Muslim Miss Universe GB finalist will become the first to wear a Kaftan in the swimsuit contest | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 16 May 2017

Muslim Miss Universe GB finalist will become the first to wear a Kaftan in the swimsuit contest

Muslim Miss Universe GB finalist, Muna Jama, 27, will become the first contestant to wear a kaftan in the swimsuit round of the competition next month, for the chance to represent Great Britain in the Miss Universe 2017 pageant.

Jama was first accepted to the competition two years ago but withdrew because of the swimsuit round, rather than challenge the organisers or compromising her beliefs.

This year, she however decided to re-enter in the hope of raising awareness over the migrant crisis, which she witnessed first hand during a volunteer trip to Egypt and Somalia last year.

The beauty queen, who will be one of the 40 finalists, told organisers that she did not feel comfortable strutting around on stage in a bikini and they agreed to let her appear in a beach cover-up instead.

'These pageants are associated with beauty and modelling but over the years there has been a platform for other females using their platform differently. What I wanted to do was to raise awareness of what I have been working so hard for,' she said.

20 comments:

Ladun Liadi said...

So basically, she scores no points for the swimsuit category.

Emeka Izuogu said...

Issokay

Gud for her

Let her go and sit down, terrorists people.u don't feel comfortable wearing bikini,so what are u doing there? Pretender

ok

Good for her

Why join the contest, if you can't abide by the mode? Do Muslims always have others bend their ways to suit them, but never allow same with other people!

Beautiful

Diamond Nmasinachi said...

She is Standing by her beliefs or rules. How many Christians can say No To This ? She has integrity.

Isokey

She's not fine sefff

You are Ignorant.

You are Ignorant. People that think like you are the problem with this world.

Ignorant!

Dis one is an old woman na

The competition is for so called "infidels". Why would a Muslim want to contest abeg! Muslims should form their own, where they can wear blanket if they so choose and leave correct pageant for correct people. Gbam!

Rubbish, wetin be my own

I really hope u are the only member of your family who thinks like this....if not, the problem of this country has never been more obvious.

She wont win period!!

Nonsense