What a shame! Gov Oshiomhole tells a crying widow to 'go and die'! | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 28 November 2013

What a shame! Gov Oshiomhole tells a crying widow to 'go and die'!

"You're a widow, go and die!" That's what Governor Adams Oshiomhole said to widow during a sanitation exercise of Benin City with some state officials recently. The woman was hawking on the road side which is illegal in the state but to tell her to go and die after she knelt in front of him, crying and begging him not to seize her little means of livelihood, is just cold-hearted.

I'm so mad at the way he treated this woman. Wasn't he once a labour leader? Are these the kind of leaders we have? No compassion, no kindness? What a damn shame! See the video after the cut...

557 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   401 – 557 of 557
tc dyke said...

ALL APC GUYS ARE LIKE THAT! FASHOLA & IGBO GUYS DEPORTATION, TINUBU AND HIS INLAWS, NGIGE AND THE PREGNANT SCHOOL GIRL, NORHERN APC & BOKO HARAM......NOW OSHOMOLE..........HISS! THEY CLAIM TO LOVE NIGERIANS.....AKUKO!!!

Sukura d Chokojunkie said...

Shame! No matter what her offense was, his "go and die" verdict was both inappropriate and inhumane.

Sukura d Chokojunkie said...

Unprofessional! He should be put in check!

"Uneasy lies the head that wears the crown"
Unfortunately, rules are rules no matter what. They are usually put in place to protect the masses. If the woman was selling to a little child who stood at the road side, and was hit by a trailer now, thats when you people will know that what she did was wrong.
He shouldn't have been the one to enforce this. He should have left it to the relevant authorities he put in place.
I did notice that he didn't let them carry the woman, and he took her with him. Possibly to talk sense to her, and then help her somehow? He did display poor choice of words, and a lack of finesse. You'd never catch Fashola on the streets when he's doing something this unpopular, but it's not as bad as it looks or as his opposition is trying to make it look.
Linda, be careful on the stance you take on some of these issues. Don't be a machinery used to feed into unnecessary propaganda.

Yawa dey O.....

backson inc said...

GOD ALMIGHTY WILL PUNISH HIM. NOW SUPPOSEDLY THIS IS THE PROBLEM WITH EDO STATE. PUNISHING A WOMAN TRYING TO EARN AN HONEST LIVING. WOW. WHAT A DISGRACE. I GREW UO IN EDO STATE, I AM SOOO DISAPPOINTED.

Anonymous said ...

Please you guys should stop painting the wrong picture
of the governor out of sentiments. The question is, was
the said woman at the right place at the right time for
ignorance is not an excuse in law. Countless of times
the state government has gone on air to say "No to
street trading" but these people want to test the anger
of the governor and also to discredit his efforts. I don't
think she is the only widow in town as there are
thousands of widows in Edo state in general, even the
mother of the governor is a widow too, has she been
trading on the walkways before her son became
governor?. I can recall the other time the governor gave
some helping hand to a widow and her 2 children, and
has done more for other widows too.

youre a fool for ending the statement with Nigerians been jailed abroad... i was gonna rate you until that and i wish i knew your name, cos i dunno what your f'in point is... errbody gets jailed for doin wrong stuff, dont open your stupid mouth to say THATS WHY NIGERIANS ARE JAILED ABROAD... DID THEY JAIL YOUR DADDY THERE?

Imagine someone who was once the president of Nigeria Labour Congress, who is even deceiving who in this country ... what a shame on you Mr Oshiomole.

he just lost all the respect I have for him, useless ugly man

Nameis Mash said...

rung choice of words tho..bur am sure e ez doing ez job az a governor..she ddnt obey d rules and regulations of d state @ dat vry moment...money wey she neva make since,se na dat day she for make am ni?....

Nameis Mash said...

rung choice of words tho..bur am sure e ez doing ez job az a governor..she ddnt obey d rules and regulations of d state @ dat vry moment...money wey she neva make since,se na dat day she for make am ni?....

This Adams is evil!

It is called arrogance of power. And self-righteous people like Oshiomhole is not immune from such weaknesses. It is a crying shame that instead of cautioning a pleading lady, he chose to play to the gallery, lapping up the vain reverence from the ragtag crowd. Typical of motor park touts.

Nigerians and sentiments..if we continue acting all sentimental about enforcing laws this country will not achieve nothing.did she go against the law? Question you all should be asking...

I love Adams Oshiomole. You did the right thing but you shouldn't exchange words with members of the public in anger. Be wise .

That's an example of some of our Nigerian leaders that have sold their God given human heart for hearts of wild animals and ended up thinking through their anus and not with their heads.

Pacesetter1 said...

Bad Leaders

I cried watching this. Painful to see a widow treated this way.

