Legal separation documents surface as Maje Ayida employs top lawyers in Nigeria and in the UK | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 3 February 2017

Legal separation documents surface as Maje Ayida employs top lawyers in Nigeria and in the UK

This is a mail that was just sent to my inbox. Read below...
A drastic turn of the tide is imminent, following the emergence of incontrovertible evidence strongly indicating that Toke Makinwa’s account in her book “On Becoming” is not all there is to know about events leading up to her separation from her erstwhile husband Maje Ayida and that her book is nothing but an exaggerated fabrication.
This most recent development has come to the fore on account of damning revelations discovered proving that Maje Ayida and Toke Makinwa were legally separated 6 months into the marriage.

The leading defamation law firm in the UK, Carter Ruck, lawyers to top figures like Elton John, Simon Cowell, Chelsea Football Club and The State of Qatar have recently taken up Maje Ayida as one of their clients and in a warning letter addressed to Toke Makinwa on the 23rd of December 2016 highlighted a number of excerpts from the book that were untrue, specifically quoting as follows:

“… We highlight the fact that our client requested a legal separation from you within 6 months of your wedding to him in January 2014, when it became clear that the marriage was breaking down. A separation agreement was formally signed by you in July 2014…”

“It is therefore well documented that our client and you had agreed to separate by July 2014 (a matter which the book signally fails to record), and that this was, self-evidently far more than ‘’teething’’ difficulties as the book misleadingly describes the circumstances at the time”

Also, Heading the legal front in Nigeria is Kemi Pinhero SAN, whose firm has also served Toke Makinwa a letter, corroborating the issues raised by Carter Ruck letter and specifically demanding among other things that she:

“Withdraw from circulation all copies of the book and take immediate steps to call in all copies of the book already distributed and deliver up same at the place to be agreed upon by our client for destruction”

“Retract or cause to be retracted the said published words and tender an unreserved apology to our client by publishing the said apology in one full page insertion in three national dailies to wit: ThisDay, The Guardian and Punch Newspaper and on all your social media platforms including Instagram, Youtube, Twitter and Facebook”

Further stating that failure to comply with all of the demands will result in the commencement of legal action.

72 comments:

1. Wawuu! This is getting more interesting.
    When that book came out, I said it there are always 3 sides to a story, her account, his account and the truth.
    Let's see how it goes down.

2. No lawyer from US or SA ni?... dee

3. if only private brouhahas could be kept out of public space!

4. Wonder!WHY ONLY TOP UK AND NIGERIA LAWYERS HUH? WHY NOT INCLUDE US,SAUDI AND S A HUH? So u've being sleeping all these whiles huh? That person that is advising u on this hmm hate u oo THOU THAT TOKE HAS TURN UR NAME INTO FOOTMARTCH U FOR ENDURE AM AS U DEY DO SINCE. Well i can wait to see the end of this shame. WAITING FOR ANITA AND THE OTHER BITCH TO COME OUT TOO.
    no wonder una vote an idiot with artificial brain as a president.

5. Ghen Ghen
    where are all the warriors
    Come and defend the lying toke makinwa, whom I said earlier had a book filled with holes and false dates.
    We should learn to stop being biased,as this doesn't help women who have real marital issues from this junkie seeking attention and stylishly failing to mention her own contributions to be breakdown of the marriage.
    Its high time we vet certain claims by certain people, so we don't miss the real issues

6. THIS Means war...mayida werey .mthew...vntu done enuf damage?

7. Enter your comment...see we ladies re problem to me you still love you ex

8. Enter your comment...They both still have burning desires for themselves. But things are so tied up.

9. This is really on becoming. Order for Ofe Akwu(Banga soup), Ofe Onubu(bitter leaf soup) Vegetable soup etc. Please call 07085401702. Location is Lekki Lagos.Thank you.

10. "On Becoming I'll sell like wild fire

11. There were holes in that book as to time, dates and events. Let's seat

12. If I were Toke, I'll get a full page on ten national dailies just to tell him to go to hell.

13. I hope she would stop going on about it now. If marriage is not working, move on. It was evident that he did not love you from the start. There is always two sides to every story.

