'I suffered sexual abuse in high school & physical abuse in university – Lola Omotayo | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 17 December 2014

'I suffered sexual abuse in high school & physical abuse in university – Lola Omotayo

While addressing a group of young women at Kinabuti's Dare2Dream Master Class event which happened in Lagos recently, Peter Okoye's wife and mother of 2, Lola Omotayo revealed that she suffered sexual abuse by a priest when she was in secondary school and beaten black and blue by a boyfriend in the university. She said she never told anyone about the molestation because she didn't believe anyone would believe her
"I couldn’t tell anyone because everyone would blame me, so I carried on the guilt and bitterness with me for years. I was filled with hate and I became an angry person, I was rebellious, I didn’t want to listen to anybody…and because I wanted to be expelled from school to avoid seeing this person, I would do so many terrible things, everything around me was just so negative, I felt I wasn’t good enough."
‘I moved on to the university, met the love of my life and I’m like, okay this guy is cool, he loves me but he started to abuse me. I was beaten black and blue all the time, in front of friends, in public and at a point, I felt, you know what, I am not worthy enough, there is nothing about me that is nice, nobody loves me but I hid this from my family. I felt like a loser, so it was hard for me to focus. But one day, I woke up and said I am going to change my story and I dumped that person, focused on my education and decided to be serious and be something. I decided to get a job and go to school full time in America.’
She said she worked hard to make her own money so she could be independent and not have to rely on any man. She said being independent and making her own money helped her build her confidence and pushed to achieve more in life. She then talked about her husband, Peter Okoye
"Look at my husband, when I met him, peeps were like what are you doing with him, he has nothing but I stood my ground and chose to stick with him because he had a dream. He and his twin brother did not let their dream die, they worked hard, look at them today! I stuck by him because he had focus and drive and today I am happy, I have a good life, we are happy and we have got a beautiful family. No one can make you a loser.’.
Watch the video below..

240 comments:

1. Sorry dear.
    Take heart.
    Thank God you came out stronger.

2. Awwww

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

3. encouraging epistle 4 our young girls........................

4. Simply why u wan abuse our own peter.......clap for yasef inugo?

1. I dnt see how dis abuses anybody...shez tellin her story....pple might benefit.

2. Wilheminna Moses is a sad and hateful person.
      L.S

5. That's right dear! U have to be courageous in life come what may...

6. Lots of untold stories hanging in the air.

7. Sorry dear.
    Seems Psquare are about to release a new single.

8. Ok,Nice...we al nid tu stand up for oursevss n fight for our rights#bliv#av self-confidence...we re worth more Dan we ever fink we re

9. Peter really married a beautiful wife....sorry for the double abuse.....like the saying goes.....everybody has a story to tell. Nobody is 100% perfect. »»»»QU££NMA¥A»»»

10. Story for the gods.....attention seeking flamingo. #my opinion

11. No wonder she acts d way she does, she has not 4given herself,

12. Clean skin. We all have a story to tell.

13. Al sorts of abuse av gut to stop n we al do dis by standin up 4 oursevs

14. Indeed! No one can make you a loser.

Congrats to d winners, it's a pity I didn't win any thing. Maybe I wasn't dat lucky. But pls Linda give me a waist trainer. Thanks n God bless. funmicare55@gmail.com

1. Why would she give you? Is your name receiver?

15. I do feel lyk am not worthy enouqh too..wise yarn.

16. Does lola look like Janet jackson???

17. Thank God it's all in the past.

18. Great speech!!!

19. E be lyk all de female celeb wer sexually and physically abused...... Jus saying.

20. I bet u that 80% Africa women have suffered sexual and physical abuse at one point of their lives and it's such a shame cos it's even those that are meanwhile to protect us that end up committing this atrocities!
    I totally can't imagine the trauma u went through but thank God u came out strong.