Shedding tears while watching this video.... Smh for this Governor. Heartless !!

its his family members dat r gonna die. Insensitive douche-bag.

Snow White said...

funny enuf she wasnt selling, if u watch clearly her good were all in boxes and intact, shres was actually waiting for a bus.Oshiomole you are very wicked.

I don't normally comment on ur blog Linda, but for this, I'm forced to talk. Nigerians, let's cast our minds back a little to know who are those in this party called APC. What are their party policies, principles and feeling for Nigerian both the rich and the poor.. Bcos a close look at their personal reactions to Nigerians in some occasions portrays their mind bcos a clear understanding of their idles and feelings for Nigerian citizens will determine were our vote will go to come 2015. 1st it was Fashola(APC) that arrested poor people In Lagos, detained them and after weeks of secrete detention, they were illegally deported at night at the bother of Delta state and Anambra state. Still talking abt that, Rochas Okorocha(APC) of Imo state signed abortion into law which caused the people of his state to protest against it. Senator Yerima(APC) recently got married to a small girl who is just the age of his grand child. Few weeks ago, Gov. Aregbesola(APC) of Osun state by force asked all the students both those of muslim faithful and Christian to go and school together whether they like it or not. Not minding all the pleads of the Christian parents to allow each religion to attend their schools as they wish but he vehemently refused. Now few days ago, we got the news of Muslim youths that lunched an attack on one of the Christian schools which left many wounded as many of them including their principal is still hospitalised all bcos according to the school authority the Hausa were not allowed to wear Hijab . Gov Amaechi(Now APC) connived with Rivers Assembly to illegally remove a local government elected chairman with his supportive counsellors bcos they decided to pitch their tent and remain loyal to President Goodluck's family. But few days ago, A Court of competent jurisdiction ruled that the Governor and the State house assembly's action was illegal, null and void. Now it's the turn of Gov. Osheo. As a governor, ur primary responsibility is to protect and provide for ur people. If the woman in question goes home and die, who will u protect? Who will u provide for? Remember, election is around the corner, bcos very soon, the same woman u asked to go and die, u and ur party (APC) will still come back to her with all ur white and black political promises and ask her to vote for u. Nigerians shine ur eyes. Some PDP governors just decamped to APC not because APC is better than PDP, it's not that they have asked for some thing which those on top refused to give to them. And those things are 1. To remain in power in by any means 2. To leave the states bcos all the money there has been shared and it has finished, the acc is not empty and on depth, they want to come to the Federal level to continue their sharing formula. 3. To cover them selves up from the search light of EFCC. So that after all this attention they have gathered, any attempt by EFCC to probe, due to the public sympathy, everyone will conclude it to be political then they will dance to their house abroad and go and enjoy them selves, maybe once in a while come back and criticise anybody on the chair for how the road leading to their houses in their community are not constructed. Nigerian, we are wise, let's shine our eyes. What ever u do not light, who ever u do not light, come 2015, vote the person out that's my own. Cheers!

Ignoramus oshi!fool! Ode! May ur generation suffer nd die!

who are the fools talking about Oshomole carrying out the law bcos una dey chop well abi. was she stealing she was only doing the wrong that needed to be done to feed her family. If the idiotic Governor did his job maybe she might not be begging..

Bastard she was not hawking...she said dat spot is where they wait for bus so as to carry their goods...fucking idiot...ur genration ll cry bt no soul ll have listening ears! demon

jonny depp said...

U r just a bastard

Mzz Blaq said...

Thank u my bro. Dey hide behind trying 2 make d states dey are ruling d best while dey torment poor nigerians. APC are simply d worst.

Just had to comment on this one, yaa a FOOL....infact, a FULL!!! hahaha....oponu. Na by force to comment?? Ode

Nigerians (most commenting here) are such low brainers! Watch the vid well, he asked her wether being a widow allows her to let people die. Shldnt tht mean something to you? Una just dey dere dey crucify the Governor. Get to know the proper details before typing anything. Some say dm dey cry.....na nollywood movie?v pls let's get real abegi. Fcuking hypocrits!

Hard ow,by telling her to go and die?is that also the law?...yes she did wrong disobeying..but say "Go and die"...very wrong coming frm a gofnor...may God help him...cus he nids jesus.....supporters of him,u all nid help too...hrtless fellow...

Benin people voted for home because of his reputation as a labour president, I now remember the old adage that says if u want to know the true colour of a man. Give him money and power.
This is sad, my respect for him b4 was 100% but now it is -100%. He is an idiot. That means all those time as a the labour president was just flimsy eye service.

Hmmmmmmmmmm

Sad
Sad
Sad.
Power corrupts.
Sad!!!

PETER_CARTEL said...

