But really, should the government regulate the church? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 9 January 2017

But really, should the government regulate the church?

A new legal requirement set up by our Government through its Financial Reporting Council of Nigeria, forced Pastor Adeboye to retire as the General Overseer of Redeemed Christian Church of God over the weekend..

The new rule which guides all registered churches and mosques stipulates that leaders of all religious organizations should have a maximum period of 20 years to lead their organizations. And as they retire, they are not allowed to handover to a family member.

This new development will also affect the likes of Bishop David Oyedepo of the Living Faith Ministries, Pastor Williams Kumuyi of the Deeper Christian Life Ministry and others. Should the Federal Government have gotten involved? Please share your thoughts.

131 comments:

1. Wetin concern bird with toothbrush?

1. YUP! I'm happy the government has gotten involved. The government regulates businesses through regulatory bodies. The church is one too in this country. This way they can stop making it a family business and taking the money of poor innocent Nigerians. And putting in their fake children and wife pastors. My opinion

2. Everyday new drama. Linda take note!

3. This is a welcomed development that SHOULD ONLY be agreed upon by the governing bodies of Christian churches like Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN), NOT the government of the country!

4. Let's regulate politics. The north have been ruling for so long. They should quit till other tribes or zones have thier turn.live the churches alone

5. Is this what the government should focus on? Instead of them to focus on how to make revenue and improve the economy. If God has chosen Adeboye to rule Redeemed Church in Nigeria, who is federal government to oppose it?

6. If God has ordained Adeboye to work as the General Overseer of the Redeemed Church in Nigeria, Federal govt should be careful not to dabble into religious beliefs and spiritual matters. Why didnt the federal govt ban hijab when boko haram was using ladies wearing hijab to bomb people? What is their business in churches? We want Adeboye. This is democracy and we should say who we want. I am relocating abroad because this country is messed up. This govt has misplaced priorities

7. They should also remove the Pope na. Senseless law makers with misplaced priorities

8. These Church leaders are ordained by God oh. They do not do anything without taking directives from God. These are spiritual matters, faith and beliefs of people oh. Federal government should be careful if they want to last long in government and also to avoid this country dividing. I have said my own oh. A word is enough for the wise!

9. What about native doctors and thrones of kings? Wont they regulate them too? They should also regulate families and hier apparents too na. Jobless, senseless lawmakers. Stmcheew

10. What nonsense is this? It is like regulating thrones of traditional rulers. Is it your business? Is this what you should focus on when a country is collapsing? Clueless lawmakers. I weep for Nigeria!!! Ghosh!

11. These men of God speak to God one on one. We should not dabble into the faith and beliefs of people, we should not dabble into spiritual matters. Adeboye was chosen by God and God has not asked him to leave. The founder of the Redeemed Church handed over to Adeboye according to what God told him not according to what one clueless government told him. God chose Adeboye to help Nigerians and God has not told him to leave Nigeria. If you forcefully remove him against the will of God, you are on your own.

12. A prophesy came this year that the government will attack churches in 2017. It is already happening. That means the prophet that gave the prophesy was right. I respect that prophet.

13. Why is the government always fighting establishments that help people? This was how they attacked MMM, now they are attacking churches

14. I was a very strong supporter of Buhari but i have changed my mind because of this law against christians that he signed. It is obvious that he is being controlled by some cabals that he cannot say no to. Come 2019, I will still vote for APC in my state but at the federal level, Buhari has to go. I will vote for another party but certainly not PDP

15. Very very much needed in America...maybe crazy Trump can pass the bill.

16. When they wanted to ban hijab, they stopped it because it is against muslim religious beliefs, when they wanted to build a film village in Kano, they stopped it because it is against muslim religious beliefs, when they wanted to pass the gender equality bills, they stopped it because it is against muslim religious culture or Northern culture. Have they ever considered christian religion before passing any of their laws? Have they ever stopped any laws in order to respect the beliefs of christians? General Overseers and pastors are chosen spiritually and until God tells them to step down, they dont. Examples in the bible are Moses, Joshua, David, Elijah, Apostle Paul etc. They moved by the leading of God and the holyspirit. They take directives from God not from man or Government. They lead spiritually. Why should the government put a law in place that will affect christian beliefs? And they never consider christians in their decisions before taking action. This has to stop. I am not voting for APC again at the federal level. I dont care if Osinbajo is Vice President. This country needs to divide into two so that christians and muslims can go their seperate ways since they cannot tolerate each other's religion. My candid opinion

