Obasanjo launches his autobiography, says late Yar'Adua lied to him about his health | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 9 December 2014

Obasanjo launches his autobiography, says late Yar'Adua lied to him about his health

Former President Olusegun Obasanjo launched his controversial autobiography 'My Watch' at the Lagos Country club Ikeja, Lagos today Dec. 9th. Guest at the event included former VC of the University of Lagos, Prof. Ibidapo Obe and former Minister of Education, Oby Ezekwesili.

According to reports, one of the chapters of the book titled "To be or not to be, Jonathan" Obasanjo said he was deceived by late President Umaru Yar'Adua about his health status before facilitating his emergence as the PDP flag bearer in 2007. 

In the book, Obasanjo was quoted to have said;
"As can be expected, I was heavily involved in the transition and exit process that saw me leaving office for my successor, Umaru Yar’Adua, as recounted in Chapter Thirty-seven, the ninth chapter of the second volume of this book. The unprepared and unplanned transition from Yar’Adua to Jonathan was a more difficult exercise in some respects. One reason was the ‘cloak and dagger’ manner in which Yar’Adua’s illness was handled. The illness of a President cannot be regarded as private. His health has implications for the security and wellbeing of the nation. For the president and those around him to have attempted strenuously to keep the fact of the severity of his illness from public smacks of ignorance of the enormity of what the job entails and the level of provinciality of their understanding, attitude, and approach. I remember that in 1978 or 1979 Chief Awolowo visited me while I was military head of state and shared with me how he would always stay at home to attend to the work at hand and only make a private visit to the UK once a year for health reasons if he became president of Nigeria. I made it clear to the chief that once he became president of Nigeria, he could have no private visit to anywhere as such. Wherever he would be, he would be on duty, and the totality of his life would be public. I jokingly added that the only privacy he might lay claim to would be when he was at home with Mama Chief H.I.D., and that even then his security staff would be on twenty-four-hour duty."
The launch of the three volume book was stopped by a court injunction secured by a former friend of Obasanjo, Prince Buruji Kashamuon on Friday December 5th but lawyers to Chief Obasanjo advised him to go ahead with the launch. 

Credit: The Cable/Sahara Reporters

207 comments:

1. See, you too mumu, this is not the post Linda will be selecting from... Today winners have already been selected until tomorrow and there is a particular post she selects from.... U just dey mumu yourself all over the posts.. not allowing people who wanna make sensible comments to comment... If u need money make u go join maheeda... Ass

2. No dear, notin's comin... dis is nt were ure supposd to comment first inorder to win.... its on d "give away" post... sowi for burstin ur bubbles fine girl

3. Can you be less obvious?

2. Replies
    1. Gud for him, he don chop belle full he still nor wan rest

2. I hope he doznt only reveal the truth about others but also about himself and the decisions he's made since he became relevant in our national discourse.

Nonso Okoh via SAMSUNG GALAXY SMART PHONE.

3. Don't say illl about the dead Mr man

4. Wow lied about him? Wow nuradeeeen@gmail.com

5. am the first again...$100k betting... anyone?

6. All of them lies a lot now..so Yar'dua's own is no case...its part of who all d politicians are

7. Celebrityoye@gmail.com

8. hummm....lets watch and see drama unfolds....libcash4seun@gmail.com

9. im definitely going to get my self a copy, need toread it

10. Eeya. Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

11. May Yar'adua's soul continue 2 rest in peace..dts all I av 2 say.................. NJ

12. Na him know, why didn't he do his home work b4 picking him?

13. Story story!!!I hope i get this 20k all my xpens will be cover...Next please #we dey chase money for Linda blog no be small something obisunny1@gmail.com#

14. Obj, Obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

15. Eeya. Boobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

16. I JUST WANT TO COMMENT.. LOL... omobar.blogspot.com

17. Breeze go blow, fowl nyash go open.

18. Yar'Adua is not alive to debunk this. We love that man.He would have been the best president ever.

19. Replies
    1. How are we to verify the contents of this book, Mr Olusegun? Cos as far as am concerned, u can't air ur own dirty laundry. You wil only twist the truth wen it suits you. Good to kno u can write quite well though, that's if u truly wrote all that

20. Am d 1st ooohhh

21. wow ...... reclusive.kingpin@gmail.com

22. I like OBJ. He's quite frank.

Hadyzat3@gmail. com

23. Is he doing any xmas give away price?? Looolz. Kidding.... Good for him sha

Mejidaniels@gmail.com (•͡.̮ •͡ )

24. Abeg go and rest obasanjo...no truth in politics, dats y I don't like it

25. Janeosuetha@gmail.com9 December 2014 at 14:48

Lol. OBJ of life.

