A painting by late American artist, Jean-Michel Basquiat sold for a record-breaking of $110.5 million on Friday at an auction in New York.
The untitled paint which was done in oil stick, acrylic and spray paint, and depicts a face in the shape of a skull has now broken several other records including becoming the most expensive work by any US artist.
It was sold to Yusaku Maezawa, a fashion entrepreneur who is one of Japan’s richest people, with an estimated fortune of $3.6 billion.
He plans to set up a museum in his hometown of Chiba, Japan.
Taking to his Instagram to post a picture of the art, Maezawa expressed his excitement saying: 'I am happy to announce that I just won this masterpiece. When I first encountered this painting, I was struck with so much excitement and gratitude for my love of art. I want to share that experience with as many people as possible.'
The late Jean-Michel Basquiat who was an artist for 7 years first achieved fame as part of SAMO©, an informal graffiti duo who wrote enigmatic epigrams in the cultural hotbed of the Lower East Side of Manhattan during the late 1970s where the hip hop, post-punk, and street art movements had coalesced. He died of a heroin overdose, in his Manhattan art studio in 1988.
💰💰💰
ReplyDeleteOk
ReplyDeletemadness
DeleteINUKWA the kain mumu masquerade painting!
ReplyDelete-D great anonymous now as Vivian Reginalds
Buy this rubbish for $110m?thats absurd.
ReplyDeleteHmmmm dis ugly tin? Anyway beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder.
ReplyDeletei still don't the whole idea of contempory painting and art. it is ridiculous,
ReplyDeleteclick here now for penis enlargement
an artist just spreads paint of different colours on a canvass and it becomes millions of dollars in value.
Lucky him..
ReplyDeleteDis man for dash me part of d money o...what kinda art is dis biko
ReplyDeleteSee rubbish very ugly painting
ReplyDeleteFor ordinary painting..smh
ReplyDeleteIt's no ordinary painting.
ReplyDeleteAsk Picasso why his painting are one of d costliest in d world or even Da Vinci's.
Jean Michel basquiat...the motivation of the weeknd's dread