Photos: Lagos cleaner who found $27k awarded N30k & a plaque by NOA | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 20 May 2015

Photos: Lagos cleaner who found $27k awarded N30k & a plaque by NOA

Josephine Ugwu, the honest airport cleaner who found and returned $27,000 (N5.4 m) at the Murtala Mohammed International Airport in January this year, was presented a plaque and a cash gift of N30,000 by the Nigerian Orientation Agency NOA in Abuja on Monday May 18th. The DG of NOA, Mike Omeri presented the award to her and appreciated her for her honesty. Josephine while showing appreciation for the award and cash gift, appealed for a better job.
"I was given N30,000. I was told that is the amount they give in reward for any patriotic act" Josephine said. More photos after the cut...

109 comments:

1. Just 30k? That not encouraging for other honest ppl oo the money too small jare

1. Oga daniel how much did u give her?

2. I knw say most of these libers will begin to condemn b4 thinking well. The money does not belong to NOA, NOA gave her money from their pocket. So it makes no sense comparing 5.4 million to 30k. If u want to protest on her behalf look for the owner of the 5.4mill n insult him.

3. God bless the organization.
      L
      I
      N
      D
      A
      Observe

4. Congrats, and I wish her all d best.

5. Ur type no fit drop the money if u see am

2. She sounds like she was given peanuts

3. Who lost. The woman. Engr Emy

4. Dis woman go suffer ooo............5.4m.........she would haf gone far by nw....hw much is 30k

APATA ................ROCK OF AGE§

1. Honesty is not about reward. ... Its about peace of mind.

2. Damilola thank you. We tend to measure reward in monetary terms but it is solo much than that. Peace of mind has no price tag. The immeasurable blessings of God have no price tag. Please people, live and learn.

5. Honesty and Integrity has brought her this far. Weldone madam.

6. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    God don bless yu finish no doubt....

7. God bless her nd Family. I heard D Idiot That lost That Millions did'nt Appreciate #Lobatan

8. just 30k!! na wa ooo i rest my case

9. $27k for N30k... Really good, and nice to know dat its worth having a good conscience.

10. Dey shd gv r a well paid job jare, all dis small small money wl nt take r 4eva

11. Dey shd gv r a well paid job jare, all dis small small money wl nt take r 4eva

12. Cool but isn't that what shes suppose to do? Hian! Na her own? Y'all need Jesus

1. That's why no should praise Jonathan for conceding defeat. Isn't that what he was supposed to do?

2. Lol nice reply!

13. How much was she expecting before??? Linda take note!

1. Nne, is it not high time u stopped this ur double commenting and shouting Linda,take note...how many people Linda wan dash 100k? With the likes of davido'd driver,lwkmd-nigeria and royal priesthood who are jobless and practically live on LIB, do u think u have a chance? Out of 30 post a day,these three people(that's if it's not one person commenting with 3 diff I.d) are in d first 4 commenters on abt 29 and they are very consistent and comment on every post. Biko,take a chill pill and join another struggle. Rest,biko.

2. Lol, aunty gwes, leave my Juliet. Juliet dear, drop your email address. You are very persistent.

14. How much was she expecting before??? Linda take note!

15. 30k na pple surround am to take pictures like this....nigerians can b really greedy

16. 30k? Sound so poor ooo but anyway is a gift

17. In dis lady mind....she regrets returning it...lmao

1. For ur mind shey? Does she look disgruntled? see her smiling from ear to ear. Some people are jst honest

18. They should raise the amount of money they give to this woman to encourage others to be honest. Enough of this meager amounts.

19. They should raise the amount of money they give to this woman to encourage others to be honest. Enough of this meager amounts.

20. you did good...nobody owes you anything for doing good..its a personal decision.

21. Woman be balling. Kudos to all those who appreciate honesty in a world filled with so much dishonesty.

22. seriously..................

23. God is truly paying her back

24. 30k!!! Seriously!! This is why no one will ever return lost money again

25. Your reward is in heaven madam

26. Evil people. Is that all you could reward for such honesty?

1. Aren't we suppose to be honest? Any reward is jst bonus. How are NOA evil pple? Is the 5.4mil for them? Pple talking without thinking

27. haba #30,000 and a plaque is too small jawe. they should have given her national honours than that useless plaque

28. The reward is nt encouraging, she deserves higher cash reward.

29. I feel like stealing some cash in the office safe n returning it later for a plaque at the end of year party.
    Jst look at the Retarded DG of NOA wearing a Baban Riga whose design (green patterns) alone is more than 100k, bt felt that the lady deserve only 30k.

1. I jst knew someone wld rain insults on well meaning gestures. They chose to acknowledge her and give her something small as encouragement una dey vex. If una wan vex, vex for the owner of the money wey no appreciate her well

30. 30K? Really
    Its not a motivation actually

31. Imagine.. only 30k..it really sound strange

32. hian...are we still on this topic?

