Indonesian ambassador summoned by FG over the execution of two Nigerians yesterday | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 19 January 2015

Indonesian ambassador summoned by FG over the execution of two Nigerians yesterday

The Federal government through the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Ambassador Aminu Wali, has summoned the Indonesian ambassador to Nigeria to protest the execution of two Nigerians by firing squad in Indonesian recently.

In a statement signed by the Foreign Affairs ministry’s Director of Public Communication, Ogbole Amedu-Ode yesterday January 18th, FG alleged that 2 Nigerians instead of one earlier made known to them by the Indonesian government were killed at Sunday's execution.

According to the statement, the President of Indonesia, Joko Widodo, approved the execution of only one Nigerian identified as Daniel Emenuo aka Diarrassoube Mamadou in the list of six condemned drugs convicts in December 2014.

However another Nigerian Solomon Okafor who was mistaken for a Malawian named Namaona Denis was also killed during the execution. The federal government says the Indonesian government executed both men despite pleas for clemency
"The executions were carried out despite persistent pleas for clemency made by the federal government, including the National Assembly. The executions had taken place against the grain of the excellent relations that subsist between Nigeria and Indonesia. Thus, the foreign minister has summoned the Indonesian Ambassador to register Nigeria’s protest" the statement read.
The Federal government expressed their condolence to the families of the two men executed and also warned Nigerians to desist from drug trafficking.

106 comments:

1. Very necessary. Why shld dey? #oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

1. Geez!!! Medicine after death. Why now? Argh!!

2. So Federal govt, na now una just wake up? This guy has been sentenced to death for God knows how long and u guys are just writing nonsense letter today?!....abeg make all Una go to blazes..mtcheww

3. Really medicine after death..we should mimick the act of Brazil and Holand by cutting down our relationship with them..moreover we have nothing to loose

2. medicine after death...yeye nigeria govt

3. That's good. show concern at least. Let them know these guys have a government

1. Snail-like government. As slow as sloth. We dey don kill them finish, Nigerian government just dey summon, smh!

4. So many questions to answer ova dis issue

5. Not fair o.

6. What kinda mistake is that? This is downright unacceptable.

7. Nigeria really needs to cut ties with indonesia.. Heartless people!!

8. Can you imagine despite persistent plea, the execution was still done..they should really try and get to the root of this..too bad. Col 3:14-17. @Bishop_Dammy

9. Yes nigerian's should desist frm drug trafficking,especially wen they knw the penalty in sure country like Indonesian is dead. I really feel pity for them especially wen I saw the execution pix yesterday. May their souls rest in peace.

10. They acted late. Brazil and others have long withdrawn their ambassadors from that country.
    @Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

1. Imagine this big fool of a country cannot differentiate between a Nigerian and a Malawian.

11. Mtscheew medicine after death.

Not evry nation sees himslf as a joke

12. MR EDDY said this harmattan is sponsored by MTN. It is everywhere u go.

Why now? This is medicine after death.
    ^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~wishes u happy new year.

13. Yaay they can't execute Nigerians and go away with it

1. No honey no this time, cause is had time our government start doing something about it before the kill all our younths over there
      #$$$$VDB*#$$$$$$#332A15D3#

14. Good move from the president....
    ¤
    ¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
    ¤

15. Don't just summon, act as well

16. >>>> FG can summon, why didn't they act before they were being killed? nothing can bring back the dead. <<<

17. I also want to urge us all to flee from crime.. there are actually so many things you can do other than indulging in drugs and the likes. 1 thess 5:17. @Bishop_Dammy

18. Phew! Even with pleas from the presidency and the National assembly,they still went ahead with the execution.
    *tries searching Giant of Africa on google*

19. Nigerians should behave themselves when they are in anoda man's land
    Especially those Asian countries

20. Pls lindodo DAT number is no more connecting....pls do sumfin Nah.

21. FG is working.....Goodone.

22. FG is working.....Goodone.

23. Mistaken for a Malawian!.... Really sad

24. Campaign after election, medicine after death.

25. Expell Indonesia ambassador and her people, they should leave and all black people in Indonesia should leave as well sick people

26. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Medicine after death.... nonsense...... RIP..