14. Ghen ghen wonder what toke will say to defend herself

15. WOW ! Hope this lady ain't go ruin herself more than she has already done. We sit back and know what she is doing is cheap stunt for underserving reward despite all the noise she is making to distract and patronize majority of the people.

16. Linda remember your comments, purchases of copies of the book,your donations as you now tend to want to milk the situation to draw traffic.

I have been waiting with baited breath to see if Maje was acquiescing, now he is up in defense of his reputation and in a big way, Toke oya naa, prove all you have written. Mtchew Nigerian/African Kim KArdashian.

17. Toke and Make, una matter don tire me

18. Maje Ayida Ode Ni E... She signed it but U guys were still Living together. .
    U don mess & I expected U to deal it..
    U are just Barking like a toothless Bulldog..
    Yeye Man..
    Fuck out of our time line than sending all ur rubbish to inbox of Bloggers and media Houses..
    U be Man whore .. Dog Aja .. deal with it joor.

1. You are so foolish, that shows how dumb u are, if a man says is no more interested, wise woman will leave the home for better person. But she was still sleeping and doing osho free

19. Hahaha i no fit laff, Linda shey u don c am. Now u carry this girl matter for head. Al the little change and coins that she has made will go for settlement.Other women have been thru worse yet they make a better life for themselves. but nit this party freak of a girl that is chasing money fame all over. The girl lied in her book.Instead of her to tag the book Non Fiction we will still know that she was referring to her ex she went ahead to slander the ex now Maje is coming for your skinny ass.

20. I hope she prepared for this before publishing the story about her broken marriage with real names.

21. Hahahahaha maje is broke ,he doesn't have money again and toke is not here to give . What does Anita do for a living again ????? Hohohoho

22. As they say in my local parlance, 'Yawa don Gas!'

Hi Guys,
    There’s a website that is TOTALLY dedicated to helping you become a better individual and to make the most of your life. Please check it out at www.kayceeokuma.com. It may just be PERFECT for you!

23. Yawa don gas. Make tho', silent but dangerous

24. hmm... it is well.

25. hmm... it is well.

26. This Maje is talking about asking for separation in 2014.... He has forgotten about his public apology in 2015.... https://www.bellanaija.com/2015/07/maje-publicly-apologizes-to-toke-makinwa-it-is-indefensible-and-i-am-sorry/

1. Thank you! A lot of people also seem to forget that the scandal of their broken marriage was all over news blogs long before the book came out! He suffered public ridicule at that time (so did toke!).. and he gave a public apology admitting his guilt! He just mad she's moved on and is making money

27. I like Toke but as a lawyer, I said it earlier. U do t take another person life and write about it such as tarnishing the person's personality. She should have consulted a lawyer before writing such. If she must have written. It should have been as a fiction novel where names are changed and not linked to anybody. There are lawyers that can use that book and tear her apart legally, sue her for all she is worth. She needs top lawyers now to help her out.

1. She not only defamed Maje, she defamed Anita too, that one should sue her join.

28. Waiting dey worry this two people self bcus una two marry now una turn modakeke and Ile Ife WAR , I beg make una park well jor#WEREPES

29. What oh! Anita got pregnant after Toke had signed the letter stating they want to be separated? Then why is Toke saying he cheated if they had been separated all this time? Toke really needs to apologize to Maje and Anita!!!! The marriage, ended before Anita got pregnant!!!!

1. Apologies to who? Nonsense! That stupid maje?

30. I will comment later when everyone has commented..

31. Joyous Babe Lindaikeji First Cousin3 February 2017 at 14:28

*yimu, u keep saying u asked for separation 6 months to the wedding after staying with u for over 12yrs it obvious u never love her , all u wants from her is sex and her money,and u still have not clear your name from all the allegation levels against u in that book .Mr cheating horseband.

