Russia moves to label Jehovah's Witnesses as 'extremist organization' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 18 March 2017

Russia moves to label Jehovah's Witnesses as 'extremist organization'

The Russian justice ministry has moved to label Jehovah's Witnesses an 'extremist organization' following years of government suspicion toward the group.
The lawsuit filed with the Russia’s Supreme Court against the national headquarters of the country's Jehovah’s Witnesses wasn't dated and has not yet been scheduled for legal action, USA Today reported.
In response to the filing, the press office for the Russian branch of the religion released a statement Thursday saying it would represent 'dire consequences' for religious freedom in Russia if approved.
'Extremism is deeply alien to the Bible-based beliefs and morality of Jehovah's Witnesses.
Persecution of the faithful for peaceful anti-extremism legislation is built on frank fraud, incompetent individual 'experts' and, as a result, a miscarriage of justice,' the statement claimed.

According to the press office, the decision, if passed by the court, would directly affect about 175,000 followers at more than 2,000 congregations in the country.

However, it's not the first time Jehovah’s Witnesses have faced legal battles. In 2009, a court ruled a Russian-language version of the group’s publication The Watchtower an extremist publication and barred it. In 2015, a Russian court ruled the group’s website was also an extremist publication.

34 comments:

They should be left alone

Jehova witness extremists???? The world is indeed coming to an end

They are just propagators of the gospel Jesus christ

Y na?

e be like say this Putin guy be kolomental

NAWA OO

Not my problems

this is the sad Truth DAT media won't talk about....we have brothers and ssisters who are imprisoned for what they believe in....those who wr falsely accused.....some who have been in jail for more than ten years just because they refuse to kill their fellow man... we have children who have been sent out of school just because they don't believe in evolution... we have homes that as been raided and false evident implanted....this is the sad truth...the list goes on .but do we give up No because Jehovah our God is with us.

What hve they done? They cnt just let pple hve their freedom

Extremist organization? What a joke. Its obvious that life isn't fair. Those who play by the rule are prosecuted and persecuted, whereas the convicted criminals and extremists walk the streets freely. If Russia should move towards that direction, then its clear that they know nothing about true peace. Who have seen a Jehovah's witness engage in arm robbery, bombing, rioting, or street protesting? Who have seen them engage in tax evation? They are not tax defaulters. They don't even join the army, because of fear of hurting their neighbors.
God is watching and he knows what to do.

#LordSandra said...

Jehovah will always fight for us. There's nothing the government can do to deter us.

Jesus was labeled and extremist. They accused his of causing division. He said referring to his faithful followers that if they have persecuted me they will persecute you also, for a slave is not greater than his master.

Sophia said...

They should JW alone

Sophia said...

Jw are not bad people,they are good people

hmm

chwukwuwunmi said...

big brothers alwayx knw aww 2 handle ix subjekt...Europians ehn!

Anybody persecuting Jehovah's witnesses re touching Jehovah's eye ball. We know that nobody would allow anybody touch to his/her eye ball and keep quiet. Russia should leave Jehovah's witnesses alone.

kizzysoftie said...

They are in some kinda of way..

PCO said...

PLEASE THEY SHOULD LEAVE JEHOVAH'S WITNESSES ALONE IF THEY CONTINUE TO POINT THEIR FINGERS ON GOD'S EYES WHAT HAPPENED TO HITLER WILL HAPPEN TO THEM.
ANYWAYS SIGNS OF THE LAST DAYS

People that dont sing national anthem. They should be banned

All of you were celebrating Russia's puppet, Dullard Trump...your heroes are coming for your religious beliefs, and there's no one to defend them. Lol

D great Builder said...

Even when Satan is proving his rulership over the earth..... Jehovah knows his people..... And he always make a way them.....Russia trying to touch Jehovah's own eye....

Fake people. Turning the bible upside down. Deceiving gullible Christians that do not have revelation knowledge of the Doctrines of Christendom vis-à-vis the Trinity and the Person of the Holy Spirit. Only sweet mouth, no power. Anyway, God will never allow His own to be drawn away!

Surely he will

Russia,Russia,Russian??You missed it with this move.Jehovah witnesses are armless people and will only hand you over to their Jehovah.You can only ban their registered organization but cannot ban their Bible based faith.Read their stories during Hiltler'reign;they are strongly rooted in faith.

You sing National Anthem and still commit all manner of fraud.You sing national anthem and evade Tax.You sing national anthem and no love and unity in the land.Think my friend.They are better than what you think.

Tbc available at wholesales,10,000tbc to 100,000tbc is available at N200 per tbc

do you remember brothers in today broadcast, wen DAT brother was praying,he put our Russian brothers and sister in prayer, we are not surprise at all,touching Jehovah eye ball,Bible prophecy go fulfill now,we need to all stay close to the organization,at this time of d end

Let Jehovah's will take place.

Let us be United and pray for the church. Jehovah Witness is a peace loving body. Their bags carry the Holy Bible and they don't carry bombs or IDE's. If anyone violate the law because he's a member of a church, the church shouldn't be held accountable but the offender should be made to face the law.

Who knows, Russian may be on it precipice.

jwit are peace loving.

CLICKMEDIA HOUZ. MICKEY said...

in dis way dey persecuted d prophets perior to you. JAH wil fight for his ppl.

Brothers nd sisters this is the time to remain Loyal to Jehovah just like king Hezekiah and see how our true God Jehovah will save us from the hands of those who taunts him.

We actually av someone to defend us and d person is JEHOVAH OUR GOD.