27. so this is how they lost their lives, so sad

28. They got wat they wanted from trafficking drugs. They want to make it the fast way.

Hard work pays!

29. I said this yesterday! Well its medicine after that ...useless!

30. It makes no sense. Why didn't u protest b4 d killing? Dey might 4give nd imprison him only. Water dun pass gari

31. UNA DEY SUMMON DEM AS IF THEY SENT UR COUNTRY PPLE TO GO CARRY DRUGS! HISS

32. May their souls rest in peace , Amen
    I really feel for their family members left behind .
    Now, for the protest,una no sorry. No be same body wey no fit bring back our girls we dey talk so !
    I hope they asked God for his forgiveness and made peace before dying

33. MEDICINE AFTER DEATH, RIGHT?

34. Even though I don't support the drug trafficking, I wonder why they even got into it knowing the VERY stringent laws Indonesia have... may their souls rest in peace.

35. Why summon them now the deed is done? Since 2004 they kept quiet and did nothing. Now they will soon "set up a committee to start investigating". A country that won't take its citizens as priority, why will other countries do?

36. Seen. RIP to them & may God console their families

37. And protesting will do what.? Weren't they aware before the execution?? Naija govt is so messed up. And we wonder why oyinbo said we are not important

1. Did u read the story b4 commenting? Stupid comment!!!

38. May their souls rest in peace. Amen

39. When are you (FG) going to do something about those mistakenly and intentionally killed in Nigeria?

40. Na now morning reach 4 our FG all bcos of election, one of d men was convicted some 11years ago, wot did our leaders do back den? Linda take note!

41. mtchewww! medicine after death! this our government though!

42. Thank God the govt is showing concern

43. Thank God the govt is showing concern

44. Odikwa egwu o let them rip na, my hrarth weep for muna obikwu.

45. They are already Dead. This is Medicine after Death! www.ikeani.blogspot.com

46. Thanks for their advice
    --------------LIB prince--------------
    --------------LIB prince-------------
    --------------LIB prince--------------

47. Hmmmm, so what will happen na, the two dead people will come back? Abeg eee... Nigeria my country... Hey.. God go help us

Watch and pray for the evil days are here

48. THE INDONESIAN GOVENMENT STATED THIS CLEARLY - DONT DO DRUG TRAFFICKING. IF YOU DO. THE PENALTY IS DEATH. I'M SORRY TO SAY THIS. THATS THE LAW THERE. THEY WON'T CHANGE IT. BCOS SOMEONE ALL IN THE NAME OF MAKING QUICK MONEY RISK THEIR LIVES

49. FG should get them packing...send their ass back to Indonesia. Koko Widodo hot no right in whatever form to take life.

50. Eeemmm am sorry fg... but shouldnt this be done before the execution? correct me if am wrong, but this FG is filled with illiterate, greedy, selfish and unprofessional. most of all they are an embodiment of what the human race does not stand for.

51. Nawa o. Some people will not just desist from bad habit which endanger their lives. But indonesia self wicked small, why did they refuse the clemency the FG pleaded for? Is it hate of racism?

52. such carelessness on the part of our Govt.

53. Heartbreaking! My condolence

54. Na wa o... we dey kill ourselves for here, them dey kill us for there... Nigerian live worth less dan a kobo... Lord, how did we get to dis?

