Saudi Arabia National Team refuse to observe minute's silence for London terror victims during football match with Australia (Photos/Video) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 9 June 2017

Saudi Arabia National Team refuse to observe minute's silence for London terror victims during football match with Australia (Photos/Video)

There was drama on Thursday as Saudi Arabia’s football national team declined to observe minute’s silence in honour of the victims of the London Bridge terror attack.

The shocking incident occurred ahead of the FIFA World Cup Asian qualifying match between Saudi Arabia and Australia.

When the stadium announcer called for a minute's silence, 11 Australian players on the field lined up at the center circle with their arms on their teammates' shoulders, but Saudi Arabian footballers ignored the tradition and took their positions on the pitch.

According to officials, the minute’s silence was approved by the Asian Football Confederation before the game and while Saudi Arabia’s national team agreed to the tribute, the players refused to pay their respects.

Last Saturday’s terror attack at London Bridge claimed the lives of seven people, including two Australian citizens.

After the match, a spokesperson for Football Federation Australia (FFA) also confirmed that they had an agreement with the Asian Football Confederation to hold minute's silence for the victims of the London Bridge terror attack.

‘The FFA sought agreement from the Asian Football Confederation and the Saudi national team to hold a minute’s silence in memory of those lost in Saturday night’s terror bombings in London and in particular the two Australian women.

‘Both the AFC and the Saudi team agreed that the minute of silence could be held.

‘The FFA was further advised by Saudi team officials that this tradition was not in keeping with Saudi culture and they would move to their side of the field and respect our custom whilst taking their own positions on the field

The match ended 3- 2 in favour of Australia, leaving Saudi Arabia at 16 points in their qualifying group. 

Watch the video below...

33 comments:

1. How many people die from terror in Syria, Iraq, iran,jodar, nigeria and Palestina do they have 1min silence for them, hypocrite at his peak

1. You and your Arabian brothers can slaughter yourselves like dogs if you like.The white man respects human life & dignity

2. Na their way now

Evil people

Evil religion

Good dey did not win

1. And evil you. Did you read the write up well, that the tradition is not in accordance with Saudi culture. Go and compel them to observe it.Bloody hypocrite

2. How come they are now apologising if really its not in there culture to observe??

3. Hmmmmmmmmm! Can you imagine??? This people sef!

4. I know u want to cause commotion. You cld have stated why. In their culture, it is ok to kill a non-believer. Shikena. free them Thursday has passed. It does not matter anymore

5. What did u expect???are they not the terror??wicked people and bad blood.

6. Linda, your headline was not correct.....
    These people do observed a minute silence, even their reserve bench did same.

7. Perhaps it is a good thing they didn't. Afterall, I t is Saudi Arabia's rabid Wahhabism that has bred and fostered Islamic extremism & terrorism worldwide. It would have been an insult on the memory of those killed had the players joined in the one~minute tribute.

8. The Saudis don't want to be hypocritical. Apparently, they are silently jubilant, chanting Allahabad Akbar!, in celebration of the 'success' of the attack by fellow adherents of the so~called "religion of peace" on those they label 'infidels'.

9. wow, that is just very bad. They surely approve of the terror attacks and see the killers as warriors. Its a shame they are bring down the values of their religion and letting down other good, honest and kind Muslims.

10. Arabs where jubilating in a London tunnel after the attack, they like what their foot soldiers are doing. Europeans are just dining with terrorists

11. all these Islamic nations would have been nothing if not for OIL... they would have gone broke and not recognised by the society. they are actually nothing!

12. How come a minute of silence has never been held in honour of hundreds of people killed in nigeria coz of boko haram. Thumbs up saudi👍

13. WHAT DO YOU EXPECT FROM SPONSORS OF TERRORISM?

14. Peacebeuntoyou9 June 2017 at 13:10

Linda, I feel you need to be professional sometimes with your publication and stop mis informing/mis leading ppl with your headlines.According to the details which you posted your self it reads thus: The FFA was further advised by Saudi team officials that this tradition was not in keeping with Saudi culture and they would move to their side of the field and respect our custom whilst taking their own positions on the field.

1. What rubbish custom is that? They are terrorists sympathizers finish.

15. I guess you know the Saudi FA has apologised, if not google search it and post if truly you aren't biased.

16. Good they didn't. How many have the western observe a minute of silence for, when it happen in Asia Africa. They think they are the only best human on earth. Pls don't get me wrong I am not in support of the bombing that is really bad and wickedness.

17. Besides dis isn't something serious,you can't force me to do something I don't believed in. They don't believe in offering a minute cos it doesn't go with their Religion believes and I don't think you must forced it on them. The only thing I know is they mustn't do things to distract the attention of people offering the minute silent or involved in any acts of disturbance. Kudos to Saudi Football Association for later Apologising. The day we start to appreciate our differences and accept people for who they are is the day we start having the world peace we've always been clamouring for.

18. some av eyes but cant see...does it mean we did not see some of dem with dere hands at dere back? it must not b total but u can stand apart and observe which some players did if u open ya eyes very well.

19. For those who think Islam is not at war with the rest of the world they are delusional

20. Oriowow Oluwaseun9 June 2017 at 15:26

Habib Kuti shut the fuck up,i wish your brothers and sister are among the victims.don't Muslims have heart at all,i wonder sometimes if Quaran never talked about peace.Saudi Arabia is the capital of peace of all the Muslims,so they can portray such attitude then what do you expect from a boko haram...i wish God will kill and wipe the Muslims from the earth or transfer them to another Planet(Uranus) and let the Christians be

1. Kudos brother!
      If God didn't, y not yourself 🤔

21. Habib Kuti shut the fuck up,i wish your brothers and sister are among the victims.don't Muslims have heart at all,i wonder sometimes if Quaran never talked about peace.Saudi Arabia is the capital of peace of all the Muslims,so they can portray such attitude then what do you expect from a boko haram...i wish God will kill and wipe the Muslims from the earth or transfer them to another Planet(Uranus) and let the Christians be

22. Imagine if it was Iran that did this?

23. Don't let the media fuel you with hatred. One minute silence dose not help the dead, prayer does. The fact that they weren't holding hands at the middle of the pitch doesn't mean they don't feel sympathy for the victims and their families.
    The media is one of the most dangerous weapon, be careful of what you read and believe.

24. Simple English. Do you see any of them talking they were all silent must they hold themselves

25. Of course it's expected of a country that espouse,teach and export the radical form of islam called wahhabi. Most terroist of the world are of arabian descent. Take the case of the 911 bombing where 15/17 of the hijackers were saudis.

26. I have muslim friends and even family members and I can categorically tell you, they are happy whenever their evil bloodsucking islamic brothers and sisters murder people all in the name of that their God that cannot fight his own battles. Because I have never heard a group of muslims come out to march against terroirism or even show sympathy when a non muslim is slaughtered

27. its so evident that the middle easterners have a lot of resentments against european countries, all in the name of one philosophical religion that exerts threats on people that dont believe in what they do.