OAU shut down following days of students' protest over school fees | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 18 June 2014

OAU shut down following days of students' protest over school fees

Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife, has been closed down indefinitely following days of students' protest over increase in their school fees which was the introduced in May.

The school administration this afternoon released a statement announcing an indefinite shutdown of the institution and ordered students to vacate its premises by Thursday afternoon, citing 'persistent disruption of normal activities and peace on campus as a result of violent demonstrations by students, led by the Student Union Executive' as their reason for shutting down the school.
"Consequently, all students are directed to vacate their Halls of Residence and the University premises immediately and not later than 12 noon on Thursday, 19th June, 2014. Parents are hereby enjoined to ensure that their children/wards comply with this directive immediately.” the statement read.

58 comments:

1. GREAT IFE!....ALUTA CONTINUA. I trust ife SUG

1. Trust dem no more... Cos dis ones avnt proved anytin yet... Just unnecessary protestin. Tell dem 2 sit nd think wisely 1st. Dey just put us all in jeopardy.
      ***its Yeancah***

2. The SUG has made a release that no soul should comply. Let me which gate they will pass.

2. Nothing seem to be working anymore in the Nigeria educational system. So happy that I'm left the system.

www.justhealthng.blogspot.com

1. i can see that u've lefted the system, olodo rabata.

3. What a pity! Things like this is inimical to educational development in Nigeria. All this is utterly insidious!! That's if our leader even care.

4. What a pity! Things like this is inimical to educational development in Nigeria. All this is utterly insidious!! That's if our leaders even care.

5. I can never in my life send my child to this school.Despite the fact that its no 1 best uni in Nigeria.There education is too slow for my likening and they always go on strike almost everytime.When Uniosun school fees was increased who protest.They only add just token amount to their school fees now all their doing is too shutdown the school.I pray they answer them quickly sha.

secretary caught having an affair with her boss
    Here

Ashawo Caught on Camera Touching and Pulling a Man’s thing in Public
    Here

Mother caught her son with Ashewo in the sitting room
    Here

Pastor Sleep With 3 Sisters in One Night So As To Cleanse Them From Bad Spirit
    Here

1. Yea token indeed..So u call an increase in fees from about 10k to 70k a token abi..

2. U be fool!must U let evry1 Knw d level of ur stupidty?if U wnt to die suffering nd smiling must U carry along odaz?so we shld kipshot nd b lookn @ d injustice d sch management is doing shey?o tiya werey! Olodo oshi...#smh.

3. And who told u UniIfe is d No 1 school in Nigeria,pls recheck ur statistics well,nd get ur facts right.

4. Dnt mind d buffooon!

5. Ur child cannot even enter OAU.He/she wil be exactly like u;speakin english like iya oniru

6. Nawao,the spirit of Aluta everywhere.

7. Aluta Continua!...

8. SUG as finally got what they wanted. They acted like big fools

1. Am not sure U r a student of oau or perhaps U r a bloody fresher!point of correction we av SU(student union) in oau nt SUG(student union government)perhaps U find dat in oda schools but nt in oau.get dat in2 ur skull bitch!

9. Nigeria education system is appalling

10. Dey shld pls reduce deir fees.. tins ar hard

11. Linda oo I'm in oau as we speak, students said dey wunt leave, dey even locked up d Chancellor, I'm jst hoping my exams wunt b affected!!d irony of it all is dat most pple hav paid d fees!!

1. So u are a student of OAU? Thank God me just finished ooo frm d scul

2. Onyx wachu doing there? U now a student? Lets meet!

12. Hmmm.... Which way NIGERIA?

Adios Espana!!... We still got hope hey.

*My R1.50c comment*

13. Pay parents 18k minimum wage, bill children 350k school fees!!! There is Godoooo this money govt is sharing! But seriously these foul smelling governors mouths enjoyed free education from Awolowo.

14. They shld stop these school fees hike everywhere.

15. GREAT IFE!!! ALUTA CONTINUE,VICTORIA ASCERTA.I trust my boiz.I rep ife alumni.Continue to fight for ur right cuz it happened during d tym of 'we' ur forefathers .

1. Y nt kum bak 2d skul nd spend 7 yrs on a 4year course. Make sure ur younger ones nd kids go 2 Great Ife!
      ***its Yeancah***

16. When will all these stop. One of the reasons am still serving. My alma mata tho...Ever conscious gbo gbo

17. The revolution is brewing. Soon it will burst to the surface.

18. Greatest of the greatest...proud alumni. My 5 yr course in ife was turned to 7 without having an extra lol....but hey....aluta continua....u don't and should not stop fighting for your right....

19. The reduction of sch fee its actually becos of the generation to come. If they do not fight now by the time our children are going to school , it will be expensive.

20. Sad, sad, sad indeed! Please the concerned authority should consider the parents of these students. Money is tough on make, I mean genuine one o

21. I miss those days of protest back then in OAU. I could remember we fought for freshers' acceptance fee during d days of prof as SUG president. I'm proud to have been the social director of my dept. ALUTA CONTINUA...VICTORIA ASCERTA!!!..........Emmyleo of Malaysia

22. Graat Ife I love U There's only one great ife in the unviverse anoda great ife is a counterfeit.#OauSaysNo

23. #willKeepObserving

24. Season of Aluta.dear government abeg heed to d studentS demand o

25. Nonsense SUG especially that ibikunle with his shapeless head n body. Smhh

26. GREAT IFE
    ALUTA CONTINUE,VICTORIA ASCERTA
    my guys fight for your right.
    The SUG never change that's good...
    ife alumni on point!

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

27. Our problem is wiv d government who abandoned their reponsibility to education,telling schools to fund themselves. Then I heard how much dey'r funding football!!! I love this country,yet so disappointed. Then they sit @ d CONFAB suggesting ways to reduce crime, dey have failed bcos. No-education starts it!

28. Protests Galore in 9ja universities...Abeg this school fees hiking should stop.

29. nigeria schools don herer. WineU

30. Not happy at all.

31. School fees hike evrywia.........abeg GOD of remembrance,remember uniport,nd change d hart of Ajienka.....#columbiana#

32. We don de many small small...abeg mke una cum join Uniabuja stds 4 hous..hahahahah

33. Ok na

XDON D DON

34. Victoria Ascerta! We must fight for our right. Not everyone can afford d new fees. We are comerades, we stand as one.
    #BringBackOurOriginalFees

35. OAU is notorious for incessant stikes and indiscriminate closures. Visit www.olusolaoso.blogspot.com for juicy stories on entertainment,politics,events,breaking news and sports

36. Great Ife, Aluta continual............................. The student union government need to fight 4 dere right and some students work as lobour before they get school fees. The school management should help d student to find solution to d problem

37. So we av so many Great ife student nd Alumnus here, nice! Omole shd plz have mercy on us o, plzzzz o, i wanto graduate.

38. Onyx wot re u doing in Oau? So u sef like better thing, is good sha, all d best in woteva prog u're running there.

39. Someone needs 2 call out d government! Dey'r keeping quiet like education isn't important!... Those sayin d increase is little,realize dt all fingers aint equal. The Great Obafemi Awolo thought deeply about d growth of this country b4 settin up Oau,wich actually beats a lot of 500,000-paying-skul's educational standard. I have always prayed 4 the Nigerian government,but yet I say today "Nigerian Government is irresponsible"

40. GREAT IFE, I LOVE YOU! #Alma Mater

41. dont be dismayed if your grand children curse you because of your sheer ignorance and persistent tolerance of bad things/decision.

i rep ife and seriously it has been established that nobody looses on the desk of negotiation............

but why the blackmails ?

#something_fishy