Oritsejafor drags Fashola to court over plans to demolish his Lagos church | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 9 December 2014

Oritsejafor drags Fashola to court over plans to demolish his Lagos church

The President of the Christian Association of Nigeria, Pastor Ayo Oritsejafor, has instituted a law suit against Lagos state Governor, Babatunde Fashola over the state government's plan to demolish the Lagos branch of his church, Word of Life Bible Church, situated on Plot 21E, Abdulrahman Okene Close, off Ligali Ayorinde Street Victoria Island Annex. 

In the suit filed before Justice Deborah Oluwayemi of a Lagos High Court, Tafawa Balewa Square, Pastor Ayo and the Incorporated Trustees of his church asked the court for an order of interlocutory injunction, restraining the state government from demolishing, destroying, dispossessing or forcibly ejecting the church from the property. 

According to court papers obtained by The Nation, Pastor Ayo alleged that after applying for a building plan approval from the state government and it was not forth coming within the regular period, he made due enquires personally by writing several letters and holding meetings with the former and present governors, Bola Tinubu and Fashola respectively but his efforts yielded no results. 

He stated in the court papers that in March 2013, he received a letter from the state government, directing him and his church board to submit some certain documents to facilitate the process of the approval of the building plan which him and his board complied with. He said while him and his church board was still awaiting the building plan approval in order to continue with their church building, they suddenly discovered that the state government had pasted a certain contravention notice dated January 20 on its fence.

He prayed the court to halt any planned action by the state government to demolish or eject them from their property. 

Joined as co-defendants in the suit ‎are the Lagos state Attorney General, Ministry of Physical Planning and Urban Development, Lagos state Building Control Agency, Lagos State Physical Planning permit Authority and Lagos State Task force on Environmental Sanitation.

139 comments:

1. Lily of life! Hope say I dey try?

2. Dem never demolish your own house? Wait na small time remain..

3. Court matter witht Govt hard oooooo.........

2. Replies
    1. Next?????? ..Ijeoma iwe na ewekwa gi???

3. Tug of war. This would be settled amicably soon.

1. Imagine the law-breaking church. They stylishly excluded the part where they started building the business center (sorry, church) without approval. They're definitely going to lose this one. This is not Otuoke or Abuja.

4. Seen. Chigozielahot@gmail.com

1. Not fair

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

5. chai. eeziboyy@yahoo.com

6. Hmm Lol. Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

7. Hmm Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

8. Touch not my anointed. Obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

9. the man no want make fashola demolishe him ministry na...what do you expect

10. Hmm Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

11. Fashola u no try at all
    richardemekagbor@gmail.com

12. Your excuse isn't sound enough

13. Ghen ghen!

14. OK ooo. .
    ™THAT EDOBOY.COM~

15. Mk nobody touch my fashola oooo

16. Diaiz God ooo
    israel.dairo@gmail.com

17. The name of the church reach make dem demolish am..
    ™THAT EDOBOY.COM~

18. I am sure Oga Ebele will not let it happen.daviddvnt130@gmail.com

19. isnt that what they shld settle amicably

20. Touch not my anointed and do my prophets no harm, I think some pastors don't deserve that saying. NEXT PLEASE««QUEENMAYA»REPORTING LIVE»

21. ok let the drama unfold

(twitter_ig)

22. na their problem but Fashola is a good man. but Linda like what is happening i cant even read my book just holding my laptop like a baby waiting for ur post since morning this is crazyOOOo all my room mate are all busy watching and commenting on ur blog. one of us must win oooooo, non has taken her bath today lol, Linda u causing big tension!

1. When u n ur girls are busy typing story,a sharp girl is getting first post with just a few words..don't abandone good words anyways,25k dun worth it does it?

