Man brutally assauted by police in Benin allegedly over tattoos (photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 17 July 2015

Man brutally assauted by police in Benin allegedly over tattoos (photos)

The victim, a man named Jerry Guobadia, said he was on his way from the bank when two policemen in an unbranded vehicle stopped him and tried to force him into their vehicle. He said he resisted and asked them why he was being arrested...and they allegedly told him the tattoos on his body was too much. He said he found their reason suspicious and resisted being arrested. And that when the policemen allegedly descended on him. He also alleged that the policemen took the money he had with him. See more photos and watch him explain what happened after the cut...

89 comments:

1. Too bad.
    @Carlos via Nokia Lumia

2. Maka y......where is it written in the constitution that body tattoing is illegal..... abi na bcos en nobi celebrity?

3. Police with there rubbish hmmmmm hungry people.

4. There should be a thorough investigation into what actually happened.
    @Carlos via Nokia Lumia

5. FG please allow d citizens carry guns like police also.

6. I dont think I can believe this...over tattoo kwa? Hmm ndi police unu kee unu ekpolu.

7. Why is Nigeria so backward like this......wot is wrong with the police force for crying out loud.......is is that our police men are not educated or wot.....i think its time they start recruiting only tertiary graduates as police........arresting a man bcos of tattoos......I feel like crying for Nigeria

8. Na wa ooo

For all your quality and affordable female wears, accessories, handbags and footwear,kindly add us on bbm pin: 2bb40d42, we deliver at ur doorstep thank you.

9. Busty Busty squard

10. The Police men in benin are really touts,What these guy said its true,those police there is time d fed govt do something about it otherwise its just really bullshit,they are oppressing innocent citizens

11. Just this small tattoo on his hand........they had better return his money....hungry thieves

12. I was expecting to see the tattoos. But there should be more to this story.

COMING SOON!!!
    [Music] LYNDY - MY HERO ( A TRIBUTE TO
    DR GOODLUCK JONATHAN)

13. This country is gradually going from bad to worse

14. Thunder go fire u policemen,can imagine bcos of tatoo

15. OMG! Proper investigation should b conducted so dat those behind dis unprofessional act wil b dealt wit accordingly.

As u celebrate Eid-el-Fitr, may d living God meet ur needs even b4 they arise, and u wil b blessed beyond measure.

May our blessed Lord guide, and protect ur household, and everytin dat u lay ur hands on prosper. I wish all of u good health, joy, luv, grace, favour, and above all God's blessings.

Sweet kisses, and luv y'all.
    Long live LIB.

16. Police men and their palaver nawa o

17. Benin people very razzz, they can't speak correct English, even the news report Mr Wellington can't speak well. Anyways since when did it become a crime to have tattoos na?

18. Assault, intimidation, and lawlessness. Smh

19. This every day police brutality is unbecoming
    I guess it wasn't in buari's manifestos to rebrand d idiots too.

I remember GEJ was blamed for everything that happened in Nigeria, including cases like ds, buh today no one can tell buari to change tings as promised.

Individual enlightenment abt their human rights should be encouraged to reduce this bullshit cos their superior will act like they no nothing abt this tins

20. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    What sort of rubbish is this for christ sake abeg....

21. Benin police are the worst in Nigeria they see every good looking young guy as yahoo boy.

1. Hahaha thank You. this is a typical day in Benin, we see this harassment constantly. I don't drive much again due to fear of been harassed or arrested for looking good or looking like a yahoo boy. Benin go empty because of this rubbish. Most of my friends done relocate and I plan to.

22. That's what we get when a country is lawless...sorry bro please apply hot water

23. Omg! I guess they were payed to assassinate the guy! What the hell? For tattoos, NO, it's far beyond that. I wish him a speedy recovery. I pray those hooligans are arrested, if only the Police force will allow JUSTICE prevail.

24. Omg! I guess they were payed to assassinate the guy! What the hell? For tattoos, NO, it's far beyond that. I wish him a speedy recovery. I pray those hooligans are arrested, if only the Police force will allow JUSTICE prevail.

25. They should be held accountable, thieves! Why did they take his money?

26. Good for him.
    Tattoos are for criminals and devil worshippers

27. benin republic police and military dont und the meaning od human rights ba?
    -D great anonymous!

28. Dirty Cops gave the Dude a 'one eye sunday'.
    The Dude looks stubborn though.
    Prolly good 4 the scum.

29. Police can over do atimes. Punishing someone for unnecessary thing as if it's their money and body. When has tattoo become a crime

30. God , this is bad.. if na thief na police men go run.. innocent person una dey beat am...nigeria police men are not worthy to be called police. .shame on them..

