Yay! Onyeka Nwelue makes list of 100 Most Influential Nigerian Writers under 40 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday, 5 January 2017

Yay! Onyeka Nwelue makes list of 100 Most Influential Nigerian Writers under 40

Nigerian filmmaker and writer Onyeka Nwelue is on the list 100 Most Influential Nigerian Writers under 40, a special award category in the 2016 Nigerian Writers Award. Of course, I also made the list...*wink*

Onyeka is a Novelist. Film maker, Cultural Entrepreneur and  young Nigerian writer whose life style draws attention to many Nigerian youths; he was born on the 31st of January 1988 to Honourable Sam Nwelue, a politician and Knight of St. Christopher and Lady Catherine Nwelue, a teacher and Lay Reader.
He is best known for his novel 'The Abyssinian Boy', which was published when he was 21 and won the TM Aluko Prize for Fiction, came second at the Ibrahim Tahir Prize for First Book, was nominated for the Future Awards and later won the Prince Claus Ticket Grant.

In 2014, he was appointed a Visiting Lecturer of African Studies at the School of Modern Language and Culture, the University of Hong Kong and later an assistant professor of African Studies at Instituto d'Amicis in Puebla, Mexico. In 2016 he won the non-fiction writer of the year (readers vote) at the Nigerian Writers Awards.
He currently writes a column on www.lindaikejimusic.com called ‘The Baron’s. Read his recent articles here

19 comments:

1. CALL THIS NUMBER(08141395113)IF U HAVE SCRAP ,CONDEMNED ,DAMAGED OR ANYTYPE OF INVERTER BATTERY TRADE THEM FOR CASH AND WE CAN PICK IT UP ANYWHERE IN NIGERIA

1. Isn't he a juju worshipper?

2. Available games if you do punt. Celebrate with us this
    period
    Next fixed odds would be available this week.
    All interested should call or whatsapp us 09096046339
    The odds are 100 percent guaranteed

3. Congratulations to him

4. Joyous babe,Linda ikeji first cousin5 January 2017 at 11:56

Congrats to him.

5. Congrats 2 Him...The dude is brilliant.
    Nice 1

6. ***Linda just say Yay! My BOYFRIEND & HUSBAND makes list of 100 Most Influential Nigerian Writers under 40. We will understand. Congrats to him.

7. Congrats Lindodo...
    It can only get better Jare....
    We Nigerians appreciate like Kilode..

8. GOOD TO SEE

PLEASE KINDLY FOLLOW ME ON LIS @OKECHUKWU NNODUECHI

9. Linda your man seemed to have a fascinating personality as soon as I started reading his write-up at your music site but down the line he ended up being a very negative person that has a penchant for pouring venoms on young children hustling their way to survival through music. Does he need to pour all that acid on Iceprince, Eedris and Burna? Jeez! Why is he at boiling point like the music world is his footstool and he decides who succeeds or not?
    I'm very happy for his success though,unlike him I'm a positive person even when i already called him motherfucker in my head but i am still happy for him. Somebody should let him know that there's no perfect person around, I did cringe a bit on seeing a big mistake in his write-up where he said "which I address last week" yet I forgave him that knowing that nobody is perfect. He needs to tone down his proud swagger, it's a turn-off, jeezy! Ouch! Let those Babies be man, they are just grinding and hustling like everybody. Don't turn off their God given light and glory with the darkness of your negativity. Jeez! I'm still exclaiming.

10. Linda and Onyeka! I smell a giant fish. Linda if he treats you like a princess please marry him. Congratulations to you.

1. They are cousins as I heard. Nothing romantic

11. And Onyeka, listen to Internet News Freak's comment. Please tone it down, He is right.

12. Linda's husband to be. Congrats Linda and her husband to be.

13. Lindz when are u guys wedding biko?