is a little random but "what exactly does Gobe mean". I obviously need to visit home more. Make una no cuss me too much

3. Replies
    1. Why call God to C him tru? Wake up girl this guy commited a crime mtchewwwwwww!

4. y'all LIB-ers should be sure about the story before you tongue lash and crucify the guy. Hope he's innocent sha

1. He aint innocent cos he was caught on tape and d video is online

5. What he couldn't do in football, he did in crime.... Rabbish!!!

6. Dis bros no try o...I trust d national crime agency

7. Replies
    1. Pathetic, its shameful, y must it b a nigerian, y always us. Will any gd news ever com from nijja..God help us

8. Better!..proper ınvestıgatıons should b carrıed out'

9. That's very stupid!!!naija ehnnn

10. Warri no dey carry last

11. Under cover reporter#sighs.Dats y dey say be kiaful whom u talk to coz d wrng word in d wrng ear cud get u killed.

12. Match fixing and scandal happen everywhere,all offender should be brought to book.

13. Linda concerning the xmas bonus,I suggest u use dat one mill naira to visit any motherless babies home in any part of the country and do somtin huge for dem on behalf of lindaikejiblog readers. Bc u dt atually knw who need it or not and it will help reduce unhealthy competion,giv us update on d visit and we wil all knw we hav impacted on peoples lives tru u

1. Keep your suggestion to yourself . It's her money and she can do whatever sake likes with it!

2. U dey mind her.motherless babies indeed!Linda giv it to ur Libbers.they deserve it.

14. How much is £12k to what you guys are making, see where you will end your beautiful career, if found guilty. I wish you well and this is lesson for others. Contentment is key.

15. control thy tongue,it is as sharp as the knife... Lib'ers.. I tot christmas would not happen but it can... 0137589785 GTbank

16. How much is £12k to what you guys are making, see where you will end your beautiful career, if found guilty. I wish you well and this is lesson for others. Contentment is key.

17. Awww! So sad...EvE

18. Na S̶̲̥̅Æ ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ God dey catch them. Sir Alpachino 28A8A848. Sent via Nokia3310

19. Is how this guy has disgrace our Nigeria.

20. Broda talk talk, wetin be ur own sef.

21. Sorry 4 him bcos he will go to jail.

22. Naija Gan we no dey carry last.....No one should even dare judge him cos most of us will do worse....Na so the tin go.....No 2 how sure r we that this aint a set up just cos he is a nigerian

1. Make he cum join Eyimba FC Aba. Lol

2. Dear Marcee....
      Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt....

23. NA real wa

Too much talk talk
    Don't trust reporters
    All they. Do is get info from u to run u down. And upgrade themselves, now fifa will be so strict

24. why did he have to tell....dude aint smart!

25. Nt a football person
    *flips mongolian hair *

26. Anonymous dont dissapear for Linda blog since she announce her 100k gift ,God bless us richly in this countryoooooooo

27. Anonymous dont dissapear for Linda blog since she announce her 100k gift ,God bless us richly in this countryoooooooo

28. Kai! Dats wat one gets frm lack of contentment

29. I hope is not a strategy to blackmail him nd tanish his image linda post my coment or else...................

30. Dis guy juss tooo MUMU....and he was aware he was being recorded....big shame!

31. Dumbass!Even a fish wouldn't get into trouble if he kept his mouth shut.

32. they just keep tainting Nigerian's name everywhere. too bad about his career though, all that footballer salary and all.
    LESSON: avoid shady deals but if you are into it..learn to keep silent.

