Nigerian becomes first black woman to graduate with a first class degree from the University of Reading UK | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 15 December 2014

Nigerian becomes first black woman to graduate with a first class degree from the University of Reading UK

Anita Osariemen Omonuwa from Edo-state has achieved a feat that has never been attained in the 122 years of existence of UK institution, University of Reading. She graduated with a First Class degree in Law from the university which is rated among the top 1% in the world.

She was among the students who got the “Chancellors Award” by the Chancellor of the University, Sir John Madejski, who happens to be the founder of AutoTrader and Chairman of Reading Football Club. 

She actually graduated from Reading in 2012 but just finished from the Nigerian Law School.

She graduated from the Nigerian Law School last month with a first class again and has also emerged as the very first Nigerian to graduate in the Bar final examinations from overseas with a First Class, Bachelor of Laws degree ever since the Nigerian Law school was established 51 years ago.

Anita is actually learning from her father, Mr. Omoruyi Augustine Omonuwa, OFR who is a Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN). 

Other prizes that Anita Omonuwa has won include the Clarks Legal Prize for best performance in Part 2; Equity and Trust, presented by David Rintoul; the Managing Partner, Keith Wright Memorial Prize for best overall performance in Part 2; the Shoosmiths Prize for best overall performance in Part 2; and the Boinime Jackson Lott Foundation Prize. 

390 comments:

1. we are good ...still pray fot nigeria

2. Nice n encouraging okesimaa@gmail.com

3. This is awesome .... proudly Nigerian ..thumbs up well_cherished@yahoo.com

4. wow! thats great! congrats to her...

#Godblessnigeria

5. wow this is amazing!
    dapofadahunsi@yahoo.com

6. Are you kidding me? fogeygee@gmail.com Wow!

7. Beauty and Brain... you are Blessed, congrats

8. Nice. Ikmoney11@gmail.com

9. Ikmoney11@gmail.com

10. Good 4 her...all I need nw us Linda ikeji's blackberry passport. plss ohh Linda av mercy

11. Nigerians abroad doing us proud!

12. Incredible. Ikmoney11@gmail.com

13. Yayyyy congrat..rosepowell0@gmail.com

14. 11th to comment. Cool. Ikmoney11@gmail.com

15. wow so great and beautiful woman

16. Congrat to u anita nwanyi oma for making a weaker nigeria proud thank @freebornzina@gmail.com

17. Congrat to u anita nwanyi oma for making a weaker nigeria proud thank @freebornzina@gmail.com

18. Congrat to u anita nwanyi oma for making a weaker nigeria proud thank @freebornzina@gmail.com

19. Congrat to u anita nwanyi oma for making a weaker nigeria proud thank @freebornzina@gmail.com

20. Beauty and Brains. Congrats.

21. And she's sassy too. Not so book wormish

22. beauty and the brain...oluwalobunmi

23. Baby oku. obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

24. But frst kee. Wen we gat anof wey don Graduate. Like me

Remsco2sure@gmail.com

25. Wow. Congratulations to her. Beauty,style n brain.

26. Nawao..naija dey try sha ooo..she'll be wanted by many firms..if u see her u go think say na runs girl not knowing she brain itself

27. Congrats to her. Congrats to Naija

28. Wow, she's gud. So hapi 4 her. Congrats

29. Wow. Congrats to her! Omowunmisonoiki@yahoo.com

30. Congrats babes,am proud of u

31. Lovely girl with good brains on top sey she be Nigerian. Lalalalalalalal. We no dey carry last joor. Thank U Jesus.

32. She's nt lukin Bad sha. 9ja self don upgrade for UK oh.

Remsco2sure@gmail.com

33. WHAOOOOOOO.SO PROUD OF HER.MAY SHE CONTINUE IN THESAME LIGHT IN JESUS NAME...AKA...AMEN

34. This is amazing. Congrats to her

35. Wow!!!!! Congratulations....... Happy 4 u

36. Beauty and brain, congratulations

37. She won't have achieved dis if she schooled in dis Nigeria!! From jamb,to post jamb,to lecturers threatening and boldly telling u dey will fail uu!! Nigeria is fuvked up!! Happy for u babe!! Nice1

38. Wowww, beauty wit brain. Congratz 2 her

39. 1st class?? kudos to her she has really done a great work*
    -------LIB prince--------

40. Wow!!!!! Congratulations....... Happy 4 u

41. whoa! beauty n brains.

42. Congrat 2ha. Linda Tayo z bk 2 naija,no update 4hm. Na wa oh. Stil waitng 2c. Hrd int'l ws filld up wit Tayo fans dt kam 2 welcm hm

43. Awesome and dats wat call Beauty with Brain

44. Wow! Beauty and brain!

45. This girl has given me ginger God help me in this lawskl Amen

46. Wow! This is amazing. No excuses mehn...cos Nigerians are actually doing it. Big ups!

47. Wow, talk about beauty and brain...shes gorgeous. wish her best of luck.

48. Omo see beauty with brains. This is impressive.

49. Beauty and brain. Congrats baby girl.

50. Abeg lemme famz small.. hehe she attends my church St. Joseph catholic church, Benin City.... real ajebutter chic. Congrats Osariemen Omonuwa I knw ur mum will be super proud of u

51. So I hope we can all see that the manner in which you choose to dress up isn't what determines whether you are a good or bad child.
    well done girlie.

