This can't be normal... | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 16 October 2010

This can't be normal...

I walk past this guy and lady and the lady smiles at me. I smile back.The guy smiles too. I smile back.
Then the guy walks up to me and says hi. I say hi back and he chats me up for a few seconds. I get uncomfortable 'cos there's a lady waiting for him while he talks to me.
Then he asks for my number. I say 'show some respect, you're with another woman'
He turns back to look at the woman and smiles at her. She smiles back.
He says "That's my mum"
I say 'wow!' totally caught off guard. She looks like an older girlfriend or older sister. Not mummy!
I walk up to her and greet her properly. She compliments me.
The guy asks for my number again. I'm not really interested but the mum is watching so I give him a number I no longer use.
Then the mum says "Dial the number to make sure it's really hers."
Hmmmm?
"Is that the phone you're holding?" She asks as the son dials the fake number.
"No, that's my other phone" I reply 
"This number is not going!" The son says after dialing
Yeah, it wasn't meant to.
"Let him have the number to this phone" the mum says pointing at the phone I'm holding
Oh dear me...how weird!
I smile and give the son my real number.
Mum asks son to dial the new number, just to make sure. He does, the phone with me rings, they both smile.
Mum hugs me, son shakes my hand, promises to call. They walk away.
Mum toasting girl for son/making sure son gets girl.
This can't be normal

32 comments:

they both sound fishy...like some plot they use all the the time to get girls or 419 people..be careful

Vanity said...

It cannot be normal but it is completely hilarious!! Who does that though?

Linda Ikeji said...

@anon...there's nothing 419 about these mum and son. if it was 419, it would be normal.

why not if the son is shy why cant his momma hook him up!!! its absolutely normal. If i were u miss keji holla at the boy because if he is that close to his mom that would be the way he will treat u.

JUST BEING ME said...

Hmmm....another poser?....if mothers can arrange/marry wife for their sons in absenteeism or with their consent....then this scenario does not look abnormal to me....stranger things have happened o..heheheee

wienna said...

Did this truly happen to you recently? I'm sure the dude's ibo.

Kolobo said...

Beware! Don't let them use you for pepper soup or ritual. In Biodun Oduwole's Compass column, it is N750,000 per person.

On the other hand, it could be a good mum looking for a girlfriend for her UK/USA based son.

Some mums are dying to be grandmas and some sons are not serious to settle down.

Good and bad go hand in hand but one should not allow a good catch to go just like that because one is too suspicious. Good luck!

That was rude of him. At any age, I wouldn't try such in front of my mum. The man has no respect for his mum.

Yinkuslolo said...

hahaha, too funny. i feel like this is will start a good story

Surprise said...

It is normal. When did this happen? If this is recently and you are attracted to d guy, I will say congrats in advance. But don't make the first call. Let the guy call first. And let him shoe he is serious before you lead him on.

Eve said...

agree with yinkuslolo ...sounds like it might be a happy ending!
people come with too much negativitiy! geesh

who no like better thing linda?
the mama want fine gene for her family wetin wrong there.
peace dey nigeria when mama dey choose for her pickin.
i beg if the mama go be good ma inlaw give the bobo chance if u no get any bobo.

Which kain mama's boy be that. To the person that said maybe she is looking for a son for her US/UK based child. Na yankee/jand be the girl problem? A yankee/jand guy has a mind of his own to look for a girl by himself o. Naija women, fear o if some mama comes to you for her son abroad. If the boy can not come home and find a wife or find one where he is, there is something wrong with him, make yankee/jand no blind you. A man that is not able to "mack" a woman by himself without his mum constantly butting in is showing you a preview into how Mama will be all in y'alls business.

Pls be careful, there are evil and fetish mums everywhere. They could hypnotise you.

this is so awesome, as people said this may be the begining of a good thing. look linda I know sometimes we are full of skepticism about situations like that, but girl for the mother to press on for her son. this is such a nice thing. Pls give this dude a chance. Although I am searching for a man. but girl I am not closing my self to dates. make yourself a open book. speed date, go online. let your freinds hook you up with a nice dude. Dont worry girly your Mr. right will be with you. Do not let the pressure of our Nigerian society weight you out. Keep the faith peace and one love.

Anoda Phase said...

hmmmmm...this looks like the beginning of an interesting romance story...

Na that kind mama we dey call MILF for yankie here. hahahah. To use the aforemntioned as a verb, you can say "The boy's mom is MILFY". lol

it is absolutely normal ...lol.. i have personally had a few encounter .. i can totally relate to this story .. seriously it happens .. funny heyn?? lol

L0L.. this is not half as weird as what I experienced last summer in Naija. ... I was in a bank with my mum, when a man in his 50s walked up to my mum (in a business formal manner) and got her number.. just for him to start asking her about me later on..for his son.. jeeez..

BB said...

Wow!! I don't think it's abnormal, but absolutely hilarious!!

The dude could be a mama's boy, and any girl who gets into a r/ship with him could be in serious trouble. On the other hand, the mama could be a really nice lady who will stand up for her son's gf/wife.

Linda, did this happen to you? If yes, good luck - should be fun.

Ummmmmmmm............. Why r we so negative minded in this part of d world ,Linda awwwwww!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! so romantic!!!!!!!!!!!!go 4 it girl,i ld dodt 4 my son,but of cos do ur checks first,all da best.Titi

helen said...

linda is there part 2 of this story cos i am already watching this ur story/movie in my mind...lol babe it might be ur own perfect blessing in disguise ...pls enjoy it cos there is no police check point on ur way to success!!!

Linda Ikeji said...

guys pls...enough of the happy ending talk. if i was interested, i wouldn't have given a fake number or even put the story on this blog...

and yes it did happen to me.

@wienna, i swear, true story. and coincidentally, i recently found out that the guys is....let's just say it's a small world..:-)

LisaW said...

Na wa o! Linda, don't tell us that the guy, erm, swings...you know which way naw!
Hmm,if so, it kinda makes sense for the mama to be very forceful about getting a woman's number. Chei!

jobsfornaija said...

eya, to me its cute oh. she Saw a fine babe, everyone wants something good for her child

Linda Ikeji said...

@lisaw, no he doesnt swing...that wasnt what i meant...i said it's a small world...u never know where u'll meet someone again...met him again where i never expected to

Nigerians sha!

That was cute, kinda weird but hella cute! But you should have told him you were not interested, rather than giving him the number knowing you have no interest whatsoever!

chichiluv said...

What an AWKWARDDDDD position to be placed!

Wild Boy said...

could be normal....some guys are close to their mum and do stuff together( not necessarily the clingy types and stuff), could be a desperate mum for grandkids....could be anything. would be cute if twas a clean deal...anyways- all the best linda!I want sumtin big like this to happen to you...the story go sweet no be small!

doll (retired blogger) said...

it happened to you?

and here i was thinking you were starting a "this can't be normal" fiction series...

So is it safe to say the fuell incident happened to you too

What rubbish is that? Mum should sit one side i beg and be careful who you give your number to.

skankmypeaceofmind said...

RUN!!!!!!!!!!! this is a controlling mother and her mummy's boy of a son that if you end up in a relationship with him...she's going to be the third member...telling you where and when to see or not to see him.

trust me Linda.....this is the beginning of your worst nightmare. pls do not agree. anyway if the mother is as i think she is, she'd show herself. trust me, if you say no to him, she'd call you personally to ask you out for him