Supreme Court Upholds Death Sentence of Kano Actress | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 10 July 2011

Supreme Court Upholds Death Sentence of Kano Actress

Kano State born actress, Rabi Ismaila, who is accused of drugging and drowning her boyfriend in 2002 and sentenced to death by hanging in 2005, had her death sentence upheld by a seven-man panel of the Supreme Court in Abuja on Friday July 8, 2011, after appealing for six years.

The actress and single mother of two allegedly murdered her boyfriend, Auwalu Ibrahim in Dec 2002 with a chocolate drink and pushed him into the Tiga Dam after robbing him. Prosecutors say the actress was also a popular prostitute in Kano.

After the death sentence passed by a High Court in 2005, Rabi appealed at the Court of Appeal, Kaduna, which upheld the death sentence. She then appealed to the Supreme Court which also had the death sentence upheld just this Friday.

Death by hanging? Oh dear, so sad!

13 comments:

lorlah said...

Yes o death dt is d penalty for murder in nigeria

What on earth? Since when have we been enforcing the death penalty??!!

Why I do I feel that others who are accused of murder are never sentenced to death?

Ayodeji said...

Both the Penal and Criminal Code have a death by hanging sentence for murder. It is not at the discretion of the court. The fact that the appeal was rejected by the Supreme Court gives me pause in this case.

@Annon 4.41, being accused and being found guilty of murder are two different things. Once you are found guilty of murder, its death by hanging.

Only thing I am afraid of is that with the shoddy police work in Nigeria, innocent people may be found guilty too.

wow, who even does death by hanging anymore?

Do they know if she actually did it??? Abeg..

Hello Kitty said...

What is sad there? when she drugged the guy and pushed him into the dam killing him, that was sad. death by hanging is justice.
and fyi anon 4:41 pm, the death penalty has always been in force in Nigeria. its not today they started sentencing pple to death in this country. or didnt you know that the bar beach in lagos was a popular execution spot for convicts sentenced to death by firing squad in the 80s?

The headline does not go with the story. How is a person condemned to death?

@ Alicia..my thoughts too..y cant they invest some money into getting the lethal injection thingy set up..hanging??...na wah...i even dont believe in death penalty..but if it is in place..y so brutal?..na wah!..God Help her and I pray her soul rests in peace when her time comes!

I just hope the same treatment awaits Titi Arowolo's murderer husband. Afterall what is good for the goose is also good for the gander. A man's life is not worth more than a woman's oh. Death by hanging it is. No cheating and no double standards. We will not rest until we get justice for her.

mariamah said...

If she did it, then she deservers to die. And if it is by hanging, all the better, the scarier the better.

galore said...

@kolade,,,,,,,,you are next ooo......better dont lie of insanity......dance to ur music oo.....,,for kiiling ur Banker wife....

Bee said...

All the politicians that have killed thousands of Nigerians Nko. Why dey never try,convict and sentence them to death by hanging.pssst.

As for the babe, if she killed him, she must face the law. People need to know there are consequences for every action.

Ask Sista Bola said...

can someone please lead her to Christ.