31. my broda sorry eh ... Na so dem dey do for benin ... dem dey patrol dey find yahoo boys to
    extort money from .... hahahaha... na normal thing ... u buy new car ... u must settle .... u
    enter bank come out as a young boy u are a suspect .... those police especially airport road police station , Area F GRA , New Benin police station na them carry the work for head ...
    just make sure to sue them ... the ones make hold this guy na AIRPORT ROAD Police men ...
    Fucking Guys ... digusting police men who rape prostitutes wey dey hussle for ASO TIME , TIME OUT and Iyaro for exchange of Bail .... beware of RED BUS , AUDI 80 , CAMRY 2.2 AND Golf Cars
    thats thier favorite brand of vehicle for operations.. If u follow them to station they will
    beat you up till you cough out blood and money ... Bail is not free with these guys ....

1. Bro the ones for limit road na white bus without door em dey use take harass us. The worst part is that na their dpo dey send em, I don't even leave my house with my smartphone because they now check phones, this shit will make everyone get out of benin, First it was Oshiomole police harrasment , now na police . New Benin police station is the worst. New Benin / Mission Rd / Limit road/ Iyaro / Dawson these are No drive zones. Even my small motor when taxi fine pass still gets pulled over and harassed every time. Sadest place in Nigeria

32. What is all these madness bikonu. So na police people we go dey fear now??? Dis is not good o! Linda take note!

33. What is all these madness bikonu. So na police people we go dey fear now??? Dis is not good o! Linda take note!

34. How did tattoo on someone's body concerns police. Dis country is becoming some thing else

35. NIGERIA POLICE THERE'R THIEF N ROBBERS

36. POLICE MEN DON'T HAVE WORK TO DO.

37. What kind of country is this.. Na wa oo, these police men need to be brought to justice same thing happening in Ago Iwoye axis of Ogun State the police men and SARS carrying out illegal duties God help us all

38. FG shud send Dos officers to maiduguri, cos it seems dey knw D job more... Ndi ala....

39. Dis d same way I was harassed and almost assaulted d last time I attended a friend's wedding in Benin City. I think the IGP has to urgently do something about this assault. The worst is dat you can't even be on a phone call while walking pass any bank in Edo, d worst is making call near or opposite CBN office in Benin. IGP Arase your Edo state police command needs re-orientation and disciplinary measure

40. Youths in benin should please protest against this very incident or else the police is gonna repeat same thing. What nonsense. If it's in foreign land, the police are suppose to pay this guy for assaulting him.

41. what a shame on the Nigeria Police. This is highly preposterous.

42. Lawless nation......

Linda u see am???

43. Hmmmmmm bros den u shdnt step ur feet in Delta State cos ds beat 4 b undstatemnt noni. Soldiers beat u 4 d way u dress, ur hairstyle, ur tattoo in Delta State. So my advise, go n treat ursef bt if u tink u cn fyt dem thru d law den kudos 2 u oooo. I don gv u sweet advise oo

44. Beating him for drawing on his body?..sue them.

45. PLEASE THE IG SHOULD CALL THESE THIEVES IN BENIN THAT CALL THEMSELVES MEN OF THE POLICE FORCE TO ORDER. ESPECIALLY THE ONES THAT WEAR RED VEST. THEY GO AROUND TOWN HARASSING BOYS AND CHECKING THEIR PHONES TO SEE IT THEY CAN GET ANYTHING TO HOLD THEM DOWN SO THEY WILL ASK FOR BAIL OF 150K. WE ARE TIRED OF THEIR HARASSMENT IN BENIN!!!

46. Which one be tatum again oo

47. Imagine! The guy should sue them to court. Useless policemen

48. Yeah! Saw this on the news last night

49. See those policemen face....na thief they be

50. No b only 4 naija hia police dey lik show dia selves ooo.. c as dem almt blind d man cos of tatt

51. Those guys aint no freaking police men.

52. Those guys aint no freaking police men.

53. Linda same tin appen to my husband last year in Benin he went to withdraw money from the atm the police sighted him waited for him to finished and dey ask him to follow dem to the station wen he ask y dey said he has to explain to dem where he got he's car dat was aw dey dragged him to the station from 8pm till 2am b4 he was released wit the help of a friend.

54. They are hungry police men, thieves, they arrested my neighbors inlaw 2day too, for no reason ooo, and they paid to get him out. That's why u see our police men die anyhow..... If you school in AAU ekpoma, police can jst arrest u, provided u dress fine and clean, they'll say ur a yahoo boy.... Very stupid ppl

55. The most uncivilised country in the world. Planet of Apes.

1. That what police men in benin city know how to do everyday, mostly the ones in new benin area anyboy they come nd cross with police in benin believe they are yahoo boys they arrest them, and police will leave the reel cult boys start arresting innocent ones, useless police men.

56. That's the kind of lawless country we live in.

57. Oooooooooh my...!
    Truly his face looks like criminal face
    U wil surely b adresed d way u look lyk

1. You are no doubt a stupid fool. Sorry I have to let you know that

58. This Jerry guy was my senior in secondary school. Nigerian police though.

#sidebar
    See all my Benin people speaking good English

Me proud

59. Are they even sure they are police men? They could be thieves robbing people

60. How are the not different from ISIS, you let the law infringe on anyone's rights, and what you get is an abuse of power. Soon they'll be molesting women for wearing skirts. It's coming.

