Air force official justifies brutal beating of FAAN official | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 21 May 2015

Air force official justifies brutal beating of FAAN official

The Nigerian Air Force on Wednesday said Muhammed Shuaibu suffered in the hands of four of its officers because he broke the rule. The Command Public Relations Officer, Logistics Command, NAF, Joel Abioye, said Shuaibu suffered for breaking the rule and tried to use his position to deceive those AF officers.

He said, “The incident happened at the Departure wing of the International Airport, Ikeja, on Sunday when one Muhammed Shuaibu, a protcol officer with FAAN confronted our men on duty for challenging him for parking in a wrong place, thereby obstructing free flow of traffic.
“This same man had earlier been cautioned to stop allowing motorists park indiscriminately for security reason. He was instructed to move his vehicle to the designated car park at the airport.
“He, however, refused, claiming that he was a member of staff of FAAN. He is a protocol officer and I expect him to know better, considering the security challenges in the country.
“Shuaibu struggled with our men and acted violently in an attempt to retrieve the number plate of his vehicle that was removed, which is a usual practice to serve as deterrent to other motorists who park indiscriminately.
“Contrary to the report that he was beaten to a coma, it was in his attempt to retireve his number plate that he sustained injury in his nostrils. He was later taken to the 445 NAF Hospital, Ikeja, for medical treatment before he discharged himself on Monday.
“However, a thorough investigation will be carried out and if any of our men is found culpable, appropriate disciplinary action will be taken against them as the Nigerian Air Force does not condone any act of indiscipline and brutalisation of innocent citizens.”
However, Shuaibu, who spoke with Punch on Wednesday, explained that it was not the first time that airport workers had been intimidated and beaten by the air force officers.
He said he wanted his attackers to be punished and his case to serve as a deterrent to other security officers who abuse the privilege of power.
He said, “I appreciate the efforts of the media, but this is just a single case out of many others which never get any mention.
“I have no plan to personally pursue a legal case, I am leaving everything to FAAN.
“But I want the government to intervene and let these assaults end with my experience.
“It has to stop and the only way to do that is to punish officers who attacked me.”
Punch.

62 comments:

1. Nobody is above d law, wen u act stupid, u pay 4 it dearly

2. He has crossed his boundary, and he surely deserves wht descended on him.

3. There is God o! It is well sha. Linda take note!

4. There is God o! It is well sha. Linda take note!

2. Obey the rules and regulations simple, it's dat too much

1. He must hav stepped out of his bound's if not he wouldn't hav thought d lesson of his life.

2. There is no smoke witout fire...

3. So that justfies the beating? Only in naija.

4. IF Not you should get brutalised? Like what are you sayijg?

3. Punch... Really carrying stories of PUNCHES... Ok oo...
    * * * Linda's 1st Daughter * * *

4. After dem wan killl amm ...................dem dey m*d

APATA___________________ROCK OF AGES

5. U dis linda, if u post comments in timme, whhat will happen? Will ur blog crash? Tor

6. and that made them almost killed him ? that man's heart beat dropped for christ sake

7. This statement looks like cover up to me, this military personnel love intimidating and brutalizing people.
    They don't respect civilians rights at all.

8. "it was in his attempt to retrieve his number plate that he sustained injury in his nostrils"

Story for the gods,no doubt he was brutalised by the men of the Airforce, and the man said his case wasn't the only case of intimidation by the men of the Air force.

9. Can you imagine? The animals are actually justifying their primitive act? Is there any justification for such assault? Smh, all this because they know GEJ is going, if not they would have been brought to justice.

10. The fact that the man was hospitalized is enough reason to say that the beating was unjust n unfair.

11. Well there is no smoke wit out fire I love dis words "Nigerian Air Force does not condone any act of indiscipline and brutalisation of innocent citizens".

1. Smh! It's just sad reading your comments!

12. SO 4 OFFICERS CAB NOT ARREST 1 PERSON WITH ALL THEIR TRAINING WITHOUT LANDING HIM IN HOSPITAL.WE A ALL NIGERIANS AND THIS MUST STOP IN THIS NEW ERA OF CHANGE.BUHARU THIALS PART OF YR JOB.RULE OF LAW.

13. It has to stop but u must obey by their rules...

14. Why didnt he just obey d law and avoid all these.......
    We make d law and we break it afterward

Moye says so via BB Passport...Courtesy LIB......

