Charly Boy's father Justice Oputa passes on at 89 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday, 4 May 2014

Charly Boy's father Justice Oputa passes on at 89

Charly Boy's father, Justice Chukwudifu Oputa has passed on. The former judge of the Supreme Court and Chairman, Oputa Panel, passed on peacefully today Sunday May 4th after recovering from a brief illness, the family announced this afternoon. He was aged 89. May his soul rest in peace, amen

127 comments:

1. RIP Justice. Jé nke oma! Dike alaaaaaaaa!

2. Rip to a great man.

1. Eugenia Ekeji4 May 2014 at 22:52

Rest in Peace Pa.

2. Iroko has fallen. Chaiii. Aru emeeeee. Jee nke oma dike ukwu.

3. RIP Mr Oputa, your legacy lives on.

4. RIP sir...

5. Amen ooooo. He lived a good life... RIP sir

6. Rip baba oputa

7. May is soul rest in peace Amen #bright bravo#

8. U were a great man. RIP SIR ! ETTA

9. Awwww may his soul rest in perfect peace.amen

10. Oh no,so sad.We have lost a very intelligent jurist,they don't make dem like him anymore.May his soul rest in peace and may God comfort his family.No matter how old your father is,its still a painful loss.Adieu Justice

11. May his soul RIP.

12. May his soul rest in peace Amen!

13. Finally! May his soul rest in perfect peace

14. May his soul rest in peace.

15. There are very few Nigerian leaders who when they die, I will feel sad. Justice Oputa's death makes me feel sad. I never met the man but I remember the Oputa panel and his priceless experience in jurisprudence. May his soul rest in peace and may God give the Oputa family the will to bear the loss of such a great man

Cynic*Igbo*Guy

1. I agree... R.I.P Justice Oputa

16. May he rest in perfect peace of the Lord

17. Fare the well mi lord. U were one of a kind. Thanks u for enriching our jurisprudence. I remember so well how u described d Supreme Court " we are not final bc we are infallible but we r infallible bc we r final" Oga nnukwu m, jee nke oma.

18. blessing swit4 May 2014 at 20:52

rest in peace the great oputa panel

19. Eyaaa! Correct old skool! May his soul rest in peace!

20. Awwww...may his soul RIP

21. may his gentle soul r.i.p

22. Wow dis man try oh he died at zik's age hmm some age mate with madiba too R.I.P papa

23. May u find rest in the bossom of our Lord.

24. May his soul rest in peace. Amen......

25. My heart is broken d president said nothing reasonable 2day

26. May the family have strength to bear the loss. Its never easy losing a loved one. May the souls journey be peaceful, Amen.

27. RIP papa till we meet again

28. RIP Papa Oputa... May God see him to eternal rest

29. So bad...I saw it coming with his illness. But his is a celebration of life. May his soul RIP

30. Rest oN sir..May God com4th members of ur family*LeOnOrA*

31. Longlife,dats wat errbody iz praying for

32. May his soul rest in peace.

33. Rest in Peace Oputa Panel!! Jee nke oma

34. RIP great one

35. RIP papa, indeed this is a celebration of life well spent

36. dies @ 89 lili tnk me later #BaDdest#

37. dies @ 89 lili tnk me later #BaDdest#

38. Awon Stephen Oshi4 May 2014 at 21:22

He died at a ripe age. Rest in Peace sir.

39. Papa may your soul rest in peace.

40. May his soul rest in peace.

41. He really took after his pa !!! RIP

42. RIP Ekwueme nwa ogaranya. $£.

43. That Function Gurl4 May 2014 at 21:27

RIP Great man!!

44. Ehaya R I p

45. Jee nke oma papa!

46. Sleep well sir

47. The Great One! RIP

48. Aaaaaaaawwwwhhhhhh !!!! Rest in Gods bossom Sir.

49. RIP sir, take heart Oga Charlie

50. It's celebration of life o. May soul rest in peace!

51. Life well lived! Oputa JSC was a great legal mind! RIP

52. A life well lived. May his soul rest in perfect peace. Amen. **kween**

53. I expect a write up from area father soon. Rip Sir

54. RIP, my worthy man, d collosus of our time, ur legacy lives on, ur indeed d JuSTiCe of our time, may ur Justified soul RiP Amen, charley boy, take heart, ur friend is gone but itz well, heaven needs him.

