Sad story! Girl dies in hospital lying she was a virgin when in fact she was pregnant & bleeding | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 19 May 2015

Sad story! Girl dies in hospital lying she was a virgin when in fact she was pregnant & bleeding

Came across this sad story on Twitter about a young girl who went to the hospital while bleeding. They asked her what happened and she said her appendix burst. The hospital check her and found that her appendix was fine. Then a doctor noticed that her Fallopian tube was broken and asked her if she was pregnant. She said no. They asked her if she'd had unprotected sex within the last month, she said she was a virgin.

As time went by, the girl was bleeding. Eventually doctors found out from tests done on her that she had ectopic pregnancy (when embryo attaches outside the uterus) but by the time they evacuated the pregnancy, it was too late and she died. If only she'd told the truth when she first got to the hospital. Read the tweets as told by @LadeJinadu after the cut...

138 comments:

1. D lady is a chronic liar if not even unto her death she stil lied. God help, and save us frm untimely death.

2. Blame it on d society

3. But wait o...what if she was drugged and raped and she was telling the truth according to her that she was still a virgin? Let's not be quick to conclude

4. My biology taught me that you can get pregnant without penetration, true or false? Who knows, maybe she didn't know. Some girls just wanna boast with the word "Virgin" by avoiding penetration but indulge in all other sexual activity.

5. Anom 6:33 yes u can I once did and i kept telling the doctor that i didn't have sex which was technically true.

2. Reward for fornication. Lindaobserve

3. Damn!!!! That's some stone hearted act. Even d bible says only d truth can set u free...if only she had bin truthful

4. can you imagine ...why should she lie..fear

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

do the walking and let your shoes do the talking
    WWW.HAWTSHOES.CO.UK

5. She died telling lies, and I wonder wht really happened to her dat she was bleeding.

1. Ode can't you read?too many illiterates on this blog.

6. See joke! Am speechless right now!

7. So sad!
    May her soul rest in peace.

8. Too bad! So what will she tell god now? That she lied or she was still a virgin which one? Sometimes is good to be on a safer side but some persons lacks that understanding see now she took her own life and the guy that did the qwashing is there enjoying himself and now she's no more. Life they say doesn't have a duplicate, and may she rest in peace

9. Warapity.........

APATA......ROCK OF AGES

10. Now dis is really some messed up stuff like WTH why would u lie like dat... she deserves some ass whooping at d gate of heaven to serve as a deterrent ..well for society sake RIP little naive girl

Dopeblackboy%

11. So sad, now that same thing she didn't want the world to know has being spilt on the social media!! To avoid being bitten by ants, why sleep with sugar?

12. Abegi Linda no b today tori,heard of one dat died of abortion n told the doctors dat she was jst having stomach upset,she hid d truth dat caused her her life,alot happens in dis our small obodo jare ma sister.

13. Her telling the truth won't have changed the outcome.....pregnancy test is one of the first things u do in a woman bleeding or having abdominal pain. honestly, our health care system needs to be revamped.

1. Are u for real. You are a very daft idiot. Ode

14. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    May her soul RIP....

15. Because the society we live in prefers lies to mistakes and truths.RIP.

16. Its also possible she actually didn't know she was pregnant.yes she might have lied about being a virgin,but there's every possibility that she didn't know she was with child.

1. U dint read the part where the doctor asked her if she has had unprotected sex within the past month..

17. EVn IN D HOSPITAL DAT TRUTH WIL B KWN EVENTUALLY SHE STIL LIE??? TOMJERRYSWIT

18. official_akins19 May 2015 at 11:46

The doctor sef should be sued,if this story is even true,how will you discard the result of a scientific proven test to mere words from a patient,where is the Ethics?

1. The only thing Nigerians know is to divert blame. Is d doctor a witch to know What's going on inside her? Scientific proven test to mere words of d patient that knows the answer to required questions? You are a fool! Idiot!