23. na wa o...pedrotoki80@yahoo.com

24. na their problem but Fashola is a good man. but Linda like what is happening i cant even read my book just holding my laptop like a baby waiting for ur post since morning this is crazyOOOo all my room mate are all busy watching and commenting on ur blog. one of us must win oooooo, non has taken her bath today lol, Linda u causing big tension! njkalu@yahoo.com

1. Since mornin wen pple don already win..ona stil dey wait..hahahazz
      U sure say na lib u dey read??

25. Wahala dey...heartmabel@yahoo.co.uk

26. wahal dey, chyokon

27. Na dem dem joor, make them leave that man alone

28. Apc nd pdp drama.. cos it seems pst ayo is on gej side

29. Fashola is playing with fire

30. wahala dey! Heartmabel@yahoo.co.uk

31. Political nd religious drama

32. Wen two elephant fight it d grass beneath dem dan suffers...

33. why will CAN president do that

1. Na wa oo...so mk dem demolish e church abii..

34. Na wa oooo. Linda abeg I need money oo

35. Demolition reach VI? Presido mk u try relocate ur people

36. Hope the right and proper thing ll done from both parties so that it can be resolved amicably.

37. As time dey run out dem wan acquire the land . Name waaaaa.

38. nawa for dem...nonsoekeq@yahoo.com

39. nexttttt,,,gts_ltd@yahoo.com

40. Waoo...they should please handle this issue wisely

41. Talk of the person that knows his right as a citizen. Not everything the government is doing are right

42. Seen...maduekechinenye@yahoo.co.uk

43. linda ikeji's boo9 December 2014 at 14:47

hmmmmmmmmm.oga o

44. Fashola...ehhhh ehhhh ehhhh...nor bring ur lagos zagbu zagbu near WLBC oooooo....

45. Beleive it or not, Muslims always have hiden hatred for Christians. They may be laughing with u, but they don't like u. Thatz why lots of people re against muslim/muslim presidential candidates. God dey shaa

46. They should settle this amicably.

47. Fashola you are leaving office soon so why all this?

48. They should first demolish the ones that crumbled and killed several peopel.lolz

49. I think the Pastor has a case here

50. What Fashola and Tinubu are up to is the propagation of the Islamic agenda which has already failed since it has come to the open.

51. wow that's the house of God....#this money no easy to get ooo linda you don dey momo us now abi obisunny1@gmail.com

52. But y.I hope it's not political beef oo.
    hadyzat3@gmail.com

53. Its well.lauretb@yahoo.com

54. Lol, dis one go heavy o, micheal4rig@gmail.com

55. So Fashola has not stopped demolishing?!

56. Fashola should think how does the land aquired originally? If the land is aquired through direct Government Fashola has no right to demolished the church but if it's illegal ly aquired the church should soffer for their negligence Dayo Adetunji

57. Islamic agenda of Fashola and Tinubu has failed

58. Rubbish news.... Abeg mak dem go rest

59. Abeg they should look into the matter very well oh.

60. The poverty in Nigeria is so strange
    It keeps making rich people to become richer
    At the expense of the poor Masses
    See how people are pouring comments

61. Governor Fashola must have a reason to do that...

62. Mke una leave papa church oo. Obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

63. The church is becoming more controversial by the day...we'll see how this plays out.

64. ministry of money

65. If it is wrongly situated, go ahead and demolish

66. The building isn't approved an shld be demolished

67. Just watching ndibaby33@yahoo.com

68. But why should they build on the land when it's yet to be approved? That's a ten million dollar question.

69. Let due process follow no one is above the Law!

70. Let due process follow no one is above the Law!

71. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Their business....

72. That' s for being a friend of GEJ, sorry, PDP.i no fit laugh abeg!

73. I just don't find it funny a a man of God being in the news all the time. He is a spiritual man for God's sake, and he should follow suit and not doing it worldly all the time. If Fashola decided to fight against God, he will surely see God's hands on his neck. Xxxxx Ndubuaku

74. fashola touch not....you wan destroy God house

75. Court matter can never be hard wit God.

Yemisi Z10 says so

76. Fashola and court case...he shld calm down ooo

77. it is really sad that fashola and tinubu have turned lagos into their personal kingdom. why are they demolishing only churches and not mosques?

78. let the church be demolished if it is not in master plan of lagos state. justice should prevail. no matter of influencial.

mjabdulk@gmail.com

79. This is serious.

80. This is serious.