17. Even if there are many fake men of God these days that are just there to deceive people and eat money, there are still some genuine men of God chosen by God whom this law will affect because God has not asked them to retire. Genuine men of God are chosen spiritually not politically or regulated by govt. Those saying it is family business, can you tell me of any General Overseer that has handed over to his son or daughter? Lets be careful what we say with our mouths

18. General Overseers are chosen spiritually not politically

19. This is crazy, who gave the government the right to ask a man called by God to step down from his father's work. Yes there are fake pastors, but the Bible warned us about these things.... hmm, this government wants to see the wrath of God upon them, I think then they'll know we serve a living God.. Selah!

2. If the church is under the Government, den I see nothing wrong in it

1. How can the church be under the government? Do you know what the church is? The body of Christ under the government of men?

2. What she means by under the government is that the church is subject to the laws of the land. Even the bible says to obey the laws of the land. Give to ceaser. ...
      About the law, heard it's not new. But my worry is where is CAN in all this? They are not saying anything.
      This is what happens when our church leaders dine with politicians and not call then out on what is wrong. Now its affecting the church.
      kings of old were the ones who went seeking Prophets of God. These days ours go to Aso rock, dine, pray for them and say nothing to call them out on their bad policies. See Jonathans time na.

3. @Anonymous 13:58 You are missing the point. Giving what is caesar to caesar means obey the laws of the land but not the government dabbling into the things of God. If God directed a man of God to go to Aso Rock and speak to Buhari, he has to obey no matter the criticism. Afterall, Jesus Christ was criticised several times by the pharises and the scribes. If God ordained Adeboye to remain in Nigeria and help the people of Nigeria, the government should not stop it otherwise, they will inccur the wrath of God. I pity the law makers that did this. They should watch their lives and generation from today. God Himself will be the one dealing with them himself. Mark my words!

4. @naijadeltababe, No church of God is subject to any Government, why are native doctors not subject to the Government? Can't you Christians see the hand writing on the wall? But I tell you all to watch, God will use this government as an example... these great men were called spiritually by the Government of the most high God, and no earthly government can bring it to end...

3. This government just lacks what to do..

4. Watin concern super star Dj banti

5. What about Catholic bishops and rev. Fathers... Anglican and other athodox churches? And what concerns devilish government and body of christ?

.............. Cristo vive..........

1. Have you heard of a Catholic Bishop remaining in one post for 20 years, and is the Catholic church a family business?

2. How about you do research before throwing this out there?
      The Catholic Church is highly regulated. And power doesn't stay in one hand for too long except the pope etc. Priest don't even have the power to hand over the church talk less of kids to hand it over to

3. Stop brining other churches to the issue. Please face your own. Abi buhari wan ask Pope to step down ? Odiegwu

6. nawa...

7. This is not right! Are they bringing politics to d church now?

8. Imagine o!You are asking huh?ISLAMIZATION LOADING ........... Terrorist buhari include mosque there so that peoples will not look@it some how. SHAMELESS USELESS DRY PRESIDENT OF HELL. So na church be his problem huh? Don't we have other problem huh? LINDA I WILL ADVICE U TO DIVERT THE ATTENTION U HAVE ON TRUMP TWEETER ON UR SO CALLED PRESIDENT BECAUSE TRUMP IS BETTER THAN ONE MILLION TERRORIST BUHARI AND HIS CABALS. when has church becomes government responsibility huh? FROM THERE NOW THEY WILL STOP CHURCH FROM HAVING BRANCHES OR GOING EVANGELISM WATCH AN SEE and Christians are keeping silent shame shame shame to Christians ooooo how i wish na muscle them dey kill in kaduna they for don go protest shame to u Christians oooo. TERRORIST BUHARI WILL UNRAVEL HIS SATANIC ISLAMIC MISSION AND AGENDA THIS YEAR.
    may thunder fire apc and their supporters. DIVED NIGERIA OOOOO WE ARE TIRED OF LIVING TOGETHER WITH THESE CANNIBALS OO

1. Freeborn, you always exuberate stupidity. Please UNDERSTAND before comment and kindly learn English before I deduce that that the oil spill in the Delta has f**cked up your brain.... F**king Idiot.