26. Who doesn't tell lies? Chief liar himself.....

27. I would love to read the book, guilty conscience is gradually turning Baba to a writer.
    He had the opportunity of turning the fortune of our country around but due to selfish reasons he brought us to where we are now.

28. Eeya, bt I still like late yaradua pas oga GEJ.Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

29. Ok....obj sef make him try

Shaniquapatty@gmail.com

30. >>>> its a little too late now OBJ

31. This comment has been removed by the author.

32. He should please park well, wether yar -adua lied to him or not he shouldn't have forced him on us, then wouldn't have been in this mess with ebele jonathan. He wanted to play God and it back fired.

33. tobytelove@gmail.com Linda my 25k oo I don't trust u pple until I see I have spent over 2k 2day to be commenting hmm.

34. This comment has been removed by the author.

35. Uaradua regime better pass oga GEJ. Regime. Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

36. Make una leave d man to rest in peace abeg.
    Inem.whyte@gmail.com

37. We don't want wahala ooo after the book launching
    Ugochi4luv25@yahoo.com

38. tobytelove@gmail.com Linda my 25k oo I don't trust u pple until I see I have spent over 2k 2day to be commenting hmm.

39. Yipeee! I'm no longer anon!! Finally got an ID!! How gud it feels. Linlin, pls post, lemme see my comment.

40. No privacy, but they were still able to hide d illness for long.

41. Thought there was a court injunction restraining him from publishing the said autobiography.

42. Political lies that's all I can read. »»QUEENMAYA»REPORTING LIVE»»

43. Nice1...heartmabel@yahoo.co.uk

44. Dats serious, ok o we have heard.

45. I believe Yar'a dua's health is obvious to evryone dat d guy is. Not okkie. So he shld stop d deceit act abeg

46. This old man (OBJ) should go take a back sit joor.
    He's just looking for every avenue to be relevant

47. Yaradua regime better pass, GEJ. Regime. Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

48. lolajedun@yahoo.com. obj please let bygone be bygone.

49. Lol... This my old man sef!!

50. Dis man should just rest. Naija need fresh blood!

51. this obasanjo is stuborn and a mad ex leader. I thought the law court warned him not to launch the autobiography three days back. I dislike all the mere stand who thinks that they are god. Engr Emy

52. lol politrickians... eeziboyy@yahoo.com

53. I would like to read the book

54. Nawaooo. mikefirstofall@yahoo.com

55. Seen

Petarken@gmail.com

56. I heard his book is a great piece...good for him.

Please click on my name

57. Baba your turn is coming. Writing my own book.

Nick

58. Have not read it, but heard from classic FM that's it interesting.

1. Yeah. Heard about the book too. I hope it would be made available to the masses

59. linda ikeji's boo9 December 2014 at 14:53

God sees all

60. Obj ... I heard that court stopped him from launching the book, how come he launched it

61. I heard he beefed jonathan in It...strong shade

62. Cool
    Oya for people wey go read...it's out.!

63. wow autobiography dats nice to hear

64. Baba na Baba, if not obasanjo, Nigeria go still dey backward

65. lol this politicians can do anything. njkalu@yahoo.com

66. The man is dead now so i don't care.

67. i love FMR president obasanjo. very fearless.

68. Can't wait to have one for myself

69. OBJ na who we go ask. micheal4rig@gmail.com

70. He never knew that yaraduA was sick,i hail u OBJ

ORACLE SAYS SO

71. I'm sure the books will have some information we have been searching about Nigeria. Our question however will be... 'How true they are'.

72. i will love to read this book

73. when this guy speaks, I wanna believe him but I find myself doubting him!

74. I will like to have one

75. Eeya. Like obj sha. classyherbie@gmail.com

76. A must read. Juliette (slimisbold@yahoo.com);

77. I hear you

richardemekagbor@gmail.com

78. Obj may u leave long an make sure u deliver Nigeria from this politician that are not sincere

79. Nice 1......pedrotoki80@yahoo.com

80. Nuradeeeen@gmail.com.... OBJ

81. Obasanjo is a distasteful character...
    A man full of himself...
    All his grandstanding is for one objective: bring down Jonathan and determine his successor..
    Invariably OBJ seeks to establish himself as Nigeria's ultimate godfather...
    Unfortunately he's a spent force...
    Stupid ass of a book!!!!