All these ppl abusing Oshiomole is the reason why Nigeria is stagnant. Law is blind and doesn't recognize status. That woman knew it was wrong to hawk by roadside yet she choose to defile the law and the maker of the law. She got the expected. About the words of Oshiomole, he is human & ofcourse was angry. We all get to lose it sometimes, especially when sm1's frustrating our efforts to make good impression. So before you go hauling off insults on a man dats fighting for greater good for his state, use your tongue and count your teeth!! Be objective in your judgement and don't let emotions cloud out your sense of judgement!!

It's a pity, he is tying to restore peace in d country for all we know, she was probably told that the governor was coming, these hawkers always have a way of disappearing when tax forces appear, the right thing had to be done, its a pity that we have widows that can't catch a break, our government should think of how to take in these poor dat can't feed themselves in. Oshomye self mouth too bad, make she go die, dat was hash, but like someone said earlier, he probably don tire for all of them.

How extremely stupid of u..no one is Saying she's not at fault but to tell her to go and die is out of it...

See i might not have much issues with him seizing her goods but telling her you are a widow go and die is so wicked.

word* linda ikeji. I love u but u sometimes write as if u are perfect urself .... maybe u should go to benin and see how restored that state is

DaGalTohBad said...

I heard d woman wasn't hawking buh went 2 buy wholesale guds. Buh if she was, a law has bein broken. Even at dat a human wit a heart shudn't say doz words, all in d name of enforcing d law. Anyways, most importantly, dis goes 2 u Linda.... Dis is a governor we r tokin abt, a politician, choose ur words carefully o. U cud av well posted dis without judging or using words ooo. Politicians are deadly o. I luv u daz y m saying dis, incase of anoda dae, knw hw u post ur story. Watch wat u say. Leave d masses 2 say wat dy feel biko. U're well known by ur name nd blog buh most of dem are 'anonymous'. I love u o. Post if u like, buh m sure u read t. ¤DaGalTohBad

If the old woman steals from your child and kills your child so she wont be reported to police so that the old woman can feed her own child nko, you'd be like....she is a widow and has to feed her child so she is justified to disobey the law. I am disappointed in you Linda

HI Linda, I hope you realize that you have become very influential. Your blog is read by many and as gullible as we are in Nigeria we do not question what we read...I want to advice that you be more diplomatic when expressing your views...By the way I quit my morning dose of cigars for your Blog...So keep it going..Thumbs UP

Does the claim of a widow truly make her a widow? before now widows live without men but these days, many widows have as many men as they can get. so what is the difference?
Some are even responsible for the death of their husband, directly or indirectly, so you never can tell if she is reaping part of what she has planted.
The law must be respected!

nigerian lecturers are also this way they treat students like rag forgeting that human is nothing.God hates people that opress widows and orphans no matter what she did give her a warning.GOd will fight for you dear widow

dueka said...

I hope u re nevA poor nd see ur children hungry...Den u wuld knw y she was selling on d road

What do you expect of a ruffian who became a State Governor? Send monkey go London, e go come back monkey! e no get human kindness?

Justice can be tempered wit mercy nd dis was such a case and she wasn't hawking.she said clearly she was waiting 4 d vehicle Wich wuld tke her 2 shop. D goods weren't even open
were

Linda, i didn't even hear the go and die part after watching the video twice. I don't blame him at all for doing what he did, she was wrong and her goods were to be seized. Why can't Nigerians listen to very simple instruction. If you want to flout the rules, which is something we all do well then be ready for the consequences! If you don't want those consequences follow the rules! Its simple logic. Oh and Linda how do you know she's a widow? Is this confirmed, for all you know she may be lying! People are deceptive like that especially when they are trying to get out of the trouble their actions have landed them it. Nigerians sef!

oshiomole!! i never liked him... and people wld open dere mouth to say law must take its place? is the law meant to kill or correct?? who is dat person dat finds pleasure in hawking? if she has a better means of livelihood ,wld she b on the road hawking?? another reason to dislike dis country!!

Dis is d only reasonable comment so far

Don't mind these fools, useless country useless citizens like linda

No she did not know she is a baby mtchewww

Go and learn how to speak English monkey

D governor na small pikin Abi? Mumu

the thing is that our leaders should be careful with their choice of words,yes she is against the law but i think that whatever judgement given to her could still be done without saying those hard words,there is power in the tongue you know."choice of words"

I can't believe this! what a wicked world.....with all the kneeling, begging and crying....Oshiomole did not bulged and even said "she should go and die". Now Oshiomole has killed her by taking away her meagre means of surviving!!

Remember how Oshiomole dole out money to Dillish of BBA for nothing!! God dey...Oshiomole you are finished for this act of wickedness you have potrayed to the whole world to see.

Save ur breath dear u r talking to fools including linda

U r d learner goat

And u r d pdp bustard ba?