2. There was an Idiot from N.D called Freeborn,
      Who couldn't write English yet blew his own horn.

In prison once his asshole got an itch,
      He went to the hospital and they said he caught it from playing FFK's bitch.

All day long he used to suck his dick,
      The resultant was that Freeborn got schizophrenic.

3. Freeborn nash man. Oluriburuku.

9. It is not a new rule. It has been for long but was defied by the pentecostal churches in the past with only the orthodox churches abiding by it. Now, d government is serious about getting d pentecostal to stick to it which is good for the sustainable system administration of the churches + transparency in finance (as being practised in UK & US) and it is also scriptural- Numbers 8: 25, a levite after a particular age ceases to be a priest but still remains a levite. Today's examples include John Maxwell, Myles Munroe, Dobson, etc. who all did the same.

1. This comment has been removed by the author.

2. I doubt that You understand what you're typing.

3. PREACHHHH!

4. So when God calls you after 20years you tell God you don't want his call anymore?
      Levies are different from pastors okay!

5. Dr Osas you are well informed👍 educate them more please

10. It's totally commendable,and I am looking forward to religious organizations tax in the country, it's a multi-billion naira industry and should be duly regulated. Nigeria on the path of greatness again

11. It's illogical that the govt will set up such laws and more illogical is the fact that the pastors/imams didn't question it. Very soon, they will be mandated to pay taxes. Even, if gkvt ask them to pay tax, it's ridiculous to tell them how they should run leadership. How can you tell an organisation how to run it's leadership, not alone a church for that matte?

Prominent and influential pastors like Adeboye are in best position influence others to reject the law, but he is the one leading by example to be used by the govt

12. There's no smoke without fire.

13. My answer is yes. Government did the right thing. Church is not a family business. New generation churches needs to emulate catholic and Anglican ways.

14. My answer is yes. Government did the right thing. Church is not a family business. New generation churches needs to emulate catholic and Anglican ways.

15. Let the CAN do the job of regulating for the Christians(Churches) and the approved legal association for the Muslims(Mosques) in consultation with the government, government support to enforce when necessary, to check abuses-which of course are in existence-if not the government may come in and the unwanted and unexpected will be the outcome.

16. There's no smoke without fire.

17. CLUELESS GOVERNMENT HAS NO BUSINESS WITH CHURCHES

18. I really think that tenure should be cut down to 10 years. On the other hand I do not think the government should regulate the church, neither do I think the Church should regulate itself.

I think the Church on its own accord should set up a body that would regulate it.

By the way not just the Church but also all religious bodies. Linda Ikeji a few days ago you posted a story of a Pastor performing miracles with his foot. We all know what that is about. Someone ought to summon that gentleman to explain his miracles.

Also a Pastor a couple of weeks ago woke up and decided to rain curses down on Funke Akindele. I wonder why she has not gone to the police to summon the gentleman. Multiplying your congregation should not involve raining curses down on innocent people in the name of prophesy.

If you give an organization free reign without oversight of any sort its only a matter of time before abuses start coming to the fore as long as a man or woman is in charge of that organization.

People are buying private jets and flying over children dying of hunger to go and preach the Gospel. How can a child die of hunger in 2017?????

A Pastor would tell you to believe in God for your Miracles and enrichment while the only person he believes for his miracles and enrichment is you. So he is coming to you for money and asking you to go to God to get your own. Anyway, just venting.

Peace.

19. DON'T MIND THEM

PLEASE KINDLY FOLLOW ME ON LIS @OKECHUKWU NNODUECHI

20. If adhered to will lead to a good 'corporate governance' practice which is in line with global best practice. It is a good thing! don't argue blindly...