19. U wl knw d girl is a stupid n bloody lier, ao on earth can u lie 2 a doctor? Pple u mustn't lie 2 r doctors, lawyers n men of God. RIP 2 r

20. U wl knw d girl is a stupid n bloody lier, ao on earth can u lie 2 a doctor? Pple u mustn't lie 2 r doctors, lawyers n men of God. RIP 2 r

21. It has happened in my institution before. The consultant had to use his discretion to remove it. It was until d conceptus was brought out n out by d girl's side, she kept saying she was a virgin

22. Lesson learnt. One should always be honnest to tge medics

23. What did she gain by lieing to the doctors? Death...may her soul rest in peace...post a free classified advert

24. Y lie to a doc..mtchewwwwwwww

25. Sorry dear, maybe she was nt aware DAT she was pregnant but saying she was a virgin is another confusion all together.

26. There are 2 people u should neva lie to: your doctor and your lawyer!!!

27. The girl might be telling the truth. I have seen a case where a girl got pregnant at d age of 22 for her fiance she never had sex with and was still a virgin at 27 when she was officially attend a marriage course with the guy. The paternity test carriedout show that the fiance is d father of the child. How did dis happen someone he never had sex with but to cut the story short the two lover play naked some times forgetting that little dose of spam could get a woman pregnant.

1. Since dey only play naked nd neva had sex so how did d guys sperm enter inside her?

28. Chai,see how she ended her own life

29. *sigh* see how she wasted her life!

30. If the babe was bleeding profusely, they should have gotten relevant blood from the blood bank during surgery.

If the initial gut feeling of the doctor was ectopic pregnancy then he should have run the necessary tests instead of prepping for an appendectomy.

If the issue was appendicitis, there would have been no bleeding, especially to the extent described. Furthermore, there are ways to test where the pain is coming from before running necessary tests. I blame the doctors, they should have been more competent in their diagnosis! No doctor takes the word of a patient from a "previous practice" without first running necessary tests. That is poor medical practice.

31. Aaaaaw!so sad.

32. So so sad. R.I.P to her. Lesson for all.

33. She could actually be a virgin but the her partner does oral sex and releases close to her vagina

1. Dir is no way a sperm released close to d vigina could get a girl pregnant esp a virgin whose ligament hasnt been torn yet. So dir is no way she cld ve bin a virgin

2. @ anonymous 3:42pm , it is very very possible. ...pls google the different types of hymen pls

34. hmmmmm , I know comments will pass 200 on this topic, God in heaven please show her mercy for this impulsive lie. ladies is like we need to start taking male virginity seriously, can't they also keep their virginity for their future wife. mtshheeww

35. Wow! what an awful way to die, RIP

36. Thats a really really sad story.
    I don't think patients realise that patient-doctor trust is so important.
    Doctors aren't here to judge your life choices (that very unprofessional), trust me, we've seen it all.

37. I'm a medical student abroad (not like that means I'm any better than my colleagues in Nigeria) and I can tell you that the medical officer screwed up...big time! We can place the blame on someone who is dead because it is convenient but really we should say the truth. Those in tge medical field will understand where I'm coming from. The girl in childbearing age came in with vaginal bleeding, and acute abdomen. The first thing you MUST exclude is ectopic pregnancy. A simple pregnancy test could have done this, or an ultrasound. But how did the doctor exclude this? By asking the girl....thats rubbish. Then the surgeon came and just went to look for ruptured appendix without ultrasound too. I understand resources are not exactly in abundance back home but there are basic things that a medical doctor must be able to diagnose on ultrasound. Eg appendicitis, ectopic pregnancy. You dont need to be a radiologust for that. The patient did not go to medical school, you did! The patient does not know that ectopic preg is an emergency situation, you should! Ofcourse patients should not lie too, but they mostly do....
    May God strengthen her family and grant them fortitude to bear the loss.