So sad because the governor is involved it was recorded!!! kai does worse stuff in lagos.
Omazo

Edo State governor is heartless and foolish. He spent millions of naira hosting a spoilt prostitue and winner of 2013 BBA winner- Dilish just because of her stinking pussy but can take care of a window who worshipped her before the world. He has proved the fact that he is cronic woman wrapper.

Maggie said...

lets stop being sentimental about this issue. the law is blind and because you are less privileged doesn't mean the law should treat you differently, if she was not disobedient and stubborn she wouldn't have sold on the road, what if a little innocent child was killed because of her. would you all call the gov. shameless? i think we all should weigh the effect of our actions on someone else who clearly is selfish bcos she's a widow,doesn't mean she can rob a bank and go scott free bcos she has children to feed. no way. i support oshiomole in his actions but not the choice of words he used.

abeg people should stop using being widows as an excuse she isnt the first widow around and after a while that thing of widow's asspciation becomes really irritating

nwokeoma said...

this is enough to set NIGERIA on fire over the bad leaders we have, remember how ALGERIA revolution started. i ve always known that man to be wicked,

Linda,goodmorning, please is there a way I could connect to this widow? please I feel very strongly in my spirit to purchase those things taken from her and more. I will appreciate a chance to set her up. I will send my email address to your box,pls kindly respond if you have a plan on how I can assist her. thank you so much

I'm not in support of what the Governor said to the woman, but to you Linda Ikeji; you are a bloody hypocrite! You go to cities in Europe and America and post pics of how beautiful and neat the places are, yet you're supporting lawlessness in your own country. I'm not from Edo state, but we should let these people do their work...we have corruption in the land, because we NIGERIANS always condone it...if the Governor allowed the woman to walk today, another widow will be on the street doing same tomorrow. And you Linda, will post pics of street traders in Benin and tell us this can only happen in NIGERIA...why e no go happen?

nwokeoma said...

this is enough to set NIGERIA on fire over the bad leaders we have, remember how ALGERIA revolution started. i ve always known that man to be wicked,

For a change you have to be cold hearted... That's what this nation needs....bin a widow is not an excuse she should have done the right thing.is it not this same Gov that feeds the widows ... So he got to do what he had to do

Mischievous said...

Little man playing God! I spotted Patrick Obahiagbon, sad to know you are part of this!

well that leaves us with the kind of person Adams is. he has women in his cabinet who will turn widows some day, they will all keep mute and sell their consciences because of money. What a failed society, he cant even be questioned.

May God punish this man

Oga or madam due process, the difference between a leader and a boss is a leader says 'Let's go' while a Boss says "Go" even if he's trying to clean up the streets, there are subtle ways of getting people to comply with yo rules, dz woman is a widow who's got kids 2 fend for, do uno how much market women pay for just a shade?! Tlk more of a shop in d market?! Do. U know what pushed her to hawk in d streets?! Do u fnk she likes hawking. In d streets?! If she has her way she won't do somefn more dignifying that would produce more income?! As much as we want to clean up the streets we cannot take the food right out of people's mouths... y can't we empower them and see if they return to the streets again. what oshiomhole did was very wrong in all ramifications he claims to be a leader so he should act like one. I've said my. Piece. Of thought

the Gov was doing the right thing!!!! the lady knew it was iilegal but she kept on going. yes i admit his words were harsh but if we want sanity in the country we have to do such things!! the same ppl dat are insulting him will be the first to insult him when there is a ''traffic jam because a truck knocked down a street hawker'' and somehow it will be his fault

If he was a PDP governor....todays headline would have been. " APC condems Oshiomole's action and calls for peace and order in Edo State"....hopeless people. mtcheew

He who shuts his ear to the cry of the poor Will also cry himself and not be heard. PROVERBS 21 VS 13.
(DEEP WORDS)

Now I understand why Nigerian government has refused to be up and doing which in turn is affecting the lifestyle of an average Nigerian with some outrageous comments i have read so far including the one made by U Linda, did the woman do the right thing? we are all clamoring for change in our country, it has to start somewhere and somehow, the woman was not humiliated in any way but served as deterrent for other law breakers. she broke the law, pleading with the governor was tantamount to bribery by trick so, you wanted the governor to take bribe.You need to go out and see what is happening.

He who shuts his ear to the cry of the poor Will also cry himself and not be heard. PROVERBS 21 VS 13.
(DEEP WORDS)

This governor is callous and mean. It shows the kind of leaders Nigeria is producing whether APC or PDP. This is not a leader, if we dig deep, he did not represent labour congress, he was representing his pocket then. We do not have leaders.

Always had respect for him, but after watching this video, i want God to do to him what he did to Abacha.
This is so inhuman....Wickedness

@November 28, 2013 at 7:59 PM comment:

you must be a confused slave, how can you say it was ok for him to use those words....infact i think you are cursed.