55. Plea ke.. No fucking country got respect for Nigeria anymore. GEJ don disgrace us finish. make Feb 14 do come.. Buahri ALL THE WAY.. #TeamAPC

56. Medicine after death.. Rubbish.

57. Linda, in your magnanimous heart, can we stage a kind of seminar in all igbo markets in lagos and outside, highlighting the dangers in going to malasia, because 99.9% of the people executed are all igbos. I tell them there is no decent job in malasia,but my illiterate brothers wont listen, all they think about is the cash they most often end up not making

58. Sorry for them, after all this paper work every thing will regularize

59. some Nigerians believe that NO DRUG TRAFFICKING NO SURVIVE.

60. Gerenu Akiko uwa...
    ...Mama J...

61. Let's me real here, drug laws in that country weren't stipulated last week. The punishment for drug trafficking on that end is DEATH. If you therefore choose to smuggle drugs in such a country, execution is a very REAL occupational hazard you could face.

62. Yeye people, after the guy had be killed. Politics

63. What a pity,c how dey ended their lives all in a hurry to make it big,may God have mercy on their souls

64. Useless country with a Very high dumb leaders. Is't now that they will act? when he has been killed already. GEJ most go. Call back the nigerian ambassador to that shity country. like netherlands and brazil has done. #EndTimeTinz

65. I've read in a news or heard where Nigeria Government execute a foreigner... I want to believe Nigeria as a country is not respected outside and its such a pity, because is the average people that suffers it!

66. THATS ALL THEY WOULD DO' REGISTER OUR PROTEST'...FINISH.

BUT WAIT O... PERSON CARRY COCAINE...IS THIS OFFENCE GREATER THAN THE PERSON WHO KILLS NI?.

AM CONFUSED

67. The Igbo nation should call their kinsmen to order. why do they continually tarnish the image of this country?

Is the hard times only in their domain?
    Such a materialistic lot.

68. Hmmmmmmm,

What differences will dis mak???

69. SUMMONED INDONESIA AMBASSADOR INDEED! WHERE WAS THE FED GOVT B4 THE EXECUTION? BUSY CAMPAIGNING, SORRY OO FAMILY MEMBERS FOR UR LOST AND PLS ADVISE UR FAMILY RIGHT, TO AVOID DRUG
    TRAFFICKING.

70. SUMMONED INDONESIA AMBASSADOR INDEED! WHERE WAS THE FED GOVT B4 THE EXECUTION? BUSY CAMPAIGNING, SORRY OO FAMILY MEMBERS FOR UR LOST AND PLS ADVISE UR FAMILY RIGHT, TO AVOID DRUG
    TRAFFICKING.

71. registering protest to her Ambassador isn't enough..retaliatory measures should equally be taken against Indonesians and their business interests. This should show them that we seriously uphold of citizens and they should never be taken for granted

72. 9ja....We have a very long way to go

73. The same drugs they smuggled into this countries too has killed thousands of people.let them feel the medicine they serve to others too.inbtw may their souls rest in peace

74. Surprised the govt bothered to comment considering there hasn't been any outrage over the 2000 killed in Baga. Just saying

75. So where were they. How persistent was the pleas for clemency? well the men r dead and may their souls rest in peace.

76. Medicine after death! wururu Federal Government. Indonesian no go give una money o! Corruption no dey there o. Unhun.

77. Mtch..medicine after death literally

78. Its good to see the Federal government step in. I still dont think death by firing squad is the right punishment for this offence

79. RIp phantom soldiers, but u guys self,death sentence, some nigerians get mind o,anyway linda when are meeting up for lunch?.....cant wait

80. Good and our government should look into the case of that guy too who was beaten by the Malaysia police I believe yo'all watch the video posted by Linda

#$$$$VDB*#$$$$$$#332A15D3#

81. So, FG is dramatizing because 2ppl were killed for trafficking in a country that is HIGHLY intolerant of drugs and OPENLY states their penalty. But, over 2000 people have been slaughtered in your own backyard just for being alive and you're still debating numbers...seriously??

82. Whats wrong with 1+1=2?

You smuggle + get caught = you die

simple mathematics...

Clemency so more drug traffickers join da party? LMFAO! F