55. The great Oputa panel RIP sir u lived well.

56. OUR LORD DENNING IS GONE. My heart goes out to the family of Oputa at this moment of grief, the demise of Oputa JSC is a big loss for both the family and Nigeria, and the lacuna his demise has left in the judiciary can never be filled my another. He was a scholar and his judgments spoke volumes of his knowledge and sound reasonings. He was a man that every lawyer; from school days looked up to, because in his reasonings lies wisdom, knowledge and the Law. Go well My Lord Justice Oputa, your footprints will forever remain engraved and indelible in the sand of history.

57. May his soul RIP. He was good man. My heart goes out to his family. It's celebration of Life.

58. R.I.P My lord!

59. Waooo I truth has died ,
    This is a great lost , though is a debut we all owe
    May his gentle soul rest in peace

1. Wtf did u just type? I'm gone #damn

60. Eeeyaa.. May his soul Rest in Peace!

61. RIP
    ~Onahboy

62. May is soul rest in peace...RIP PA OPUTA

63. RIP Sir. I heard he is 96years old.

64. Dats sad,RIP sir.

65. I heard he ws 96 unti death, wch do we believe?
    May God almighty rest his soul
    Solary

66. May his soul rest in peace.gudbye daddy oputa.linda!96,89.pls what's his actual age.

67. Awww, May he RIP

68. May his gentle soul rest in perfect peace,Amen. Farewell sir !!!

69. Nigeria has lost a great man. Rest in peace Justice Chukwudifu Oputa

70. Rest is peace dad, loved u soo much, ur panel was a wonder for me as a lil gal, may d lord rant ur family d hrt to bear, for u worth more dan words......rip in peace dad, we love u bt God loves u more ......

71. Linlin ur own news must different, oda news said 96yrs only u say na 89yrs. Wareva may his soul rest in peace.

72. RIP Pa Oputa. And well done CharlyBoy the only thing I like him for, he took real care of his parents.

73. Pa Oputa, RIP

74. Linda, d correct terminology is former justice of d supreme court not former judge of d suprrme court. We say Judge of d high court, but justice of d court of appeal and also justice of d supreme court.

75. He was 94 ooo. U people should get your facts right!

76. I pray you find rest in the arms of the FATHER.

77. Chei!! The great Iroko has fallen!,the jungle has been laid bare,who can take ur place my lord? You will be greatly missed Sir,,God speed my lord..My heartfelt condolence goes out to his immidiate family and indeed all Nigerians who belive in equity& justice,conflict resolution,reconciliation and peace..Hector from Kubwa.

78. Papa u're a great father may u rest in peace.Amen

79. Rip to a great jurist..

80. RIP to a rare gem who wrote many law books and left an indelible mark in the Nigerian judiciary. We will miss you Justice Oputa

81. May he rest in peace. A true giant and legend

82. Oke osisi anaa. RIP papa!

83. Awwwww RIP

84. May ur soul rest in peace my man, charly take heart guy!

85. After all the achievement on earth "the man die" what ȋ̝̊̅§ life, how ¢αη we overcome this death, S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ we'll enjoy our benefit? Oo°˚ G♡̷̬̩̃̊D̶̲̥̅̊ pls giv Oputa the rest he deserves, such a blessing †☺ Nigeria, who will step into Ɣ☺ΰя̲̣̣̥ shoe, ȋ̝̊̅§ it not too big for us , will they fit i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ properly? G♡̷̬̩̃̊D̶̲̥̅̊ pls help us

86. Madam Linda, I am at a loss here. Every Nigerian daily is reporting that he passed on age 96 but u r reporting that he was aged 89.

87. i heard he was officially 90...anyway...gaa nke oma Papa

88. RIP Justice Oputa of the famous Oputa panel

89. RIP Justice Oputa. Linda please he died at the age of 96 1918-2014 if my calculations are correct.

90. RIP old man.

91. Ogbuagu Odumodu, je nkeoma- a live well spent

92. R.I.P Sir Nigeria just lost another great nigerian.

93. may God rest his soul...looking totally swagged up!it certainly weint easy being a 21st centuary dad n grandpa...

94. An iroko has fallen....RIP sir

95. Can linda jst correct this misleading post cos Oputa JSC died at age 96 not 89 pls