And how dare you insult Linda for posting this video.

We need to hold our leaders accountable, Oshiomole should actually apologise to the woman, that does mean he cant follow due process to prosecute her. He has no rights to insult her like that..

And he claims to belong to the change party APC. Democracy is for all including the POOR.

Remember that, no body likes to hawk on the street, its the looting of public funds and the gross inequality between the rich and that causes all this problems.

Seni said...

Always had respect for him, but after watching this video, i want God to do to him what he did to Abacha.
This is so inhuman....Wickedness

@November 28, 2013 at 7:59 PM comment:

you must be a confused slave, how can you say it was ok for him to use those words....infact i think you are cursed.

And how dare you insult Linda for posting this video.

We need to hold our leaders accountable, Oshiomole should actually apologise to the woman, that does mean he cant follow due process to prosecute her. He has no rights to insult her like that..

And he claims to belong to the change party APC. Democracy is for all including the POOR.

Remember that, no body likes to hawk on the street, its the looting of public funds and the gross inequality between the rich and that causes all this problems.

Well, we may be quick to judge Oshiomhole in this case. But we do not know exactly the circumstance surrounding this incidence. But the intent behind his action will determines its appropriateness. I must tell you, it is not easy to be a leader.

cold hearted indeed...i did not hear him tell her to "go and die" i no know wear u hear that 1 o Lindigwe

What that man said to the woman is totally unacceptable...he is definitely not a good leader...Linda pls be informed that there are people on FB who have stated that they wish to voluntarily donate to the woman so we need to find her.

After watching the video and reading some comments (there are so many!); this is quite interesting. Agreed, the law is exactly what it is, "THE LAW" and ignorance is no excuse. My grouse with THE LAW in the Nigerian context is that it applies mostly to the down trodden and the poor in our society. Recently in some state in this same country, it was reported that a young man was sentenced to death for stealing recharge cards worth about N300,000 and a few handsets; is this judgement commensurate with the crime committed? I recall that a popular Nigerian actress, Ibinabo Fiberesima was involved in a hit and run which left a doctor dead, was sentenced to 5years imprisonment but only served a few months. FYI, a hit and run is a crime as manslaughter whilst the likes of Stella Oduah with an allegation of fraud to the tune of N255m is still free to carry on business as usual. The story of Asari Dokubo also comes to mind. I wonder if THE LAW was applies equally to the high and mighty, wouldn't it be followed judiciously by the lowly? But why should justice suddenly SEE only the poor folks and become blind when there are BIG people involved? This is baffling. If Nigeria had an enabling business environment, do you imagine this woman (widow or not) would enjoy hawking? No one came to this would with the hope to suffer. Com'on guys! Let's always say the truth. If justice must prevail in Nigeria, it must stream down from the top. What is good for the goose is sauce for the gander! My 5kobo

ben pullen said...

oshiomole is heartless

oshiomole is a heartless person

Hawking on the road is not safe for anybody, it is like a suicide mission and i believe the governor's statement was something in that direction. Let us stop this unnecessary sentiments i beg, we are always ready to see the 'rich oppress the poor' syndrom that we
do not pause to think.

unbeliveable,what explaination dose this give?

Faceless said...

I haven't bothered goin thru the so many comments but we should understand dat leaders are in the minority compared to us..in summary if everyone who has commented on this story donated a 1000 naira to her cause dis sort of thingswould never happen. The leaders keep failin us,why should we fail each other. Linda he do we track dis woman down

I have never liked this Oshiomole..heartless man remember you have kids... God will judge you for this.

U blind ni? Abi u no watch d video. Mtcheeew

And I add a BIG AMEN 2 dat.. Cos u dnt know poverty that's why u can talk...

Anger must have caused it,imagine how a few seconds unguarded utterance can rubbish a man's whole life achievement. it's a shame to our leaders Osho oh!!, that's too bad just, ask God and the woman for forgiveness and humble yourself.you will come out of it but you will never be the same.

heard he gave Maria and Delish of Big Brother house about $70-80,000 each! ofcos the widow should go and becos she has nothing to offer him! God is watching all of them.

Anonymous

Best comments eva said...

Oshomole just got punk'd. Lol @ APC, PDP will soon help d woman now. SMH @ Nigeria politicians

If you watch the video carefully you would understand she wasn't hawking. Her items were neatly packed, like she was waiting for a vehicle. He should never have used such gross words no matter the temper. it shows he lacks compassion.