21. The government should face their work and focus on important issues. This is really none of their business

22. wat sort of nonsense is dis? does it mean dose Prophecies ar true about dis year? jus keepin my fingers crossed

23. There is nothing wrong with. It will only help us and also help the corrupt churches. Imagine how international communities are making fun of Nigerian churches and our G.O.s that are acquiring planes here and there in the name of General overseers?

24. It is not right. The Nigerian government have not finished governing their citizens is it the church they will govern....then where will be the place of the holy spirit. We don't need politics in the church. Adeboye resigning is part of politics played by the Redeemed pastors. It was not God that said that. That was man's decision, I pray they heed they heed to God's word.

25. Pls dey should lv Church alone! Church is a heavenly government! Dr Osaz, we are in new testament God will judge! When God calls one he his to serve him till death! Tell me when Paul, Stephen, Timothy, etc retired. "This is gate of hell and it can't prevail in JESUS name. Have u take time think? When a Pastor like W.F Kumuyi step down, Olukoya, Lazarus, Suleman, etc. If redeemed engage it self in politics, like Osinbajo,etc. Let them deal with themselves and live the rest alone! #christains PRAY! Der is a grand plan! The weapon of our warfare are not canal" if your interested in us praying together pls 08057639232 power most change hand!��⌚

1. Wait...The federal govt said they should hand over but did he say who they should hand over too? No!!!!Is it not a fellow born again they are handing over too? Or are you saying it's only one person holy and righteous enough to lead? So what's the conspiracy to bring the church down? Did Eli not handover? Elijah passed on the mantle to Elisha etc. So what are yo saying? Paul groomed pple and sent them to different churches. In the days of old, the church was one with one vision and mission, not broken into different ministries with different doctrines like we hve today.

He said retire as the "one I charge" and not a pastor, it doesn't mean they can't preach or work in the church.

There is no "grand plan" as long as the government is not choosing their successors.

2. Anonymous 14:11 Elijah handed over to Elisha according to God's directives not according to Caesar's or government's directives. We should careful not to dabble into spiritual matters. Just saying...

3. You don't need to be a general overseer of a church to follow the calling of God

26. Will Pa Oyedepo of Living Faith Church accept this?

<< LIB Addict >>

27. Dr Osaz, thats a bunch of lies you just dropped there.
    Pastors are not levites. And so this doesnt apply to them.

And John maxwell ,Myles munroe etc never resigned bcos of any law.

John maxwell stopped pastoring to face his outside ministry, Myles munroe passed on.

28. Devilsin Government

29. Joyous Babe Lindaikeji First Cousin9 January 2017 at 09:57

waiting concern govt with a church that a man of God single handed built with God's calling? nawa o.

30. Wat is d problem of this govt dey leave wat dey shld face like the economy and killing of innocent pple dey put face on church

31. Joyous Babe Lindaikeji First Cousin9 January 2017 at 09:57

waiting concern govt with a church that a man of God single handed built with God's calling? nawa o.

32. The question should rather be. Is it right for pastors to be succeeded by their family members? A church is not a business entity and not a family business but the way some churches are being run in Nigeria like family business. A church is supposed to be a church of God and not a church (a man of God).

I want to believe that the government is just trying to sanitize the churches, unless someone can convince me that there is an ulterior motive to it. The law is not a new law and it affects both churches and mosques as long as they are registered with Corporate Affairs Commission, then they can be regulated by government.

I am a christian and a minister in the Redeem Christian Church of God but I support the law. Please let us put sentiment apart.

The church should be giving direction to government and politicians but it is unfortunate that reverse is now the case.

1. You r a big liar sir. U not r not even a member of RCCG. Don't say what you don't know... Church is not politics and the government have no right on who head it and for how long. If you want to head a church, set up your own.

2. Were you there when they were building up the churches? Now that the church has success, you now want to regulate. The founder of the Redeemed Church handed over to Adeboye according to the leading of God and not according to one useless government regulation. Rubbish!

