Photos: 'Boastful' Chinese diplomat attacked by angry mob after he refused to obey security procedures at Wuse market, Abuja | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 18 June 2017

Photos: 'Boastful' Chinese diplomat attacked by angry mob after he refused to obey security procedures at Wuse market, Abuja

An irate mob attacked a Chinese national who had refused to comply with normal security procedures at Wuse market, Abuja last Friday morning.

The foreigner, who described himself as the "head of the Chinese business unit in the embassy" and who was traveling with another compatriot, resisted the order to open the boot of his Honda sedan car, which had diplomatic license plates, upon arrival at the gate of the market. 

According to Sahara Reporters, this is the normal practice, in view of the insecurity in the country, that all vehicles are opened up for inspection before they are allowed to proceed.

It was gathered that the diplomat further angered the crowd by boasting that he would call  security chiefs to lock up anyone who threatened him and his fellow Chinese national in the vehicle.

As tempers flared, the mob set out to drag the occupants out of their car, and it took the quick intervention of the Abuja Market Authority Management and Security officials to secure them from being lynched.

In the process, one of them had his shirt torn to pieces.  He also claimed the sum of N100,000 was stolen from his car.

The diplomat, who is obviously well connected, bragged to the mob in the presence of a SaharaReporters contributor, and after he made some calls, apparently to top security chiefs, officials of the Department of State Security Service, Ministry of Interior, Policemen arrived at the scene.

The management of the market was compelled to make available to the diplomat the sum of N100,00 and a new shirt before he stepped out of the car to write a statement, which he did at the police post inside the market.

It is not clear if the diplomat will press further charges, but he seemed to be a bit calmer when he drove out of the market, having demonstrated his connections, several security agencies appearing at the speed of light to rescue him.

One angry witness noted that he enjoyed the full service of the Nigerian state “showing little regard for laws or basic rules and regulations in the market"

Photo credit: Facebook user/Sahara Reporters

37 comments:

1. Stupid Chinese man. He for go brag for kano and zamfara state period

2. This comment has been removed by the author.

3. They Cannot be doing anyhow in our country because we also aren't permitted to do such in their country

4. Goodness and mercies....Nigeria is a rat hole with uneducated graduates claiming to be giant of Africa. Every diplomat has diplomatic immunity. It is international law that transcends domestic laws. As a diplomat, he has every right to refuse check. This applies to a Nigerian diplomat in China. If for example he kills a Nigerian and runs into a Chinese embassy to seek refuge , even Nigerian Army or Navy or Police cannot go in there to get him bcos Chinese Embassy or any embassy in any foreign nation is the same as being on the soil of that native country. Nigerians are sick. Agbero country of ill-informed egotistic punks. Shame

*Linda's Future Hubby *

1. So he can't explain to them calmly instead of talking anyhow!

2. Shut up!!!
      So he shouldn't be searched like every other person???

3. Thanks God u went to school. U self go there and misbehave. Your own na leg go break. Anuofia

4. Shut up your mouth!!! They has the right to search him I've worked with Italian diplomat.

5. This happened at Wuse market and not Chinese embassy. He could have been killed for all you care, and nothing for happen. At most Nigeria government go apologize to the Chinese government. His Chinese government didn't ask him to violate procedures of the land.

What is wrong in him simply opening his boot for routine check?

5. Useless country how many times have they treated nigerians unjustly in china and their government came to the nigerians rescuse. Hopeless nigerian government. You cant defend your law and people. Shame on those idiots who were called.

6. Chai, them fall my hands sef. Una for treat him fuck up so that when next he hears Nigeria he will run for his life. Useless foreigners disrespecting our security in our own country. Rubbish!

Long live LIB

7. They should have simply refused to let him in. That would have been the best action

8. Nigerians you are still slaves who told you you are independent who born you to flaunt the law in Cotonou talk less of China if you like call Buhari you will rot in Jail our authorities are yes men to people of color be you Chinese Japanese or whatever God I hate this country asking the market to pay him 100k and a new shirt I can't stomach that if a Nigerian tried that at the same market no matter his standing he'll get the beating of his life Linda don't beg me I'm so mad I can punch the first China man I see Mumu Nigerians

9. See how we insult ourselves as a nation nd people. Security came at the speed of light. But if armed robbers are attacking a citizen they will never show up. That is what gave the fool the guts to disrespect the rules

10. I don't think you are allowed to search a diplomat's car. It's rule worldwide. But I don't expect the guys at the market to know this.

1. It is the rule,Linda their is nothing like bragging, you don't search a diplomat, he is under immunity Linda biko,learn. Before u make reports nwannem,nka adabaro

11. As a diplomat with a diplomatic number plate...security agents had no right to search him nor his car...It is not a matter of Nigerian laws but international standards as far as international relation is concerned. His bag and other belongings can only be searched if there's a first hand information that he's in possession of illegal items such as gun, hard drugs and so on. Even at the airport, his bags can't be searched for any reason except for the reasons I just mentioned above. The mob and the security men on duty only displayed their ignorance. If that act was not properly managed, it could cause diplomatic tension between China and Nigeria. I know some persons here might want to contradict me but I've passed my message.