82. Hope he wrote abt pple he secretly killed..... Fake auto

83. obasanjo and his wahala. mtchewww

84. Baba please stick to ur poultry business. Writing books is not ur calling.
    ™THAT EDOBOY.COM~

85. Is a pity the man can't defend himself.

86. Blatant disregard to the rule of law.
    Dis OBF sef oo?
    Isorai, kontinu
    #diarisgod o

87. I love to read this book, must really entail things that are revealing about this country.

88. l will buy it.excel4sure@gmail.com

89. Hmmmmm,pple too dey lie abt their health

90. Naija,ther's nofyn we will nt hear

91. why now. This man is up to something bad ooo.

92. Mr president, l will buy your book.l hope its for free cos you don't need the money.vennvee@gmail.com

93. Who will he sell those to? I guess his former crooks and allies. Emmanuelthomas219@gmail.com

94. i grt u OBJ

harrispatrick10@yahoo.com

95. Make I hear say "baba" no know say Yar'dua sick. Him be don dey sick since him be Governor of Katsina.

96. lool..ahaa olaolu1111@yahoo.com

97. May the soul of a gentle & humble president rest in peace

98. i cannot really believe any politician again,cos after this bruhaha u will still see them together walking hands in hands

99. hmmm.....Gold help us. tubbytracy@yahoo.com

100. IS THAT BOOK FREE? BY THE WAY EVEN IF IT IS FREE, WHO GET TYME TO THE EPISTLE? LINDA JUST BE GIVING IT TO US BIT BY BIT LET US SEE IF WE CAN READ AT LEAST ONE CHAPTER IN TWO MONTHS!

101. please nobody should say ill about a dead man else amadioha go find you come house lol. more on http://exlinklodge.blogspot.com/

102. Obj U aint saying the truth

103. I'm going 2 get my copy asap. The book must be very interesting btw Linda post the winners na make person rest small

104. Obj alwayz wanna be relevant all the time.Take a back seat jare

105. eyah good for him Mr preso....one love sir

106. how much is the book self? someone help me out! oolaotan2@gmail.com

107. Next....paul.sid845@gmail.com

108. Liar lauretb@yahoo.com

109. None of my business. Na money I dy find. (Kellynguru@yahoo.com)

110. None of my business. Na money I dy find. (Kellynguru@yahoo.com)

111. OBJ is a very stubborn man who does not have respect for the rule of law and judiciary process. The court orderd him not to launch the book yet he went and did.This is the same person who speaks ill of GEJ yet cannot respect the court. SHAME, its a pity!

112. The leaders are getting richer while the masses are crying.... Na them sabi oo....

113. U don't speak ill about d dead

114. Ken - Atutuboyoyo-I of Ahia Land9 December 2014 at 16:48

So na "My Watch" OBJ call im tory.
    GEJ go call his own "My Shoes"
    #Talesbymoonlight thinz!

115. baba wan open cancaworm,oya ready to receive back o,all dis young politician no send old palle o.j don't take it personnal

116. medutenio@yahoo.com

117. OBJ n his endless stream of lies.

long hisss

118. @Bonario Nnag,is it only Obasanjo that has brought Nigeria to where it is now,though not in support of any politician ,they are all the same but Obj Baba is better than quiet a number of his colleagues

1. @Sade Odumuyiwa, they are all the same.

Baba is self acclaimed good leader

119. What this nation is passing through now is all baba's fault

120. Baba no dey rest. Want to start another war of words

121. Stupid people saying he stole but cannot prove anything. OBJ is the best President we have had so far in Nigeria. Will definitely purchase his book.

122. This book is a must read...a lot is abt to be revealed!...OBJ is becoming a torn in the flesh for many of his former friends.

123. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Baba don they enter the news anyhw this days i swear.....

124. arikeomobolanle@yahoo.com

125. Ghen ghen! awaiting counter allegations and responses. Oya Omkri, Abati, Okupe.......get to work. Baba must not go free with this one. lol

126. Baba tried wit d book sha...R.I.P yar adua..

127. Obasanjo,obasanjo,obasanjo written again after written letters now is books baba pls take a leave have some rest pls.

128. Linda, dbanj new song na dope.feeling d nigga u need to talk about dis since dbanj na ur guy.shame to haters

129. Let's forget abt d past and move forward..biko

130. Baba speaks. Mega4dave@gmail.com

131. GO TO HELL OBJ ,STUPID IDIOT

132. Man wen get mouth.

#no be say shoot bed mama fly, come dey find pikin later.

Tushizzy4real@gmail.com

133. Just see nigerian govt. Court gives order and dey dont observe it.....OBJ that said yar`adua lied abt his health is just trying to cover up abt his atrocities