Photo of the day: Tour of Nigeria back in 1956 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 4 February 2014

Photo of the day: Tour of Nigeria back in 1956

Queen Elizabeth and her husband Prince Phillip pictured with Nigeria's first head of state Dr Nnamdi Azikiwe and HRH Obi Okosi, the Obi of Onitsha in the 1956 tour of Nigeria

90 comments:

1. Memories.............

SNOWYTE SAY S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡

2. HMMMMM, MEMORIES, LINDA MINISTER OF APROKO, WIA U GO SEE DS IS PIX?

3. Igbo people have been representing since the beginning of time. The obi of onitsha is serving some igbo realness with the attire.

1. @anonymous 4:48pm I am loving all of the people in this picture.

2. Last I checked onitsha was not an Igbo town it was an anions town

3. The Obi made it look like a Nollywood movie, with his herbalist look

4. @anonymous 6:19, Onitsha has always been an Igbo town. You must live under a rock not to know this

5. The obi's shoes luks as if his wearin socks n sandals#laughin.Or am I seein double

4. And the Queen and her husband stiil live.

5. This woman don tey for this world oh!

6. OH! This brings tears to my eyes. Will Nigeria ever wake up again????

7. When nigeria,was still a peacefull nation.

8. Woooow! Prince Philip's nose looks like 6inches nail.
    Am sure Obi understood what he was saying,my ancestors were very learned.

1. Hahahaha kai u sabi lol

2. Guy, U are very funny. I don laff slap my landlady bombom.

3. Guy, U are very funny. I don laff slap my landlady bombom.

9. O boy! You go fear picture, they look like missionaries

1. You sound like an idiot.
      Must u make yeye comment

2. Lepa shandy! So u have shifted gear now from insulting Godwin to insulting me? Lol... Anyway thanks for the insult, I know I sound like an idiot, not only did I sound like an idiot, I know I am an idiot, so I don't actually need you to tell me that, God bless you ma!

10. O'boy eh.........old skull tins

11. Thats nice. But come o, na Zik wear ofemmanu attire so?

1. You go fear him no gree follow una gorilla way

2. You re nt serious o Cindy, ur mouth like ofemmanu attire, which one una get, no be yeye apoche wrapper una dey tie? Onye obara 7 colors! Yeye girl! @ d pix, nice memory jare! @

12. Prince William has his looks

13. See how common she looks! Our leaders mess up real bad! Mshewww!

14. OUR DEAR COUNTRY WAS FABULOUS DURING THIS TIME.. DEMOCRACY ON POINT.. UNLIKE THE GRREDY GORILLAS WE HAVE DER NAU CHOPPING OUR MONEY LIKE JEMILA... abeg sorry oooo before dem carry me go prison, awon hippopotamus oshi *STRAIGHTFACE*

15. Dats wonderful!

16. the queen was quite simple .....not any more i guess, dat was the good old days ...

17. NICE ONE, DAT iS D GREAt Dr. ZIK OF AFRICA. I miss u may ur soul rest in peace Amen.

18. wen naija was still under d british b4 independence.....

Few say so*via B.A.G*

19. When men were boys...can't believe this queen and her baby daddy are still alive! after all these years. Meanwhile Zik and Obi Don waka since.. Anyway when u don't have to lift a finger why won't you live long. Them kukuma get longevity for their lineage..1956! Chai! E Don tay. See what time has don't to them now. Old age sef. When I look at my dads aged sister currently living with us, I feel sorry for her, life has gone by. I know this is a long epistle sha but beware, youth is fleeting

1. Obi of Onitsha was in his seventies, while Zik was in his fifthies.The Queen was only thirty,and her husband thirty five when this picture was taken.You should also remember that Zik died at the age of ninetytw0.

20. Choii! Once upon a time!!

21. Azikiwe and Awolowo looked alike... the queen and her prince were beautiful still look good together

1. Tru! Tot it ws awolowo for a second!

22. how do i catch a partridge?!!gud hunter shud ans me..

23. @ D fmer post, dat is wow oooooooh, I read many of ur comment here all d girls who comment on dat model nd d Dr guy, u see wen u keep ur self every body no u as a cam responsible girl no any guy dat will leave u as a good home training girl wen I mean good home training girl u must listing 2 ur parents or if u don't hv parents learn frm ur good frnd no hw 2 cook-respect no hw 2 maintain be truthful wen u do d rite thing as a responsible girl etc. u see in many marriage 2 day in nigeria some of d girls don't want 2 hear I mean they don't want 2 listing 2 their hubby or 2 boyf all what they do is 2 wear transparent pants. Then start waiting 4 who is driving Range Rover. SUV. All what they do is 2 sleep around wit rich men then u nw expect a guy 2 com dis way nd propose 2 u, u must learn all dis thing is a must 2 make ur dreams com true, even wen u re married there re some close u will stop wearing dat u use 2 wear be 4 etc. pple always say charity begins @ home is what u learn in ur house u will display outside dat what I hv 4 u... U fit say waiting I day talk no make sense bt try am first.