1. Very well said. U jst said my mind.

2. Oga Dr AK @12.26pm. Pls can u also help us answer the question of a virgin getting pregnant? Did they have anal sex or did he rub his dick on her virgina and the sperm swing inside? Pls expanciate and throw more light on this biko

38. Sex ed preg ed very important, she was probably just embarrassed and naive. RIP

39. Who wud av killed her if she sed she had been screwed number of times? RIP o
    * * * Linda's 1st Daughter * *

40. I see every doctor as "Alobam". Nothing is hidden.

#Okpara_De_Sam

41. Please don't run into conclusions. It is 100% possible that she didn't know. There is no point coming to the hospital in the first place if she didn't want help. There is no point seeking for help and lieing about what can save u. Point am making is I know of a real life situation of someone close who was drugged to sleep at the age of 16 and she was slept with. She woke up hours later to find out that her private was soaked in blood and she was in pains. She was so naive that she didn't know she had been disvirgined. Because her mum had travelled she couldn't tell anyoney but me being her friend and neighbor. I advised her to tell her mum when she comes back but she didn't until she got pregnant. Her mum was so upset and angry she didn't tell her. The girl said she thought nothing of it cos she thought it tell tell signs of menstrual period that was taking another supposed phase... she was lucky she confided in me cos her mum thought she was making up story of waking up to see the blood and experience the pain. Her mum had asked if she her daughter told me and I confirmed it and told her Because I too didn't know what to make of it I advised her to tell her mum. To cut the long story short, it was only when she told her mum and I for the first time that she had gone to see her boyfriend and woke up to that discovery, did her father who was a very senior army officer went to the boy's house to report to the parents. The boy was summoned and he confessed to her coming over to see him when he was with 2 of his friends. And that when he wanted to giver a drink, one his friend brought out a drug that was put in her drink that made her go into deep sleep. And the 3 of them slept with her. So my point is even the girl didn't believe she was pregnant even when her mum told her so from test result.

1. The doctor should know better i can't blame the girl for anything.

42. Highest stupidity haba hmmmmmm

43. When stupidity collides with fear.....this becomes d result

44. And there are so many stupid naija girls still lying about their virginity. Its unfortunate. God have mercy on her soul...

45. How do u think she will know she had ectopic pregnancy, I had it and I never knew until a test was done, but tht God I was operated upon after staying a day and half. God was so faithful. Even the doctors were surprised. The internal bleeding was evident.

46. Odiegwu!!!!!! May her soul rest

47. Story for the gods,no doubt this happened in a 3rd world country like Nigeria.
    A lady of reproductive age bleeding per vaginam ,your first working diagnosis should revolve around Obstetrics and to an extent Gynaecological diagnosis. And thinking towards that direction guides your investigations with precision. The doctor in charge must not be absolved of any penalty for this.

48. This was how my lil cousin insisted she was not pregnant when d mum was asking her.. her mum dragged her 2 d hospital and ran a test. . Even wit d test showing positive she was lying 2 d doctor and everybody...na wao

49. Story for the gods,no doubt this happened in a 3rd world country like Nigeria.
    A lady of reproductive age bleeding per vaginam ,your first working diagnosis should revolve around Obstetrics and to an extent Gynaecological diagnosis. And thinking towards that direction guides your investigations with precision. The doctor in charge must not be absolved of any penalty for this.

1. She declined surgery. Until it was too late. No consent , no surgery. Mr 1st world country

50. Foolishness of d highest order!
    On a softer note; it could have been due 2 d fear of her parents
    May her soul rest in peace..

51. I'm sorry but those doctors are idiots of the highest order. Every thing in the girl's presentation indicated that she was losing blood into her abdomen that is an emergency gynae issue or not they should have stabilized her while chasing a diagnosis not after. Guess what, patients lie but a patient who is pale, probably had high BP and high HR from this history is a patient who needs immediate resuscitation and immediate surgery to find source of the bleed. These doctors got too caught up with getting the right diagnosis. A good doctor manages and stabilizes the patient while weighing the possible differential diagnosis. It's called multitasking! This could have been an acute surgical abdomen or gynaecological emergency but the basic principles of initial management are the same. They effed up.

1. Anonymous 1.09p.m,shutup,wat do u know,,multitasking indeed do u think its a processor??? A doctor is a doctor not a magician before treatment is administered to a patient there are few questions asked by the doctor, ,the girl lied,but why did she lie she was a virgin,,,u can just treat patients without knowing the course of their ailment, ,the two people I don't lie to are doctors and pastors

2. Unfortunately you don't have all the facts. Diagnosis was made promptly , however consent was not give for surgery until she was in shock.