32. I think Toke flogged this matter a little too much. Made it seem like Maje is a mass murderer instead of someone that broke her heart. She just kept on milking the situation

33. And the war just begun.

34. Yeeeeeeeeeees! This made my day..i could remember Aunty LINDA hailing Toke on her one sided story..she was like go! go! Toke Tokstar!.....I just hope you'd come out now and still give her a go ahead..Sometimes it's only right we hear from the both parties involved in a conflict before throwing our judgment..I JUST HOPE YOU LEARN FROM THIS @AUNTY LINDA...It's not all about been a feminist,it's all about knowing what's right...BUCKLE UP MA...the way you judge things here aint right,all you ought to do here is post and let people comment...#ONLYREALMENACT

35. What exactly is going on here? Am lost now

36. Dang!that's cold. Godspeed Toke.

37. Good for you toke!I guess you underestimated Maje. You are in for it this time!!!

38. I knew it.

NEVER, I repeat, NEVER!!! take a womans side of the story alone. They are very emotional and assume a lot, forget a lot and make up stories a lot, to fill up spaces they cant explain.

Their stories are always sweeter and whenever a story is that sweet, its fake.

1. Looool this one got me 😂😂😂😂😂

39. Good one, Toke!
    Ignore the ignorant coward in the person of your ex

40. beht wait ooo! hmm!

41. Good for her, if every woman goes about writing defamatory and derogatory statements about men that hurt them will it be okay? Ur own is even different sef that he didn't want to marry u, u forced urself on him and u still wrote such about him, na by force?

42. Ihale ni eleyi ooo. She should have gotten legal advice before publication. Not to worry, just get your own legal team. It is money that will suffer! Sterling lo ma jiya re! She should have married him in the UK for starters! E for don do gani!

43. Na Wa Oh! If it is true, Toke better get a very influential person to negotiate with these people oh and since she made a lot of money, give them 50percent.

44. Toke, please where can I get a copy of your book (On Becoming) in Europe?

45. Toke, please where can I get a copy of your book (On Becoming) in Europe?

46. Chelda the Entertainment lawyer3 February 2017 at 18:40

What they signed was a Judicial separation document not divorce document. Judicial Separation is usually for two years during which the family court gives the couple the chance to think over their decision of Divorce and try to settle their issues, but where it fails, the couple can file for divorce.
    Judicial Separation still ties the couple to each before the law.

Also, Miss Toke reserves the right to write a Memoir, nothing can change this fact.

Thanks

47. This time hell has no fury like a man scorned !!!!!! E don sele!

48. I knew from day one that the whole story were fabricated, I don't know Maje or Toke in person but her story said it all....... she was just madly Inlove with the guy but didn't know how to go about it.............. I can't wait to see her apologies 😀😀😀😀

49. I think the Nollywood producers should make it a movie. It's gonna be in the Box office.

50. I just want someone to send a message to maje for me. He is a pig! And he should move on with his stds. This why a lot of women are single, breaking hearts and wasting time.

51. I wish linda replied coments, I wld ha blasted u, u tk sides somtimes which is silly, toke is a bleaching witch n maje is gonna fuck her up

52. He is a loser! Women becareful of the men you lay with, they ends up becoming enemies. when do he write becoming maje? Women you can't turn a whore into a house husband. Anofia!

53. Abeg madam Linda! Enter my comment na. I am not here to joke with that stupid maje. May Satan punish his std dick!

54. All this pity party for Made; he wasn't forced to marry her. One day we heard that she left him while dating when it seemed like he wasn't serious with the relationship, the next day we hear they were married. He was either weak or selfish; or both.

55. I hail Tiwa and Tbliz. They are stronger human beings. I pray that God will heal all the pain.

56. how will she return the copy that i am looking at right now on my computer screen? ta comot from there, onye ara fucklicant Maje, aka sex with many women inc. mtcheew. just grow balls and ask her for your own share of proceeds from the book. afterall it was your salacious story that gave her ghe audience.

57. Did Maje meet Toke a virgin?