THIS IS WICKEDNESS> I Sorry for naija

"Go and die" is not a statement that should be heard from a leader put in charge of his people, especially to a woman, and a widow at that. It goes to show that Oshiomole lacks compassion amd love in his heart. However, d fact that d woman is a widow , gav her no right 2 break d law. Sometyms d weight of adherering to the law is tough, and we nid a tough person to implement it. I remember when Gov. Fashola started in Lagis, people were rainin curses on him, but 2day, Lagos is a better place cuz he upheld d law.
Oshiomole should apologise fot tellin her to go and die, that's d only wrong thing he did. Ppl should stop wit d sentiments.

labour leader... just enriched himself collecting bribes from FGN to end strikes.

Oh please!!! These politicians know how to enact the law when it is on poor helpless citizens. Why cant they be this ruthless to their fellow thieves??? Unfair oh!

Mumu

y'all should 'go n die' why was she selln her wares where she knws was prohibitted 4 hawkers?????? ppl shld nt use circumstances to do wrng, tho d gov. went outta line too bt lookn @ it 4rm anoda angle he probably would av said it outta anger 4 her>>>> stp d hatn...... if una dey dat position y'all would prbly b worse

I watched the video and in my opinion, the only thing the governor did wrong was saying she should "go and die". We should not be quick to criticize the governor. What do Nigerians really want? The woman broke the law...and the law should not be a respecter of widow or widower...We are already used to lawlessness that is why many people are saying the governor should have mercy because she is according to them a "poor widow". If we really want to develop like other countries are, we must take drastic measures. Abuja is the way it is because Nasir El-Rufai was hard. He demolished houses on sewers, houses that were not in the master plan etc. Now every Nigerian is proud of the city. People call for the arrest of Oduah and majority shout and say ethnic victimization! What do we really want in Naija? No one is perfect, including the 2 people I have mentioned, however, for now Nigeria really needs a hard hand to govern, because the nation is so used to lawlessness that it has become the norm.

Not laziness but job loss or being stuck in low paying jobs and the inability to find work with a livable wage are the real problems, not the character flaws of the poor. Those who hate the poor refuse to recognize that Nigeria as a society provides little or no opportunity for upward economic mobility. Rather the nation has become both the most unequal among developing nations and also the rich nation where climbing from poverty to prosperity is the least likely. The poor are generally stuck in poverty or near poverty, not because of a lack of effort, but because of a lack of opportunity.

Onome said...

See this fucked up herbalist witch doctor wen take him ugliness kill him wife. That widow is lucky to be alive after staring into the fugliness of this monster.

Bro. Kunle said...

Spreading this is all POLITICS. The Gov himself is a widower, so he has been there. The law is the law, OBEY. Who has verified that the woman is actually a widow? (This is Naija where anybody says anything to get sympathy). Finally, if she was allowed to go with her goods, what about all others that were seized... will that be fair? Finally, politicians are the same PDP or APC. Nobody should spoil our joy, let's be neutral.

why cant Nigerians obey simple rules..very simple rules.
people can never behave, until they are treated like animals...smh

Yeye Governor Oshiomole. I hear say na soso women matter him specialise in. He is so wicked and heartless.You see how peoplemincure the wrath of God upon themselves, if anything bad happens to me he will say people are after him. Whatever you sow you must surely reap. BASTARD

LINDA DEARIE, this story is too touching dat i was moved 2 comment . pls in my plea kindly track down dat lady n get in touch with me ( idigo1@yahoo.com ) After which am ready 2 pay 4 each and everything she lost 2 dat so called GOV.......IT IS VERY SAD I TELL U ;-(

I can't imaging what he had made that women feel in the present of everyone on that day. What an callous act from Adams..

in SHOCK!!!!

Yet you invite Delish of big brother and give her crisp $ notes that you stole !!! Monkey face.

Na una know, what she did is illegal!!!!

Seriously, am suprised that Linda and her likes talk like this. Many years we cried that Sango road should be rebult and so it is now but yet we cant enjoy it simply bcos many widows and widowers are selling on the road. Wont there by law, sanity and obidience? I beg govt have spent lot to change the face of our enviroment but people no gree, small time you will go to London, America snap yourself and your sister on their roads and post for us to see. if you like post afterall you have read.

this touched me so bad and put me in tears,linda do u know i can contact that widow cus i guess she needs food for her sef and family more dan our sympathy on paper,pls if u do jus put up a number or sometin nxt to my comment tnx

Nigerians and sentiments!!!! Please please and please let Oshiomole do his job. Didint the widow know that selling on the road was against the law? Soooo u all want Oshiomole to let her go scott free so many other widows can join her in breaking the law since they have an emotional Governor abi?
What needs to be done needs to be done. My fellow Nigerians, if we really want Nigeria to develop we have to be stern in obeying the law and enforcing the law. Leave sentiments, emotions and empathy out of it.

kay said...