33. U SAY WHAT? 30K AND KPAKO.. ISORAIT I CONGRATULATE YOU MADAM.

34. It pays to honest and truthful no matter the situation.

35. ...Wz awarded wif "k30" & dey'r showin us. Wot a poor way of showin aprction. #9ja wakeup#

36. Wow, if am d one, am in dubai now with the 5.4m! Its not enough for me,#Beyonce drinks balance.

37. This woman deserves nothing less than N5.4m if you must reward her for her great heart then you should change her life once to encourage others who may find their selves in such situation. This will be the end of honesty. People are wicked

38. #Good Things Will keep on coming to you Ma'am!!

39. Who says that honesty does not pay? Now you know better that "HONESTY PAYS" Congratulations Mrs Ugwu.

40. This woman is d most stupid person on mother earth. She's kinda saying d 30,000naira is too small abi??? U had d world in ur hands and blew d chance. Opportunity comes but once. Better Job my foot mtcheeeeewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwWwwwwWwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwWwwww

1. Mr anonymous some pple are honest and have a conscience. If u fit disappear wit money does not belong to u, some pple can't.

41. wow 5million naira...
    this woman don sack her employer ooo..

thats d price for been honest people..

42. 30k......hmmmmm

43. She is like 30k for an award that's poor lol, but honesty pays

44. Dis woman don turn celeb overnight.

45. IF YOU WANT POWER, RICHES OR ANY SPIRITUAL PROBLEM YOU WANT TO SOLVE THEN TRY THIS (http://ekpo-iti-awara.hpage.com)

46. Pls reward her with a better job,atleast to convince Nigerians we still appreciate honesty.

47. Bridget Ananaba a.k.a Unstoppable20 May 2015 at 16:05

In as much as I commend the effort of the NOA, in my opinion, I think this lady deserves more from a nation where $20billion can be declared missing.

48. 30k pere.. na wa ooo... wetin she wan use am do abeg, well na to find who she go dash na

49. Why don't we just declare every 3rd wednesday of the month a public holiday in honor of this nice lady that returned money that didn't belong to her in the first place? Yea..i think that would be cool

50. Nigeria will always remain corrupt if this kind of acts continue. How do u reward someone with 30k after returning 5.4m. I weep for honest people, there's no benefit 4 doing things right in this country, pathetic!

51. I think the plaque is worth more than the 30k. If they wanna give her something they should and stop using her to remain relevant in public eye or score cheap points. its all showmanship

52. tank God 4 her.she must also b given a national award.

53. Izzy becoz of 30k that they surrounded d woman like dah???? Dis huge cloud giving 1person 30k. Abegi

1. INDIGENOUS LIB20 May 2015 at 16:53

It's unfortunate that with the all the money Mike has embezzled, he can't add to that 30 grand.... See their faces

54. Allah sarki.. don't worry.. God doesn't sleep. Your helper is on the way.

55. she should be flogged 30,000 strokes of hot iron.. mumu of the highest order.

1. Jst becos u are thief doesn't mean everybody is. I wld have returned the money without thinking twice. That's how I was brot up

56. Good for him, he will receive even greater rewards than the 30k. I hope my sinful heart would have done the same.

57. "I was told that's the reward they give for patriotic acts"
    they made sure she said that

58. This is God's set time to bless and announce this woman to the world. Enjoy it ma'am.

59. Welldone Josephine..Bt 30k is too small sha

60. 30k outta 5.4million.. I shake my head once again

61. some returns N5.4m,u reward her with N30,000 & a stick award?
    shame of Nigeria.

62. 30k is small but at least shez bin recognised for her integrity nd good conscience. A good name is better dan silver and gold

63. The diff is clear tho.. all d same, honesty pays much.....Goodluck good lady #GodWin

64. i would have loovvveeed to overlook this news but My Good God in Heaven......30k!!!! what is that? i mean its way way too small.what encouragement are you giving to people to do the right thing.....well a man cannot give when he does not have...which is not encouraging people in doing the right thing.Those in public office need to show good example and reward same.

65. She did the right thing. Is not a must they reward her jare, nobody forced her to return the money, it was intrinsical cos she's a conscience. So I see no big deal with what she did. She's a good woman and she's content with what she has.

66. That's not enough. That's ridiculously unfair.

67. And she is Igbo. I also the remember that the journalist who refused to take a 50 000 naira bribe from the pastor whose church collapsed on mostly south-africans in Lagos was also Igbo.
    After money-loving hypocritical Nigerians will accuse only the Igbos of loving money too much. Even as we Nigerians love money as much as the Igbos but we are too lazy to put in the same amount of efforts that they do.

68. Imagine!!!!!!!!just 30k for reward ND they all surrounded her taking yeye pictures as if they did something tangible..hissssSssss

69. Really sad. 30k is nothing.

70. eya....looks like a smile of regret on her face.

but my question is., who gets to keep the returned $27k? cos obviously its not going back to whoever forgot it at the airport...?

71. Truth be told,that amount is just a peanut
    ...NA ZO

72. Because of 30k you dragged her from her house? What's that!! ,I beg !- Warri Babe

73. How much is her tfair to Abuja frm Lag? Ds pple shld av just coded d cash for anybody not to hr abt it bcos ds is peanut

74. Next when u see that kind money return am make dem give u 30 as u say na suffer u like....hisssss

75. Real Igbo woman~ezi afa ka ego!

76. Honesty is the best policy. www.princeinspires.blogspot.com

77. Is good to be honest.....happy for you woman