52. well done

ashawo no be work

53. Beauty with brain, congrats girl

54. Grants dear.

55. Kudos girl, Edo born rocking it.

56. Awesome. Kudos to her, representing 9ja positively

57. Wow......im proud of her

58. Beauty with brainssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

59. Congrats to her, I guess the second pic was her best way of motivating others.

60. Beauty and brains,proud of you girl,congrats

61. All these academic achievements and she is this pretty? Double congrats!

62. This is the kind of people that should be respected in the society, not those that keep showing us their bathroom and bedroom pix, showing us their fake N2m hand bang (linda sweetheart is nt among oo, lol, cos u re a philantropist, and should be respected for that). Honestly, I love intelligent women with passion, no matter how they look, I always have crush on them. "Knowledge is power"

63. I must say this good

64. Just hope Nigerian Government will appreciate her skills and talent and honour her for breaking the record. «QUEENMAYA«REPORTING LIVE«

65. Congratz to her.....

66. This is wat I call beauty n brain!! Well done girl,u did us proud

67. Wow! So glad some Nigerians in the diaspora know how to keep their heads up. Congrats girl. Your family and friends must be really proud of you.

68. Nice one... Happy for her.... she is making us proud

69. I remove cap for her jor.

70. Congrats to her. That outfit is NOT PROFESSIONAL!! Not good for her image.

71. Congrats genius! People like you are very few in the world. I pray we make the best use of this your gift to benefit mankind in general.

72. Wow, true definition of beauty and brain!

73. This is amazing well done .

74. Congrats Anita,
    Like father like daughter
    You 're brain and !beauty combined.
    You 've made Nigeria Proud !

75. Wonderful
    Diamondberry027@gmail.com

76. The positive side of Nigerians keeps unfolding. I'm happy for her ,she's made her country proud. Oya presidency,.mk u recognize and appreciate this young lady o, nor b only to waste money for irrelevant tins. P4dworld@gmail.com

77. Beautiful and brainy....you go girl! Make naija proud.

78. Beauty and brains....and in law tooo! Congrats girl

79. Tell dis to oda girls outside dah ar on d streets ooo

80. Beauty and brains! Who says being smart has to be boring! Women are taking over!!!

81. Great achievement. God bless your brain dear!

82. Congrats to her. But she isn't the first Nigerian woman to graduate with a first class degree from University of Reading. I went to Reading and we had two Nigerian ladies in my set who graduated with First class degrees.

83. Beauty with brain
    Ur papa nor waste money for ur head at all.

84. Ok noted nd congrats 2 her..... Good evening Lindway, please oh I was left out last year on LIB. Giveaway, people like Bonario NNAGS VIA NOKIA 3310, now NOKIA LUMIA, and Onyx Godwin, and the rest of LIB here, them alloy chikezie, Bishop Dammy, shina shine, and some of them are new here, the prince was also left out because he was not longer commenting here, so I don't want to be left out dis year oh, I was among the people who thank u for the house u build for ur parents last year, I was using Swagg isimemen to comment here, it was latter I start using google accnt some months ago to comment here, to u to no that I have been ur follower for 2 years and half now. But if am short-listed among LIB this year again, I won't be happy with u @all. Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

85. Beauty and brains

86. Congrats!!dis is good news.

87. Ok noted nd congrats 2 her.... Good evening Lindway, please oh I was left out last year on LIB. Giveaway, people like Bonario NNAGS VIA NOKIA 3310, now NOKIA LUMIA, and Onyx Godwin, and the rest of LIB here, them alloy chikezie, Bishop Dammy, shina shine, and some of them are new here, the prince was also left out because he was not longer commenting here, so I don't want to be left out dis year oh, I was among the people who thank u for the house u build for ur parents last year, I was using Swagg isimemen to comment here, it was latter I start using google accnt some months ago to comment here, to u to no that I have been ur follower for 2 years and half now. But if am short-listed among LIB this year again, I won't be happy with u @all. Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

88. Grt combo 'brains and beauty'...

89. big congrats to her..
    This kind of success inspires me.

90. Cnn no go carry this news congrats girl U b real ur papa pikin

91. This type of story from Nigeria warms the heart! Thanks dear!

92. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Linda where is her number bcos i think i have found my future wife......

93. This type of story from Nigeria warms the heart! Thanks dear!

94. Congrats gal for making Blacks proud & Nigeria in particular, your family will be so proud to u.

95. Wow big congrats to her..e no easy ojare..I wish I knw book like dis sha..

96. wow!!! making us proud... that's the spirit.