33. It's such a pity. Match fixing is a great threat to football and sports in general

34. I'm still praying 4 d 100k! It's my in Jesus' name! Cn I get an Amen?! Amen! If u know I'm gonna get it say uhun uhun... tongue out to Sodje

35. hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
    NK Ivy

36. Hian!! Naija..aint it enough already?This our dirty linen una de wash for outside,e no de finish?? Okay if u must wash am,come do am for backyard nah!! This is not funny anymore oh! #continues puffin

1. He was born n breed in jand so he is nt a Nigerian biko.

37. Too bad.Keep tarnishing contry's image.

38. Hey!!! come on, why dent our (Nigeria) image we're tryna save? It's obvious this will go a long way in concluding nigerians at all level are corrupt. But wait oo, does anyone else notice the rise in new names of commenters since Linda said she will b giving out 1M? Niggas ain't dulling #289D55EC

39. Haba! Naija sha!

40. What a shame,you ended your career cos of how much,pfffffffft!

41. He implicated himself, some ppl dnt know how to control the way they talk, he is goin to explain himself.

42. abeg jor, make una no start again o. this boi na UK citizen o, he only played for Nigeria cos that's where his parents originated from and he stood no chance of ever making the English squad...so it are not concerns us biko...

nw wey money don even enter the matter sef, e be like sey me sef go put my name cos anonymous no dey give me any chance of winnin the 100k

43. http://taskwealth.com/?id=26035
    Please click on d link REGISTER n start earning everyday right from ur phone

44. Na blackmail jor mk una live dat thing linda wetin I do u na post my comment o

45. bbm pin 234910539 December 2013 at 14:56

Bla bla bla bla bla, talking like a pregnant woman. If u want 2end ur career wiv 70,000pounds so be it 12million nigeria naira will make u talk lik a cow. We humans should learn how to keep our mouths. Shut. Cheers. Engr Emy.

46. Naija Gan we no dey carry last.....No one should even dare judge him cos most of us will do worse....Na so the tin go.....No 2 how sure r we that this aint a set up just cos he is a nigerian

47. How many White players have been fined for this? Anyway,I blame the "yeye" guy that doesn't with his brain,but rather with legs.
    -Yemoh.

48. Na wa oooo, must it be a Nigerian?? Kai, we are always in d news..

49. chukwuocha joshua9 December 2013 at 15:05

too bad for sam, he shouldn't have stooped so low...

50. That is where your career end on a very bad note.I pity your family after you call your self role model ordinary 17 ero

51. I am sure he was telling the truth in the video because he wouldn't say such a thing if it did not happen but the problem with us Nigerians is that we are so loud ,no matter where we find ourselves.Even the men employed as security guards in supermarkets here in the UK,they behave(at the door)as if they are shareholders in the company.We'brag' a lot,other people do the same thing and nobody hears about it but some men are just empty vessels that make the largest noise.Other nationals who do this see it as wrong,but they still do it without noise(chop clean mouth)but not my fellow Nigerians.At my borough here in London,Nigerian security guys there are known to collect bribery and people are working on it now to get them but they don't know,so don't blame him,he laid his bed,he should lie?? on it

52. So he's still alive sef... Embarrassing

53. so sad
    Admission is on for people that wants to study in Cyprus, its affordable and easy. Interested people should email me (johnjoshua512@gmail.com) for details. Am presently studying there and loving it.

54. so sad
    Admission is on for people that wants to study in Cyprus, its affordable and easy. Interested people should email me (johnjoshua512@gmail.com) for details. Am presently studying there and loving it.

55. LESSON: learn 2 shut ur mouth when necessary

56. Funny though but it is possible.

57. Hmmmnnnn.... Serious Gobe....

58. Dis guy is really a fool ass for tarnishing his career

59. Nawa 4 naija guys. Make dem try 2 be gentle nd responsible 4once. Y wud u sell ur career 4 just £12000 wen u know fully well dat u worth more dan dat in few years 2cum. I tire. #just passing#

60. OOOOOOOOOOOOOOPS

61. This is all wrong, ruining the beautiful game of soccer. Though this has been in existence for a long time now, I am only sad that it involves a Nigerian once again!

