UNIBEN students protest the death of classmate allegedly knocked down by military van | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 21 July 2015

UNIBEN students protest the death of classmate allegedly knocked down by military van

On Sunday morning July 19th, Rita Awele (pictured above) was tragically hit & killed (allegedly) by a military patrol van along the Lagos-Benin Expressway. The 18 year old 200 level Philosophy student was either going to or returning from church when she was knocked down and killed. The driver didn't even stop. Another person who was knocked down by the van is still in hospital

Students of the school this morning blocked vehicular movement on the Lagos-Benin road, protesting her death. They are asking for speed bumps or flyovers to be mounted in front of the school gate.
"The school is located along Lagos-Benin expressway and this is a major problem for students staying off campus trying to get into the school as cars, buses, trucks and trailers are always on high speed plying that route. A pedestrian bridge was there before but it was taken down during the reconstruction of the Lagos-Benin expressway and they didn't put it back." a student told LIB
"We are using this opportunity to tell the government to construct a fly over or a road break around our school gate." another one said
The students say 3 point agenda must be met by the SUG President
1. Speed brakes must be provided. Construction of overhead bridge at Uniben main gate (Standard one with street light).

2. The reckless driver must be prosecuted.

3. Awele Rita's family must be duly compensated.
"We protested to register our displeasure over the negligence of Govt and the school management to the repeated appeals for some speed breakers on the Benin-Lagos high way until their bureaucracy has led to the death of another student. Rita was a student like us, someone's sister, someone's bestie, a mother's pride, hope and joy" another student said

88 comments:

1. May her soul rest in peace

2. So this is how people die,day in day out.God save us.RIP

3. OMG, may her soul rest in peace

4. The student Life....... Whenever we protest, we always right.
    GREATEST NIGERIA STUDENTS

5. Yes o...i'm in full support..

6. The road in front of Uniben main gate is a major problem, drivers drive recklessly I was almost knocked down one day, rip rita

1. Luk right,left n right again b4 crossing,it's hardly rocket science

2. The problem with Uniben students is they cross this road recklessly. They don't look right or left or even run to cross this express way, they just stroll pass as if the road is thiers right and don't ever care about the cars passing tru. I proposed that every Uniben student should be educated on how to use that road . Even goats crosses that express way more perfectly than them. Am a commuter and drive pass this main gate to and fro work and knows the challenges I face as a driver plying that particular road. Its sad she is a victim , many students have been lost before the school authority should do more to educate their students. It's a poor culture amongst them to be less caution ⚠ to the traffic.

3. U must be extremely stupor.. u dnt even knw d full gist of retort, u don't even have to comment.. will someone in her right senses just cross d road without looking??.. I hope u wld give this same response when it happens to any of ur so siblings.. I'm guessing u don't knw wat reckless driving is @taichi chikere okere

4. Do u know if she looked before she crossed??? A speeding oncoming vehicle don't care if u even look up n down too

7. Quite sad.that driver & his team members are indeed heartless.

8. That's quite unfortunate....Rest in peace...

9. The reckless driver should be prosecuted. What a waste of destiny. Preety girl gone for nothing. RIP

10. Sad, I hope the government is listening/reading. RIP Rita.

11. RIP Rita! Farewell from this cruel wicked world full of hate and anger. Farewell fine kele.

12. Hmm may God save his people in this hopeless useless country of monkies.may God give her family the fortitude to bear this great lost.
    As for the military your days are numberd.
    #sad indeed#

13. Hmm may God save his people in this hopeless useless country of monkies.may God give her family the fortitude to bear this great lost.
    As for the military your days are numberd.
    #sad indeed#

14. Chai! Heard dis morning. So sad...d amount of negligence we see from our govt in dis Nigeria

15. Naija see how a soul was lost out of recklessness of those who are supposed to guide us

16. she's so Young!........ RIP! May God give her parents the fortitude to bear d loss!