33. Joyous Babe Lindaikeji First Cousin9 January 2017 at 09:58

34. Akaighe Godbless9 January 2017 at 10:06

This is a controversial issue. Who came up with 20 years? Why not 30yrs? Why not a 70Years retirement thing as with professors and Judges? Assuming the government should regulate the leadership cap. Since it is about the law and non-for-profit making code of governance, the financial transparency and tax for the organisations with schools and hospitals that make "profit" should be the concern, not the 20 years leadership cap.

35. Daddy remains G.O worldwide, he has only appointed another over seer for Nigeria.
    just to make it clear.

36. now the physical wants to control the spiritual...hmmm...Buhari is just a pot of beans

37. anyfin that involves money now government intervene...from mmm now churches abi

38. Pls you have to see that it's a way of the government distracting Nigerians ....Every new year that come up with one thing or the other....Pls buhari is how old he too should resign before this policy is implemented ie leadership by example....gosh I loathe these people

39. Abeg forget all that mater. @ Ahmed I agree with u buhari has a plan. The Nig govt shld concentrate on better things. Issues like this shld not be their priority for now. Evil mined man.

40. The Government has no right interfering in the affairs of the Church! And yes, it's true, Islamization Loading...

41. Misplaced priorities.. what's their biz wt religious matters.. are they God. I weep for this country..

42. totally agree..This will prevent them from using churches as a business center to be passed from family to family. The church is about who has tthe calling its a religious affair not a family business. If its family owned then they are subject to pay tax which religious houses do not. Adeboye can still go on preaching just that hes not in control of d church. He can serve as a board chairman of d church anyhow.

43. They should not allow the anger of God to come upon them.....they didn't call any of them into serving God

44. Yes!!! The bible stated that they would be a gov't...

45. Dis law was make 3yr age, so let nt blame buhari n pastor Adeboye still remains d G O of rccg nationwide

46. Here's where we are all blindfolded with our traditional and spiritual ways of life....Don't you all realise that the so called mega pentecostal churches we attend are actually registered as PUBLIC COMPANIES !!!! And every company registered under the govt MUST be governed by guidelines and laws !!! Please don't allow anybody's personal agenda mislead you....The govt has every right to do what they did.

#DavidAbioye loading @ WINNERS CHAPEL

47. They r right to regulate it. The church is an agent to hell fire. Pastors loot money from d church. And since it is d people's money. It shld b regulated. One day churches and mosques will b a thing of d past.

48. Buhari and APC GOVERNMENT WILL ALL DIE BY FIRE

THEY CANNOT STOP GODS SERVANT. imagine!!!

Where were they when he has been impacting lives

They want control at all cost

Trying to break the largest Christian body!!!

Bloody cattle Herdsmen President!!!

I have this government sha

49. My question is simple is this regulating with respect to churches the reason why naira is still crashing, the budget as stolen, the high price of commodities refuse to drop, the dollar is acting like rocket against Naira, Peoplple are lavishing in hunger & poverty or why the subsidy did not make any impact....what is Osibanjo(VP) response to this?....is it the reason for the mass slaughtering of Nigeria by the president's brother (Fulani).... Hmmmmmm war is loading round the corner o!

50. It is a welcome development. The church shouldn't be a monarchy of family ties. They are built on public charity so it should not become a private business tool.

51. Its entirely out of place the government to want to regulate church Activities...why not allow (Christian Association of Nigeria)take charge of that....To me is a deliberate action which must not be allowed to see the light of the day...what in situation were the family member was the most qualified and is ordained by God to be the next to take the mantle of leadership...government in this case is being petty....

52. Thank you so much Dr Osaz, its great to see someone who uses their brain on LIB. You just made my day. To buttress your point.

I am a christian, a born again tongue talking one at that and I am in full support of this law for the following reasons:
    1. It will help the pastors make heaven themselves as they will stop focusing on amassing earthly materials for them and their household. If you know that you will have to hand over leadership to someone who is not a member of your family, you tend to be more selfless.

2. Selflessness will lead to growth. A case in point is the RCCG. The founder handed over to pastor adeboye, adeboye will hand over to someone else who is not a family member. These individuals will work selflessly without having any emotions attached. Seen the catholic bishops, they move them around a lot, no wonder the catholic church is still going strong.