97. Na only you waka come? Beauty + brains

98. Wow! This is what i call pretty. Beauty and brains in one. Congrats to her. Her brain dey hot and she studies too.

99. Wow congratulations to her beauty with brains

100. Nice one. Pls let me park well with my 2:1 from Nig law school and 2:2 from Greenwich...no time .hehehe

101. Wow congrats to her she deserves it

102. Ingenuity!
    She's beautiful, smart and humble... Yes humble
    If she ain't humble, she's not gonna make it again here in Nigeria.

Congrats chick!

BRYTE TABLET FROM KONGA.COM

103. Congrats babe, its not easy.

104. Ok. Seen her biography. Congrtz!

105. Wow! Congrats to her.
    ====
    A certain man found his wife with another man in his bedroom. Instead of shouting or beating both of them, he just looked at them and went... READ THE STORY HERE.

106. Thank you for making ur family and the whole Nigeria proud....GOD bless u more....#Django

107. respect, see... people like this inspire me a lot, including you Linda Ikeji. I love Hardworking women with potentials. she's so pretty, congrats girl. chinekelauritta@yahoo.com

108. Excellence! Good she from my state. Congrats to her.

109. Beauty and brains. Wondaful combination

110. Beauty and brain. Nice. tessyuduehi@yahoo.com

111. This is the kind of news we want to hear, naija representing.

112. this product is a original well made product in Nigeria

113. Beauty with brains
    Megalurv@yahoo.com

114. Beauty with brains
    Megalurv@yahoo.com

115. Beauty and brain.. ride on baby girl

116. Beauty and brain,that is the best tin dat could ever hapn to a girl ,focus and determination ma world.

117. Wow!! Bravo!!! Making us proud, she's beauty and brains (although dressed like a masquerade) lol. Congrats young lady!! Congrats! Mac10...

118. Love ladies with brains. obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

119. Beauty and brains, congratulations I celebrate great women like you.

120. na wa o. beauty and brains.
    and she no gree for dressing sef.
    wahala dey for guys o!
    all in one package.

121. Eyah big congrats 2 her..Stellame31@yahoo.co.uk

122. That silly outfit she's wearing casts a lot of doubt but it's a foreign university so i'm assuming it's legit. congrats to her

123. Bonario u can now see we not only knw for flying....

124. She is indeed a brillant girl

125. Positive news. It's a good. Proudly Nigeria

126. Beauty and Brain!!

127. you go girl. am following your foot steps. so proud of you. Beauty with Brains.

128. you go girl. am following your foot steps. so proud of you. Beauty with Brains.

129. Iwe! U don't ve to look like a nerd to show u re intelligent. Good job bae!

130. Her parents will be proud! I love to see Nigeria in the news for the right reasons! Kudos to her!

131. God bless Anita, God Bless Edo State....

132. you go girl! beauty with brains. am following your footstep. congratulations.

133. 9jas got talents. Keep it up girl. We are d best in d world no matter d conditions

134. congratulations to her I always appreciate good things when I see one

135. UMUZE OCHUKO NEVILLE15 December 2014 at 22:40

CONGRATULATIONS TO HER.SHE MADE HER PARENTS PROUD AND NIGERIANS AS A WHOLE.

136. Bright gal.....

Anastacia says so **winkz**

137. Bold beautiful and brilliant! All Nigerans abroad his are d news we want †o continue hearing º°˚˚°ºooOO pls

Modupe

138. wow a very big congratulations to her . iaminat60@yahoo.com

139. Fyn gal with brains naija gals r makin waves

140. Congrats to her. wat a big achievement.

I'm out. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

141. wow! This is marvelous, go girl, you will soar beyond the sky. Congratulations. THE LORD IS MY STRENGTH

142. Ladies seems to be at law profession. Same here, a lady got all the awards in her faculty.

143. She went 2 reading 2 read..intelligent babe

144. Congrats dear, it run in ur family, tanks for making Nigeria pride @ Nwachukwu.kanayo@yahoo.com

145. Congrats dear, it run in ur family, tanks for making Nigeria pride @ Nwachukwu.kanayo@yahoo.com

146. Congrats dear, it run in ur family, tanks for making Nigeria pride @ Nwachukwu.kanayo@yahoo.com

147. Congrats dear, it run in ur family, tanks for making Nigeria pride @ Nwachukwu.kanayo@yahoo.com

148. Congrats dear, it run in ur family, tanks for making Nigeria pride @ Nwachukwu.kanayo@yahoo.com

149. Congrats dear, it run in ur family, tanks for making Nigeria pride @ Nwachukwu.kanayo@yahoo.com

150. Brains, beauty and style...whether she go sabi cook na another story. All the same she's a good package. I love her.

151. Beauty and brain.
    Congrats.

152. Awwwww nice to hear, keep it up dear. annebassey52@gmail.com

153. She has really done us proud, congrats to her it ain't easy to achieve that in another man's land. This is the dream of every parent to have a child who would do you proud.

154. Congrats!!!!!! Making us proud. Chithings@ hotmail.com

155. and d babe sexxxy n trendy join..CONGRATS DEAR!!!