Blind former Super Eagles player Femi Opabunmi duped by fake pastors, Imams while trying to cure his blindness | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 18 June 2017

Blind former Super Eagles player Femi Opabunmi duped by fake pastors, Imams while trying to cure his blindness

Former Super Eagles winger, Femi Opabunmi, who last played in Nigeria for Shooting Stars FC, says he was duped by Pastors and Imams, while looking for ways to cure and regain his sight. Opabunmi in  a chat with Complete Sports said, he lost his sight while he was training with his French second division side, Niortais in 2006.
Opabunmi had two unsuccessful surgeries in France, and when neither helped him regain his sight, he relocated to Nigeria to find a cure for his partial blindness.

According to him, rather then get the help he desperately needed, he got duped by so-called men of God. He said:
“Many believed I was cursed, even my mother because in Paris the doctors medically said there was nothing wrong with my eyes.” 
“Funds were given to me to survive by my former teammates (including Osaze Odemwingie) and well wishers. I gave pastors some of the money, hoping that if I got healed I would start afresh with a coaching career. 
“I visited several churches and mountains in search of a cure but it never happened. 
“They duped me of my small cash. I paid more that 400k to pastors to see that I got cured but nothing happened.” 
“I also went to see some Imams as well. But they all turned out to be false men of God who duped me all the way.”
Opabunmi played for a few clubs, including Shooting Stars FC, Grasshoppers Zürich and Chamois Niortais in France.
He scored a goal to help Nigeria win the African U-17 Championships in 2001. He was a key player at 2001 FIFA U-17 World Championship where he scored a hat-trick against Australia and won the Silver Shoe as second highest goal scorer.
He also won the Bronze Ball as third best player in the tournament, helping Nigeria to reach the final where they lost to France.
Opabunmi represented Nigeria at the 2002 FIFA World Cup in Korea and Japan and had a total of three caps for the Super Eagles.

21 comments:

1. If only you can meet with pst daniel olukoya of mfm personally not his pastors.

1. See am. Even the one with hardwork doesn't know his Destiny! Fate ,just look at how blindness changed his faith. Life, never brag about what u have achieved ,u NEVER know.....

2. See am. Even the one with hardwork doesn't know his Destiny! Fate ,just look at how blindness changed his faith. Life, never brag about what u have achieved ,u NEVER know.....

3. So Pastor Daniel Olukoya breeds 419 pastors?
      I won't be surprised what he himself would turn out to be.

4. No offence but I feel it's stupid to pay pastors in the first place for a cure , instead of u to find better doctor pay Na pastor u carry money give . Nigerians & pastor. Na wa o

2. Chai, May the mercy of God locate you IJN.

3. Are these not the kind of people this country should help?

4. I keep saying this and will continue to say it all these so called men of God are nothing but thieves deceivers crooks who don't mean well for people Jesus never charged for the miracles he performed but these blood Dickerson are only out for money how they get does not matter they receive money from thieves armed robbers and turn the blind eyes on the obvious may the Almighty God judge them according to their crooked ways meanwhile may the Almighty work his own miracle on this our brother

5. I'm really confused here. Why do people have to pay pastors/imams for God's grace????? Did God collect money for healing??? Where is written in the bible/quran that you have to pay to receive divine Healing????? And this keeps happening yet people don't learn. In your desperation shout upon the Lord. He's the God that answers by fire.

6. Please let him visit senior pastor TB JOSHUA his the only pastor in the world that doesn't charge money or just get the morning water at the church and try to put up ur faith, believe me u will have a testimony.

7. May God remember Opabunmi in the mighty name of Jesus. Amen.

8. The way Nigeria / Africa pastors are going with their be dubious attitude, 20-40 years to come people will not be going to church again. Jst watch the way youths go to church now compared to the way youths go to church past years.
    People are becoming wiser.

9. Try and find your to Abuja, come to Dunamis church, and God will surely restor your eye sight back by His mercies. No money will be collected from you. Come for Tuesday healing and deliverance service. You will not need to see the pastor sef. Come and the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob will heal you, in Jesus name.

10. So u didn't read abt him being duped by Imams?

11. nawa

12. Too bad,may they God almighty visit u soon.

13. May God help this young man

14. Your faith in God and not men is the answer... Dont go looking for help in a church without unleashing your faith

15. NFF should do something to help this poor guy..