Akon denies discriminating against dark-skinned girls in Ghana | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 27 November 2013

Akon denies discriminating against dark-skinned girls in Ghana

A Ghanaian fashion blogger, FashionGhana.com, last week claimed that Akon and Wizkid requested for only light-skinned models and refused dark-skinned ones from appearing in their music video. (If you missed it, check on it here). Well, Akon says the reports is absolutely false.
"That doesn't even make any sense, that don't make no sense at all" he told TMZ. When asked again if the story was false, Akon laughed and said 'It's absolutely not true"

57 comments:

1. Gud for him atleast he has put that rumour to rest,remaining Iyee ye yeee! to come and clear the air.

1. Hahaha... star boy

2. Even if he did and so........Ghana should go and take several seat.......you guys like badmouthing naija and I don't where the competition came from....I don't blame them for wanting light skinned girls cos.......you guys are so f***ing dark that you would't be seen on telly if you guys where featured.........linda my dear pls post my comment

3. hahahaahahahah lmao dt ws so funny!!!

4. Hi swt. Aw ar u doin. I think i likes ur comment.

2. Its nt abt racism.....its abt d business

3. LOL pls darkskin or no skin. I'd choose a fresh darkskinned babe over some lightskinned one. What's all the hype about lightskin for anyway? Most of them r not even all tht pretty...

1. Am sure u are very dark. If u were light skinned u wouldn't make that statement

4. Dirty Black skin looking for some mixed Breed like me..No nigerian lady has got a skin as fine as mine..see what u guys have caused that's why likes of omotola,Tonto Rukky and Toke Got their skin bleached out..micheew

1. Ode snap and upload make we see, silly thing. Insulting nigerian girls I don't blame you. Ewu

2. I'm Sure ur so pained.ugly dirty dark Girl(UDDG)..Micheew

5. Okay n who re we going 2 believe

6. Iro ni. Akon don lie.

7. Well,it would be hard to believe you Akon.
    Whoever Wizkid's publicist is should start training the lad on how to deny the accusation when he's asked in an interview...that's if Nigerian interviewers would even bother asking.

8. So who are we going to ask?

9. At first I thought I saw "Akon DIES" nd den I looked again "Akon denies" linda jare bring better news,,I heard Angola said dy didn't ban muslims o,,daz sad news for me,pls find out o

#didi

1. Lol, I'd advice u get a reading glass u seriously need 1

10. I trust Akon, he cant do such thing...Lol

11. Are u sure Akon, cos I think there is an element of truth in d allegation.

12. we don hear...slow news 2dae.....*ONYXGODWIN *

13. Wen wizkid turn rapper again...mtchewwwww

14. Story verifications seem too difficult for blogger: rumour is the order of the day.

15. I guess we have finally heard from the horse's mouth.Wizkid,your turn next.

16. Linda y u dey take am personal...shey bcos u black...lol....Na Akon and Wizkid they make dese dark-skinned girls go dey bleach...lol....Akon but u b mumu o...u wey black like Charcoal...mothersuckers!

17. This guyz re just 4cked up + am d first to post linda hello

18. If u didn't say such den who did? Ooops!!! Wiz kid! Yes u did cus ur gf's half cast. U brought dat idea. There's no flame witout fire. There must be an atom of truth in dis. Wizy I no blame u. Uchicha okpuru bridge....

1. Whiz kids baby mama is a black beautiful girl. Maybe that's whyhe hates her!. Shioooooor

19. Na dia way! Meanwhile na dem black pass a typical yoruba man...... Hehehehehe!

20. When I first saw this story, I was so pissed, I didn't know what to say. I actually took my wrath on TMZ instead of the foolish Ghanaian website that put up the story. These Ghanaians can be so petty, the writer actually wrote that he was happy that Sarkodie didn't sign for Akon record! What rubbish?! Looking down on Nigeria and Nigerian artiste, when Nigeria is what brought the international spotlight to Africa! Most Ghanaians actors are here plying their trade and most Ghanaian movies are bankrolled by Nigeria and they dare look down on us?!! WTF is the matter if Akon and Wizkid decide to use fair girls in the music video? It's a choice not a statement. So if a producer decides that Jackie Appiah is better suited for a role than Yvonne Nelson, he is discriminating against Yvonne? The writer of that story should go and flush his laptop down the toilet!

