Man sentenced to death by hanging for killing his wife in Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday, 24 February 2017

Man sentenced to death by hanging for killing his wife in Lagos

A Lagos High Court in Ikeja has sentenced a man, Sulaiman Olalekan to death by hanging for the murder of his wife, Chika Egbo on November 20th 2012. Sulaiman had met the deceased at Signal hotel Ijeshatedo where she was reportedly serving as a prostitute.

He fell in love and decided to marry her only if she promised never to go back to prostitution again. She made the promise and then they got married. Sulaiman bought her a fairly used car and even paid her tuition while she was at the Enugu College of Education.

He later discovered that his wife had reneged on her promise and had gone back to prostitution.

In anger, he bought acid from a battery charge at Ikotun in Lagos and invited over to his mother's house where he poured it on her.

He was arrested and the case was taken up by the the Lagos State Government through the state Ministry of Justice. The victim was rushed to the Lagos University Teaching Hospital (LUTH) for emergency medical treatment where she eventually died.

Delivering judgement in the case yesterday, the trial judge, Justice Lawal Akapo, convicted Sulaiman for the murder of his wife and sentenced him to death accordingly.

According to Justice Akapo, the murder of Chika Egbo by Sulaiman was premeditated. The state Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Adeniji Kazeem, who was the lead prosecuting counsel, thanked the Court for a well-considered punishment which would help push the state's campaign against domestic violence.

“Today’s judgment is a victory in our fight against domestic violence and a victory for domestic violence victims”he said

25 comments:

1. You no rich, you go marry fine ashawo . You never hear say ashawo no dey retire ?

1. Funny much... But how sure are we that his story is true.. Anyways may his gentle soul rest in peace in advance..

2. Don't make a whore a house wife

2. good for him. Join the Money Team! Get superb soccer prediction tips for Friday & Saturday 24th & 25th February 2017 @ www.fortunatusblog.com 

3. However, it is said, to marry ashawo, who is ready to change is better than a good girl, who is read to spoil.

4. Dats wht u get when u marry a Yoruba oloshi.

5. Joyous Babe Lindaikeji First Cousin24 February 2017 at 13:28

GOOD FOR HIM.

6. Joyous Babe Lindaikeji First Cousin24 February 2017 at 13:46

good for him,. yoruba demons .

7. Joyous Babe Lindaikeji First Cousin24 February 2017 at 13:47

good for him,. yoruba demons .

8. i wonder wetin mak u fall for ashawo

9. The death penalty is one of the few good things in Nigeria.

10. Na wa a hoe will still be a hoe....prostitutes hardly change...this man is a fool...he should have just bone the stewpid bitch and wal;k away now he has commited murder.....now its his turn

www.iwonpopular.com

11. Among all, no ashawo u choose.... OK naaahh

12. ok

1. Vivian idiot, I don't knw why I hate u

2. She may not be idiot anyway. But I just wonder If she is a human or monkey. She doesn't make a statement that is relevant to the topic rather she keeps making some monkey sounds. Must she comment on every topic, If you don't know what to say. Na by force?

13. tit for tat

14. Hello there,

Take your career to the next level in a Top U.S UNIVERSITY!

We are offering 50% scholarship off tuition fees across our universities for May intake.

Please note that the Scholarship is only applicable to UG degrees.
    shorelight_nigeria@bcie.co.uk

15. There was a way God would have favour him if he just divorce her quietly. A murder is never right even if he was right.

16. Wrong choices, wrong results..

17. Nawa oooo. May her soul Rest in peace

18. Runs girls and ashewo is In the blood, never believe they will change! Have your share and move on.

19. Good riddance to bad rubbish.

20. Just wondering when this girl became a prositute. I heard of this tragedy some 4 to 5 years ago and read it in many Nigerian dailies and FORUMS back then. Never once was the word "prostitute" mentioned. Now, I'm hearing of it almost 5 years later. I CANNOT BELIEVE SHE WAS A PROSTITUTE. This is a cooked up excuse to dirty the victim's honor in order to reduce the murderer's sentence. Thank God it did NOT work.

Again, let it be repeated, THE VICTIM WAS NEVER A PROSTITUTE.