21. E be lyk all de female celeb wer sexually and physically abused...... Jus saying.

22. Hmmmmh, pathetic story, sexual abuse can really tear one apart. It is always better to talk to someone when it happens to you so you don't lose ur mind and also get the help you need

23. NICE ONE LOLA.........WE KEEP PUSHING FORWARD NO MATA WAT

24. Fine face shaaa but good talk anyway

25. Determination, focus, hardwork and belief will take you there... *in frank donga's voice*

26. Good for you
    Thank God

27. Priest?evil men too much ooo.....she moved pass her pain n anger,nw she is happi...

28. Awon Stephen Oshi17 December 2014 at 21:57

If it happened multiple times in your life then b**ch you brought it upon yourself.

Even a child doesn't touch fire twice.

29. Interesting. I don't loose hope on people I know their future is sure

30. So touching I'm happy she dumped d a** of d infidel dat was abusing her. Thank God for how far she's gone. Happy for Her! In d end it all comes down to Hard work and God been by ur side.

31. Mental abuse nko

32. wow, and most times we judge people harshly without knowing what they have been through in life.

33. Nothing good comes easy, we will all definitely pass through shit, embarrassment and humiliation..it depends on how firm we stand... 9ce 1... I learnt a lesson in wah she said...INDIGENOUS LIB... V_okunola@yahoo.com

34. Truer words have neva been spoken

35. World people....d evil men do sumtyms surprises even d devil....hmmmm

36. What a pity, thank God for ur life

37. Touching Story, Even a Priest would do something like that .. GOD HAVE MERCY ON US ALL.

38. We all have s story.. I hope it all becomes a testimony

39. Anger or bitterness has never been the answer. Me I'll do nothing at all, let God and karma pay the cruel. The next week I'm moving on. Thats how it should be. No time 2 be bitter. Lifes 2 short. Thank God 4 u. There are weak and sad people on earth who are no good 2 the lives they come into so walk 1nce u realize that. By the way Lola u're beautiful ----C21

40. No sane Guy would beat a pretty lady black & blue for no reason... #JustSayingTho

41. Tk God u are a better person wt a gud hubby

42. Men and all their insecurities.... am not surprised, it takes a real man to handle such beauty and never get intimidated!!! say no to violence against women!!!! lola your beauty is sensational!!!

iyaoyinda1@yahoo.com

43. For once I see maturity in ur talk u touched me today lola thank u

44. is good you spoke out. we want all women abused or molested to speak out. gist.naija@yahoo.com

45. Pretty woman with ambition, focus and determination. May God continue to bless your home.

46. Bcux she is pretty-nashcurty@yahoo.com

47. Wa-oh! Wat a lovely woman with intelligence.

48. everyone have his/her story..this is yours.mine is with me...

49. Nice one,very well said especially the part she talks about been independent as a woman.....thats what most women should hold strongly to,no matter how rich your man is always have it at the back of your mind that he would hold you in high esteem if you are independent. That much said she is a beautiful woman even after two she still looks like a single lady.

50. Wow, what a beautiful face. So u actually went tru all ds ? Thank God ur a happy woman today. P4dworld@gmail.com.

51. Eeyah, thank GOD you are over it, better times ahead, darling

52. what a story in everything we do in life we just gotta put extra effort to make it in life and be independent I'm so touched tho.

53. Inspiring... This is what young girls need to hear..

54. Hmmmm.....From grass to grace...everybody has a story to tell!

55. nice talk sweedy* jez like linda* #IndependentWomen# nobody wil feed u guys

56. We suffered especially sexual abuse at one point in our lives.. Those days, things were different because most people were ignorant of what was happening.
    It's high time we begin to speak up and heal..; the resentment that comes with abuse most times, drives one to suicide.
    Well done Lola, wishing you and your family all the best.

*My R1.50c comment*

57. This lady fine like mami water, I never see...

58. We suffered especially sexual abuse at one point in our lives.. Those days, things were different because most people were ignorant of what was happening.
    It's high time we begin to speak up and heal..; the resentment that comes with abuse most times, drives one to suicide.
    Well done Lola, wishing you and your family all the best.