62. Na dis one dem dey call Gobe!Linda post my comment o!

63. A typical case of using ur hands (in this case-mouth) to kill urself...
    Watch what u say nd who u say it to.

64. nigerians nd corruption

65. D guy career b don already die, with dis match fixin scandal I guess is goin 2 jail!!!!!

66. Sting operation...

67. Gobe don se le. Says tbassy via nokia1800

68. U end your career all coz of some silly bribe when u earn or can earn a lot more.SMH

69. Yoruba people say-na ur mouth go put û for trouble pele dear

70. Linda u dey provoke me since last nite o Y delay my comments nah?

71. Linda, this is off topic, but just want to let u know there are lots of Anonymous that check ur blog every 30 minutes and make comments more than the popular ones we know, but just want to stay anonymous for personal reasons. Especially this time wey Oga at the top wan dey spy on us. I think u should come up with a quiz about you, your blog and previous posts, and the first 9 (if Bonario has been selected already)or 10 people that answer correctly get to receive the 100k each.

72. Anony 2:21pm biko nu!! Tenses pls..na waa oh!

73. Laff wan kill me oo, linda see guy man don send account number for the 100k maybe na Sam broda...but sam no try at all whichever way he should have known better

74. Zoo born is a zoo animal.

75. Hmmmmm...tempting Money!!....I pity him!
    W̶̲̥̅̊ÈŠ̝̊̅Lƨ̣̣̣̇̇̇O̶̷̩̥̊͡Ω̴̩̩̩̥ ™ ͂▶ says so!

76. Only God knows who is saying d truth

77. Na wa ooooo. And dat is how he ended his football career

78. Linda watin be your email address make I send you the video of this idiot counting the money and talking about it

79. Hi Linda

my nominations for the 100k reward are
    1. bonario(he makes me laff tire)
    2. bloglord(if she needs it)
    3. prince charming(his comments generate a lot of comments)
    4. Mich(for being so damn smart)
    5. billie jean(yea, billie jean)
    6. rough diamond(for being an asshole who generates a lot of comments)
    7.ejike(the other asshole always fighting with rough diamond)

those are the ones I can think up for now. thanks for sharing the love this season. IAI

80. May God see him thru..it is not yt ova until it is ova, i claim dat 100k in Jesus name Amen

81. What a way to end his career.

Pls share your endometriosis stories @ endochallenges.wordpress.com. Let's beat endo together!

82. Na wa oh! What will we nt hear?

83. Na wah oooo anty linda plss tell bonario to contact me so dat we can share dat money for dis xmas season becos I dey find money badaly

84. That's bad for him, why do they indulge in such act

85. Chei! Money is d root of all evil. Ended his career by collecting £12,000 I sure know that will never b enough 4his whole career. what a shame for Nigeria.

86. The love of money... U know the rest

87. Everybody don dey put name bcos of 100k.na wa o

88. God we see him trough in jesus name, including all nigerians boys nd girls in abroad amen becos I can see they want 2 blackmail dis guy seriously.

89. God we see him trough in jesus name, including all nigerians boys nd girls in abroad amen becos I can see they want 2 blackmail dis guy seriously.

90. God we see him trough in jesus name, including all nigerians boys nd girls in abroad amen becos I can see they want 2 blackmail dis guy seriously.

91. Serious wahala......Unc Bonario..let's plan how we go spend dat 100 thousand aunt Linda wan give u oooo

92. Super eagles star ke,av neva heard of him o,but sha 70000 don chop his hard earned career

93. Linda, are you going to create a nomination post for the giveaway? I've got a few nominees in mind.

94. nigerian sha!!! we have a way of painting this country black! gosh

95. If it is true, then these guys should also be investigated on possible match fixing in the Nigerian National Team.

96. Make them just carry this boy go one building for 1004 make them come blindfold am and handcuff am then make them push am cos na real idiot

97. hmmmm!if this is true,it's very bad. That means dis guy isn't representing this country well @ all

98. Naija no dey carry last apart from GeJ's pix in S.Afr.hehehe! But Sodje why nah? I thought they pay u footballers plenty money. What more do u want? Now they(undercover) have caught you on tape talking.

99. Linda that money you are even talking about earlier, to give your readers as gift...we are plenty nah. So who will u give and who will u leave out? Any way i already know the answer hehehe! Of course all the anonymouses will not get anything. It is only for those who have id or names or nicknames like prince charming,and the other prince..., and bonario nnags, Ejike bigandsmall

100. Maybe linda wants to use this her 1 Million to make all the anonymous start using an id. Nice try lindo