15. at least they could have restrained him without making him bleed since it was a 4 to 1 situation.

16. Hmmmmmn two different sides of same story

17. There is NO reason whatsoever for any fucking arm of the fucking military or anyone else in that position to ever lay a hand on civilian!!!!!! No fucking reason!!!!!!!!!!!!

18. This is awful and despicable. He broke which rule and who adjourned this. Was he given fair hearing when he broke the rule? The era of brazen impunity is fast developing. Nigeria we hail thee.

19. And so what? Is that a justification to beat him like that? And we wonder why some foreign countries see us as barbaric.

20. The picture shows bleeding from other parts of his body. What sort of nonsense lies is their NAF boss sayin Biko? We all know how these NAF, military and Mopol men behave. They love beating and giving punishments

21. WTF these acts of brutality needs to stop, we have put up with it for way too long!!!

22. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Shey na naija, anything can happen....

23. He refused to obey a simple rule, very soon our military will become a toothless dog in the hand of so called innocent citizens who finds it hard to obey rules and regulations because their position, such that has brought disgrace to our dear country.

24. No justification for brutalizing,even if he break the law,he could be arrested without being brutalized.Nigerian should learn how to respect one another.In civilized world assault is a crime.But in Nigeria you could assault anybody if you are upset with them.I think we need education on respect.

1. U said my mind. Nigerians don't know assault is a crime

25. There is no justification whatsoever to the obvious malhandling of a citizen of this great country...in his own country for that matter. This case must be investigated and the culprits prosecuted

26. According to Fela Anikulapo- Kuti, Nigerian armed forces are a bunch of Zombies. Better still, Animal in human skin. I mean the whole rank and file!

27. If they render an apology will it change
    their names? Rules my cute face!

28. If na police do this,una go dey cry...Naija people,make una dey obey rules

29. nigerians are the worse set of people when it comes to abiding with laws of the country. simple instruction, dont park here due to security reasons but u want to use your FAAN position to cause mayhem, when they plant bomb in the car and it explodes, nobody will say why did the man park there, all they will say is what are the force men doing there. the man in question needs to be thoroughly investigated. its only in nigeria we violate laws, when we go out, we are like rats beaten by the rain. mtsew

30. Bros no worry yourself don close na naija we dey! No culpable will be brought to book.

31. If na police,all of una go dey shout...Naija pple,make una dey obey rules

32. and linda, what kind of headline is this? which one is airforce official justifies brutal beating of FAAN official, you are always taking sides. i advise you take your time to investigate stories before publishing it. you would have known that the man jacked the officer (with a gun) and started the fight (i saw the pictures and wonder why the airforce did not publish it alongside their story. if it was a police officer, he would have been lying in the mortuary already trust me and it would have been a case of accidental discharge like what happened at Banex junction last night where two blackmarket boys were killed.

33. I like the Nigerian Airforce alot, they are far more disciplined than most most forces. I learnt the man in question wanted to start a fight to prove to his friend that hes the man! lol. unfortunately, he went too far. Honestly, if he did what he did with a Policeman, his sorry ass would be returning to mother earth now. OBEY THE RULES/LAWS! Pathetic how we encourage violation of laws and orders. And Linda, Please make more findings, don't be biased, many people rely on this blog for information and entertainment

34. NAF can't be a judge in their own case, this is a very stupid coment after miss use power on their part.

35. So that gives dem d right to assault and batter him so severly???eeeeeh mchhhew except d guy is dulll if not I wud suuue dier ass!

36. Sorry.

Do you know why Nigerians should thank this car? Check out www.naijacarlovers.blogspot.com to know what car and why?

37. Some of us will do worse if we are on uniform and a civilian disrespect us...#learntoobeysimplerules

38. We all know that "Nigerian Air Force does not condone any act of indiscipline and brutalisation of innocent citizens". sure the man in question over steeped his boundaries believing he and the Airmen are equal cause they all have a common work place.

39. I think the officer who who made comments to justify this indecent attitude should be arrested and detained.Brutality and assault has no place in Nigeria law.That's why they assist Boko haram.

40. This man na idiot o. He's even justifying assault.
    Only in naija sha

41. always 2 sides to a story and then you confused on which to believe

42. Nonsense talk....ndi ara