Nollywood PA arrested for soliciting for sex from girls looking for movie roles | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 24 August 2011

Nollywood PA arrested for soliciting for sex from girls looking for movie roles

A production assistant popularly known as Locomotive was last week arrested and detained at Soloki Police Station, Aguda for allegedly assaulting up and coming actresses during a film audition at the very popular Winnis Hotel in Surulere. Locomotive allegedly ordered the desperate girls looking for movie roles to strip naked at the audition ground, which some of them did, after which Locomotive and his boys asked the girls to give them blow jobs if they wanted to get the roles.

One of the girls refused and reported the incident to the Chairman of Lagos State Chapter of Actors Guild of Nigeria, Emeka Rising, who alerted the police and got Locomotive and his team arrested. They've since been released.

Emeka said they dropped the case against Locomotive and his boys because the abused girls were not willing to pursue the matter, they refused to even write a formal statement to the police.

And so the madness continues...so sad!

26 comments:

9jaFOODie said...

Grrrrrr... this is disgusting.

all th mercy johnsons of this world ...this is the level they stoop down to, and the low life dalliances and prostitution they indulge in..and tomorrow..they want to be worshipped, and some nigerians even put them on a pedestal they don't belong.. by well meaning nigerians....no wonder half of the so called actresses can't even act!!!.no wonder i can't even watch any nija videos with my children in the room, bcos it is all about sex filled orgies, and ridiculousness!!! what a great pathetic pity and shame!!!

So even the girl who made the first complaint refused to write a statement? That sounds hard to believe. Is someone intimidating them.

Sweetheart said...

God forbid bad thing!!!

Jide said...

it would happen again and again and again....these guys must be remanded, the girls are obviously scared and are thinking if they talk then their careers would not even start....Linda you should follow this up, the female members of the guild should also follow this case up and look for the girls,allay their fears and lets go after these demons that keep destroying the image of Nollywood

Femillionaire said...

Shuu! Where's the crime? A guy says if you want this, then you should give me this and the girls willingly agreed. No crime. If the setting was say in the university or a workplace where the lecturer demands for sex before passing you or where the boss demands for sex before promoting you, then, it would have been a different kettle of fish. Locomotive's action is no doubt reprehensible but crime he did not commit

na today????

kkdlegend said...

its what they do. Damn PA s and producers messing up the industryers messing up the industry

Femillionaire said...

Shuu! Where's the crime? The guy made an offer which some were willing to take, no crime there. If the setting had been between a boss and a subordinate at the workplace or between a lecturer and a student, then i can understand it being a crime but this?! No doubt what locomotive did is reprehensible but a crime it is not...

MY NAIJA LIFESTYLE said...

y wudnt dey drop d charges? wen dey'v already taken part in d act. dey wont hv mouth again & evrybody will know dem. d annoyin thing is 2mrw dey'l still go again & he'l evn worsen d condition & dey'l still fall 4 it wit out thinkin twice!

1976AD.com said...

The casting couch is prevalent in the movie industry everywhere, Nigeria is not different.

Only question is whom is one willing to sleep with. A name like locomotive is the first give away that all is not well...

Flora said...

I'm impressed that the chairman, Emeka, even did something & that the men were arrested for awhile. I live in the States and Nollywood was my go to entertainment for movies. Not anymore, they've lost their wholesomeness. I think most of the girls r not actresses.

wivesroundtable said...

What could be more debasing than this???? Stripping naked or stooping down to give blow job for a role u might not get!! A production assistant, not even the executive producer, producer or the movie director!!!
Oh father! The guy didnt even have the courtesy to take them to a room? Audition ground???? I am sooooo mad!!

It happens in Hollywood too. It's sad but it's the way of life. The girls that would pursue the case want the roles more than anything.

Amaka's Notepad said...

blow job to a production assistant at an audition ground! Yuck!

Genny Baby said...

@anon 2:23, what is Mercy Johnson's connection to this matter?

Do you honestly have any real evidence abi na assumption?