*My R1.50c comment*

59. Its good she came out wit d story. Bcos ull find out dere are a lot of pple going thru worse. May God help us

60. Sm guyz can be cruel tho. Why would u even want to abuse any lady physical talk less of smbdy as beautiful as dese. Smh. May God help us sha

61. Sm guyz can be cruel tho. Why would u even want to abuse any lady physical talk less of smbdy as beautiful as dese. Smh. May God help us sha

62. Yea moral lesson, believe in urself own self

63. Story for the gods...@harbey_207@yahoo.com

64. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    God has really been gud to yu.... God bless yu abeg....

65. Awwww dat's nice #smiliyB

66. That's lovely! Enjoyed d talk. God bless u Mrs Lola!!
    #ThisTooShallPass

67. Gud to know u didn't give u on urself........

68. What happened in Ife? Inspiring speech to the girls of today. Lola you try.

69. Well said Mrs Lola Okoye.......God bless you 4 d inspiration

70. Mostly it's we women dat are mostly abused bt d power to dust urself n stand up again is ur greatest weapon tank God she forgave herself n ppl dat hurt her n moved to achieve her goal in life.its gud to always share our experience wit d younger generation to help dm grow.kudos

71. I'm really touched. What a strong woman!

72. Exactly.no one cn make you a loser unless you choose to lose.

73. You are still here and Happy now so why bring it up?

74. Awwwww so hurting and disheartnening, thank God u waved if off ur way. plus dis woman is a million beautiful

75. Eyahhhh
    Behind that sad-looking-hateful-rarely smiling face is a bitter story
    Sorry we judged u wrongly.... learn to smile all d same

76. when you re too beautiful nko?
    -------LIB prince --------

77. I pray dis kinda tin doesn't fall on me... Here i am thinking fine fair girls have d best life. Pls I advice if u have such hidden under ur closet. Com clear, don't be ashamed. Lola took a bold step

78. Abeg sister Linda, wat is d matter here .every time I comments for ur blog u no dey approve am.....Wetin I do u now.on Monday I wokeup a early as 5:30am just Bcoz I won win 25k commented u no approve why why!!! Remember there's God ooooooooo.all money u r sharing and bablackberry pp.tboy_woo@Yahoo.com

79. Abeg sister Linda, wat is d matter here .every time I comments for ur blog u no dey approve am.....Wetin I do u now.on Monday I wokeup a early as 5:30am just Bcoz I won win 25k commented u no approve why why!!! Remember there's God ooooooooo.all money u r sharing and bablackberry pp.tboy_woo@Yahoo.com

80. Awwwww, thank God for your happy ending. That priest ought to be ashamed of himself. What is the world turning into?
    Independence is the key ladies. So stop feeling sorry for yourself and quit waiting for Prince charming to come to your rescue.
    Be wise!

81. Beautiful woman! Everyone has a story, only the wise ones make good use of their predicament by turning obstacles to stepping stones. I love great women!

82. I love Lola.
    I always thought she was reserved and shy.
    Men can not do much for you. You have to make your own money and build your own life. Look at Lola, Linda and some Nigerian that are out there doing there thing. There is a clear difference between them and the ones sleeping around. Squint your eyes, you will see the difference.

83. Beautiful woman! Everyone has a story, only the wise ones make good use of their predicament by turning obstacles to stepping stones. I love great women!

84. It's a pity but I think some men did experience physical violence by their women and sexual abuse

85. This video has changed my perspective about her. Used to think she was just a pretty girl and baby mama turned wife, probably because I also hadn't heard her speak. She speaks so well, is obviously intelligent and certainly has a lot of passion. Kudos, Lola!

86. So she too don turn celeb? Ok!

1. Common shut the fuck up!!!!! See your very ugly face. Rather than you learning something positive from what she has said, u're here yarning shit!! FOOL!

87. She is right self believed is what matters.

88. For cring out loud watin she don achieve sef .

89. Beauty and brains!

90. Seems these days the latest trend for these celebrities is "abuse" kmt!! Y'al can't tell us shii...we see thru you all. The real 'abused' tell real stories and you know. Not these half baked slimy stories y'all propagating...let's hear word jor!!

