Heartbreaking drawings by child survivors of Boko Haram massacre reveal the atrocities they witnessed | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 8 April 2015

Heartbreaking drawings by child survivors of Boko Haram massacre reveal the atrocities they witnessed

Nigerian children at a UNICEF-run refugee camp near Baga Sola in Chad photographed above using pencils and crayons to draw the killings they witnessed when rifle-wielding Boko Haram members attacked their communities. More of their drawings after the cut

Photo credit: AFP/Getty Images

76 comments:

1. Chai! *in pesche's voice*

2. the memories will always be there

3. Replies
    1. What's funny. This is a very honest question. I really want to know what u find funny here

4. Our children deserve better. We deserve better. God help us

5. I can imagine the trauma!!
    .NOTE: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

6. How will they erase this from their memory?

7. CUZ DS WAS WAT HE SAW DRE...IMAGINE HW BAD A PARTICULAR ENVIRONMNY CN AFFECT A CHILD..I PRY ALL D ABDUTEEDS RETURN TO DIA NORMAL SELVES....TOMMJERrYSWIT

8. Not to worry.. Change don come..

9. When we drew them wayback in sch it was just for fun.. Life!

10. Chaiyaaa! I can imagine....

11. This brought me to tears

12. Is this some form of therapy?...I wouldn't want to relive such memory in anyway or form

13. Chai!!! God, what little kids had 2 go through so early in their lives....... All because of some religious monsters.....it really got me in tears, dis is just too much.

14. Haunted by traumatic memories.

15. ARE YOU LOOKING FOR A SUGAR MUMMY OR DADDY PLEASE CALL THIS LINE 08132333771 PLEASE BE MATURE....

16. No child should be made to relive such horrible incidents. Linda take note!

17. No child should be made to relive such horrible incidents. Linda take note!

18. No child should be made to relive such horrible incidents. Linda take note!

19. No child should be made to relive such horrible incidents. Linda take note!

20. Children are nothing but a product of the society that breed them. I believe the Boko Haram war will soon be won but my concern is when the emotional war will end, the memories of the killing will long be with these children.

21. Oh my! Its so heartbreaking.

Pamscrib.blogspot.com

22. i pray this children can be normal again.

23. awwwwwww
    God grant them the fortitude to bear the loss

24. Woww!!! D sort of images these kids would have 2 live with

25. Wow.....

Dear Lord, discomfit bokoharam

26. Hope they get over such emotional trauma.

27. We pray to hear the end of this disease soon..really sad.

28. Children are product of the society. The memory of the killings will certainly last long with these children. They have been taken out of war zone but the war not taken away from their mind.

29. Kai, dis kids can never 4gt d bad incidents @ll. Thank God 4 der lives n I pray dat God wl bring dem out n make dem 4gt all d trauma dey passed 2ru

30. Kai, dis kids can never 4gt d bad incidents @ll. Thank God 4 der lives n I pray dat God wl bring dem out n make dem 4gt all d trauma dey passed 2ru

31. I weep for them,I feel their pain,dear Lord reach out for your children

32. ohhhhhhh no. I feel for these kids. The tragic memory will always linger in their minds.

33. Ogechi@ afakos@yahoo.com8 April 2015 at 15:28

It must have been terrific for them.

34. May God give them the strength to forget the ordeal.

35. Children are product of the society. The memory of the killings will certainly last long with these children. They have been taken out of war zone but the war not taken away from their mind.

36. This is really heartbreaking, I feel for these kids. Experiencing these at this tender age

37. O my God! Imagine the psychological trauma these kids are going through. God please help us

38. Couldn't make out mh 4rm their drawings tho' bt I knw their mouths won't b able 2 tell d horrors they had witnessed! Poor kids..

39. I hope and pray that these children receive adequate psychotherapy to help them deal with the traumatic event they witnessed.

40. Eyah i feel their pains

41. Bt y? Y brnging back old memories? Nt in support.

42. God is quiet for a reason....may he console us. He will deliver his own from all deir troubles

43. Wow dis horror for them and a big nightmare.

44. Very good therapy and healing process called TAT thematic apperception test thnx to UN .

45. This is madness. They are relive the trauma.

46. Oh this is so touching for these kids to have this horrible images painted in their memory.
    May God heal of this horrific experience

47. OMG!!! Wat a terrible orientation dey ve got abt life.Lord pls help dem to grow nd overcome such thots nd memory.

48. Awww.may God see them through.wicked world

49. Really sad. And some people still think the things happening in north east is not as bad

50. Some trauma ish.
    Hope the get over these nightmares soon.

51. Replies
    1. @moonstone, just a tear! Lwtmboh! Such a sad n traumatic experience!

Just Julia

52. Some trauma ish.
    Hope the get over these nightmares soon.

53. Eyyaah. And they are bright and intelligent to be able to tell their stories via drawing!

54. art is a form of therapy... may they find solace.

Mrs Oby what is funny?

55. too sad, kids are not supposed to experience anything like this

56. you can imagine the trauma these little ones have gone tru