Bank sack workers through text messages | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 21 February 2012

Bank sack workers through text messages

It's so unethical. You work for a company for many years and when they are ready to let you, instead of doing it in a dignifying manner, they send you a text message. It's now known as e-sacking.

Access Bank and Ecobank acquired Intercontinental and Oceanic Bank respectively, and they've been been laying off staffers of the acquired banks, sometimes via e-sacking.

Here's one of such text messages sent by one of the acquiring banks mentioned above.
“Dear All, Following d current restructuring in (identity withheld) Bank, we regret 2 inform u dt ur service is no longer required. Pls note dt ur letter will be sent 2u soon.”
So uncool!

24 comments:

I don't know which is more annoying; that it is a text, or that it starts with 'Dear All' or that the words were spelt in such a casual manner or that it is a sack sef.

teenanaija said...

a friend dat works wit acess bank said dey were paid off n not just sacked as dey assumed.dey were paid off......

Why evils? God will punish the banks.

Dee dee said...

They didn't even try to use proper formal English in the so called e-sack letter instead of text-speak. But I guess that doesn't change the context of the letter. Unprofessional and unethical. Someone should be sacked for this, preferably by e-sack letter so they know what it feels like.

Linda! Linda! Linda!!! Wetin dey do u?why are u starving us of ur presence? Is dis what america has done to u? I am totally pissed wit u, u are so fickle! Na small America make u just forget us like dis. Infact shut down ur blog and go and stay in America since dat ur priority now. I am really mad at u. Mtchewwwww! Nonsense!

Abbey said...

You see the rubbish Sanusi has started? Hmmmmmm. We are in serious problems. Very soon, people would start carrying guns

Str8FrmDaHips said...

How deplorable and condenscending after all those years...And the Thief old owners of InterContinental and Oceanic..are lapping it up somewhere..people should have known something was up..the minute the CEOs were arrested for defrauding their own banks..how absurd is that!!

...Pardon my ignorance but are there no employment tribunals in Nigeria?..You cannot just lay someone off with the message "Your services is no longer needed"...
There is a process which if not followed by HR, leads to an ET where the employee may win the case with loads of cash in his/her pocket!..Mehnnnn!!This is so wrong!!

OUCH!

Val said...

My mind tells me this is from Access bank. I sacked myself early enough (Nov)when we were asked to start opening accounts( non-marketing departments)and given ridiculous targets. i feel sorry for those who didnt have any other source of income but worked their asses out in meeting those targets and yet ended up beign fired.

Reality has finally bitten Nigeria banks and bank workers in the butt. Bank workers has finally found their level and it's not what they like. Local govt. workers are better than Nigerian bank workers.

GlamNotchApparels said...

this is so cruel

Nigeria university said...

This is uncool.

Etisalat free cheat said...

Paid off? @teennaija? How?

canddy said...

Completely impossible, haven't you heard of prank sms/ bulk sms. u pipul should reason jor.

Please name and shame the bank. Stop protecting idiots.

Linda i bet you that this is a big lie!!As a matter of fact,people's lives are changing for good through this.dey wont talk about the millions they are paid.PLEASE SHOW THE BANK'S NAME cos this is a white lie.

very sad....

some months back, when the CEOs of these banks where being hounded by everything seemed ok with the banks some years ago. after the N25bn capitalisation, people felt their deposits were more secure, so many people looked up to the banking sector for employment and were not disappointed irrespective of the discipline they came from. fixed deposit rates were cool, loans were easily obtained. then one sanusi wakes up one day and points out some banks, hounds their CEOs/owners with allegations of corrupt financial practices. many people condemned them too and hailed sanusi and his so called reforms. now, thanks to his reforms, the same people are losing there jobs. the one sector in nigeria that has been responsible for high rate of employment is now cruelly dumping people out in the cold of unemployment. i wonder whether they can still hail sanusi in the midst of all these. i wonder how all these 'sanitisation and reforms' of the industry has helped the nigerian economy/masses.

LPS said...

Wetin person no see or hear for naija!! eSacking???

http://personalstuvs.blogspot.com

i doubt if any bank will do this. Doesn't sound right. Very unproffessional. Must be a prank sms.

This cannot be real. Impossible.

Airtel did same in 2011 and the staff ended up shutting down servers in Abuja, Lagos and Kaduna for three days. They marched around Lagos and Abuja and also shut down the Call Centre with the help of NLC and NUPTE. Infact theris ended with; don't bother coming to the office. The staff were re-instated after one week. Now in the news is the MTN sack of 65 workers in Nov 2009 without notice and contrary to the terms of engagement and letter of employment. The affect 65 staff had since petitioned the senate Feb 2012. We Nigerian youths must rise and support one another because if this acts continues we all will be affected soonest; National Mirror - Sacked MTN workers petition lawmakers: http://nationalmirroronline.net/community-mirror/32802.html?print. It is barbaric

The Chairman of the Committee, Hon. Uzo Azubuike thereafter read out a letter written by MTN Nigeria to the Committee in which MTN Nigeria requested for an extension to enable the company prepare the defense. MTN Nigeria also claimed the company received its letter of summons two days earlier; March 12, 2012 and will require more time to source for other information on the disengaged staff.
The House committee however claimed the summon letters was dispatched weeks before. Consequent on this, the Chairman adjourned the Hearing to the 18th of April, 2012. A letter to that effect had since been sent to MTN Nigeria.
The Chairman, House Committee on Public Petitions, Hon Uzo Azubike requested that ALL affected disengaged staff of MTN (the CR65) MUST BE PRESENT at the 18th April, 2012 Investigative Hearing at the same venue; Room 429, House of Representatives at the National Assembly Complex, Three Arms Zone, Abuja.
This, according to him, is to prove that the Lawyer has the mandate of all and sundry to represent them irrespective of whom and/or who signed any mandate/agreement with the lawyer. The lawyer even said he had the signed mandate of over 45 staff as at that date (14th March 2012) but the chairman insisted on the presence of all and sundry on that new date.
Hon Matthew Omera from Imo State read the petition from our lawyer on the Floor of the House on the 16th of February 2012. It was thereafter voted on and referred to the Committee on Public Petitions chaired by Hon Uzo Azubike representing Abia North & South).
MTN Nigeria on Wednesday November 18, 2009 and Thursday November 19, 2009 disengaged 65 workers, including divisional managers in its Nigerian operations under heavy security presence and about four ambulances without prior communication on the exercise to the staff.

In a press statement announcing the sack on November 19, 2009, MTN Nigeria through the General Manager of corporate Communication of MTN Nigeria, Funmilayo Omogbenigun said the move will help it embark “on an aggressive plan to refocus its customer service operations towards the next generation customer care.”
The affected 65 permanent staff from the customer relations unit includes “60 customer care representatives, two managers; two supervisors; and one manger on suspension.”