Another example of selflessness would be this, when Archbishop Benson Idahosa died, the leaders inquired of God about who would take over leadership, it was not the wife that was chosen, but alas, she became the church leader, I stongly believe that this law will help them to a large extent to obey the leading of the Holy Spirit regarding the choice of leadership.

3. Finally, this will improve transparency in the affairs of the church.

53. The devil through buhari is creeping into the church. But this will show him that even the gates of Hades cannot prevail over the church. Nigeria has lots of problems 2 address, y start with the church? Since he assumed power, its just bn 4rm 1 problem 2 the other. But this one, am sure he won't survive it.

54. @ muna Rev father's r not overseers dat aside eerrrMmmm if govt joint n redeem G.O has respected d govt, den who r we 2 judge

55. Financial Regulations and spiritual regulations are not the same thing. The structures are different. Finances are to be regulated as per the world governments or governance code while spiritual is purely Gods affair. God spoke to the people of old through his prophets. God is speaking to his people now through the comforter or the holy spirits and his prophets. How does the government come in here? The sins of the children of Israel asking for king is about repeating ‎itself. God does not call everybody, He knows his own and speaks to them at sundry times. Why should we allow covetousness to blind fold us replacing spiritual matters with financial in the name of Governance. Why not leave Ceaser with his coins and let God with his Words and Spirits.  Please do a rethinking and reverse that thing that is not within your capacity.

56. The government has no business meddling with Church affairs.

I am MPO and this is just My Personal Opinion
    .. Begin year 2017 with this wonderful gift here>

57. Every attempt to islamize Nigeria by this so called government has failed. If they don't repent of their evil laws,their end shall be miserable.

58. The NFC rule should be enforced.

59. It can't just work !#CHUX

60. It is not a new law being made under Buhari.

The law was promulgated under Goodluck Jonathan.

People should stop blackmailing Buhari for what he knows nothing about.

Blame Jonathan if you must blame anybody at all.

61. It is unacceptable for government to meddle with religious affairs. Soon they will bring politics into our churches. Christians should stand up and and protest! If PMB should still be in politics at the age of 73, then I see nothing wrong with our general overseers heading the churches for more than 20 years.

62. This is a welcome development

63. Why are people deceptive. This law has been on since the time of GEJ. Why is Pastor Adebayo not telling the people the truth? He should have told them that they took FRC to court and lost out. That's why he has decided to take the right step by resigning. If the money in churches and mosque are that of the founders only, i am sure that the government will not put an eye on them. The leaders have taken the people for granted for too long. The funds are not accounted for. The government is simply asking them to account for the money by disclosing their financial reports to their members. besides, they want the leaders to be separated from those running the day to day activities of the church. Did Apostle Paul not advice the disciples to appoint men of integrity to handle the administration of the foods while they faces the ministering of the word? Lets be honest here. Jesus is our perfect example. He lived a transparent life. When asked for tax, He paid. Lets not allow people to deceive us. Corruption must be dealt with in all places, if this nation must move forward.

64. U forgot the change u voted for. U all must enjoy this change to the fullness. sai Baba ! Change . Now na morning .

65. Should they be concerned with church leadership tenure?
    No; internal governance of a church is it's own business, and people have the right to determine how that works for them.

On the other hand, they SHOULD compel the churches to declare their income and assets publicly and submit to regulations and tax audits or pay taxes. Entirely too many clergy treat religious organizations as their personal piggy banks, buying luxury cars, mansions and whatnot, and sticking the church with the bill.

THAT shouldn't be allowed.

If a religious organization wants to be treated as a charity for tax purposes, let it act as one, including declaring income and expenditures, establishing a proper structure for handling finances, and limiting worker renumeration. If not, treat it like a business, with regulations and taxes.

66. As long as the church is in a governed country, regulated by law, and incorporate religion organisations. So there should be an act that governs it, just like religion must not kill human being.

67. Even the bible told us all to respect all constituted authorities

1. @pelumi You are ignorant. You said the bible said respect constituted authorities. So if constituted authorities say you should sleep with your mother or enter fire, you will do it? God chose Adeboye and God has not told him to leave. The physical cannot control the spiritual. The spiritual controls the physical. We should not dabble into faith, beliefs and spiritual matters. The federal govt should face recession and let churches be.