1. U nid to go back to KG...ur english tho...can cause an atomic bomb wen heard...* in btw, ur type does worst*

SYLVIA.O

2. Wrong topic for discussion, terrible grammar, hard to understand but I get the gist of your message. Very appropo... me likey wella wella. Lol

3. Kindly listen to his advice and go back to KG. You wrote more than 20 lines and one can't even get what u are trying to say, na wa for u o

24. Kai come see fashion!!! Lol

25. GOD HELP NIGERIA! TERRIBLE LEADERS! GOD PLIZ TOUCH THEIR HEARTS THAT THIS NATION MAY STAND AGAIN!

26. Nice one. God bless Nigeria!

27. Did I just saw some1 wrote E remembered dis pix???was E dere???ὸ.ό

28. @ swaggs isimemen.... U must be a bloody retard for dis grammar u just wrote, pls go and get brighter grammar before u injure us wit ut english.. Olodo jatijati

29. Nigeria has a beautiful history and loads of stories. I just hope we have a great archive to store all this data for generations unborn to see what we developed from.

God bless Nigeria, God bless us the citizens and God bless our future as we recall our past.

*drops mic and walks off podium

30. Aww!! See the queen's two toned pointees...all of today's modern fashion is actually vintage/retro

31. Those sweet old innocent days b4 Nigerians ate the forbiddin fruit...

32. How I wish the british ruled till 80's e for better pass like this

33. How Iwish the british ruled Nigeria up till 80's,e for better pass like this

34. Whao! Queen Eliza is very pretty and stil is..
    Dr. Azikiwe kinda luks like Osuofia (Nkem Owoh)
    Thank God for independence..God bless Nigeria & free us frm some of our corrupt leaders

SYLVIA.O

35. Awww...ds so cute,see queen lookin like a queen indeed

36. I can't fit laugh........did'nt u guys notice the Obi wearing socks on his attire?

37. Hmm, White colonial masters who made Nigeria what it is today #NewsBlist

38. The year my mum was born, and she got the name QUEEN. Beautiful woman

39. I hope they were served palmwine & pounded yam?

40. Azikiwe na fine man..1st time ever I'm seeing him dis young

41. When naija was naija.

42. Old memories indeed. Can they be rekindled once again? But this time into reality I wonder God rescue us from d shackles of dis deadly politicians nd save Nigeria

And Who Approves Linda

43. Linda don't teach us nonsense.. Azikwe was president in a parlimentary system not head of state

44. Nna okwa zik of Africa the first president of Nigeria

45. CLASSIC!...

46. My dad Obi of onitsha $ my uncle zik ve bn representin! Naw u see why am always on point! No be mi fault I inherited it!

47. Anon 9:15 u can corect dat urslf

48. Story story.... Life... Oooo life... oooooo lifeeeee... Ooooo life.... Do do do do... Dododododo... Ooooooo lifeeeeeeeeee. Dis pix dey make pesin cry. "Time changes yesterday"... Ayaaaaaaaa!!!

49. Onitsha try o. They meet monarch to monarch with Queen of England.

50. @Swagg isimemen. Reading your comments is enough to make someone go blind. I just cant!

51. I almost laughed on seeing the Obi of Onitsha in white socks and black sandals........

52. Ife eji ama onitsha erika,onitsha d land of nobles!

53. OMOOOOO, SEE VAZION!!

54. Igbo ewe Ezeh, we do not have king is not our thing we are republican in nature. This Nnamdi azikwe sold us to Hausa Fulani people. Nri will never forgive any one who calls him self king in our sacred land

55. Linda! That was not Zik but Awolowo. Zik was more astute and handsome than that and will in no way wear such an attire....LOL

56. Ife eji abu onitsha erika! Zik of Africa and obi okosi d Agbogodi forever in our hearts.

57. Imagine! Nw naija don worse so tee President Obama come Africa and no fit show Naija. Remember back wen MKO(may his soul R.I.P) was d first know African to enter White House. Naija pple we need to change for the better ooooo.

58. Nice pic. Instead of people seeing that nigeria was a country where royalty used to visit our great men and women. King and queen of england visit you. Some are looking at fashion, socks and sandals, and zik looking like osuofia. Shows you the priority of the younger generation.

Very sorry for the young man that says zik sold out the igbos. He is either lost, ignorant or on drugs. Lack of respect for the people that gave their all for us is a big illness in nigeria. I pray for this country.

59. Semi-literate people on this thread are insulting the great Zik of the Universe. People whose ancestors were living in mud huts and wearing G-strings when this photo was taken, are now wearing shirts & trousers (Western attire) snd insulting a man who singlehandedly has achieved more than all the indigenes of their hopeless towns collectively