3. Unfortunately you don't have all the facts. Diagnosis was made promptly , however consent was not give for surgery until she was in shock.

4. Unfortunately you don't have all the facts. Diagnosis was made promptly , however consent was not give for surgery until she was in shock.

5. Anon 2:34, it's because you are not in medical line u are saying this.cos ur thinking makes no sense in medicine. Sorry if I've offended you.

6. What if the patient was brought in unconscious, will u be asking her questions as a doctor? Or what if she has lost so much blood and was too weak to talk? Pls as a doctor, u are supposed to know what to do.

52. Can you imagine bikonu??? What kind of stupidity is dis??? Just put her parents for high jump. Mcheeeeeeew! May her soul rest in peace. Linda take note!

53. It's quack hospital...this shit cannot happen in a good hospital.

1. You are right even general hospital won't ever make that mistake.

54. She was so scared to make anyone know she's pregnant. Too bad for her

55. Nawa! u lie when ur life is at STAKE??? to avoid what people will say or what? okay where is she now? and have we d people heard d gist or nah??? may she rest in peace.

56. Nawa! u lie when ur life is at STAKE??? to avoid what people will say or what? okay where is she now? and have we d people heard d gist or nah??? may she rest in peace.

57. She may truly be a Virgin, I have personally experienced my ex got pregnant when in fact she is still a Virgin. What happened is we where playing and I was using my D to rub her P until I came. I very little drop went in and that's it.

58. @LadeJinadu may the girls soul rest in peace. You don't know her story as she did not come with her parents from the story im assuming it wasnt parental backlash she was scared of. She might have been raped (just a postulation) by an uncle or relative she was ashamed to out. Some victims i counsel will rather die than give the name of the perpetrator until some coaxing and bonding has occurred. Also I still see medical negligence in the situation, if your patient is bleeding whether it was ectopic pregnancy or burst appendix shouldn't she have been given a blood transfusion because the way I see it even if it was her appendix they were trying to fix she might still have died from loss of blood.

59. Naija is just silly!
    Medicine isn't practiced this way elsewhere!!!!

Every woman presenting with acute abdominal pain in an emergency setting gets a pregnancy test!!! This is ridiculous Nigeria!

60. A simple pelvic ultrasound would have given the doctor the correct diagnosis nau, why the unnecessary delay

61. She killed her self so no pity

...JOSHSAYSO..LIB..FAN

..JOSHSAYSO..LIB..FAN

62. Too bad she lied.... Why lying??? What is she going to do with virginity Kwanu???? Rip

63. I don't know how old she is or why she lied but the unprofessional and gross ineptitude of the inefficient medical doctor contributed to her death! What did they do to stop the bleeding? So from a scan a medical doctor in Nigeria cannot accurately recognize an ectopic pregnancy and take immediate steps to avert a terrible situation??? He was waiting to her to say I had sex? What if she was raped or hasn't realized she's pregnant?The first thing that should have been done upon her arrival at the hospital was to run a pregnancy test!!!You didn't need to ask her!The HCG level would give you a + result from her urine at this stage of the pregnancy! The fastest would have been a blood test. It's a shame!!! Big shame! RIP woman!

64. Maybe society should be less judgemental. Then adults wouldn't feel the need to lie about their sexual activities. Poor babe. Ectopic pregnancies are deadly. May she rest in peace.

65. They should hv admitted her and run some check or investigations on her...then one of d doctors will then take her history..to know what's up
    .she could hv lied in her history but d scan wudnt hv lied thereafter...when a lady comes with such presentation a gud and specialised doctor knows what to do and where to transfer her to dis is bleeding per vagina..and she is young and in pains in d lower abdomen...my dear it's a gynae case..biko..everybody knows dat

66. Wow! She f'd up big time. If u can lie to your doctor then u don't cherish your life na. Nawah

67. Society killed her with its double standards. If there's any time a person will be curious about sex it's at a young age; instead of us to leave room and accommodate youngsters who are still finding their way we condemn them harshly - especially the girls, call them whores. Society killed her; she's only guilty of the crime of being young. May she RIP

68. God save Nigeria men...so it is patients that tell doctor what is wrong with them now or the other way round? Foolish people....