1. Mr lawyer respect is reciprocal the way he presented himself must have triggered the action of the security men even if you are the head of state you need to observe the protocol all he could have done was ask for the most senior officer & present his case not flaunting that diplomatic SHIT to officers who don't know the difference between a diplomat and the ordinary China man thank God this did not happen at ALABA International bcos by now he for don dey receive treatment in Beijing

12. Oh My God, Nigerians , see them Uneducated Graduates. you can not search a diplomat car. it's not done anywhere. una pay the 100k well. Nonsense. keep falling our hand

13. Stupid country dey com in here and break d law u can't try dat in their country.

14. A diplomat with a diplomatic license plate to show for it has every right to refuse any attempt by whosoever it maybe for a search! It's called a simple diplomatic immunity guaranteed by the United Nations to protect all diplomats around the world, and especially a hostile environment like Nigeria. Those calling his action boastful, are simply uneducated to understand his action at that point in time!!!

15. Most ignoramuses won't know what is called "Diplomatic Immunity" the car has a diplomatic number plate so why search it? Now the over zealous touts have coughed out N100,000. Little things like this can affect bilateral agreements between countries. If na senator you go search am?

16. If you know about diplomatic rules I don't think you are allowed to search However the simple solution was to not allow him in ..We behave like barbarians why beat him you can throw him out of the market

17. All this Buhari bad luck. Thank God he didn't get killed cos by now the Chinese government would be using Nigeria to practice their imperialism and world-powerism too. (Argue the meaning as a fool you are) Now let me explain something to this barbaric Hausa jihadis clamoring for who to kill in that Wuse market zone; He is a diplomat and that entails to him some diplomatic immunities that nobody can alter. Anything done to him would warrant to an insult on the Leader of the Peoples Republic of China; Xi Jinping, who would have definitely done nothing less than a retaliatory action. Someone should tutor this adjudicated barbarians from the Northern part of Nigeria before their idiotism brings the whole entity of animalistic leaders and followers into a state of jeopardy. Ms. Linda Ikeji, I suggest that in situations like this, you take quality time to explain clearly the implications of such uncalled-for aggressions to your followers, so as to enable a clear understanding and not just make it a news without educating them.

#Dunga adiro two from 042.

18. well...

19. This our police eeh. Folly is their forte

20. Nigerians seem to be as illiterate as their President Bokohari. It is a convention that you cannot search a diplomatic car (that's why they carry diplomatic plate numbers), diplomatic packages or premises. Guess how many Nigerian diplomats abroad would be in jail if their vehicles were searced or each time they broke traffic laws.

21. All u fools who comment stupidly havent heard of the term diplomatic immunity abi? Ignorant people here...educate yourselves pls. Una mumu too much, go to school y'all

22. All u fools who comment stupidly havent heard of the term diplomatic immunity abi? Ignorant people here...educate yourselves pls. Una mumu too much, go to school y'all

23. Its called Diplomatic immunity! Mumu biafrans

24. Bush girl linda...na diplomatic immunity u nor sabi, but u go dey form say u sabi all

25. Awon biafrans! Na diplomatic things oh...Bush people

26. As Nnamdi Kanu aptly put it "Nigeria is a zoo". Those Chinese of course are aware of the country's wild attributes and capitalized on it. It's a failed and a hopeless society that can only boast of her numerous churches and the populace seemingly spirituality

27. Despite efforts by the more knowledgeable among us here to educate, I can still see some pinheads arguing foolishly. For the latter, let me try to break it down: ALL foreign diplomats, without exception, resident in any country are immune to the local laws. He cannot be searched, detained or arrested, he is exempt from all local taxes, his place of dwelling, his car or his office, cannot be entered into or searched by the local law enforcement officers (except it is confirmed that a crime is taking place therein. Even then, the police must inform & obtain necessary clearance from the ministry of foreign affairs, who must have requested & obtained the express permission from his embassy/government to waive his immunity). This immunity is so perverse that in the event of a fire in a diplomatic premises, the Fire Department must refrain from entering the premises until the embassy gives approval for them to come inside. Yes, it is as serious as that.
    So please, it isn't about our law enforcement agents know~towing to foreigners: Nigerian diplomats serving in foreign countries enjoy the same level of immunity and protection. This immunity does not mean they should not respect laws and officials of their host. They know this and they strive to be law abiding. There is often a general resentment about this but international law guarantees this. Nigeria is a signatory to the Conventions on Diplomatic and Consular relations and so we must abide by the obligations. I have no doubt that if this matter wasn't properly handled, it would have resulted in an official complaint/protest by the Chinese government and a possible reciprocal treatment of our own diplomats residing in their country.
    I would advise that when we are driving, we should be mindful of cars with diplomatic license registration plates. If you go bash them or them come bash you, na very long grammar be dat o, my people. Please be wise and avoid these vehicles. "Open eye" no reach here....you go jus buy Wabalba for yourself. No be now you go say naija police don take bribe from foreigner, dey treat naija people like trash.
    I also think the National Orientation Agency....I am assuming there is still a body like that....should include aspects of matters like this as they go to the markets, churches etc to speak to our people. Thank you.