'Star Wars:The Force Awakens' grosses whopping $120. 5 million for opening day | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday, 20 December 2015

'Star Wars:The Force Awakens' grosses whopping $120. 5 million for opening day

Star wars:The Force Awakens grossed an estimated $120.5 million in its first day, including $57 million for Thursday night preview shows, making it the highest single day on record, according to Walt Disney Co. The tally topped the previous record holder, "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows -- Part 2," which grossed $91 million from its Thursday and Friday shows in July 2011. The film has already grossed more than $250 million worldwide.
The numbers for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" are unprecedented for a film premiering in December. The record holder for the biggest opening during the month is "The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey," which took in $85 million in domestic receipts in 2012.
"The Force Awakens" is expected to gross $180 million to $220 million through Sunday in its domestic opening weekend. However, those numbers began to look like conservative estimates following Thursday and Friday screenings.
At that rate, the long-awaited space epic is poised to out-earn Universal's dino reboot, "Jurassic World," which broke the record for the biggest domestic opening by selling $208.8 million in tickets last June.

49 comments:

1. Issokay seen, thanks for sharing. Linda take note!

2. Wow
    Wish nollywood movies will beat this# dreaming #

Linda's last son

3. Wow
    Wish nollywood movies will beat this# dreaming #

Linda's last son

4. Nice one.
    Is that black boy in starwars that played ugwu in half a yellow sun a nigerian?

5. Yeah! I can see our Nigeria man there John Boyega, he's very funny guy

6. Lovely!

7. Men!!! This is some big Ego Owo Kudi

8. WOOW!。。TOMJERRYSWIT

9. Me I sha download am free... Aye o pe meji

10. We Go Watch Am With Pop Corn For Cinema This December! http://www.bummyla.com

11. WOOOW!。。。TOMJERRYSWIT

12. Mmmmm. This film is very expensive oooo. #linda happy sunday jawe....

13. They re some films dat no mata how much it earns,I wouldn't watch it and star wars is one of it. Lol

14. The hype surrounding this movie was so big thatif it ended up a flop, many wwould have lost faith in movies. Moreover Star wars has a huge cult following, evident in the show Big Bang

15. PARENTAL ADVISORY
    ^^^Adult Content^^^

Not a fan of space movie

16. I find this movie uninteresting

17. i vote for these candidates as de 1st 15 comenters,do justice to them except the ones that have won any of the monthly giveaway。
    abokina
    royal priesthood
    davido/lwkmd
    christie ben
    bonitam
    linda take note
    nigerdelta
    ada igwe
    tom&jerry
    stern
    native doctor
    great anony
    ngene olivia
    nnene george
    darrel & others

18. Will watch it... that's a lot menh

19. I am actually gonna see this movie with my new catch this Christmas @ Chinook Mall cinema. I heard the movie is da bomb.. I really can't wait..

20. Linda put a smile on my face through ur give away please. Not having a single dime on me to call my own. Still eating from ma ma's pot at my age. Please bless me with ur give away obylee7@gmail.com

21. Enter your comment...*VALEE#.................................Nice moneY for a nice movie........................................................................................................#LINDA CRUSH#

22. Can't wait to see it

23. I hope it will be worth my time and money when it is out.After all the hype for Spectre it was just there after all for me.....ProudlyDeltan

24. Not a massive fan of star wars and will never be one

25. Need 2 troll the Net 4 a bootleg copy ASAP.
    Star Wars fan from Day 1.

26. Hmml can't wait to watch it...mana ewero m mb

27. Nice one from dem
    Not badt at all
    Very okay

# oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

28. A huge fan of star wars. Can't wait to see this one

29. The black dude is a British born naija boy and then there is the kenyan girl lupita go figure. Their parents juju working overtime that's why it made so much. Lol

30. Am gonna shoot something better than this one real soon.... Sure mine willwill bag $120.5 million for opening day aswel

31. More of a star trek person, but might just watch this one.

32. Just pray it turns out to be interesting...

33. John Boyega becoming another Lupita in d making. Nice

34. no nigerian movie can ever mke dat amount

35. you can also download star wars ringtones here.
    star wars