69. Linda. Don't be quick to judge
    I am pregnant too but I've never been penetrator before. My hymen is intact. I argued with everyone in my house till I went for a scan. 10 weeks gone!! My bf came on my laps. The doctor's explanation is that seminal fluid,not necessarily sperms itself can swim through a lady's pee pee hole and score. Very rare, but it happens. I'm the second case he has ever seen. If my friends didn't drag me for a scan, I would've argued till rapture that I'm not pregnant. Because In all honesty, I've never had any sexual intercourse. Now my friends call me virgin maria and my baby daddy says the baby will be a priest or nun...

70. The doctor in question should be held accountable for the death. In sane countries he would be charged with manslaughter. Any dr who knows his onions would know that abdominal pain in female in sexually active age group equals ectopic until excluded. Even if the dumb dr was not aware of this, the poor girls vital signs should have pointed him to that direction. The body gives enough warning during bleeding. The poor girl died as a result of poorly trained nonchalant dr. God knows who would be next. Dr Dapcee

71. The doctor in question should be held accountable for the death. In sane countries he would be charged with manslaughter. Any dr who knows his onions would know that abdominal pain in female in sexually active age group equals ectopic until excluded. Even if the dumb dr was not aware of this, the poor girls vital signs should have pointed him to that direction. The body gives enough warning during bleeding. The poor girl died as a result of poorly trained nonchalant dr. God knows who would be next. Dr Dapcee

1. She declined surgery after the diagnosis was made. And it was made in less than 15 mins. You can't operate without consent. When she eventually did it was too late

72. haven't u guys seen JANE THE VIRGIN? She might have been artificially inseminated. she might have been telling the truth.

73. Anon 2:34 PM Clearly, do not know what you are talking about. The other comments from medical professionals agree that they screwed up. Patients lie, tell half truths, or may forget things. It is a doctor's job to put together the clinical picture.

Anon 2:13 PM You are absolutely correct. Society has major double standards. The way nigerian doctors and nurses (i find nigerian nurses to be most guilty of this) talk about and judge their female patients enh your mouth go fall to floor.

74. Before people jump to conclusions, I know the girl in question as she worked for a family friend. The first doctor that attended to her saw her days before she died. At that time she was not bleeding. She simply complained of pain on her right side, and she told him she was not sexually active at all. She was meant to be a virgin, the location of the pain was consistent with symptoms of appendicitis. She was meAnt to get a family member who would sign to enable them operAte. In the meantime she was given pain relievers which stopped the pain. When the pain started again, she was taken to the govt hospital, and there she also lied that she was a virgin, but by then she was bleeding profusely, and it was while undressing for abdominal examination that the doctor noticed the bleeding, and subsequently ectopic pregnancy was discovered. From everything that ensued it appears she knew she was pregnant, and used concoctions to try and get rid of it. Such concoctions had apparently worked for her in the past, which is why she was quite confident that she wasn't pregnant, and as such lied till the last minute. I wish she had told the truth right from the first doctor. She should have been alive today if she had

75. u pple should stop judging her what if she was drug and raped not knowing and still think she a virgin

76. A doctor can only start investigation based on what on you have told him. It is only after investigation and things do not add up that he explores other ternatives. He cant ask you questions and then goes off to do what he wants to . Let us be objective.

1. Pls shut up u don't know what you are saying.

77. A doctor can only start investigation based on what on you have told him. It is only after investigation and things do not add up that he explores other ternatives. He cant ask you questions and then goes off to do what he wants to . Let us be objective.

78. Its 100% possible she didnt knw she was pregnant since it was ectopic pregnancy nd in dis case ppl wit ectopic pregnancies see dir periods bt 4 dat pregnancy 2 ve existed she obviously had sex, so y lie abt being a virgin. She cld ve bin so convinced abt not being pregnant bt she lied abt her virginity bc d foetus didnt jst appear dere.

79. Second Moral of the story: avoid premarital sex! Wait till you are married and you wouldn't have any need to tell a lie.

