Audu Maikori will be prosecuted for his false tweet on Southern Kaduna killings- Nasir El-Rufai says (video) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 3 March 2017

Audu Maikori will be prosecuted for his false tweet on Southern Kaduna killings- Nasir El-Rufai says (video)

Kaduna state governor, Nasir El-Rufai, says music executive, Audu Maikori, will be prosecuted over his false tweets on Southern Kaduna attack. Maikori was arrested on February 17th for tweeting that five students of the College of Education, GidanWaya in Kaduna state, were ambushed and killed by herdsmen while on their way back to school yesterday January 22nd, a claim that he later found out to be false and apologised.

Speaking at the Lagos Social Media Week yesterday, Governor Nasir El-Rufai said Maikori must suffer the consequences for sharing the false information.

"Audu Maikori rushed to publish a false story without checking with anyone. But before then, he had been posting fake pictures by posting Boko Haram attacks, Rwanda genocide as Southern Kaduna killings which elicited a lot of emotions on social media. But more than that, what he posted may have led to killings and we are trying to link the dates of the posting to attacks that may have happened the next day on Fulanis and if we are able to establish that causation, as lawyers, we know what it means. It is totally irresponsible to do that. And even when pointed out to him that this information is not true that the College of Education does not run a mass communication programme and that the school had been closed down since November, he still posted that he stands by his story. He questioned the authenticity of the press statement. He was totally and completely irresponsible. He is going to be prosecuted. He was arrested. His statement has been taken. His fate will be decided by a judge. Its not Nasir El-Rufai. Its nothing personal. I have nothing against him. He has worked with the state government in the past. Since we started going after people that are posting these fake pictures, we have had some sense of moderation. You cannot rush and use a platform like that without checking becaus ethere are two sides to this conflict because anything you post can elicit a reaction from one of the sides. So we should at least be sure that what we are posting is true. And there are ways of checking, call the police or other authorities. You are rushing to get retweets and followings without regards to the fact that what you are doing could lead to more violence or loss of lives. I am the governor of the state. I am not in this game to get following. My responsibility as governor of the state is to ensure the security of lives and property of the state and I will not allow anyone, even my own son, to do that kind of thing without consequence"he said

27 comments:

1. Get lost Oga,stop dragging us backwards.

2. See?

"we are trying to link the dates of the posting to attacks that may have happened the next day on Fulanis"

He is concerned about the harm done to Fulani people, but not what Fulanis did to Christians?

You want to prosecute a tweeter? How many killers have you arrested and prosecuted?

El Rufai, the Lord will reward you with a debilitating incurable disease, the type that is killing your brother and partner in the fight and annihilation of Christians.

No worry. You won't go free.

- The iConoclast

1. His own sickness Will not give him time like his brother's own. He will experience instant death in a twinkle of an eye.

3. They allowed him speak? These SMW people na wa.

4. Aboki go and take several seats!!! What hypocrisy!!! U posted worse in the previous administration!!! Who r u to say who n who is to be prosecuted??? Nonsense!!! Where has freedom of speech gone to???

5. Nasir El Rufai is a blatant lier.. his duty is to protect which lives and properties? Same southern Kaduna that's being killed uninterruptedly by El Rufais kingsmen..?? What bad has Audu Maikori done that can be compared to what El-Rufai and APC have done to this nation? It is indeed looming.... It's all going down gradually and my fear is that we are not sensitive towards it... If care isn't taking the former will be tea party compare to what's ahead.

6. Leave Audu alone he has apologized this short man an start wetin him no fit finish na trouble him wan start let bygone be bygone

7. I am beginning to suspect el rufia...
    he is too swift to come to the defence of these blood seeking fulani herdsmen.

8. THIS MIDGET EL-RUFAI IS SO PROUND

9. This Elrufai is an anti Christ

10. Short vindictive devil. Instead of finding ways to settle things. He will be claiming rule of law. Now lying that his own tweet in 2012 was not to incite violence. Audu messed up and he apologized. Why not reach an agreement with him and use him as posterboy against peddling of fake news instead you chose to make more enemies. Very unwise vindictive man. Your enemy list keeps growing everyday. Mumu- Newyorker

11. who doesnt know that this man has always been a fool? if whoever kills a fulani mans pays for the death of the fulani till for a 100years, what then happens to a fulani man that kills that man who is not from fulani? nonsense upon ingredients...

12. who doesnt know that this man has always been a fool? if whoever kills a fulani mans pays for the death of the fulani till for a 100years, what then happens to a fulani man that kills that man who is not from fulani? nonsense upon ingredients...

13. Mr El-rufai...are there not enough killings by your kinsmen already? You are supposed to be behind bars by now if Nigeria should be a civilized country. Nonsense!

14. Emphasis on 'attaches on Fulanis' , Oga Governor, so that's all you care about? Fulanis, not every tribe in the state in general.

Who persecuted you for the one you tweeted about anyone that kills a Fulani inccuring a debt payable in future' Continue. God is watching you.

15. Mr el rufai, God is watching you and will bring sudden death upon you and your family.

16. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Well the goverment control the DSS, so anything is very much possible though...

17. HE WILL NOT AND NEVER BE PROSECUTED NOT IN YOUR ENTIRE LIFE. THERE'S FREEDOM OF SPEECH IN DEMOCRACY. THE ONLY AND RIGHT THING TO DO IS TO PROVE YOUR INNOCENCE. IF YOU TRY ANYTHING STUPID WE THE YOUTH WILL CALL ON UNITED NATIONS TO FLUSH OUT TYRANT LEADERS LIKE YOU, WHO WILL NOT LET US HAVE PEACE AND ENJOY OUR FATHER LAND. ANIMAL

18. Short devil! Short devil! You again?

19. Gani Fawehimi of blessed memory would have instituted a case against this terrorist. Death saw Falana and Soyinka and left them to take Fela and Fawehimi.

A criminal that admitted to the quoted tweet and also admitted paying state resources in aiding and albeiting Fulani terror, the same man that lied about Jonathan independence day spending has temerity to charge another man to caught for posting uncorrect information.

The judgement of God is upon you El Rufai. As God made Pharaoh an example, others will see your case and fear God.

20. See how he has made everyone go anonymous? He has threatened our freedom of speech. This man is the poster boy for satan sent to drag Nigerians 5 centuries backwards. Why does a governor have so much power? The more you look the less you understand in this country. God of Elijah will send down HIS fire upon him for attacking His children. There is so much hatred in his eyes as he speak. I bind you in the name of Jesus!

21. Who persecuted all the thieves in govt? Who persecuted you were you said rubbish on twitter? Wicked man.

22. You're nothing but an idiot, Fulani my foot soon you will die.

23. Misplacement of priorities, the biggest uniformed problem in Nigeria's political history...
    Linda be careful, next target Na u nd dat Ur HP laptop...
    barbaerWILMORE

24. El Rufai is a tiny fool. Was he prosecuted in 2012 when he said if it takes 100yrs the Fulani will revenge on any attack on them? We should never take this loud mouth serious. He's not fit to be a counselor talk more of Gov. Audu Maikori should face him and never be afraid. A fanatics to the core. He dislike any religion apart from Islam.

25. HMM

26. Brymo will like to Audu rot in Jail.
    So do i.