Nomatter how loud you want to clap for the gov. for his works or abt the law he made against street hawking,fellow Nigerians his choice of words and reaction is totally out of place. A leader is supposed to be loving and accomodating,he's the chief servant and not a ruler. Tomorrow the will start campaigning as if the masses a fools,but 4getting their actions.

Egarube said...

Its pathetic how myopic, shallow and petty people can be. They speak from both sides of their mouth. You all clamor for change on one hand and then so quick to castigate the agents of change on the other. Do not let emotions becloud your rational reasoning. Buhari/Idiagbon did worse during their WAI campaign but posterity remembers them for cleaning a mess Nigeria had become at the time. Edo was a mess prior to Oshiomole and as a native that lived in benin at a time, i make bold to say that only one with iron fists could do a thorough clean of the mess it was. The governor has his shortcomings but i want us to look at the big picture instead of passing judgment that are undeserving. For all its worth the woman could be lying or the governor could have done that to send a stern warning to the public and then call for appropriate compensation to the woman which is a tactic he has so often used. All these pseudo activists should channel their efforts to where it is most needed after all if it be true she is a widow, where was help all this while.

THIS YEYE LINDA U WON'T POST COMMENTS ABI?

I do not agree that he should tell her to go to hell. I expect him to assist her in meeting her financial challenge which I presume is feeding, housing,medical and education for her kids. I however believe he should be firm in enforcing the law as that is the only way we can move forward as a Nation. Therefore, he was half right.

sad thing is the woman was evidently coming back from shopping. The goods she is carrying are not on display but still properly packed/sealed. please watch the video again before commenting if you doubt this. I have sold such items before and can identify a recent return from the market.

may the Husband of the widows never forgive you

the sad thing is the poor widow was evidently returning from the market, this clear from the fact that her goods are still sealed in the original packets. anyone not in the clouds can see this. everything is still properly packed. By the way, why draw much ill attention with such words when the woman is already scared to death and you could have showed her public mercy. this would surely have taught her some lesson. dont we all desire and ask God the Almighty for mercy and He gives without finding fault? Haba, she is carrying a broken heart pleading to that extent!

We Nigerians should learn how to obey the law...why is she the only one there....

God will punish him and may he never find helpers in his own time o need. oh what a shame!

he will beg from the woman

D Governor has got no excuse whatsoever 2 use such words on d lady. IS HE GOD. RUBBISHHHH...

Dose goods don't seem 2 me like she was hawking, dey look packaged & seems like she was about moving dem 2 a destination.
Bsides if it was a sanitation morning y are motorists everywhr? so may people are also around.
So many unanswered questions

Egbon said...

Oshiomhole is doing well as a Governor. In the heat of the moment, he made a careless statement, We shouldnt crucify him for that. He should be humble enough to apologize to the lady in public. Nobody is above mistake.

Law of Karma! Few months ago he was trying to disgrace a female teacher on camera, Now same camera will ruin his life till he die

Nigeria politicans are merciless and this same cant he help the woman the fact that the woman is begging you is enough for you to show mercy and warn her not to break the rule again at least help her by giving her money to get a shop at least show good example and not curse her to go and die.how many time have we offended God and he still show us mercy even when we dont deserve it

FFs that made me sick dis ppl are so hrt less

WHAT A SHAME

daisyjo said...

I am surprised at some comments I read here.I am from Edo state and understand the menace of street hawking.However I feel that if anyone widow or not commits a crime or breaks a law, she should be charged to court or made to pay a fine or whatever.Even criminals are treated with respect and dignity in advanced countries.Adams was insensitive, verbally and emotionally abusive to a woman.what was he doing on the streets at that time?Why waste tax payers money on the different task forces he has set up if can pace the streets and do the job himself?I was disappointed at his outright pettiness when he interviewed the 'teacher who can't read' and now this?He sure does love to show 'power' when women are involved ....offenders or no.

ZeeZee said...

No No NO NO Linda you cannot be upset by this PEOPLE REFUSE TO LISTEN it is very frustrating that aside all the hype and frustrations he has someone is carrying out something illegal - didn't you hear what he said "do you want people to die on the road", if people die on the road - we blame gov't still - sometimes you have to be tough, while what he said "go and die" is out of line but he was upset, she is crying tears yet she would do it again and again the illegal stuff she's doing- till somebody gets hurt- lets not wait for that, more people are needed like this... May God forgive us all for the things we do outta line

God definitely knows his house address. Whatever a man soweth, the same shall he reap!

Onome said...

Provide facilities for people like her to make a living that way they will not risk life breaking the law. Simple.

