World's oldest woman Italian Emma Morano, dies at 117  | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 16 April 2017

World's oldest woman Italian Emma Morano, dies at 117 

World’s oldest person who was believed to be the last survivor of the 19th century, Italian woman, Emma Morano, died on Saturday at the age of 117. Morano, born on November 29 1899, passed away peacefully at her home in Verbania, near Italy's Lake Maggiore, while sitting in an armchair.  Dr Carlo Bava, Morano's doctor, said he had last seen her on Friday when 'she thanked me and held my hand' as she did every time he called on her. He added:

'She didn't suffer. I'm happy she didn't suffer but passed away that way, tranquilly.'
Morano who was born on Nov. 29, 1899 said her fiance died in World War One and she was forced to marry an abusive man she did not love, who she eventually left in 1938.
She also lost her only son to a crib death when he was just six months old.
During an interview with La Stampa newspaper in 2011, she said:
'When the outbreak of the First World War happened I was in Villadossla and I had a boyfriend. They called him for the front and he never came back. Dead. So I had to marry someone else.  
'He was one of here, the lake. I did not want to marry him but he forced me. We lived in the same courtyard and he sent for me one day by his mother. I went there and he said: "If you're lucky you'll marry me, or  I'll kill you.
Ms Morano attributed her long lifespan a partly down to her genetics. She said  her mother died at age 91 and at least two of her sisters lived to be over 100.
She added that a diet of three eggs a day - two of which she ate raw also contributed to her long life. She said the habit started when she was diagnosed with anemia at the age of 20 in the wake of World War I.
She outlived all eight of her brothers and sisters, one of whom lived to 102.

Source: Daily Mail

17 comments:

1. OMG! May his soul rest in peace.

2. Oyinbo sefbget wahala. Revolving restaurant kwa!!!

3. Oyimbo people i clap for una, the way wey una sabi conclude things dey tire me sometimes. Una go round the world to see say na she be the oldest woman? Well as na white skin wetin i expect?

4. Her soul rest in perfect peace but am sorry to say, she is not the oldest woman in the world. A woman was buried last week at the age of 132 in amasomma bayelsa state Nigeria. A woman was buried in okrika rivers state at the age of this same 117...anoda was buried last year in buguma rivers state 121 years. Not trying to criticise but facts should be clear...we hav them too in Nigeria n all over the world but they are been kept on a low key...sha God bless her and d pple dat deemed it fit tp let the world know she was old enuf bfre death.

5. Her soul rest in perfect peace but am sorry to say, she is not the oldest woman in the world. A woman was buried last week at the age of 132 in amasomma bayelsa state Nigeria. A woman was buried in okrika rivers state at the age of this same 117...anoda was buried last year in buguma rivers state 121 years. Not trying to criticise but facts should be clear...we hav them too in Nigeria n all over the world but they are been kept on a low key...sha God bless her and d pple dat deemed it fit tp let the world know she was old enuf bfre death.

1. Rivers ke? Africa and guess work. Most of those old people in Nigeria don't actually know their age. Former president Obasanjo included. He confessed it. They'll say that you were born on a particular market day of the week that's it. No year included. This late mama had her birth registered. And probably had her birth certificate.

2. Thank you for this reply..

6. Na because say una get electric witch(computer) who tell una na she bi the oldest woman on earth....make una carry una witch come this side....we get 126yrs old here...wet still they kakaraka

7. aww RIP

8. ABEGI SHE TRY BUT NO BE SHE BE THE OLDEST

9. My granny is 120yrs

10. Shiley pls i dnt fnk u frm Nigeria so guess u dnt hv a slyt idea of wat m sayn. Bsyds talkn bou proof, dd u gt a proof bou ds woman...well she dead n gone...her soul rest in perfect peace

11. Oldest ke??my grand mum was 125 when she died.

1. Your grandma's? How old are you? Are you up to 70?