Read the comment that Chris Rock made that got black women mad | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 7 January 2015

Read the comment that Chris Rock made that got black women mad

Actor and comedian Chris Rock, who's reportedly worth about $70million made a comment earlier this week that's got quite a few African American women upset. They said he shaded his own mother and black women everywhere in a shameless bid for an Oscar nomination…

While speaking at the Variety Creative Impact Awards, Chris Rock began campaigning for an Oscar for his latest comedy Top Five and supposedly made his mother and Black women the butt of his joke
"Comedies never get nominated. So I'm going to blatantly appeal to the voters. February 22 is my mother's birthday. 70th birthday. If I'm nominated, I will take her to the Oscars. If not, I will take her to Fatburger. We don't need another Black woman at Fatburger. So please vote for me." Chris said to nfluential Academy Award voters
Is this an offensive statement? Black twitter has been letting him have it for days now!

98 comments:

1. Abi oh, help me explain to them. Whites takes things to the extreme.

2. Desperation for Oscar nomination to the detriment of black women. So unfair.

***ECHOMASS***

3. Comedy has no limit, plus the world has become too sensitive.

4. lol

5. Linda, Please I want u to put up this crazy news on ur site......
    "Tycoon's ex rejects $975 million divorce check"...

6. Linda, Please I want u to put up this crazy news on ur site......
    "Tycoon's ex rejects $975 million divorce check"...

7. Awww my Chris Rock how you gonna say that? Am sure your so desperate for that oscar but at the end of the day you might not get it...

8. He might ave said it to sound funny, he's a comedian after all. Though kinda offensive. Buh den nt ma biz

9. If the concerned black women say it's offensive then it is

10. ewo no temi mbe? THE LORD IS MY STRENGTH

11. Whatever...it's none of my bizness

12. He is a comic and can say anything, so fat he is referring to his mother, it's none of your business....... sometimes you hear and pretend not to hear.

13. Chris is a comedian linda,maybe he wanted to make a comic statement.

GEJ till 2019

.👏BIG BROTHER SAYS SO.👏

14. Well he's a comedian what were they expecting?? And after all its his mum...

15. Just a great joke. Not offensive at all, except the subtle health awareness for black women to avoid fatburger, which is a good thing really.

16. He's a big foolmim equally mad right now.

17. They shuld give it to him.retard comedy

18. armless joke that got twisted

19. to me its just a joke, shouldn't be taken so personally

20. His a comedian for crying out loud ... Their careers has made them foolish in a way so they say stupid things most times without knowing it.
    It's their life and this time ... they can't help it.

21. Nice one.

He is trying to crack joke out of it. Though, quite hilarious.

D white wil see nothing wrong wit dis bcos of their board perspective but d black wil see everytin wrong wit it bcos of their narrow perspective.

22. Na dem sabi. Linda take note!

23. Its kinda offensive na. Its way out of line

24. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    This there english self tire me......

25. He fucked up! He shouldn't hav said such jus bcos he wants to win an award!!

26. Different folks for different people
    @Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

27. They should go and sleep, the man is simply being a comedian.

28. Chris is purely mumu guy.

29. I can't say I'm surprise. Black women have always and will forever be the butt of every black comedian's joke. The day I lost interest was when Kevin Hart openly said he wouldn't dare make a gay joke (because he knows the movers and shakers of Hollywood are all closeted gay men and woman, and, or pushing the gay agenda). And any joke perceived as homophobic would mean the end of his dreamy career. He will never be allowed to work in Hollywood again. Ask Isaiah Washington what that is like. The only open-season jokes are black women. And dark skinned women are usually his favorite target.

1. Are you seriously kidding me??!! Black comedians crack on white folk all the damn time!!!! People need to chill with the oversensitivity! Gosh!

30. Black Americans are always forming victims, are they this jobless or what, no wonder crime seems to be there only hope in life.......there is nothing wrong in what he said, infact its a compliment, it depends on how one wants to understand it

31. >>>> It is a joke, somehow African Americans are too sensitive. <<<<

32. Lol
    For crying out loud he is a comedian.... I dnt think he meant any harm.... its jst his usual way of making jokes
    Blacks n their racist shit.... evry one becomes a racist

33. Sounds like a dirty joke, serves him right..

34. Sometimes African Americans get overly sensitive abeg. They should work on their sense of humor. It was just a joke biko.
    Long Distance Relationships And Their Drama- click my name to read more and share your experience.

35. No it is quite funny
    Get a grip people!
    he is a comedian!
    And no, we dont need another fat black woman

36. There is a big difference between comedy and insult, and this is clearly an insult to all black women!!! Chris Rock, you even disrespected your own mother, because of Oscar votes, no wonder your marriage crashed, you pitiful moron, dry like bonga fish!!! Whizman

37. What's with we black people and our insecurities and low self esteem. Has what he said removed a dollar from your accounts or something.its his mouth and his mama,let him say whatever he wants.