91. Eyaaa. Crazy tins dat happen to people.i hope I wuld be able to tell my story one day

92. Chai some men are just living animals, prity lady u have overcome. micheal4rig@gmail.com

93. Please always write the husband along with hers,she is married for christ sake. okoye lola omotayo.

94. Please always write the husband name along with hers,she is married for christ sake. okoye lola omotayo.

95. Thanks for sharing, hopefully it wud inspire ppl

96. Pretty woman she is with Natural colour. Xxxxxx Ndubuaku

97. Eya sorry ma'am.
    ^^^™THAT EDOBOY.COM~

98. Eya sorry ma'am.
    ^^^™THAT EDOBOY.COM~

99. Eya sorry ma'am.
    ^^^™THAT EDOBOY.COM~

100. hmmmmm, I'm impressed. nice of her to speak about this so people can learn from it.

101. Hmmm,finally it tks d strong to mk it in dis world, and here u r my dr, showing evry woman, u can mk it,only if u can dare,tnks lady,still wishing u a happy married life,xoxo d duchess

102. She is really pretty. If u like eat my comment again o linda.

103. She is really pretty. If u like eat my comment again o linda.

104. She is right,dont let anybody bring u down,develop confidence and work towards ur goals.

105. I love dis,dis is actually d 1st time av heard her talkin and am inspired.
    Heaven on earth#

106. Lola Omotayo, very beautiful woman, I have just started loving her now having just realised that we share a similar past. I was also abused by an ex I thought loved me and was the love of my life.

107. Hmmmm. Obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

108. She fine sha. Obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

109. Thank God yu survived. Obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

110. Dis woman be like mammy water. She too fine abeg. Haba! Na only u waka come?

111. She's just too beautiful.. love her much!! Yemightbabe@yahoo.com

112. So gorgeous, I luv d fact dat she shared dis its so nice of her...

113. good u revealed it to them. gist.naija@yahoo.com

114. So gorgeous, n I luv d fact dat she shared all dis so odas can learn..kudos.

115. Lovely woman......toyinwilliams2@gmail.com

116. Every woman has to say this sha........hmmmmmmmmmmm welll sorry oooo

117. waiting 4 dat day wen we realise men respect a hard working and independent lady,nt some random chick who depend on them to foot their bills.

118. Thank you Lola 4 dis words of encouragement u don't know Hw much dis mean to me! Tank u again n God bless ur marriage 4eva!!!

119. some said it was her uncle's that were dating her...well thanks for the reveal anyway

bookdgims@gmail.com

120. I sure bliv gurl no one can mke mua a loser true talk I'm me n no one can b me based on bliv

121. Wow..Strong woman

122. Once you believe in yourself you can change your situation no matter how terrible it may look. We all got stories to tell someday 'smiles' #onelovefromSnow#

123. Everyone have their own past anyway... http://mizzyxclusive.wordpress.com

124. Is it me or does she talk like Genevieve Nnaji

125. She went to O AU briefly before she moved to America...she a boyfriend ....I know his name oooo....fid he abuse her?

126. Touching story. Its good she has been able to overcome the challenges caused by the abuse.

The major lesson is in believing in your dreams not allowing your yesterday to determine your future.

127. Jacked from BELLANAIJA

128. Awwww, you look at some people and you think: 'these guys have always had it good.' Apparently not! You'd never think bad things happen to some people.

129. Yea sure, everyone does have a story to tell......Sorry dear. our experiences in life either make or mar us

130. And u ar happy today, so proud of u!

131. Most women suffer these abuses in silence and it affects their attitude and perception towards life. Thank God for your survival mechanism and for sharing same with young women. I hope this will give someone out there the needed courage and hope to begin afresh, confident that she too can make it and be a better individual no matter what. God Bless.

132. I think ladies should start speaking up whenever they being molested and they should never take abuse because they are better than that

133. Ooo as pretty as u are! Some guys are really stupid see wat he missed out now, thank God 4 ur Life now

134. LOla you are so pretty...thank god u are a strong woman now..

135. Sometime, you just need to listen to some people to know how wonderful and inspiring they can be... Nice words Lady. You rock!

136. Awwwww sorry dear, you have become better and stronger . what women go through at times, the heart can't imagine. Whatever u go through in life, don't let it hinder u from moving forward and becoming better. *Gods jewel* gracensikan@gmail.com