1. Well said jare, they jx write shits all in d name of blogging. Linda if Ʊ like use ma comment as sanitary pad o. Ǻ♍ outa here.........

2. Spot on.....#doctorbobby

21. But make we talk true o....If you have ever been to Ghana u will know Ghana pple are soooo dark....walayi dey black die...LMAO

1. U talk true , those Ghanians suppopse dey compe wit Sudan for who black pass but if its true dat Akon n Wizkid requested for fair girls I don't blame him b'cos a person who has never visited Ghana wud think they have fair pple b'cos of Ghanian movies always featuring half-caste girls when their people are as black as charcoal

22. Then who's sayin d truth ?ok Wizzy boi. Oya ur turn.am waitin.

23. @anonymous 12:28pm,I smell beef for wizkid,if he dey dat half caste,u to go and date quater caste..goat head

1. Sure na u old mama wey wiz de fuck de talk so.....dnt even know ur name and cnt bother trying to remember. U be halfcast, u no ur papa? Useless tayo family! Tufia! Mugu! U smell beef! U go soon smell stockfish. Okpukpu azu mangala gbagbu kwaa gi there! Bitch!!!!!

24. I am telling u na wizy go don ask 4 d hlf cast coz if una watch most Akon videos na black chicks dey there so dis 1 na wizy idea fool moni miss road

25. THese so called bloggers can write anything for blog views though

26. Lmao @ anon 12:28pm... Wetin come bring uchicha okpuru bridge na???? Lol!!! Well,its their choice na maybe the song is abt "yellow sisi" and not "african queen"!!! #just saying#

1. Lamo! Atleast u laughed! I laughed writing it! All join. I still like wiz. No hate! But d boy bukwa uchicha naa....

27. Aunt linda plz my sister

28. But of course. He'd never admit to it if it happened. It's this type of discrimination that's resulting in women harming and charring themselves by bleaching. They're responding to the message from the Akons and Wizkids telling them they can't be one of the beautiful ones if their skin is a certain hue.

29. their choice though but it's so funny.with akon skin they had the mind to reject dark skin gals.akon skin isn't even dark.the guy is blacker than an old woman's cooking pot but most ghanaians are very dark and fleshy.ghanaians started it all,they all think a movie will sell if nadia,juliet,van,majid and other mixed races are in it.majid is so annoying.am not hating on him but i don't enjoy his movies.most of the ghanians over act and used many colourful things in their movie.i need real actresses like mercy,nse ikpe,cha cha,ini.they interprete their roles very well.genevieve used to do same and stephanie but they've changed.i love them still.nigerian movies reflect on the poor and rich society.crime,culture,beliefs and religion as well as life style and campus life but ghanaian movies just wont stop talking about royalty and riches.am tired of prince,princess and king/queen movies.

1. Lol you hit the nail on the head

30. Linda pls is @am_davidoo really davido becos he wnts to take some of his fans to miami donno if it is a scam check his tweets out.

31. When did Wizkid turn to a rapper? Nigerian Rapper abi wetin dem write so??? Odikwa very stupid!

I sip my coffee jeje

32. You no see him BLACK FACE LIKE HE GOAT! OLOSHI!

33. Whether akon and wizkid are guilty or nay doesn't matter....truth is, ya'all can't say it's racism cos dey are also negro's, matter of fact akon is even negroer(whatever dat means) than some of us negros. So it's imperative that we affiliate dis fact 2 freedom of choice... it's a free world and every one is entitled 2 dia own decision....live and let's live
    #doctorbobby

34. how can they go to Ghana of all places looking for light skinned girls? Why not go to cape town where they are in abundance?

35. If d guys want light gals let them have them,I am sure dey have both featured dark gals in their previous videos. Culd be they just realised their sudden preference for light gals,abi no be mix breed Wizkid is currently dating? Let them exercise their freedom of choice,at least Ghanians still have light gals,bt am sure dt wuld be a tall order if He tries dt in Senegal!

36. 3:33, doctorbobby, it's called intra racism.