2. Thank you Shade, leave our fellow Christians who don't understand spiritual matters... I'm from the north so I know very well what's happening. If we don't rise up, we'll be slaves in our own Nation, but God forbid, because they just signed their termination letters... #GodisNOTDead

68. PMB, if the leader of a Church should spend not less 20 years that means you are too Old for this Country to rule, you have to resign NOW.

PMB, you are too Old becos u ar the same age with daddy G.O Adeboye we Nigerians has declared you should resign NOW or leave the church to do there deal with there leaders.

69. My fellow People we need to start praying, this policies is a way of Islamitized dis Country and it won't Work. Abacha did it ko werk, Babaginda did it ko werk now Buhari is doing is own koni werk.

he must Resign or die if he insist on barbaric laws.

1. Thank you very much.... This is where their end begins....

70. If the emir of Kano, sultan of sokoto, Shehu of Bornu , emir of Zaria etc who are both political and religious leaders of ISLAMIC groups don,t resign, christian leaders should not. Buhari has a hidden agenda but the christian south have been bamboozled . Oyedepo is not only a religious leader, he is an academic leader, he is a social leader , he is an industrial leader and you can't seperate the above from political leadership. Buhari is a satanic agent exercising his academic deficiencies and intellectual challenges. Adegboye has been deceived probably by osibanjo who is power drunk enough not to read the ISLAMIC handwriting on BUHARI s wall. The south must rise up against this evil. God is angry with the wicked everyday.

71. SOME NIGERIAN ARE VERY IGNORANT AND THAT IS WHY WE ARE WHERE WE ARE. MANY DO NOT KNOW THAT FOR A CHURCH TO OPERATE YOU NEED THE LICENSE AND APPROVAL OF THE GOVERNMENT. MOST CHURCHES ARE REGISTERED AS A CHARITY (NON-PROFIT MAKING COMPANIES) AS SUCH ARE GUIDED BY RULES MADE BY THE GOVT. IT IS BECAUSE THE GOVT HAS NOT BEEN DOING ITS JOB IN RESPECT OF THIS THAT WE HAVE THIS NOTION THAT GOVT CANNOT REGULATE THE CHURCH IN TERMS OF ITS FINANCE AND CORPORATE GOVERNANCE. THE CHURCH WHEN BEING REGISTERED HAS A BOARD OF TRUSTEES THAT ARE RECOGNIZED AND WHO ARE CHARGED WITH MAKING THE ORGANIZATION OR CHURCH FOLLOW THE RULES OF THE GOVT.

THE GOVT HAS A RESPONSIBILITY TOWARDS HER CITIZENS WHO ARE MEMBERS OF THESE CHURCHES TO PROTECT THEM AND THEIR INTEREST AND SEE THAT THEY ARE NOT EXPLOITED OR MADE INTO ENEMIES OF THE STATE BY THEIR ACTIVITIES AND TEACHINGS. MOREOVER AS CHRISTIANS AND CITIZENS WE ARE BOUND TO OBEY THE STATE IN ALL MATTERS EXCEPT WHEN IT IS AGAINST OUR FAITH.

THE ORTHODOX CHURCHES MAINLY THE CATHOLIC CHURCH IS VERY MUCH ORGANIZED, IN FACT MOST GOVERNMENT OF THE WORLD IS BASED ON THE CATHOLIC SYSTEM OF SUCCESSION. THERE IS NOTHING LIKE A BISHOP HANDING OVER TO HIS SON OR FAMILY MEMBER, THERE ARE COUNCILS/TRUSTEE AS VARIOUS LEVELS THAT HOLD THE PROPERTIES OF THE CHURCH IN TRUST FOR THE NEXT PERSONS TO COME IN AND EACH PERSON IS ACCOUNTABLE.