17. So sad... Such a young girl... May her soul RIP...

18. Omg! R.I.P! It's a pity. So sad!

19. Dis is so sad

Hello my fellow LIB,am jst using this medium to beg any kind hearted person to help me out,I want to purchase my hnd form,but I cnt afford to buy the form,and the form will expire by next week,pls I beg you all,I hv no one to run to pls,pls in anyway u can help me out,preciousclerk@gmail.com

20. Naija see how a soul was lost out of recklessness of those who are supposed to guide us

21. cryyyyyyyyyyyy... RIP RITA AWELE HALIM...

22. So bcuz dey r military men dats Y dey did not even care abt D person dat was knock down..... Nigeria somtin dat will not hpn in develop country's........ Na wao.. RIP dear........

23. there is already a flyover in the road dat nobody ever uses..may her soul RIP.

1. When was the last time u entered Benin.. useless people trying to make themselves useful. Mtcheeeeew.. gerra ra here.. onye ara

24. Very painful and osho is in US rocking life. RIP beauty

25. May her soul rest I. Peace,something needs to be done fast

26. Phew. D death of this girl enh. Na wa

27. Eya, rip to the dead. Fg should pls do something about this o

it is well

1. I don't know why linda enables this little girls comment. Ifeoma grow up and desist from wasting space that is not yours

28. If you see The way we run like mad people when crossing the road to and fro. the bridge is long overdue.... Rip Halim Rita

29. Too bad for d poor girl.....

Frm linda ikeji look alike...

30. Eeeeeeeeeyah! Dis is really sad. May her soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

31. Eeeeeeeeeyah! Dis is really sad. May her soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

32. Eeeeeeeeeyah! Dis is really sad. May her soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

33. Eeeeeeeeeyah! Dis is really sad. May her soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

34. Eeeeeeeeeyah! Dis is really sad. May her soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

35. This is the Nigeria I love, the one that comes together for a good cause. How can the military think its ok to take a life and not be made to pay, truly shameful. RIP

36. Wow!! There used to be an overhead pedestrian bridge opposite the main gate na. When did they remove it. And it was after they fixed that road that all these vehicles started speeding. Before students could cross at will without getting knocked over. May her soul rest in peace.

37. I love how United they came together to protest her death, God bless you all.. May she rest in peace, her death won't go to waste, it must serve a purpose n save others

38. it is really painful..school was somehow today no lectures too..they were two friends actually involved in d accident rita died and d other is still in coma in a private hospital at isior..rest on rita

39. Heartless evil driver, he didn't even stop ! They should block that road till something is done.

40. No classes today,Linda for real.this government is wicked,you need the speed at which motorists ply that route.they should please build a flyover

41. A young life cut short cos somebody was in a hurry to get somewhere and didn't bother to stop. Dave

42. Linda the second girl died today.

43. Finally Linda you've posted it... RIP to a friend... Halim Rita... God Bless Your soul... #pureheart

44. Ehyaa too bad another life wasted, all this reckless stupid military drivers mtcheww. RIP dear

45. Rip Rita. It was really nice knowing you at a point in my life

46. what a beauty!!! rip Rita..that is why I don't that road....pls they should do something about it

47. Such a painful way to go...and the van driver didnt stop...very bad.........
    Let the FG meet their demands...simple

Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB....

48. Such a beauty...may her soul rest in piece
    Saddens my heart when I see young people die

49. The driver didn't even stop. Heartless beings. So sad. RIP dear

50. Rip to her.i practically agree wit the student on their 3 point agenda.

51. Ikuku AmStrong21 July 2015 at 19:58

Nice move

52. RIP dear, what a life wasted

53. Aghimien Monsco21 July 2015 at 22:07

RIP Rita

54. Aghimien Monsco21 July 2015 at 22:08

The inevitable sound track by Monsco. Download and share. Tnx. http://kiwi6.com/file/gobf3z8i81

55. Uniben. #UnitedWeStand. This really saddened me not just cuz I'm an alumni of uniben and d department she was in but cuz she is so young. I can't imagine what her mum will be going through. May God grant her family solace.
    Note that the other girl is still alive and recuperating, pls stop carrying fake news.

56. Injury for one injury for all...........m ALUTA CONTINUA. Rest in peace Rita. Greatest uniben

57. May her soul rest in peace