States in the North-West are as backward and challenged as Afghanistan- Nasir El-Rufai says | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 7 April 2017

States in the North-West are as backward and challenged as Afghanistan- Nasir El-Rufai says

Kaduna state governor, Nasir El-Rufai, says some states in the North West region are as backward. And challenged as Afghanistan. El-Rufai who said this at the ongoing Kaduna Economic and Investment summit, stated that many of the states are ‎as backward as Afghanistan in terms of Education, Health care and Opportunities. He said:

"Yesterday, the Emir of Kano, His Royal Highness, Muhammadu Sanusi II, made certain observations about the state of northern Nigeria within the larger Nigeria context. Because the truth of the matter is when you look at human development in the indices of Nigeria, they hide a lot of information. They saw us as middle income country, they saw that we are making progress in terms of education and health care. But when you disaggregate this number and look at them from zone to zone, from state to state, it is very revealing. 
It shows for, instance, that some states in Nigeria are as backward as Afghanistan in terms of education, health care and opportunities. And many of the states in the Northwest are afflicted with these challenges. We have the largest number of out-of-school children, we have the largest number of girls not completing basic education, we have the lowest levels of women giving birth in hospitals and health clinics, we have the highest infant mortality rate and we have the highest maternity mortality and morbidity rate. 
Unless we recognise that and come together and address our common challenges, we will continue to pull Nigeria backward, in my opinion, and that is the last thing we want.”

14 comments:

1. Unless we recognise that and come together and address our common challenges, we will continue to pull Nigeria backward, in my opinion, and that is the last thing we want.” lolx any aboki in the house? The big problem I see in the north is integrating thier culture and Islam. After all some of their Yoruba brothers are still muslims and are not retards or problem to the society.

2. hmm

3. After ur brothers like IBB, ABACHA, n BUHARI hv looted our money n left d country in debt; u r still telling us d north is backward, this means that u thieves dnt love urselves, u guys r so pathetic n worst than any other tribe in Nigeria, dats why u dnt want dis country to b disintegrated so dat u cn continue milking d southeast. #acowisalwaysacow

4. Unless we recognise that and come together and address our common challenges, we will continue to pull Nigeria backward, in my opinion, and that is the last thing we want.” lolx any aboki in the house? The big problem I see in the north is integrating thier culture and Islam. After all some of their Yoruba brothers are still muslims and are not retards or problem to the society.

5. What are they up to this time? Come to think of it, do you know that the likes of you and Buhari wouldn't have being in the office not for the level of illiteracy in the north? We all know that you guys are enjoying it. so just shut and enjoy.

6. Enough please you guy should allow power to leave the north so you can pick you brains stop being power drunk, go to other Islamic nations as rich as Nigeria they develop their country very well but here in Nigeria our Moslem develop only their children wish is too bad Islam is peace and love not greedy and hate.

7. So you know you are pulling Nigeria backwards.

8. Good people of LIB, please I need your help. I am financially broke and depressed at the moment... godslove2001@yahoo.com

9. U ARE HUNDRED PERCENT RIGHT MR. GOVERNOR, WHAT IS THE NEXT WAY FORWARD?

10. Clap for yourself.

11. It is a good thing that El-rufai has admitted it instead of defending the North-west as being better than other regions.
    Get a bigger penis here

12. Backward and primitive yet ALL the Presidents of Nigeria have been NORTHERNERS- except Obasanjo and Jonathan. It's the religion. It doesn't allow them to work hard

13. I clap for Mr governor. He has finally woken up from his slumber. Please you people should build more schools, provide good health care, provide basic amenities and stop early marriage all in the name of religion. Please sir, let there be awareness of importance of education all over and let's see how much we are able to solve all your listed problems