In a statement released yesterday by its spokesman, Jomo Gbomo, MEND said the Niger Delta Avengers have nothing to do with the Niger Delta struggle but rather they are geared towards destabilizing the Buhari-led government. The statement in part reads
“The Movement for the Emancipation of the Niger Delta (MEND) wishes to condemn and dissociate itself from the recent activities carried out by a group known as the Niger Delta Avengers. Their sudden emergence has absolutely nothing to do with the Niger Delta struggle but rather a tool by certain elements to destabilise the current government. Going by their actions and subsequent statements, it has become very apparent on who the sponsors of these group are. MEND serves notice to the international community that the Niger Delta region shall not be part of a secessionist Biafran State. Rather, the group believes in one strong united Nigerian federation where the principles and ideals of resource control; true federalism; rule of law/respect for human rights; democracy; free enterprise and a vibrant civil society are well entrenched in the grundnorm and put to practice.”MEND in its statement said the group remains opposed to what it described as “fraudulent and unsustainable” Presidential Amnesty Programme ( PAP), headed by Brigadier General Paul Boroh. "The Movement for the Emancipation of the Niger Delta (MEND) remains vehemently opposed to the fraudulent and unsustainable Presidential Amnesty Programme (PAP). headed by Brigadier General Paul Boroh (rtd) which still runs on the corrupt bureaucratic and operational template of the past administration. We have always made it very clear that unless the root issues which gave birth to the agitations in the Niger Delta region are addressed, in the form of a sincere dialogue, this programme will only continue to remain a mere cesspool of corruption.”

ReplyDeleteNa wa o
DeleteFor the first time I see myself agreeing with MEND.
ReplyDeleteYou call yourselves avengers and you are destroying properties on your land, turning your land into a battle ground.
As for amnesty, it ought to be scrapped because it failed to achieve it's objective.
Who made jomo gbomo the spokesman of Niger delta?
ReplyDeleteShameless people dancing the tone of almajiri all because of coconut money shame.
Hausas did not support Jonathan upon given them 85 percent of support so don't expect every one to support terrorist buhari.
MEND bred NDA...they re all d same
ReplyDeleteSigned
#LibBadBoy
Hmmmmmmmmm it is well
ReplyDeleteAre u seriously serious? Our terrorists here are jokers(which is a good thing tho) don't they learn from their oga isis,alqueda? Smh! I'm just embarrassed at their silliness
ReplyDeleteGod..so we now have 3 resident terrorist groups. #sigh# bokoharam, avengers, fulani herdsmen.
DeleteTrying times for Nigeria security agency
ReplyDeleteHmmmmmm
ReplyDeleteokay o!
ReplyDeleteThey should stop this madness and focus hw we gana develop our country........ Hehen soon there will be crude oil in sambisa forest,the forest has absorbed enough boko haram fats.
ReplyDeleteLool boko haram fats indeed
DeleteSeen
ReplyDeleteNext pls
Boys no dey laugh
Mend kip speaking Grammer
Linda don't take note!
WU DE TOK DIS TOK? WU CONDEM D ADVENGERS? DIS NA D REVENGE WEY NORTH USE BOKO TO ACHIEV SO MAKE D NIGER-DELTA DO D SAME N ANIBODY WEY DE VEX FIT GO DIE
ReplyDeleteTrue talk
ReplyDeleteThey shld stop all this bombing I beg is affecting d mercies
ReplyDeleteMEND make una keep quiet u guy are all d same thing.Now u. Guys are dis associating urself from d Avengers. Go to hell Mend.
ReplyDeleteIt is well o! Linda take note!
ReplyDeleteJomo Gbomo you re failiour to the people of eastern region and entire Biafra family.
ReplyDeleteAs you said we are not scared neither are we weak but strategic in operation.
Since you and mend began your fraudulent self driven fight against impunity of Nigeria government and their oil Hausa Fulani European allies what have you done ?
Absolute nothing, you have not been able to put clean water or good road network in the street of Yangoa or any Ijaw land, we the people don't need fools like your self.
We the people stand with our ancestors the land of Biafra is ours and we shall take it by all necessary means no man can stop us.
Since you started the resource control battle where are you with it ? Only a fool hates his month soup and prefers another man's mothers pot of soup.
Without Biafra your entire community would gone forever mark this word.
Fulani terrorist would over run your dumb brain
The only true and honest solution to the problem is to divide up the present configuration of Nigeria into different parts along their cultural boundaries. That is the only way to create true sovereign nations and that will end all the killings and bring progress and development to all the regions. The Islamist North has already chosen their Sharia laws and jihadist approach and ways and that is all good for them. No one should deny them of this their right, but the other parts to which such a practice is alien must not be forced to live by that cultural norm. That will be immoral and unjust and will continue to engender constant clash and unnecessary deaths of the innocent people.
ReplyDeleteI stand for Biafra
Asari dokubo should be questioned, he has made d threats clearly known b4 now.
ReplyDeleteThe FG should also try to come to terms with them to,there is a reason for their agitation! #ResourceControl
ReplyDeleteThe oil companies as well as the various governments will come to realize sooner than later that they are wasting their time dealing with the wrong people, the Arab Islamist North. True justice can only be rooted in truth, honesty and sincerity. And to all watchers these attributes are still lacking at every level in this matter and, so long as they keep missing it will be impossible to find a lasting solution to the problem. If history can be depended on then we can conclude that truth and justice can never be bombed and killed into non-existence. They can only be suppressed for a while and try all you can they will continue to surface until they assume their rightful place. It is only wise to confront them today rather than continue to postpone that which is inevitable. Solution is Balkanization I will recommend referendum immediately as the world is civilised to avoid another Biafra genocide, Nigeria army can't fight two front impossible and a gorilla war not even uk or USA can do that
ReplyDeleteDespite the fact of all this known deceit it may still be necessary to ask here, what actually do these people want? What are the freedom fighters fighting for? Going by what they say, they are fighting for an independent sovereign state, free from all external interference and oppressions. For the avoidance of any more unnecessary bloodshed it will be good to note well this particular point as it is central to the argument. Down through the years it has seemed that the rest of the world has continually failed to get this message right. Biafra and the entire Niger Delta have continued to say that what they need is a political space free from all external influence so they can develop at their own pace and deal with whomsoever they wish to.
ReplyDeletePls and pls, I use God's name to beg MEND. Please don't call of the Amnesty program I don't benefit from the program. But please if the Amnesty program is stopped we in the Niger Delta will suffer dearly. Our lives will be in danger. So I ask you (MEND) again is the money for the Amnesty program worth the lives here in the South-south. Am Emmanuel Ayo-Tamuno and I just wanna make commonsense......