80. tHREE People you should not lie to:
    your Pastor, Doctor and Lawyer. She broke the rule and died.

81. Well, this is a new low if this story is correct. When a 10 year old presents with bleeding in that area, even if a fellow physician told you they are sure it is coming from the appendix, as someone trained in medicine and therefore anatomy, could you not ask what level of explosion of the appendix occurred that the abdomen is intact yet it penetrated the vaginal wall? That brings me to issue no 2. How will a child offer you the diagnosis and you, a trained adult with an MBBS takes the child's diagnosis and you start working on it? Nigeria is back to the pre-stone age. Third, when any female human presents with bleeding, the first thought it the veejay and related apparatus. Now if it is a child, you might suspect forced action. If the child has a protruding belly, pregnancy may not come to mind right away because of age but darn, you would atleast wonder about tumors/malignancies because of the abdominal protrusion. So at what point did the doctor nwalekebe stop to think and perhaps suspect either foul action or at least disease associated with the veejay area? Here is my verdict. The child would have died anyway from an ectopic pregnancy or suffered immensely because of it. However, she was murdered by the medical establishment. You let her sit around with a ruptured fallopian tube while you murked around looking for some damned appendix that you can palpate for yourself in the lower right quadrant. You sat there and ran around like the quack you are while the girl died a gradual and painful death. She died because she was not seen by a true physician. How dare you turn around and blame her for not telling you about her pregnancy? A little kid that was obviously abused until she was put in that state. You want her to explain her s88ual activities when even adult women are tongue tied about theirs? Could you not order a veejay exam? Could you not order an abdominal ultrasound? Murderers - What is scary is that many of you walk around with a sense of entitlement when the med schools are not teaching you basic commonsense any longer. With this kind of story, I wondered if my grandfather would have been in faster on the diagnosis. Oshi.

1. Are you the person that abused her? This one you are here stating it as a matter of fact

82. The girl has no blame in this, the doctor should have done an urgent ultrasound scan and the problem wud have been pinpointed, ruptured appendix wudnt have presented with vaginal bleeding.

83. I don hear this particular story many years back. And e don happen again. E go dey happen well well o ;na the one we hear be dis.

84. YOU CANNOT BLAME THE GIRL. NOBODY KNOWS HER BACKGROUND. SHE COULD HAVE BEEN RAPED, SHE COULD BE LIVING IN A VIOLENT HOME, SHE COULD HAVE BEEN TOO SCARED......THERE ARE A MILLION REASONS WHY SHE MIGHT HAVE LIED ABOUT IT.

ANYWAYS, I FEEL THAT THE HOSPITAL SHOULD BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE BECAUSE EVEN IF SHE HAD LIED, IT IS THE DUTY OF THE DOCTORS TO DIAGNOSE BEFORE THEY OPERATE. HOW CAN YOU CUT SOMEONE OPEN WITHOUT CHECKING AND CONFIRMING.

ME I DONT BLAIME THE GIRL SHA OOO

RIP.....SO SAD

OUR SOCIETY NEEDS TO GET A GRIP

85. Some comments are really irritating me. Most of u are not in medical field and the way you are displaying your ignorance is annoying.

86. All those making excuses for the doctors negligence, what if the girl was brought into the hospital unconscious? Will you be asking her questions? Or what if she has lost a lot of blood and was too weak to talk? Wont the doctors find a solution? Wont dey do their jobs? What about babies that cant talk? Dont doctors treat babies that cant talk? Nigerian doctors pls be more thorough in your duties. You are giving Nigeria bad name. This is why a lot of women run abroad to give birth. It is no longer because of citizenship. People just want to have safe delivery that's why they run abroad to give birth.

87. People run to india for surgeries because they dont trust Nigerian doctors anymore. And also because it is even cheaper in India for some surgeries. I hadly hear of people dying in India after surgery but it is so common and rampant in Nigeria. May God help us in this country

88. was she from Indonesia? Why was she lying she was a virgin? RIP

89. Really sad! May God rest her soul

90. Only in Nigeria. In hospital and bleeding and treatment is to ask questions, no scans? Drs should be ashamed!