THIS ACTION IS A WELCOME DEVELOPMENT TO SANITIZE THE CHURCH IN NIGERIA WHICH IS ENGROSSED IN CORPORATE CORRUPTION, NEPOTISM, TRIBALISM AND MONEY LAUNDRY AMONG OTHER THINGS AND HAVE REALLY LOST INTEREST IN DEVELOPING THE HUMAN AND SPIRITUAL PERSONS OF NIGERIANS.

AS AN EXAMPLE COMPARE THE CHURCH IN NIGERIA NOW TO WHEN THERE MISSIONARIES. THERE IS A BIG DIFFERENCE IN SINCERITY, TRUE WORSHIP AND CHRISTIAN LIVING.

1. @Anonymous 16:19 YOU ARE THE ONE WHO IS IGNORANT. WHEN THE FOUNDERS OF THE CHURCHES WERE SUFFERING AND STRUGGLING TO GROW THE CHURCH, THE GOVERNMENT DID NOT COME IN TO REGULATE AND HELP. NOW THAT THE CHURCH IS A SUCCESS, THEY NOW WANT TO REGULATE AND TAKE GLORY FOR THE SUCCESS. WHY ARE THEY NOT ALSO REGULATING ORPHANGE HOMES AND OTHER NGOs LIKE KANU FOUNDATION ETC? WHY ONLY CHURCHES IN PARTICULAR? SOME FOUNDERS WERE SPIRITUALLY ORDAINED BY GOD TO BE IN A PARTICULAR PLACE AT A PARTICULAR PERIOD OF TIME. UNTIL GOD TELLS THEM TO LEAVE THAT PLACE, THEY CANNOT LEAVE. THEY HAVE TO OBEY THE CALL OF GOD. IF THE GOVERNMENT FORCES THEM TO LEAVE BY GOING AGAINST THE WILL OF GOD, THEY ARE ON THEIR OWN AND SHOULD BE READY TO FACE THE CONSEQUENCIES OF THEIR ACTIONS. IT IS GOD HIMSELF THAT THEY ARE FIGHTING. THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD NOT DABBLE INTO SPIRITUAL MATTERS BECAUSE GOD SPEAKS TO GENUINE MEN OF GOD. ALTHOUGH I KNOW THERE ARE MANY FAKE MEN OF GOD THESE DAYS, BUT POLICIES SHOULD NOT BE GENERALISED TO PUNISH THE INNOCENT GENUINE ONES. THE FOUNDER OF RCCG SAID GOD SPECIFICALLY TOLD HIM TO HAND OVER TO ADEBOYE. IT WAS NOT THE GOVERNMENT THAT ORDERED HIM TO DO SO. WHEN ELIJAH HANDED OVER TO ELISHA, IT WAS ACCORDING TO GOD'S DIRECTIVES NOT ACCORDING TO ONE CLUELESS GOVERNMENT WITH MISPLACED PRIORITIES. THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD FOCUS ON RECESSION INSTEAD OF ATTACKING CHURCHES

72. Great thinking by the govt. That you retire from general overseer position doesn't stop you from still being a pastor or preaching the gospel. Next thing they should do is make churches start paying taxes on their income

73. The devil has made the govt jobless and now they want to interfere in the body of Christ. Let's see how it goes.

74. The devil has made the govt jobless and now they want to interfere in the body of Christ. Let's see how it goes.

75. Buhari should also resign because he's too old to rule, hence the recession Nigeria is experiencing. Or their so called law exempts those in govt?

76. I saw it coming, a govt that can't establish laws that will stamp out piracy, want to regulate churches, in which a gud % were ordained by God, I know pmb ll persecute d church, but surely he can't prevail. What concerns a civil govt with how a church orders their management, church is not ordained by men so men can't understand its operations. The founding pastor can't make his family member the successor if it so pleases God. Pmb ll see d wrath of God. It is not if, it is when!!!!!!!!!!

77. All those opening their dirty gutter mouth to say that the founders will hand over to their children, can you name any General Overseer that has handed over to his son or daughter?

78. The govt has seen that churches are now for money making. though if a man is preaching the word of God, i don't think he should be stopped. The God who ordained him should be the one to call him out.

79. The govt has seen that churches are now for money making. though if a man is preaching the word of God, i don't think he should be stopped. The God who ordained him should be the one to call him out.