I literally just wept over this video. Mercy is what we all seek but yet we lack mercy upon others. God please intervene.

why is always the poor that are being subjected and enforced to obey the law?if oshomole had carried out his responsibiloities as a governor dat woman wouldnt be hawking,after askg her to go and die wont still stop others from....oshomole is just as disguisting as his heart will look if pull out

After all the speach he gave before bwing elected. The cry of this widow and many poor people will reach Heaven and their God will release His vengeance on them

"Linda u av no point. Ignorance of d law is no excuse and it is also said obey the law of the land. By d time a Gov gives her grace anoda person wil commit that same offence.so the Gov saying she should go & die he is nt d 1st Gov saying it or acting it. Our presidents even say more dan dat by is actions. So shame on u too linda u always find fault @d person doing the right tin & fail to criticise the person doing wrong."

Best post so far... You cannot ignore the law, they have been preaching this issue of Road SIde retail for a very long time. Please y'all should forget, he did the right thing. Maybe not iz words but his actions r uptyt

Imagine hw people pitied the woman. I have watch hw the goods of some of these women were destroyed by the government's team because they were trading on walk-ways and by d road side,yet they wouldn't leave. On that fateful day,the young woman was unlucky that the Governor caught her himself. Oshiomhole is not to be blame at all. But the woman whose goods had probably be destroyed severally yet refuses to stop trading on the walk-ways and road side. Nigerians need change of attitude if this country must change for good.

I cried watching this video! I will not criticise anyone but Our God is a God of vengeance!

B.E

This is wicked! T Imagine that former labour leader to voice such harsh on a widow. hmmmmm

Whatever happened to mercy? We call ourselves a Christian nation. How much less Christian can you be than to insult and grab a widow? Even if they want to enforce law ( it's laughable that this is the one law they have decided should be enforced), they could have taken pity and given the lady her goods. Those goods could literally be the difference between life and death for someone like that.
I'm with Miky Brown. Let's raise funds for this lady. I'm good for 50,000.

MAMA IFU

naija boy said...

this is the kind of cold heartedness APC intend to accord Nigerians if they assume power. That's why they want to get there by all means. Don't vote for them...

Does someone know this woman. I will like to give her back what she lost. Its time we stop talking and start doing. What she did was wrong and she was punished for it, but the governor should learn how to communicate better and not use insensitive language. I will like to give the lady back what she lost because I am moved by her appeal and I understand what it means to loose ur means of livelihood. I know she has learnt her lesson. U can reach me at zemezo@hotmail.com.

Benin boiz no dey try at all...dem suppose burn Oshomole house..I swear. This man is satan right hand man.

wicked devil

AGB said...

I'm Nigerian,I've been Nigerian all my life & I will be Nigerian forever. I know how we Nigerians typically are. Nigerians are so f'n emotional. Everyone has jumped to conclusions & are now nailing Adams Oshiomole without even knowing what the woman did. I agree his words might have been harsh,but hey... we all say harsh things from time to time when we're angry without even realizing them. (That's no justification tho).
Now, to the main issue we as Nigerians are very lawless & like forming like we can always break laws. This is the reason I don't pity anyone of us caught red-handed who's punished. If the woman broke a law she knew she broke consciously without giving a damn about how it affected other Nigerians, I don't see why she should be using the excuse of being a widow. Things must change & we must learn to abide by the laws of our country otherwise no pity. We need firm leaders who can discharge judgments fairly & without being emotional. As a matter of fact,the goats that we tend to be need "iron-hands."

I have goose pimples all over listening to this short film. What you need to know is that if people had appropriate places to sell, they would not sell in the wrong places. It’s a big shame on you knowing fully well what it is to lose a spouse. What this means is that for so long you have hidden behind a guise but little did you know that modern tech will rip you apart. From now onwards Oshiomole, I withdraw my respect for you.

What did that foolish Patrick Obahiagbon say about this?

it's quite unfortunate such an out burst could be credited to a leader of thoughts. yes the law but, it should be understood we are not made for the law.oshiomhole should know by now that his position is a symbol of hope to who ever comes in contact with him.his actions and choice of words in the clip leave much to be desired.mr gov. please redress this issue.

AGB said...

100%

Well there is something Nigerians don't understand. Once a law is passed it is more powerful than the the person that created it. if he gave the woman a pardon right there, that would weaken his stand as a governor or even a lawmaker, then he shld do the same for everyone. Anybody can do worse with their even a prophet, Elisha uttered one world and beasts ate the children that mocked him. So nigerians be wise and pray for your leaders.

Which aged? Who old pass? Off point.

Well, she broke the law. They said no trading on the road and she didn't listen. So as for getting her goods confiscated I'm not sorry for that. But as for the insults, that was not needed.

I believe the said govt is a widower himself. Its just sad how people forget the situation they had once been. Is this the kind of leaders we have in Nigeria and they want people in diaspora to come home. No ooooooo.

JOHN KING said...

Nigeria leaders are very stupid, heartless and God must PUNISH them during 2015 election

«Oldest ‹Older   401 – 557 of 557   Newer› Newest»