The fact say na comments you dey make, you dey project wetin go come back to you if you are making it up.

It is what it is.

Payback is waiting, as you dey sow, you dey reap!

Go to all the joints where street/ashawo workers are and rain curses and abuses on them if that is your mission in life.

Address issue on ground, no rope Mercy Johnson inside.

She is neither my friend nor my foe, just focus on matter on ground.

Linda, I can teach you how to make love. Come have sex with me. *wink* *wink* Hope I succeeded in making you laugh or shocked you!

Genny baby... don't be silly... we all know that's the way the likes of mercy Johnson started.... wake up ohhhh stop putting rotten dirty husband snatching mercy on A pedestal. That's why her type do not see anything wrong in going after other peoples partners.... cheap rubbish.... dirty locomotive cock in those desperate girls mouths.... they really need to get some serious std tests done in nollywood

Despiracy @ its highest echelon. D gals are so damn shameless, if they can agree 2 blowjob with a production assistant what will they not do to a director. SMH

promise said...

Wow. Blowjob for a movie role. Sounds more like a porn audition to me. Idk if I should laugh or be sad. On one hand, I find this very funny and on the other hand I feel really bad for those girls. Seriously, how far are u willing to go to get what you want?? Na wa

doll (retired blogger) said...

i tire. wetin concern mercy johnson with this matter. some people are just plain stupid

sleekreek said...

@Femimillionaire,,,,so its no crime to u right??whats the difference between this silly thing and lecturers demanding for sex before a student can pass or an employer demanding for sex before giving out a job?am really surprised with dis silly comments of urs,,,,,so u are trying to say that a decent girl cannot have a good career in acting without stooping low to this level,,,cos as it is,,,refusal from these girls means no roles automatically,,,,that means a lady who has the talent and is driven by her talent cant pursue a career of her choice,,,,u might do the same if u find urself in stupid Locomotive's shoes.....thats why Nollywood is turning into shambles when decent and talented girls are not given opportunities to showcase themselves and they have a lot of empty brain prostitutes there.........very pathetic!!

NaijaScorpio said...

@Femillionaire: There was a crime because they are taking advantage of their positions to get the girls to do sexual stuff. Girls who are desperate enough to break into the movie industry may feel they have no choice but to oblige if they ever want to get a role.

It's really sad.

Although what these men did was unprofessional, unethical and outright nasty, I have to agree with Femillionaire! Where is the crime in this? No body forced these yeye girls to have sex with these guys. If they had any dignity they would have carried themselves from that place instead of doing nonsense to get the "job". Nollywood is what one of the top 5 biggest movies industries in the world. Its not as if its impossible to find another, more professional, film director to work for. Its no wonder they don't want to give a statement. You sucked someone's d*ck for a movie role, that is your own fault.

And no it is of no comparison to a lecturer asking for sex/bribe for a passing grade!

sleekreek said...

@Annon Aug 26,9:24am......i see,,,so u dont see anything wrong in a lecturer demanding sex before a student can pass??its either u are one of those nasty lecturers that engagge in such illicit act or u are someone like foolish Locomotive.....
Whats d difference??lecturer demanding sex before his student can pass and a producer demanding sex before he can give roles,,,,,pls tell me the difference ooo....

@sleekreek- can u read??? where did i say that it was ok for a lecturer to solicit students for sex? so next time u wan judge someone, use ur reading comprehension skills 1st!

now, the difference between that and what these men did is CHOICE! those "actresses" had a choice to get up and walk away from that situation, and im glad that at least some of them did and reported what was going on. but there are and will be plenty of girls that will jump at the opportunity to use sex in order to get a role instead of relying on talent. those with real talent will walk away in search of other opportunities. on the other hand, a student can't just walk away from their professor/uni because they had to go through enough wahala to even get into university, pay their school fees, study and actually EARN a grade. those students have their choice taken away from them by these nonsense lecturers due to the limited accountability the gov't puts on these people. so no, the two are not the same.