38. I am sure he did not mean to be offensive,haha his own mama

39. e concern them sha.

............''''''PRAY4NIGERIA'''''''.............

40. Dts his biz,afterall he yabbed his own mum

41. Nothing really weird about d comment.

42. Chris Rock is sick

43. Chris Rock brain don f**k up..#Kolo

44. The joke is too African american for me

45. Oh shut up! Chris Rock is known for his insensitive and irreverent comedy. When you black people go to his shows and he cracks on white people (which constitutes majority of his jokes/show), we don't see any OMG outrage!! Instead you're there kikiki-ing and laughing it right up. Stop with it. I understand racism and all but geez stop already!

46. This chris rock can sometimes be dry..who heard his stale jokes at The BET awards last year about rick Ross dying of breast cancer? I didn't think it was funny cos cancer isn't sumn u joke with to get attention. . He's rich so he can afford to insult his mother. .after all, it's America. Mschew!

47. This chris rock can sometimes be dry..who heard his stale jokes at The BET awards last year about rick Ross dying of breast cancer? I didn't think it was funny cos cancer isn't sumn u joke with to get attention. . He's rich so he can afford to insult his mother. .after all, it's America. Mschew!

48. This chris rock can sometimes be dry..who heard his stale jokes at The BET awards last year about rick Ross dying of breast cancer? I didn't think it was funny cos cancer isn't sumn u joke with to get attention. . He's rich so he can afford to insult his mother. .after all, it's America. Mschew!

49. Woah! It does sound offensive bt am sure he meant it as a joke and he didn't know it is quite hurtful.

50. Don't seem offensive to me tho.

51. VERULE Says - Chris dats ur own bussSs. "Beautifu is life"

52. Na him sabi, let's see if his gonna get nominated??

53. Shey he wants fame??? At the end of the day of what use will it be to him? Smh

54. Honestly I don't know. Black Americans have their culture pertaining to the kind of things they find offensive. .

55. Though, he's a comedian, but there are sensitive spots he should know better than touch. Might be seen as a joke, from his mum, but in this small global village, them black women won't read that smiling.

56. Well i don't understand what he means so don't know if its a shade or not.

57. Linda, it's a joke... Na wa for this pc brigade. If comedians listened to them, there'd be no jokes. Are black american women fat? You betcha! So are a quarter of americans

58. Its his way of being a comic relief..People take tins too personal

59. Clearly it was a joke that meant no offence so people don't need to take it personally...

60. Linda what's next. Engr Emy

61. Hehehe! Its just a joke joor!

62. He hates black people! Check his stage performance on youtube.

63. I don't see anything wrong with it...but trust black Americans are their No nonsense attitude....
    ¤
    ¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
    ¤

64. Offensive if you don't have a sense of humour. People are so hung up on what other people say and they forget to live their own lives.

65. Fatburger, really!!!!!!!!!!
    Hmmmm, thank God he is not my son

66. This is one of many similar offenses by him. Obesity is an American problem. Two thirds are overweight. Get off black women's back.

67. Black Americans have become too sensitive to this race ish these days. It was a joke! And he is black too, so what r they saying?

68. Well, some pple will take to be offensive while others wouldn't. Depends on how u c it

69. Oya take it, receive it...Well, since him mama sef dey, I no vex again!

BDB

70. Oyibo and their wahala....its just a joke naa...y taking it personal?they shud free d guy pls and atleast vote 4 him.

71. It z mum n it jes a joke....y mk a scene outta practically nofin!!! Mctew wat 2much leisure tym can cause

72. They should chill abeg. He's a comedian.

73. Ain't surprise dat coming 4rm Chris.na sphyco

74. He gas move his ministry forward! I believe itz a joke....

75. Black people sef.... They are too jealous to help a nigga.. Always looking for faults

76. Comedians never take things seriously so we don't need to take them seriously!

I Sing And Am Creative (I.S.A.A.C)
    #SlaveToTheRythm

77. Comedians never take things seriously so we don't need to take them seriously!

I Sing And Am Creative (I.S.A.A.C)
    #SlaveToTheRythm!

78. people can do anything for fame mmmmmmthwee.JC

79. this is a comedian we talking abut here. why ar people so shallow minded, i can't help but comment after reading some comments here. jeez we africans need to grow up, build our minds and brains too. in a second thought was he wrong about what he said. Blacks hate correction and good advice that is why we ar still were we are today.

80. Word! God help us..I'm still in shock afterj reading some comments..Smh..again May God help us.