It was the news about three teenage girls, gifted students in east London who slipped away in February to join ISIS.
"Why are they going?" she asked herself. "I guess that sparked a sort of curiosity."
She started tweeting stories about the three girls. She thinks that ISIS recruiters found her Snapchat account in her Twitter bio.
"It wasn't really as cliché as people think it was. It wasn't a sort of 'Hey, come join us!'" she notes. "It was more of a, "Hey sister, how are you doin'?' ... It's like a conversation with a friend. It's like a normal thing."
When the recruitment became more intense, she worried most about what joining a radical group would mean for her commitment to soccer.
"If I have three kids and a husband, am I really going to be able to continue living my passion?" she asked herself. "The thing about this [soccer] team is everyone's a family, everyone's together. You have somewhere where you are accepted, where everyone does love you. Once you have a place to go like this this, you won't even be brought to think about that kind of thing."
She now works with The Unity of Faiths Foundation, a group that fights radicalization through soccer.
In Canada, Christianne Boudreau co-founded another kind of group that works to counter extremism. It's called Mothers for Life, and it's a network for parents like her who have lost their sons and daughters to radical groups.
Boudreau's son Damian died fighting with ISIS in Syria last year. She's moving to France, and expects to find a stronger network of parents there looking to counter jihad.
"There are a lot more parents that have come open to one another, working together, supporting each other," she says. "Whereas in North America, very much there's still a stigma, everybody's holding back. They're afraid to speak out, they're afraid to reach out for help."
Boudreau says far too often parents miss the signs of radicalization, in part because popular portrayals of extremists lack nuance.
"They unfortunately look at our children as monsters, and they're not. They're normal, everyday kids that get caught up in something, make mistakes and don't realize the choices they're making," she says. "They're not all evil like what we see in the media. They're kids having emotional struggles."
When parents suspect their children are drifting toward radicalization, they should turn to others in their community for help, according to Boudreau.
"Parents shouldn't try to do this on their own," she says. "They're too emotionally connected to their children. And they can end up pushing their youth further away."

She needs Jesus.
ReplyDeleteLinda, i've sent my account number with the winning email just_paddle@yahoo.com and my account is yet to be credited with my lib winning. I hope you look into this. I sent a diamond bank account Owoyemi Olayinka F 0071552906 or have u changed your mind or postponed it? Look into it
ReplyDeleteIf they are not monsters what are they? Let me hear word pls!
ReplyDeleteEyaaa
ReplyDeletemaybe they weren't now they are... mama isis...
ReplyDeletewhite race alike... never impose ur ways on others...
Den wat r dey?
ReplyDeleteCan LIBers see me at all? Am I invisible?
Isis is evil and so is boko haram . And anybody or any association or group affiliated with them are evil also.
ReplyDeleteHappy new year in adv... Sister Linda #LIB
ReplyDeleteBastardo
ReplyDeleteNot here in Africa..
ReplyDeleteNa when the pikin go blow im head nah for heaven dey go settle that one..
ReplyDeleteanaekwe.ucheslimj@gmail.com
ReplyDeleteThis people sha
ReplyDeleteNonsense emotion struggle dat result 2 killing odas #sneh
ReplyDeleteGod saves us
ReplyDeleteAt her own risk
ReplyDeleteAunty Linda Enter your comment...
Yea they aint monsters cos that will be like saying they are saints, they are simply †Ñ’ξ devil himself. †Ñ’ξ original devil. Like say d woman get brains....brainless fool
ReplyDelete#iT wiLL only gEt beTTer
#iT mUsT eNd iN prAise
They are barbarians
ReplyDelete-D great anonymous now as Vivian Reginalds
She's kinda right with her views. Linda take note!
ReplyDeleteDats her problem
ReplyDelete#needanalibitojoinmetastethenewgeishasardine
d children are not monsters o.
ReplyDeletena pet fowl dem b.else, dia brain for d function well
KIDS HAVING EMOTIONAL STRUGGLES? REALLY? THIS WOMAN NOR WELL
ReplyDeleteOK naa, Noon, dey are sheep's in wolves clothing.. Arc Devils.. Mtcheew...
ReplyDeleteLinda I hv arrived, post my comment..
she must be retarded for saying such.... monsters!!!!
ReplyDeleteOk. God help us all.
ReplyDeletepeople have different perspective about Isil
ReplyDeleteToday marks the end of 2015, and I am personally grateful dat Linda did not post of the loss of any LIB reader, nor did she announce the burial of anyone of us in dis LIB family.
ReplyDeleteits worth celebrating.
I say happy and prosperous new year to each and everyone of us, including Mama of the house Linda.
she is right abt wat she said
ReplyDeleteok na
ReplyDeleteNah them know... I feel so sorry for the parents of isis kids
ReplyDeletethem no be monsters but them they destroy lives and properties.. mtchew.....
ReplyDeleteHer opinion...
ReplyDeleteI know she is defending her beloved son but once a human life is involved I think the term monster is accurate
ReplyDeleteAll the best to her
ReplyDeleteAs lion take de born lion na so monster go still born moster. #IamMe
ReplyDeleteHmmmmmmmmm
ReplyDeleteWe haff hear u! Monster ni monster ko!
ReplyDeleteHmm nawa o
ReplyDeleteNoted
ReplyDelete!brightosman aka fake phyno .#gerarahere
Seen next pls
ReplyDeleteNawaaa oooo
ReplyDeleteWeldone mma.
ReplyDeleteeya sorry
ReplyDelete@Owoyemi Olayinka u re a criminal, are you here to make money? Damn you guys have no chill at all i blame Linda who got free blog money to trow on u lame dugs is this how bad Nigeria has become folks? sorry guys I lost the zoo long time agoooooooooooo!!!.