61. Police BRUTALITY

62. For if they do these things in a green tree, what shall be done in the dry?
    Luke 23:31

63. #police brutality# mine was las week Wednesday 8th July 2015 ,up till now I can't walk unassisted,check iyala Nigeria Theodore on Facebook.

64. This is barbaric. This policemen are something else. Retired criminal who became police men. Don't their kids have tattoo. Nonsenses.

65. I have to post this Similarly to what Benin police did to me just Last Month, they unlawfully intruded into my residence through the fence,

Unlawfully detain me for more than 48 hours in name of investigation

without any form of contact, extort money from me illegally without notice in form of bail from Barrister who doesn't really know me (More than Half a million) but had to help out since I was denied any form of contacting anyone, not even my own Family , friend or who I work with, a complete violation of Human right,

Seize some of my items including My Laptop computer and 2 ATM cards prior to keep asking me for a return even when they know they have nothing against me.
    Even on returning, they kept saying this or that person is not on Sit. Up till now my items are still with them because they think I am a civilian and they can oppress me,
    I was supposed to attend a Media training in Ghana 28th of this Month which I needed my personal Laptop for respectively due to software installations and others but they have refused to contact for return.
    I have been advised by people or barristers who know them very well not to file any suit against them because they might try to implicate me since my laptop computer is still with them.

If there is any human right activist here who can come to my aid, please contact me at mypage@rocketmail.com
    Thank you.

1. Email me: olivernolly1@gmail.com I want to give u a clue on how to sue them

2. Or drop u phone number, so that I can call u

66. can u imagine abuse of power

67. Why are we Nigerians so insensitive? How could you believe this story? If you can believe this, you'll believe anything.

68. NIGERIAN POLICE ARE THE MOST USELESS PEOPLE ON EARTH. THE COLLECT BRIBE AS IF IT IS THEIR RIGHT. HUNGRY IDIOTS

69. Fuck benin policemen. That's d way they act. They see every good looking and well dressed guy as a yahoo boy. That was how those scump accosted me along mission road some time ago on a visit to benin as if i was an armed robber. Foolish policemen.

70. On a more serious note. Benin policemen own don too much sef. They harrass any young guy that is good looking as if all guys are into yahoo bizness. But come to think of it, the crime rate of this country would've been higher assuming there is notin like yahoo bizness cos some armed robbers left armed robbery and ventured into yahoo bizness jst to stop dat lifestyle of carrying guns. Yahoo bizness av created self job opportunities for d unemployed and imagine if there was notin like yahoo, even all dese LIBERS wouldn't av had d chance to open linda ikeji cos of insecurity. Imagine if all d thousands of yahoo boys and girls in this country were armed robbers, kidnappers and what have you, una for get peace?. The small peace wen una get for dis country for no even dey, and even d stupid policemen and d rest of dem for don tire. Yeye dey smell.

71. These benin policemen are cursed. They harass young guys as if they are criminals all in d name of "he might be a yahoo boy". When u follow dem in their car to d station, dey will force u to write d kinda of statement wich dey want u to, and after everytin, dey will be telling u dat dey u there cos u are a suspect. Wich suspect?, when there was notin leveled against u by anybody. They will come up by saying that u are a cultist or a yahoo boy, as if dey too are not into cultism and yahoo bizness. So many policemen in Edo State are into yahoo bizness and many of dem are cultist too. Fools... Una go soon hear word since una no want mk boys relax enjoy money well for dat town. Reporting from San Diego#USA#

72. That's so uncalled for....

73. I am a Medical Intern working in Benin..I was harassed by Police along Dawson Road for putting on a Gold necklace..If not for the personal relationship I have with the former police PRO, I would have been coerced to follow them to the Police Station..I think it's time we stand up and fight for what is right ..Police brutality and insensitivity has to stop in Benin..Most of these lowlifes in Benin that call themselves police have never seen the four walls of a university .. Looking good is good business ..You don't have to be a yahoo boy to wear a gold necklace or drive a car or even dress well ..Please LINDA follow this story up as you could be the voice to thousands of youths in Benin who endured these police brutality for every single day ..Mr Jerry was appended because they thought he was a yahoo boy .. The whole tattoo allegation was just an excuse to drag him to the station to write a statement indicting himself as a fraudster and a cultist .. That is their mode of operation .. One of the policemen is attached to Airport Road Police Station as he is patient in the clinic where I work.. One has to be used as a scape goat for the rest to see. And for to all the yahoo boys out there, there is dignity in genuine labor..

74. What are all the Cultist doing in benin with all their Guns......if one set of the policmen are apprehended and shot to death or their car burnt down with no survival they would stop the rubbish. But no instead those cultists go to peoples houses and kill their innocent parents when they don't find their kids. SO SAD WE ARE THE VICTIMS OF THE CIRCUMSTANCE. Jboggie u need to make those guys pass through the proper channel and let justice be served.

75. The NPF have gradually assumed the position of demi-gods in this country. Just yesterday, I witnessed a policeman threatening a driver for accidentally splashing water on him, even after apologies.