EFCC arraigns two businessmen for failure to declare over $4m found on them | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 23 October 2015

EFCC arraigns two businessmen for failure to declare over $4m found on them

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, yesterday arraigned two businessmen identified as Ojukwu Nnamdi Rowland and Ngene Linus Chibuike before Justice Ibrahim Buba of the Federal High Court, Lagos on one count charge bordering on bulk cash movement and money laundering.
Ojukwu and Ngene who are businessmen and were traveling to China for business, were arrested after failing to declare US$2,917,272 (Two Million, Nine Hundred and Seventeen Thousand, Two Hundred and Seventy Two United States Dollars) and US$2,506,998 (Two Million, Five Hundred and Six Thousand, Nine Hundred and Ninety Eight United States Dollars) found on them respectively at the Muritala Mohammed International Airport on October 8th.

The charge against Ojukwu read:

"That Ojukwu Nnamdi Rowland on or about the 8th day of October, 2015 at Murtala Muhammed International Airport within the jurisdiction of the Federal High Court had in your possession cash in the sum of US$2,917,272 (Two Million, Nine Hundred and Seventeen Thousand, Two Hundred and Seventy Two United States Dollars) during your outbound clearance for travel to Addis Ababa and failed to declare the said sum of US$2,917,272 to the officers and men of the Nigeria Customs Service as required under the provision of section 2(3) of the Money Laundering (Prohibition) Act, 2011 (as amended by Act No.1 of 2012) and thereby committed an offence punishable under Section 2(5) of the Money Laundering (Prohibition) Act, 2011(as amended by Act No. 1 of 2012)”.
Ngene's charge read:
"Ngene Linus Chibuike on or about the 8th day of October, 2015 at Murtala Muhammed International Airport within the jurisdiction of the Federal High Court had in your possession cash in the sum of US$2,506,998 (Two Million, Five Hundred and Six Thousand, Nine Hundred and Ninety Eight United States Dollars) during your outbound clearance for travel to China en-route Addis Ababa and falsely declared the sum of US$11,500 (Eleven Thousand and Five Hundred United States Dollars) to the officers and men of the Nigeria Customs Service and thereby committed an offence punishable under section 2(5) of the Money Laundering (Prohibition) Act, 2011 (as amended by Act No. 1 of 2012)." 
Both men pleaded not guilty to the charges read to them. The presiding judge adjourned their cases to November 2 and granted them bail  in the sum of N50 million, one surety in like sum. The surety is to have reliable means of livelihood and verifiable landed properties.

43 comments:

1. They're business men without knowledge of how to move or transfer so much money. They should ve used the bank

Ubanagum

1. They look more like launderers to me. .

2. Errrr....I'm sure they do know. Unfortunately, this is what the restriction on FX deposits is causing. This is especially tough for SMEs and business people who need fx to carry out their transactions.

2. Too much money

#It WiLL oNLy gET beTTer
    #iT mUsT eNd iN prAiSe

3. Loool some don't know legit pays far better this days

4. The are thieve,I mean arm robbers,if not why didn't they dclear,the real amount?. TIMILEYIN BLESSING

5. They have to do their business na. How esle can they carry their money to china?

1. U make me so sad wit how limited u are

6. That Ngene Linus isn't in anywhere related to me though.

#It WiLL oNLy gET beTTer
    #iT mUsT eNd iN prAiSe

1. Olivia is that not the man you introduced to me last time as your elder brother?

7. This one's wanted to bit CBN policy concerning Cash taking outside and into the country• Funny enough I heard withdrawing cash from dubai pays better then bring it down to Nigeria and Sell for a higher cost

8. Nna na wa o! The kind figures wey I dey hear nowadays is really staggering. Linda take note!

9. Nna na wa o! The kind figures wey I dey hear nowadays is really staggering. Linda take note!

10. Business men will possibly carry their money by cash since this stupid govt has closed all legal means of money transfer. This guys simply wants to frustrate igbos

11. Damn that's a lot of money, must be errand boys for one oga @ d top

12. Efcc is just frustrating ibo business men,cbn has come with the most difficult law do far thereby making things very difficult, you declare your money, customs will start begging you..if you don't declare your hard earned money,same people will charge you.How can one be a slave in his country?

1. C'mon. Enough already! It's affecting everyone especially SMEs....going through it right now myself....

13. Efcc is just frustrating ibo business men,cbn has come with the most difficult law do far thereby making things very difficult, you declare your money, customs will start begging you..if you don't declare your hard earned money,same people will charge you.How can one be a slave in his country?

14. How do you travel with so much cash at hand and you claimed to be a business man?

15. The money is traders money
    They do deposit their money to agents who settle the appropriate officials at the airport so that they can pass

But on that faithful day, some that felt that their Oga was not giving them their own share decided to seize the money and handed them over to the EFCC....

Over 800 people owns that money

Igbo people are just being punished because there is no other means to remit money and businesses must to go on......

Hausa men that takes money to Dubai on a daily bases are not caught, and even when some are caught, they will release them immediately

This our country is fucked up, I just pity my Igbo people
    EFCC has over $20,000,000 of Igbo's money in their possession and all are traders and petty traders money

The govt officials that loot money still do and are not caught, only the traders that are hustling on daily basis to make ends meet

Anyway God dey!

1. You are 100% right.Tell me which country you cannot legally trasfer money for genuine business purposes? The public will not feel it now until after few months and you will see a 200% hike in consumer goods.

2. The both of you above me are just simpletons tho. SMH. Why do you guys bring tribal bigotry into everything?

16. Thank God its friday
    We've got special tasty meals just for you, so start making your orders now @ www.jonahsfood.com or call our hot line : 07059569242 or email us at orders@jonahsfood.com
    Hurry now!!! and get it delivered in minutes

17. Wat of all the money politicians carry abroad undeclared. These men look to me like unfortunate Igbo business men who were unable to transfer cash abroad for their biz due to CBN regulations. They come carry cash follow body. There must be a reason why people fail to declare their legitimately earned cash that's what government should look into.

18. Ha! This is obviously Ignorance..many people in Nigeria still don't understand what money laundering is..

19. Now Igbos and business is the target. Buhari continue. God will judge u

20. Now Igbos and business is the target. Buhari continue. God will judge u

21. Now Igbos and business is the target. Buhari continue. God will judge u

22. My sister Linda be careful. Remember u are igbo. This Useless hausa fulani want us all down. They might come for u. Watch ur back

23. Lekwa ego

That vuvuzela P guy

24. The kind of money they mention sometime makes it all sound like fiction. Anyway, these guys are business men, are they not?

25. The kind of money they mention sometime makes it all sound like fiction. Anyway, these guys are business men, are they not?

26. They are businessmen and not politicians. EFCC should get their priorities right.

1. ....and only politicians launder money? Receive sense.

27. The chibuike is a well known business man. Dat moni is not his. It a gathered effort. Cos dat is the only way we transct biz from china. I have my little change there. Cry!!!!

28. If you sit down and discuss with those traders in Lagos Island you will find out they carry their cash raw to China. The do so because its easier for them than to go trough the banks even in China. when they declare, they pay bribe to be allowed to carry the funds.
    I cant vouch for theses guys but i believe they are genuine traders .

But then again the new CBN policy is to stop us from importing everything . Look inwards

29. Iffa kick u ehn @Richmond...lolz. Abeg o...

#It WiLL oNLy gET beTTer
    #iT mUsT eNd iN prAiSe